Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky viewers can be a bit happier watchin F1

• 09-11-2005 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭

saw this on the satellite thread.....it'll be good to be able to watch full races again (might be too little too late thought!!) without havin to listen to that gobs1te of a commentator on setanta....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=318569

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Scober11

Nice one i can end my subscription to setanta now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Gryzor wrote:
    ........without havin to listen to that gobs1te of a commentator on setanta....

Hmmm, let's see. Having to choose between listening to that gobshíte Declan Quigley on Setanta or that other equally annoying gobshíte James Allen on ITV. Sounds like six of one and half a dozen of the other, to be honest! :D Though, I suppose the one redeeming feature of the ITV commentary which might swing it in their favour (apart from watching it from free, of course! ;) ) is the presence of Martin Brundle. So I know which one I'd watch.

Now, if only ITV would replace James "GOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!" Allen with Ben Edwards, I'd be a happy man. I think Marty Brundle would be too, to be honest, as it's often sounded the past couple of seasons to me that even he's fed up, bored and annoyed with Allen at this stage.

By the way, just on the Setanta/Sky/ITV issue, I thought Setanta bought (or outbid RTE, whatever you want to call it! :rolleyes: ) the exclusive Irish broadcast rights to Formula 1. So I wonder now will they try taking ITV to court over all this as well in the same way TV3 are looking to regarding the likes of Coronation Street, Champions League, etc. Because, let's face it, I can't see Setanta getting many (if any!) F1 subscribers next year if people can now watch it for free on ITV on Sky.

Don't mind Declan on setanta but what is Kennedy at?Is he Montoyas manager or something,always bangin on about him.
    Meet Gary Anderson in silverstone last weekend he was working on Declans ff1600 a little smaller than hes used to i'd imagine..................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Scober11 wrote:
    Don't mind Declan on setanta........

I suppose I could just about stomach him. Damn sight better than Peter Collins ever was, that's for sure. With his "Pedro Paulo Diniz" all the time and "Nicky Heidfeld". :rolleyes: I could never understand why he always had to throw in the "Paulo" bit in Diniz's name. Nobody else ever did. Always sounded to me like he was his mother giving out to him or something; "Pedro Paulo Diniz, if you don't get in here for your tea right this minute........!" :D And what the hell was with all that "Nicky" Heidfeld business? :confused: So bloody annoying. And don't get me started on his weird pronounciation of the Mon-ahhhhhh-co Grand Prix! :mad: Gobshíte!
    Scober11 wrote:
    Meet Gary Anderson in silverstone last weekend he was working on Declans ff1600 a little smaller than hes used to i'd imagine..................

I'll say! :D Wonder did his years of experience designing and engineering F1 cars pay off on Quigley's little F-Ford? What was that event, by the way, Scober, the Walter Hayes Trophy? Read that it was almost a washout, I believe. I didn't know Quigley was entered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭molateen

I believe Declan went out in his semi final . Supposed to have been a great weekend . 150 formula ford cars entered . Anyway here he is .

WHTS1HodgenQuigleyDW.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭endplate

I suppose I could just about stomach him. Damn sight better than Peter Collins ever was, that's for sure. With his "Pedro Paulo Diniz" all the time and "Nicky Heidfeld". :rolleyes: I could never understand why he always had to throw in the "Paulo" bit in Diniz's name. Nobody else ever did. Always sounded to me like he was his mother giving out to him or something; "Pedro Paulo Diniz, if you don't get in here for your tea right this minute........!" :D And what the hell was with all that "Nicky" Heidfeld business? :confused: So bloody annoying. And don't get me started on his weird pronounciation of the Mon-ahhhhhh-co Grand Prix! :mad: Gobshíte!

Then you have James Allen who is obiviously a muppet montoyo fan who keeps calling JPM One Montoyo.

For me Since ITV took over coverage of F1 and allowing ad breaks and then with Murray hanging up his microphone and replacing him with the insufferable crap spouting Allen it has become impossible to listen to. When Setanta took over coverage I wondered who would be commentating. The only bloody change was no Peter Collins. I was watching Setanta interviewing JV one race weekend and he was been asked questions about his oversized race suits. I felt like cringing could they not think of any better questions and could they not get a decent driver to interview

Why can't ITV cop on and throw out Allen and replace him with Ben Edwards

Yeah it was the Walter Hayes alright and what a weekend.Only £150 for entry including free testing on Friday,free garages all weekend and 2 days of racing.Sunday turned into a monsoon so it kind of fecked up the semi's and final.Declan went well enough considering it was his first time racing there,mind you i think he was trying to go round the outside of me when he went off couldn't see much in those conditions.If anybody wants to buy a ff1600 minus wheels there were plenty of the stacked up on the back of the recovery truck at the end of the race!

Any body racing in Kirkstown on Dec 27??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Declan Quigley is a top notch commentator. In fact the Sentanta F1 crew are all good and work well together. Kennedy as an ex-racer and Gary Anderson for technical insight and F1 strategy make up a very good team.

Quigley knows his stuff and is passionate about the sport, that plonker Collins didnt ever know what he was comentating on half the time.

and Allen isnt that bad....better anyways than that 'Barrah Boy' Blundell Cor blimey Governor etc, any day. +Tony Jardine is feckin brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭ando

Now, if only ITV would replace James "GOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!" Allen with Ben Edwards

I totally agree. I never liked James, I dunno what it is about him, he's just a dick I guess. I can’t stand his voice or his character. He seems to not give any time for the backmarkers, as if the best drivers are only in the fastest cars. Formula one is my passion, and it feels as if he's invaded my space... and yes I also hate it that he tries to take over the Murry mantle by shouting GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO at the start of every race. Mr Allen, stop doing that please. you sound like a fool

Ben Edwards all the way, I used to watch him on Eurosport when I had it. He did commentary on Cart racing, he has the talent, he really gets you into the races