Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Lose F1 coverage to Setanta!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

:mad: WTF??

This is a disaster! What are RTE playing at? Though the last few seasons of F1 have been dire to put it mildly I still want to watch the races (I have hope for a better season every year) and I have no intention of paying Sky an extra €12.99 a month, I already pay over €50. And of course Sky don't provide UTV so where does that leave us?
    This is a major loss for RTE, as if the station isn't in enough trouble already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭robo

That is bad for you guys who don't have ITV but I would recomend ITV's coverage well over RTE's!!! And Setanta can't be any worst than what RTE serve up on a Sunday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

True, at least it's another nail in the coffin of Peter Collins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Ah F*CK F*CK F*CK F*CK F*CK F*CK
    And jordan get a good engine.is it on Sky sports.
    Hang on cant you tune in ITV to a digi box?

Il be bk watch this space

Oh and by the way Setanta is rubbish.Saw a match in the pub and a freeview match at home and its crap.Way worse than RTE if thats possible.

Ha ha sucess click here for instructions how to tune the Sky box to ITV

Big up the lads in ICDG/Satellite Forum all there hard work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

IF yur on Cablelink u can still watch it on ITV? and Setanta which is a bonu channel.

So no great loss, Will miss the excellent Declan Quigley ( the pit lane guy and David Kennedy,def wont miss Peter Collins (what a twat who knows feck all about F1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Aye it's not a great loss, the RTE's coverage was only good for when ITV went to ads, the good times were when it was on bbc and Murray Walker presented, I can't remember who did it with him, can anyone recall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

Jonathan Palmer? Murray's been through a fair few partners, I have to say Martin Brundle's been my favourite(in fact he's the only commentator on any station I like listening to anymore) and I think ITV do better coverage than BBC all in all, even if we do have to put up with ads.

I miss Eurosport's coverage, they were by far the most thorough and Ben Edwards and John Watson really knew their stuff.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Ben Edwards and John Watson were always superb. They seemed to have a great balance. Murray Walker was fantastic due to his charisma and he always counterbalanced Martin Brundle, which can't be said of James Allen who seems to think that the best way to emulate Murray is to throw a knicker fit whenever anything happens, no matter how banal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭mburke

Sentata, the channel is pretty new but is spending a lot of money to get sports rights, so it shall be only a matter of time before it is a pay channel on NTL also. Considering that Setanta is really a satellite channel how could F1 administration say that it is covering Ireland ?? As they only have a small bit of the market share.. It really seems like a crazy idea from bernie and the boys, but then again he is only in it for the money.

Any bets that after christmas that NTL will charge something for Setanta, if not how is that channel going to fund itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 markmagennis

irishgeo wrote:
    Thanks God for his FTV card.

What is an FTV card then? What can you do with it and does it cost?

Thanks,
    Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 markmagennis

Nukem wrote:
    Ha ha sucess click here for instructions how to tune the Sky box to ITV

Well yes but no. I can tune the box to the correct frequency and all those complicated settings for ITV, but I still can't actually watch any of the signals, except ITV3. It says they are unavailable. I asked Sky about this some time ago and they said that I couldn't get ITV even if I paid for it. Just not available. Full stop.

Have you had a different experience?

Mark

Sorry about that i think its false hope.just tuned it in as well.
    But on the flip side it is ment to be here by 05.Read the ICDG forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Well no real loss to me as i dont watch RTE coverage!I usually watch ITV's even though its usually bias as hell its still a lot better than RTE's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

I normally watch UTV but it was handy to flick to RTE during the breaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭dinjo

RTE are nothing but a bunch of W$*kers.......first,they sell tv rights for the football to sky......and now they dont fork out the cash to keep F1 on RTE.... i feel really sorry for all the people who dont have itv.........somebody said it earlier.......F1 on ITV is far better than any thing that RTE could come up with. This has to be sorted out.....ITS A DISCRASE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

dinjo wrote:
    RTE are nothing but a bunch of W$*kers.......first,they sell tv rights for the football to sky......and now they dont fork out the cash to keep F1 on RTE.... i feel really sorry for all the people who dont have itv.........somebody said it earlier.......F1 on ITV is far better than any thing that RTE could come up with. This has to be sorted out.....ITS A DISCRASE!

Agreed, it's a joke. The sport is struggling to keep viewers interested so how does switching to pay per view help anyone only Bernie??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭chern0byl

Kalina wrote:
    Agreed, it's a joke. The sport is struggling to keep viewers interested so how does switching to pay per view help anyone only Bernie??

Because bernie is a clever man. F1 only has a few money making years left and he is going to milk it for everything its worth. The sooner F1 implodes on its own bloat, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

oh dear this is not good news. I sometimes liked Rte's coverage (ie Lots about Jordan on race preview on sunday mornings) and I liked the way Peter Collins got really excited at some events that were happening on track... Monza '97 when Ralf pushed Herbert off at 200mph and Canada '98 when Michael pushed Frentzen off the track. Both occasions I enjoyed seeing the commentators get really excited and involved in what was going on and show what their feelings were to the events... not like that Robot, by the book idiot James Allen.. My god he's awful, by far the worst commentator going at the moment.
    If Utv have any cop on, they'd get the guy that used to do Eurosport's F1's nd I think CART commentary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

Fabritzo wrote:
    Aye it's not a great loss, the RTE's coverage was only good for when ITV went to ads, the good times were when it was on bbc and Murray Walker presented, I can't remember who did it with him, can anyone recall?

It was best when it was Murray Walker & the legend James Hunt (sadly died 1993), never the same since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Great - now even more people can not watch it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭TUTS

Always the same with RTE.....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

dinjo wrote:
    RTE are nothing but a bunch of W$*kers.......first,they sell tv rights for the football to sky...

When did they sell the football rights to Sky?

That whole saga was not RTÉ's fault, Sky Sports offered the FAI a lot more money than RTÉ could afford to offer, the FAI (Guess what?) Got greedy & succumed to Sky. :rolleyes:
    De Hipster wrote:
    It was best when it was Murray Walker & the legend James Hunt (sadly died 1993), never the same since.

I agree totally, they were one of the very best commentary partnerships of the lot.

Ahhh, If only the BBC had the rights back..... sigh... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭chern0byl

Ben & John were easily the best and by a mile. It was worth the €20 per race when they returned with Sky Digital, the races were poor but the commentary certainly added something to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 furski

They - Rte and Utv coverage of F1 has ads unlike the football - can you imagine ads in the premiership ! no bleedin way - thered be blue f-ing murder! - and football is on alot more than the F1 - F1 is on only every 2 weeks.

thats all I've to say.. :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭aine

wow! what a loss?!! lets face it RTE coverage was only good for one thing....the ad breaks on itv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Miles

Setanta, what a rip off operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i never watched the rte coverage, but setanta? come on now, there has to be better stations. setanta is lower grade tv then that dcu tv station that was on a few years ago..

maybe rte will buy rally coverage now? or give the money to ryan tubardy or someone...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

celticfc wrote:
    Ahhh, If only the BBC had the rights back..... sigh... :(
    It's just one of a number of things that were better when the British BC had control...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭grumpypaddy

i bet setanta aint too happy that ej has given up... not much hope for many people from ireland paying for sub now that the only irish team will be gone, jordan existing only in name this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭v10

Was suprised by this news so I emailed rté to get confirmation, here's the reply I got :
    xxxxxxx,
    I am in receipt of your email re above.
    Unfortunately, it is true that Setanta Sports have
    acquired the rights for this event.
    I understand your disappointment.

Regards.
    Bernie Fitzpatrick - RTE Information Office.
    I am not tooo bothered to be honest as I have ITV and their coverage is far superior to RTE's. But after reading on Setanta's website they they intend showing all practice and qualifying sessions, I might just take up their €99 offer for a years subscription. It also gives me the added advantage of being able to use my sky+ services with it (i.e. record & live pause/rewind).

I'm sure you've guessed I am a big F1 fan. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i am intrigued by the €99 offer

any literature online about it?

Mossy Monk wrote:
    i am intrigued by the €99 offer

any literature online about it?

Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Just a question lads...

ITV are the station that have the rights for F1 in the UK - we get UTV down here.

Now I know it's the same channel but will that croud of f***s setanta get all stroppy and stop the coverage on UTV seeing as it's broadcast in the Republic?

Please tell me it ain't so!!!

I'm a huge fan and this year is looking to finally be the year where Ferrari will be outside the top two! - based on pre-season practice it looks to be Renault followed by Mclaren, and with Mclaren having the advantage of fielding an extra car in friday practice for development purposes then they could well get ahead of other teams mid-season no matter how bad the car is at the start!

...and Montoya is a madman!

Can't wait!!!

smokingman wrote:
    Just a question lads...

ITV are the station that have the rights for F1 in the UK - we get UTV down here.

Now I know it's the same channel but will that croud of f***s setanta get all stroppy and stop the coverage on UTV seeing as it's broadcast in the Republic?

Please tell me it ain't so!!!

Nah, no worries on that score. ITV's F1 rights packages have been sewn up until 2010 (IIRC), Setanta couldn't do anything about that even if the wanted to.

UTV/ITV isn't actually broadcast for ROI anyway (NI only), it just happens that TV providers pay them to have it on their platforms.
    smokingman wrote:
    I'm a huge fan and this year is looking to finally be the year where Ferrari will be outside the top two!

Don't go putting your house on that ;)

celticfc wrote:
    Nah, no worries on that score. ITV's F1 rights packages have been sewn up until 2010 (IIRC), Setanta couldn't do anything about that even if the wanted to.

UTV/ITV isn't actually broadcast for ROI anyway (NI only), it just happens that TV providers pay them to have it on their platforms.

But if you can get UTV on an ariel and don't believe in paying for tv - will you still be able to watch it or be forced into streaming the whole thing through broadband onto your tv set?

celticfc wrote:
    Don't go putting your house on that ;)

I'm putting 50 on Ferrari not to win the constructors or the drivers this year!
    Dead serious - I think it's a sure thing (or rather hoping it is!)

smokingman wrote:
    But if you can get UTV on an ariel and don't believe in paying for tv - will you still be able to watch it or be forced into streaming the whole thing through broadband onto your tv set?

Yes, that's just terrestrial overspill from NI & thus not intended for ROI. Don't worry, once you can recieve the channel, you will be able to watch the F1. :)

oh thank christ!

Got V scared I wouldn't be able to watch it at all next year....
    Not paying for tv is very much my thing...

well, when you have nintendo and dvd channels, all you need is F1 and WRC and WRC is still free!

cheers dude. My racing heart is now at ease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭dearg_doom

I rate the RTE coverage far higher than the UTV coverage, I cant stand the UTV commentators, far too boring and biased towards British teams/drivers to the point of infallibility; getting overexcited at random events; and I'll never forgive them for their Eddie Irvine silliness during '99, all season he was British, MS crashes then EI starts winning, then Suzuka. All through the race its "british champion this"british champion that", then Hakkinen wins, and as Irvine crosses the finish line.

"well it was a brave fight to end a brilliant season for the plucky young Irishman" :rolleyes:

In defence of RTE though, Ilike when they get into explaining the technology and team strategies, I've never heard them give out wrong info. and any team who hire Gary Anderson as a pundit get instant kudos too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

if there was an irish driver to sing and dance about then you can be damn sure the rté commentators would have been doing a jig about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭douglasman

Looks like the Setanta commentary team are a rehash of the RTE team, except no Peter Collins which is something to be thankful for at least. I'm a bit disappointed though that Setanta don't seem to be showing the practice sessions live, I got the impression from their press release a while back that the whole 3 day event would all be shown live. The following is taken from the Setanta site

Formula 1 Live: Australian Grand Prix

Live from Melbourne, Australia, the first race of the season with commentary and analysis from Declan Quigley, David Kennedy and Gary Anderson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

They are also broadcasting the two qualifying sessions live.

Saturday, 5th March, 01:55

Live from Melbourne, Australia, the first qualifying session with commentary and analysis from Declan Quigley, David Kennedy and Gary Anderson.

Saturday, 5th March, 23:00
    Live from Melbourne, Australia, the second qualifying session with commentary and analysis from Declan Quigley, David Kennedy and Gary Anderson.

[Taken from the Setanta site]