Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sporting Emporium Double chance Tonight

• 10-11-2005 3:35pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Anybody playing this tonight...?I am heading in for my first visit,I have not had a chance to head in since it opened and its been hard listing to you all rave about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Troll

Dub13 wrote:
    Anybody playing this tonight...?I am heading in for my first visit,I have not had a chance to head in since it opened and its been hard listing to you all rave about it.

Yes, i'm heading in. Bringing a few novices with me as well, so hopefully they'll all be at my table. Do you've any info on it? Do we deal ourselves?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

The Troll wrote:
    Yes, i'm heading in. Bringing a few novices with me as well, so hopefully they'll all be at my table. Do you've any info on it? Do we deal ourselves?

Believe me you don't want to many novices at your table.They have dealers abit inexperienced from what I hear but that will improve with time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I have a Chinese class in Trinity which is due to finish at 8:30 - if I leg it from there up to the SE and become a member by 8:45, will they let me play? I saw something about no late entries...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

ionapaul wrote:
    I have a Chinese class in Trinity which is due to finish at 8:30 - if I leg it from there up to the SE and become a member by 8:45, will they let me play? I saw something about no late entries...

Wouldn't worry about it too much, I've yet to see it kick off before 9.30

ntlbell wrote:
    Wouldn't worry about it too much, I've yet to see it kick off before 9.30

What are the starting stacks? 2k + 2k?

Blind levels - 30mins?

Number of runners?

Payout structure?

ionapaul wrote:

If you are running late I will register for you Paul.

PM me if you want my mobile number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Dub13 wrote:
    If you are running late I will register for you Paul.

PM me if you want my mobile number.

What if he Yings the Wong number?

Culchie wrote:

Very good....:D

Culchie wrote:
    No, awful...:) Don't worry, I'll be there in time if I decide to play, not 100% I'll make it (work + class + poker = no dinner), but I probably will turn up. I've heard so many good things about the snacks there, they might be a dinner substitute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Well Dub13 I'm waiting for that report you promised me from last night...:D

I have a feeling you went all the way you had the lucky glow of a guy who was going to crack Aces or something.....;)

I woke up at 10pm after doing a few deals with board members in town around 7. Went home, fell asleep and missed out on it.

As an asid ei looke don South Anne Street and couldnt see the SE anywhere???

The Troll wrote:
    I woke up at 10pm after doing a few deals with board members in town around 7. Went home, fell asleep and missed out on it.

As an asid ei looke don South Anne Street and couldnt see the SE anywhere???

Probably because it's not on South Anne Street.

ollyk1 wrote:
    Well Dub13 I'm waiting for that report you promised me from last night...:D

I have a feeling you went all the way you had the lucky glow of a guy who was going to crack Aces or something.....;)

I came 5th for 150 euro:( , long long final table.I just went card dead on the final table stole a few blinds but got caught in the end.A deal was on the table with 5/6 of left that would have given us all the same as second place but we had one objector.

Very nice place and its always nice to finish in the money (even if its only 150) on your first visit.A few minor issues with the structure need to be sorted out,and the tournament director needs to know how many chips you get for your rebuy/double chance.But all in all a good night had and I think SE is going to be good for the scene in Dublin.

ps:that was a tough first table we were on.

I was sent packing by some donkey arsing around with 10 6o

I wouldn't mind but he spent half the night complaining about the guy to my left for getting in heavy with Q6o

well done dub, 150, better than another bubble!

seemed to be alot of the AUL crowd there, was that your gang dub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

A deal was on the table with 5/6 of left that would have given us all the same as second place but we had one objector.

NO DEALS Paul!! :p

Well done on 5th anyway a decent result considering there was a decent field of 50 runners or so.
    that was a tough first table we were on.

It was a grand table except for the guys who had ginormous stacks and wouldn't hear of laying down King high. I was disappointed to have Joe and Kevin knocked out early because I can at least make plays on them. Some of those other guys you just had to wonder about... ;)

I think I'll play Wednesday next week for the extra chips and the hopefully bigger final pot - although its great to have a decent option on a Thursday.

ollyk1 wrote:
    I think I'll play Wednesday next week for the extra chips and the hopefully bigger final pot - although its great to have a decent option on a Thursday.

I will be back aswell,and as you no some of the lads got the extra chips last night....:(

What was the payouy for 1st, 2nd and 3rd?

Also, where is Annes Lane? Is it not off South Ann Street?

The Troll wrote:
    Also, where is Annes Lane? Is it not off South Ann Street?

Off yeah, you won't see the SE from St Anne St tho...

Lovely casino - I was very impressed with the place, can see myself wasting many evenings there in the future. Waitresses were not of the same standard of the famous 'Mayfair Princess' (rumour is she was the oldest daughter of the dethroned King of Transylvania, forced to wait tables in Ireland due to a wicked gypsy's curse...) but they just about met my high expectations. Was fun to sit inbetween ollyk1 and Dub13, good banter ensued. I quadrupled up while horribly shortstacked and soon afterwards pushed all in for 1300 with K9 when I heard the blinds were going up from 200/400 to 300/600, was called by AJ and out I go in 18th place. As Dub13 mentioned on the night, they could use an extra blind level of 150/300, going from 100/200 to 200/400 is a bit much. Dealers made numerous mistakes as they were inexperienced. Food was top notch. That said, hard to beat the Fitz's mounds of cocktail sausages!
    There was a small bit of nastiness / tension on our table just before I was knocked out, hopefully it didn't continue later into the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭dsab

Went there as well last night. Very nice place. What tables were you on?

I started at table 3, and got moved to table 2 when they merged the tables in the end. Maybe I can put names to some of the faces.

Had a good start but went pretty card dead the last 2 hours. Went then finally out on the bubble. Should have mucked my pocket 4's, I guess, but the BB was waiting the next hand, which was going up to 2K and I had only 4K left anyway. BB duly called with AJ and flopped a pair. That was my night.

dsab wrote:
    Went there as well last night. Very nice place. What tables were you on?

I started at table 3, and got moved to table 2 when they merged the tables in the end. Maybe I can put names to some of the faces.

Had a good start but went pretty card dead the last 2 hours. Went then finally out on the bubble. Should have mucked my pocket 4's, I guess, but the BB was waiting the next hand, which was going up to 2K and I had only 4K left anyway. BB duly called with AJ and flopped a pair. That was my night.

muck pocket 4's when you only have 2xBB? not a chance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Is there a website for this place?

ntlbell wrote:
    seemed to be alot of the AUL crowd there, was that your gang dub?

It sure was.

ollyk1,I no you don't like deals but this one made sense it was getting late and a few of the lads were up early for work etc and the chips were very even.It ended up going on for another couple of hours. I went out just after 3 and with 4 still left it could have been a long night and the prize pool just is not big enough at the moment to justify a 4 am finish IMO.

on a side note

Two Fistful of Shamrock members sitting side by side,they were lucky we did not see good cards.Last time me and ionapaul played side by side we took second and third.Maybe next time Paul...?