Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greatest MC

• 17-11-2005 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭

I'm not gonna make this into a poll, just lookin for opinion.

Who do you reckon are the top MC's of all time (for all you 50 cent fans, an MC is a "rapper")

I gotta go with (in no particular order)

1: KRS One
    2: Pharoahe Monch
    3: Rakim
    4: Black Thought
    5: Mos Def
    6: Kane
    7: Kweli
    8: Chuck D
    9 MC Paul Barman (very tight smart lyrics, raps how Eminem wishes he did)
    10: The GZA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Rakim!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

I can't believe in that list that Crooked I or Chino XL ain't in there...... these two are two of the modern greats & no-one can deny the ferocity of these two dudes when they grab a mic.......

What about Jadakiss - dude is a savage on the mic.....

::: ven0mous :::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

out of the list given, id pick Rakim or Mos Def (not big fans of them,but stil like them) but id agree with venOm too, i think Jadakiss can do good on the mic 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

That's his personal list. Why don't you make your own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

What he said.

1.AZ.
    2.Nas.
    3.Cormega.
    4.GZA.
    5.Ras Kass.
    6.Black Thought.
    7.Big Pun.
    8.Havoc.
    9.Hell Razah.
    10.Tragedy Khadafi.

*Waits for the hate*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

^^aint no hate

Rakim, KRS-One, NaS

Immortal Technique, not yet but give him another few albums!:p

Makaveli wrote:
    That's his personal list. Why don't you make your own?
    because if i listed all the same as the post above, i thought someone would say "why didnt you just say the same as _____" but if you want me to make my own list, then i will

Do what you want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

Kool G. Rap = greatest of all time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Here's mine:

1. Rakim
    2. Pharaohe Monch
    3. KRS One
    4. Chuck D
    5. Eminem ( i know gonna get a lot of hate, but when Em is real good he is incredible )
    6. Kane
    7. Nas
    8. Big Pun
    9. Ras Kass (when he stops messing with his flow)
    10. Immortal Technique

mine:

- Crooked I
    - Chino XL
    - Ras Kass
    - One-2
    - Canibus
    - Jadakiss
    - Big Pun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭samurai kebab

Big L IMO was the best of all time and he hasn't even been put in a top 10 yet:eek:

Big L was a mediocre to average rapper.... just like biggie, just like alot of the Wu....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

Just like jadakiss more like

ven0m wrote:
    Big L was a mediocre to average rapper.... just like biggie, just like alot of the Wu....

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha
    Tell me that's a troll?

In fairness,about half of the Wu-Tang aren't particurly good rappers.U-God sucks,as does Cappadona,as do RZA and ODB(imo).Method Man tends to mumble a lot as well and his lyrics aren't anything special.

Without GZA,Ghost,Raekwon and Masta Killa...

Cappadona isn't really a Wu member.
    But the troll comment was more for the Biggie statement.

As for the Wu, GZA, Ghostface, Inspectah Deck, Raekwon and Masta Killa are all good. Method Man is decent enough, more so for the 36 Chambers/Tical stuff and appearences on other solo albums rather than his latter stuff. RZA I like too, one of my favourite Wu verses is his one on 4th Chamber, but I agree as am emcee he is, in my opinion, average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Orizio wrote:
    In fairness,about half of the Wu-Tang aren't particurly good rappers.U-God sucks,as does Cappadona,as do RZA and ODB(imo).Method Man tends to mumble a lot as well and his lyrics aren't anything special.

Without GZA,Ghost,Raekwon and Masta Killa...

Don't know bout the ODB comment, i think Return to the 36 Chambers is a quality album. nigga please, etc was rubbish though

I think Method Man has probably one of the best flows in Hip Hop to be honest. Ghostface talks an obscene amount of xollob, I mean actually listen to his lyrics.
    I always thought U-God was under rated. He's got a nice flow, sam amount of syllables type thing.

As for
    Big L was a mediocre to average rapper

Are you mad? He delivered some of the best punch lines in hip hop!

Was far from a troll - Biggie is OVER-RATED, same with Big-L (Big-L was more famous for being a 'dead' rapper than he was alive)... Ghost & Meth are the ONLY members of the WU I can respect as MC's - everyone else, they less than average.....

(Big-L was more famous for being a 'dead' rapper than he was alive)

If that was the case, surely there would be a load of "fans" claiming he was the best rapper ever without giving validation for such a statement.

I mean you don't hear any one here talking about how great Children Of The Corn were.

ven0m wrote:
    (Big-L was more famous for being a 'dead' rapper than he was alive)

I disagree, he was always a well respected rapper. Ever heard the DITC stuff? He is far from average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭chiller

the big man himself biggie i think is one of the greatest mcs and i dont really wanna go mainstream here but eminem is a really good rapper is flow is really good on a his first three albums didnt really make an effort with the fourth but i think id put my money on biggie

Have to agree with venom about big l, cant agree with him about biggie he was far from overrated but everyone is entitled to their opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

I've never thought the Wu really released anything amazing after 36 Chambers, but that single album made up for everything else they've come out with since. Liquid Swords is decent enough though.

Kool Keith and Rakim are all I can think of, Abdominal will be once he's got another album or two under his belt.

I've never thought the Wu really released anything amazing after 36 Chambers, but that single album made up for everything else they've come out with since. Liquid Swords is decent enough though.

Kool Keith and Rakim are all I can think of, Abdominal will be once he's got another album or two under his belt.

As a group they never really released anything spectacular,and thats including 36 chambers.Individually though,OB4CL was a classic.Liquid Swords was a classic.Ironman was a classic.Tical was a classic.Supreme Clientele was a classic.The Swarm was a classic.Beneath The Surface was a classic.And I haven't even got into the Sunz of Man/Killah Priest area yet.

Ay Cee wrote:
    I think Method Man has probably one of the best flows in Hip Hop to be honest. Ghostface talks an obscene amount of xollob, I mean actually listen to his lyrics.
    I always thought U-God was under rated. He's got a nice flow, sam amount of syllables type thing.

As for

Are you mad? He delivered some of the best punch lines in hip hop!

Meth lyrically just isn't there.And he can't flow Ghost for flow wise or for flow(Ghost had three classics,Meth one).U-God had about one decent verse,his albums are terrible.

ven0m wrote:
    Was far from a troll - Biggie is OVER-RATED, same with Big-L (Big-L was more famous for being a 'dead' rapper than he was alive)... Ghost & Meth are the ONLY members of the WU I can respect as MC's - everyone else, they less than average.....

Your standards are obviously abnormally high so, although i dont see how this could happen if you think Crooked I is the best ever, or is it just because you know him and your blinded by this and can't accept there are better rappers out there?

ubu wrote:
    Your standards are obviously abnormally high so, although i dont see how this could happen if you think Crooked I is the best ever, or is it just because you know him and your blinded by this and can't accept there are better rappers out there?

maybe I do have high standards & no, just because I do know Dom doesn't mean I think he's the best ever.... the guy is an AMAZING lyricist, amazing writer but he CANNOT freestyle - he'll even admit that himself.....

Alot of "MC's" out there realy do NOT inspire me as an artist, & neither do alot of the "so-called" greats.... KRS-1 inspires me.... Ghostface Killah inspires me, & yes Dom does inspire me, Ras Kass inspires me - hell alot of the MC's that inspire me to think smarter, write smarter & really up my own game are guys who you'll never see in stores, never see on MTV or BET or even read about in industry-whore magazines like XXL or The Source....

I am NOT for one minute saying that because I think that these other MC's aren't great - hell, anyone who will grab a mic & make someone at least once go "WHOAAAA!" in my books is worthy of recognition, I just don't necessarily agree with putting some of these guys on pedastils like alot of the hiphop community do, I'm not disrespecting them - but they do not move me to go "DAMN! I gotta try write something even close to that! That's the damn bar I gotta try reach"

The guys I think are the best MC's are the guys who when I write something that I know is comin close in quality & then they release something that makes me go "GOOODDD DAAAMMNN!" then to me, they are among the 'greatest MC's'. To me, great MC's inspire other MC's to dare to be great whether they succeed or fail....

Everyone is entitled to their standpoint, & hiphop gives so much depth, perspective & variety given the great free artform that it is.... I just know what makes me tick as an MC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

big l is not overrated, i suggest you give a freestyle history vol 1 & 2 listen and coming back

I have - my opinion still stands....

Ven0m wrote:
    hell, anyone who will grab a mic & make someone at least once go "WHOAAAA!" in my books is worthy of recognition

And do you not accept that Big L and Biggie have done that?
    Yes, id agree that because they are dead they get proportionately more attention but thats not their fault and it shouldnt take away from what they have done.

why cant you just accept he dosnt like big l and you have a different opinion its as simple as that.

Why are you sticking your nose in where its not wanted and dragging the thread off topic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Klimseven

People who haven't been mentioned enough (or at all):
    Mf Doom
    KRS-One
    Mos Def
    Jeru tha Damaja
    Guru
    Nas
    Chuck D
    Del tha funky homosapien
    Fat Lip (from the pharcyde)
    GZA

and Big L was a f uckin sick emcee, as was Biggie, neither are overated

Ras Kass,AZ,Nas,Doom,Mos Def,Jigga,Hell Razah,Kllah Priest,Canibus,GZA,Andre 3000,Chino XL,Mobb Deep,Cormega(before True Meaning)Tragedy Khadafi,Black Thought,Malik,Big Pun,Ghost,Masta Killa,Remedy,Nature,Q-Tip.

I could go on but listen to all of them and you'll be doing well.;)

ubu wrote:
    Why are you sticking your nose in where its not wanted and dragging the thread off topic?

Hes said he dosnt like big l and given reasons and your telling him hes wrong if anyone is putting this off topic its you. Your always sticking your nose into threads where its not wanted so youve some cheek accusing someone else of doing that.

Just because there is a difference of opinion, it doesnt mean we cant discuss it, which is what i (and others) were trying to do with ven0m before you came along, this is a discussion board after all, if everybody simply posted their opinions and nobody discussed it this place wouldnt be very interesting or busy i know it might be a hard concept to grasp for you but people can discuss their different opinions without arguing.

Im sorry is this a private conversation ? didnt realise I had to ask your permission to post in this thread :rolleyes:

Mobb Deep, Biggie, Nas, Big L, Mos Def, Ludacris, Jadakiss, Kanye, Jay Z would be mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

rakim, nas, jigga, biggie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

1 Eminem
    2 Dr Dre
    3 g unit
    4 The game
    5 jay z
    6 2 pac
    7 missy Eliot
    8 dj rascil
    9 A kon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Resistance

Not in any order but some of mine would be Guru, Rakim, Mos Def, Big L, Nas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Klimseven

1 Eminem
    2 Dr Dre
    3 g unit
    4 The game
    5 jay z
    6 2 pac
    7 missy Eliot
    8 dj rascil
    9 A kon
    AKON!?? Holy jaysus are you serious? God Almighty and all the Apostles...and Joseph...

Klimseven wrote:
    AKON!?? Holy jaysus are you serious? God Almighty and all the Apostles...and Joseph...
    Ha Ha! Lol

The worrying part is I don't know which posts are serious and which are supposed to be funny :(

I think the Greatest MC should be judged on consistancy of work, his inspiration to other MC's and lyircal ability!

Some people are just naming their favourites!

That's why I nominate - RAKIM!

So hes not the best but hes good everyones has there own choice to what rappers they like

Akon?! In the Greatest MC category?!

Would ye **** off!!!

Ay Cee i didnt say he was briiliant i said he was ok and no i wont F**K OFF everone is intiteld to what mcs they want im sorry bit i cant stand some people start sayin how could u like that mc hes S**t if they like them they them so what big deel