Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

61Euro Customs charge for 14Euro Product!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

it should only come to about 21% of the value (ie VAT), i'd investigate further before you go forking out,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

i got a 3.5" case from ebay 2 weeks ago and it arrived at my house with no hassle - €60 sounds totally crazy to me...

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Customs charge 21% of the estimated value of the product, so they probably thought it was an actual Vaio 2.5" hard drive and charged the vat of that instead. You should be able to appeal and say it was a gift from a friend overseas, you might still have to pay 21% of €14 but you will get your €60 back

P.s I bought a guitar effects pedal of Ebay recently for €200 including del, and i was charged €50 also, same thing happened i missed the post office, got a little green docket and went down to the post office and parted with the cash, I was going to appeal but i never got around to it, I might give it a try soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

This is complete and utter BS....any item of £18 (€22) or less in value is VAT exempt...ie you don't have to pay VAT on it...not sure about how duty or handling charges work, but since the item should be VAT free, there shouldn't even be a haqndling charge...I'm too lazy to google for you, but go to oasis.gov or revenue.ie and look up the specifics....seems to me like the couriers or the post office are starting their christmas benevolent fund...wonder how many people get ripped off like this every year...

[edit]
    2. Consignments of Negligible Value

Consignments not exceeding a total value of €22 may be imported without payment of Customs Duty and VAT. However, there is no relief for importations of tobacco, tobacco products, alcoholic products, perfumes or toilet waters irrespective of their value.
    Direct quote from revenue.ie (no link; frame site)....so basically Hefty_Langer tell your postman where to go, and demand your item.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

i bought two national genographic project test kits at a value of 240 euros i think and the customs tax was 40 euros,you`ve been had i would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Was the value declared as E14?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

I don't actually know what value was declared on the package (as I haven't picked it up yet) I'm headin down there to pick it up in the morning, I can't wait to hear how the customs duty is over 400% more than the price of the article...

- Wertz - cheers for the info, I'll let ye all know how I get on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Bring your payment receipts, e.g. print out your paypal account statement, invoice, or whatever you can get your hands on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

Got stuffed with a 75 euro charge for a psp and 2 games.

and it was a present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Eyespy

county wrote:
    i bought two national genographic project test kits at a value of 240 euros i think and the customs tax was 40 euros,you`ve been had i would say

I'd agree. From what I've heard if the item was under twenty something euro, I'm not sure exactly, you shouldn't have to pay custom tax. I got stiffed for fifty five euros for importing a Roma top from the USA but only because I didn't read the small print. LOL I won't be making that mistake again. It was a present for my brother but because I had it delivered to me instead of him and didn't make it clear it was a present I had to hand the money for for fedex and the custom money over as well. Beware the small print! :eek:

But to the topic on hand definitely look into it before you hand over any money. I mean, getting slapped with a custom tax of over four times the items value is completely taking the p!ss.

Good luck anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

I remember reading or hearing somewhere that the US customs people are the ones applying charges on items... it has something to do with export tax!?!

Try ringing Revenue; they might have an idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Thing is, this item was sent from Asia, according to the eBay link...and the price was €4 before postage (which can't have VAT or duty applied AFAIK)

@OP assuming the postie won't back down on this, just tell em to ship it back to the retrun address...it'll end up costing them...then buy the thing from an EU seller. Could be the customs opened this on it's way in and assumed it was worth more than the VAT exempt level by consulting some sort of irish price list for that item; we all know how much more they cost here :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭The General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

hmm thats an awful lot, something is wrong there. i think if its under $50 dollars they dont bother with the duty, at least in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

>>>> Update <<<<<
    Went down to the P.O today, was all ready there with my ebay printout, paypal details, handed in the docket, said nothing, yer man just handed me the package and sent me on my merry way ???????? I was all ready for an argument and all I got was my drive caddy... :))
    Aren't an Post great?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

Too lazy to carry it to your house? :) Strike actions and all.