Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police dogs f*cking rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

OH man thats brilliant. I want a few of them. Love the teamwork on the last guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Good lord, those last two really took him out :eek: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Wow, I could do with a couple of them for collecting bad debts.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

haha that's excellent :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

lol at when the dog grabs the man from the van :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

they should be used all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Wow, I never realised how versatile and effective they could be!

Did you know? They train police dogs in foreign languages. So an American police dog might be taught in Dutch (for example), or a Dutch dog in Swedish. This is to prevent criminals from just shouting, "Stop!" or, "Stay!" and having the dog stop chasing them. And that's today's lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

The best part was when the dog attacked the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Did you know? They train police dogs in foreign languages. So an American police dog might be taught in Dutch (for example), or a Dutch dog in Swedish. This is to prevent criminals from just shouting, "Stop!" or, "Stay!" and having the dog stop chasing them. And that today's lesson.

I did not know that but it's very interesting. Could you link for more info?

OP,
    That was a real good video, I've never seen police dogs been used like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah I know, I've only ever seen them used as sniffer dogs, to be honest. Quite impressive, they're pretty f*cking strong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

0utshined wrote:
    I did not know that but it's very interesting. Could you link for more info?
    I wish I could but I only found out when I was watching a DVD commentary and the director was talking about a stunt dog they got in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

And fairly fast as well! Did you see the way the first one ran at that van? I was very impressed with that.

Edit : Ah no worries, just found it interesting and would've liked to find out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Did you know? They train police dogs in foreign languages. So an American police dog might be taught in Dutch (for example), or a Dutch dog in Swedish. This is to prevent criminals from just shouting, "Stop!" or, "Stay!" and having the dog stop chasing them. And that's today's lesson.

Like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

ahhhh... did anyone notice the dog attacking the policeman? Yeah great work there. Perhaps now is the time to let them loose on the public. Any criminals wearing big puffy clothes beware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭techguy

That's the **** alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Wow,I never knew they were that well trained.
    However, if I was shooting at someone and a dog started running at me, I'd just turn the gun on it tbh, so even though the "hopping over the car and tackling the guy with the gun" thing is cool, it might not be too effective.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Tbh, the dogs were on them in a flash. Try hitting something moving that fast as you panic! Excellent video! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If I had a gun in my hand, was tense, and something came at me at a high speed, I'd point and shoot.

Also, an intresting piece of the video was when the dog turned onto its handler, after the handler dragged the dog off the suspect. Shows lack of training, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

homah_7ft wrote:
    ahhhh... did anyone notice the dog attacking the policeman?

Yeah, thought that was pretty funny, especially when he was swinging him around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

actually saw some of the GARDA dogs being filmed this evening by the grand canal...big **** off alsatians

don't think he was attacking the policeman. I think the policeman is playing with him with a stick. Its common for police dogs that after they've done their taks (find drugs, bomb, man, etc) that their reward is to be played with or get some treat. Its why they do the task in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

irlrobins wrote:
    don't think he was attacking the policeman. I think the policeman is playing with him with a stick. QUOTE]

No he's definately attacking his handler. That's not a fun swing. It's a get the hell off me swing. You can also see him check his hand afterwards for bite marks. Police dogs are not routinely used for this work for that very reason. In crowd control they are more of a psychological weapon. A growling dog is intimidating. Dogs were also used in Nazi concentration camps and in a number of incidents set upon people.

homah_7ft wrote:

No he's definately attacking his handler.

on second viewing, you're right. Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

In the second part the dog bit the wrong arm. What was to stop the criminal from blowing the dogs brains out with the gun in his free arm? Cool dogs though. And what's to stop the criminal shooting the dog running towards him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Binomate wrote:
    In the second part the dog bit the wrong arm. What was to stop the criminal from blowing the dogs brains out with the gun in his free arm? Cool dogs though. And what's to stop the criminal shooting the dog running towards him?

Nothing really, but better a dog than a human... There's a good chance the dog will get through, though, cos they're smaller than a human, and a hell of a lot faster. Plus, the shooter won't be able to see it once it gets to a certain point, cos it's so low down, and he'll have to stay low to avoid getting himself shot. Then he won't expect the thing to be able to jump over a car, I know I wasn't, lol! Plus, as soon as the guy hits the ground, the assault team are all over him.

So, there's less of a chance of the dog getting shot than a human, but there's still a chance. But if he does get shot, at least it wasn't a policeman with a family and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

homah_7ft wrote:
    Police dogs are not routinely used for this work for that very reason. In crowd control they are more of a psychological weapon. A growling dog is intimidating. Dogs were also used in Nazi concentration camps and in a number of incidents set upon people.

I was working in Atlantic City in the States for Summer 04 and on July 4th there was a massive gang fight on the boardwalk. About 10 K9 units were brought in. At one stage they had a load of homies handcuffed on the ground and all the dogs surrounding them, barking like mad and going crazy at the crowd. The police (and they were massive lads) were struggling to hold them back.

Absolutely crazy:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Digitally

Thats nuts,
    Loved the double team at the end..:D
    Now to train up our golden-cocker spaniel....where did I put that water pistol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Dogs are very useful for intimidating people who are not afraid of what another human will do to them. Good to see real dogs at work and not a rat with a haircut too.