Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would You pick for international Rules

• 16-11-2005 10:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭

What kind of team should the irish field against australia next year? the small fast skillful team obviously didn't work too well this year!! Heres my team <in GAA lineup>

1. Fergal Byron (Laois)
    2. Ryan McMenimen (Tyrone)
    3. Kieran McGeeney (Armagh)
    4. Francie Bellew (Armagh)
    5. Tom Kelly (Laois)
    6. Tadhg Kennelly (Sydney Swans/Kerry)
    7. Tomas O'Sé (Kerry)
    8. Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)
    9. Dara O'Sé (Kerry)
    10. Brian Dooher (Tyrone)
    11. Ciaran McDonald (Mayo)
    12. Oisin McConville (Armagh)
    13. Steven McDonnell (Armagh)
    14. Ronan Clarke (Armagh)
    15. Eoin Mulligan (Tyrone)

Most of these players should be able to stay on there feet long enough to actually get some flowing football goin!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Steve_o wrote:
    What kind of team should the irish field against australia next year? the small fast skillful team obviously didn't work too well this year!! Heres my team <in GAA lineup>

1. Fergal Byron (Laois)
    5. Tom Kelly (Laois)
    7. Tomas O'Sé (Kerry)
    9. Dara O'Sé (Kerry)

Most of these players should be able to stay on there feet long enough to actually get some flowing football goin!!!

I dunno, I think if we picked all the backs from the Irish Provincial Rugby teams, we'd have a better chance.....and I'm being completely serious.

I look at that team you picked above, and other than a couple of minor personal preferences, I couldn't improve on it, but sadly it is still a laughable inadequate team to face those Aussies, if they play with the same intensity as they did this year.

I can't really engage on this thread any more, it's too soon after this year, and too far away from next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

Steve_o wrote:

1. Fergal Byron (Laois)
    5. Tom Kelly (Laois)
    7. Tomas O'Sé (Kerry)
    9. Dara O'Sé (Kerry)

not too many changes you could make maybe put mugsy out wing forward insted on mcconville and put pady bradley in corner forward. Also maybe sean og in there somewhere and i know this seems a bit outrageous but sane horgan of ireland rugby fame played minor for meath didnt he?

mchurl wrote:
    not too many changes you could make maybe put mugsy out wing forward insted on mcconville and put pady bradley in corner forward. Also maybe sean og in there somewhere and i know this seems a bit outrageous but sane horgan of ireland rugby fame played minor for meath didnt he?

All the Rugby boys would have sufficient football skills from their youth (they'd all have played) to be sufficent to play this compromise rule game.

I wasn't joking about my suggestion, as mad it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

In two words: James Reilly. And yes, I am being biased probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Culchie wrote:
    All the Rugby boys would have sufficient football skills from their youth (they'd all have played) to be sufficent to play this compromise rule game.

I believe that Horgan, D'Arcy and Geordan Murphy played underage football for Meath, Wexford and Kildare respectively. I'd imagine Drico would be good too - he has natural ball-skills and (probably counts for little but worth mentioning) he has two first cousins who played Dublin minor a couple of years ago.

Not that any of them would risk their rugby careers by playing this! Though you could only imagine how each of the 4 mentioned players would have improved their county's performances if they had stuck with GAA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Murphy has a Wexford Junior football championship medal afaik! But they the people mentioned aren't the guys we want, we need the Claw and keith Wood to come out of retirement, and play International Rules with the likes of Paul O'Connell, Malcolm O'Kelly, Johnny O'Connor and Trevor Brennan!;)

I think the problem is that while it may not be an entirely bad idea for 2-3 rugby players to play, those guys are professional sports peopl under contract to another sporting organisation and as such would probably be unavailable! Also it would go against the GAA's amateur status to play professionals, and I am sure the GPA would kick up a stink about their members not been given a fair chance to represent their country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Lads it should be borne in mind that only a year ago we beat the Aussies off the pitch with GAA players. We had a record win against them, they looked at their resources and turned things around totally in the space of a year, to be honest I do not think a similar feat is beyond us. I think we should keep the small quick players, but bring in some of the bruisers who were not brought this year. Mix it up a bit, and see what we get. I do not think we should be all doom and gloom about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Culchie wrote:

Problem is...if we use rugby players they will to so we'll accomplish nothin really!!!

Steve_o wrote:
    Problem is...if we use rugby players they will to so we'll accomplish nothin really!!!

Good Point !

I'm only formulating my 'fantasy team'. Not a snowballs hell in chance of ever happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

1.Stephen Cluxton or Paul Hearty
    2.Ryan Mcmenamin (Tyrone)
    3.Francie Bellew (Armagh)
    4.Darren Homan (Dublin)
    5.David Heaney (Mayo)
    6.Ciaran Mcdonald (Mayo)
    7.Tom Kelly (Laois)
    8.Tomas Quinn (Dublin)
    9.Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    10.Darragh O Se (Kerry)
    11.Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)
    12.Kirby (Kerry)
    13.Eoin Mulligan (Tyrone)
    14.Dessie Dolan (Westmeath)
    15.Galvin (Kerry)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 okarm26

blackbelt wrote:
    4.Darren Homan (Dublin)
    5.David Heaney (Mayo)
    6.Ciaran Mcdonald (Mayo)
    7.Tom Kelly (Laois)
    8.Tomas Quinn (Dublin)
    9.Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    10.Darragh O Se (Kerry)
    12.Kirby (Kerry)
    15.Galvin (Kerry)

i could've sworn i read Thomas Quinn at number 8??

Surely that was a typo yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

You'd imagine so!!!!!!!!:D

blackbelt wrote:
    4.Darren Homan (Dublin)
    5.David Heaney (Mayo)
    6.Ciaran Mcdonald (Mayo)
    7.Tom Kelly (Laois)
    8.Tomas Quinn (Dublin)
    9.Alan Brogan (Dublin)
    10.Darragh O Se (Kerry)
    12.Kirby (Kerry)
    15.Galvin (Kerry)

Since when was Darren Homan coming out of retirement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I would pick

1. Fergal Byron (Laois)
    3. Dara O'Sé (Kerry)
    4. Colm Morris (Wexford)
    5. Brian Cullen (Dublin)
    6. Tom Kelly (Laois)
    7. Tomas O'Sé (Kerry)
    9. Noel Garvan/Padraic Clancy (Laois)
    10. Paul Galvin (Kerry)
    11. Tadhg Kennelly (Sydney Swans/Kerry)
    12. Steven O'Neill (Tyrone)
    13. Colm 'Gooch' Cooper (Kerry)
    14. Steven McDonnell (Armagh)

there are also a huge number of squad players who could be brought! there is no point in going for a huge number of bruisers or a huge number of small light players, we need a balance! Our tactics didn't work out this year is all and the Australian tactics did!

On a side issue how about as a rule (not really but self imposed for fairness), you should not comment on others peoples teams without posting your own first?:) This could result in a fairer analysis of teams in these pick your fantasy/ or who is the best scenarios!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

okarm26 wrote:
    i could've sworn i read Thomas Quinn at number 8??

Surely that was a typo yeah?

And William Kirby at centre forward....jesus let's hope it's some new mind boggling formation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

shakaman wrote:
    And William Kirby at centre forward....jesus let's hope it's some new mind boggling formation!

First time I've seen Ciaran McDonald playing in the backline too. Maybe he's trying something unorthodox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭shakaman

My 2c worth

1) Paul Hearty (Armagh)
    2) Ryan McMenamin (Tyrone)
    3) Darren Fay (Meath)
    4) Aidan O'Mahony (Kerry)
    5) Tomas O'Se (Kerry)
    6) Kieren McGeeney (Armagh)
    7) Antony Lynch (Cork)
    8) Paul McGrane (Armagh)
    9) Dara O'Se (Kerry)
    10) Ciaran McDonald (Mayo)
    11) Tadhg Kennelly (Sydney Swans/Kerry)
    12) Brian Dooher (Tyrone)
    13) Stephen McDonnell (Armagh)
    14) Ronan Clarke (Armagh)
    15) Owen Mulligan (Tyrone)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

1) Paul Hearty
    2) Francie Bellew
    3) Seamus Moynahan
    4) Ryan McMenamin
    5) Trevor Crowe
    6) Kieran McGeeney
    7) Tomas O'Se
    8) Paul McGrane
    9) Dara O'Se
    10) Nicholas Walsh
    11) Tadhg Kennelly
    12) Aidan O'Rourke
    13) Ronan Clarke
    14) Stevie McDonnell
    15) Larry Reilly

I'd like to see the Aussies try and fight with this team! :D

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    1) Paul Hearty
    2) Francie Bellew
    3) Seamus Moynahan
    4) Ryan McMenamin
    5) Trevor Crowe
    6) Kieran McGeeney
    7) Tomas O'Se
    8) Paul McGrane
    9) Dara O'Se
    10) Nicholas Walsh
    11) Tadhg Kennelly
    12) Aidan O'Rourke
    13) Ronan Clarke
    14) Stevie McDonnell
    15) Larry Reilly

I'd like to see the Aussies try and fight with this team! :D

Trevor's gonna get ya!

Sadly, I'd say we'll never see Trevor Crowe play again for Cavan, so I doubt we'll see him lining out for Ireland. Hopefully I'm wrong though. My own team is:

1.Paul Hearty (Armagh)
    2.Ryan McMenamin (Tyrone)
    3.Seamus Moynighan (Kerry)
    4.Paddy Christie (Dublin)
    5.Tomas Kelly (Laois)
    6.Anthony Lynch (Cork)
    7.Tomas O'Se (Kerry)
    8.Dara O'Se (Kerry)
    9.Paul McGrane (Armagh)
    10.Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)
    11.Ciaran McDonald (Mayo)
    12.Paddy Bradley (Derry)
    13.Tomas Freeman (Monaghan)
    14.Steven McDonnell (Armagh)
    15.Benny Coulter (Down)

Hearty gets the nod ahead of James Reill for experience in goals. In the backline, I wanted to have both Christie and Moynighan so I've moved Christie to the corner. Christie could be a controversial inclusion but I think he's been Dublin's most consistent player over the past few years and could handle himself.

The half backline explains itself with 3 of the best in the country. The same goes for midfield. I didn't want to leave out Sean Cavanagh though so he's been moved to the half forward line where he joins Paddy Bradley and Ciaran McDonald.

In the full forward line, I've included Tommy Freeman and Benny Coulter simply for their performances in previous Rules' series. Steven McDonnell plays out of position at full forward because I think he's a player who can't be left out.