Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pigsback.com

• 10-11-2004 11:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭

What are yer opinions on Pigsback.com. I've seen it advertising everywhere so before I sign up, is it worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

yep it's worth it.. great for xtravision vouchers, grocery vouchers and get points for buying tickets for some gigs. build up points and use em to get free call credit..

great only I suppose if u have access to the internet where you're not worried about the bill.. cos u kinda need to browse in order to find the links for points ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Yeah its worth it.

I have their branded credit card with MBNA, get 1 point for every €1 spent. I buy nearly everything on my cc now, so I get at least 700 points a month (and they gave me 2000 points for signing up)

They do good offers on points for airline tickets, had a deal recently on Dell purchases, and also give points for Tesco Online shopping.

Currently offering an X Box for 15000 points and a PS2 for 16000 points.

One tip:

Consider setting up an e-mail account especially for use with pigsback. There are a lot of offers for signing up to newsletters, its a handy way of getting points for nowt. You need an e-mail for these. Check it once a week for e-mail offers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yeah, definitely go for it. I've gotten a good few free CDs from it (from CDWOW) and the other day I ordered the XBOX. Costing me nowt. It takes a good while to get enough points for that but it's do-able.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

How do I stop thos f**kers at pigsback sending me junk mail, all about how to get 10 cent of the mose expensive butter in the supermarket, its starting to do my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

How do I stop thos f**kers at pigsback sending me junk mail, all about how to get 10 cent of the mose expensive butter in the supermarket, its starting to do my head in.
    Don't stop them... setup numerous pig's-back identities - (hint new IP address) and milk'em for what you can. And a spam filter :D

Control Panel - My Subscriptions - Uncheck the relevant boxes.

Control Panel accessed from blue menu bar at the top of the homepage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,179 ✭✭✭samo

if your ever buying a car from a garage theres a voucher that you get them to fill in and then post off and you get 10,000 piggypoints. All garages that advertise in carzone will do this and thats the equivalent of 100 euro worth of vouchers for stuff!

(its new/secondhand cars btw, for some reason when I sent in my voucher they applied it twice so ended up with 20,000 points instead!)

pigsback def worth signing up for, i'm 30points away from a free dvd off cd-wow at the moment! :D

Has anyone signed up for the top-up club as well, that seems to be similar? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

How did you manage to get 15000 points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've got their credit card too and so far I think I've taken pigsback.com for at least €200 worth of CDWOW vouchers. Just don't have the patience to hang onto the points for a games console!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Danni

Defon worth it to sign up. What have you got to lose. Its not like you've to pay to join! Plus you don't get spammed with emails of offers (unless you sign up for them).. I rarely buy online but enter all the comps & win points that way etc.. & i've got 3 €10 Top Up for Vodafone & about 10 cd's since i started. All for nothing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

Don't stop them... setup numerous pig's-back identities - (hint new IP address) and milk'em for what you can. And a spam filter :D

It's not as easy to do now. When you claim any rewards you have to give a mobile number, and they text you a validation code. You can't use the same phone number for different email addresses.
    So if you want to cheat you must make sure the email address, ip address and phone number for each account is unique.

okidoki987 wrote:

Well I got 710 points last night for 7 minutes work.

How? I signed up for the o2 newsletter, joined Club Nokia, and looked at one offer.

Use their shopping coupons and you often get points when they are redeemed (up to 100 points IIRC).

Apply for a Permanent TSB mortgage online and get 20,000 points!

Get the MBNA credit card with them and you get 2,000 points just for joining.
    samo wrote:
    pigsback def worth signing up for, i'm 30points away from a free dvd off cd-wow at the moment!

If you haven't already samo, sign up for the o2 newsletter. You'll get yourself 200 points.

Nah, already done that, and I signed up for club nokia and aer lingus!

Thanks for suggestion!!
    Dont want another mortgage with the permanent TSB either - its a bit drastic

Will have to wait for xtravisions free comps next week, then happy days will be logging onto cdwow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I have printed some money off vouchers offering 100 free points but these points don't seem to have been credited.

I may be wrong without knowing the specific voucher but think you need to buy the item and then when the supermarket posts it back to pigsback they then credit your account, but this can take ages!!

samo wrote:
    I may be wrong without knowing the specific voucher but think you need to buy the item and then when the supermarket posts it back to pigsback they then credit your account, but this can take ages!!

Yeah, I've noticed that as well. Persevere Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭robo

Cork wrote:
    I have printed some money off vouchers offering 100 free points but these points don't seem to have been credited.

I did that also and they don't seem to have credited me with piggypoints yet either and that was about 2 months ago.

Also a word of warning on the multiple accounts, a friend of mine had 2 accounts going, and was entering competitions and getting points form jackpots, had a lot of points, about 10,000 from both accountsa dn them closed his account!!! So he lost all of his points...not worth it cos they do check log files of I.P. addresses etc!

You can email pigsback and enquire about any missing points, if you know roughly when you spent the voucher and what store. It does say somewhere on the site that it can take approx 8-12 weeks for these to be credited.

That would be a pin to lose all your points, Theirs actually 2 accounts from my PC but one is used by genuiinly used by someone else in the house so am a bit worried now they are going to close both. Does it say anywhere that its only one account per PC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

My account was suspended a while ago because one of the lads in work accessed his pigsback account from my computer. I didn't realise it until I went to use some of my points, but all I had to do was ring pigsback and they 'un-suspended' it straight away and I haven't had any trouble since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

I think Pigsback is great..
    Have gone to see a few film preview, use the grocery vouchers regularly & got 4 James Taylor tickets in the post for doing nothing - a concert which my mother & her friends went to..
    Just waiting to win one of the holidays...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

Pigsback is great... I want more. Is there any similar sites which offer stuff in exchange for points? Can anyone tell me any similar sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Dunno, would love if there were more like it..
    My brother got 3 tickets to U2 the other week, all because he referred someone to pigsback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

it's great for spyware and pop-ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 TearLine

if you are a Northsider called NICOLAHHH its f*uckin brill, get a few vids for free,

if you are a knacker sign up, if not, buy what you need from money you have earned

TearLine wrote:
    if you are a Northsider called NICOLAHHH its f*uckin brill, get a few vids for free,

if you are a knacker sign up, if not, buy what you need from money you have earned
    Sounds like something an honest hardworking idiot would say. :rolleyes:
    We want freebies dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

Diarmsquid wrote:
    Pigsback is great... I want more. Is there any similar sites which offer stuff in exchange for points? Can anyone tell me any similar sites?

I've heard 'Top up club' is good. Although there is a surcharge or sumtin?
    http://www.top-upclub.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Aww shucks,thanks a lot to everybody for their kind words regarding Pigsback
    To be honest when I first set up the company in June 2000 i was only making it for myself and if anybody else liked it it would have been a bonus.
    I couldnt believe that 1st week when 2000 members joined and then after the 1st month when it jumped to 15000?you could have knocked me down with a feather.
    Within 2 years confidence was high(possibly due to cocaine habit developed a few months previously)and membership had jumped to a mind boggling 145,000.Only one smiley would do for this figure. :eek:
    The most popular sections of the site include the grocery coupons ,Irelands best hotel offers,rental and retail deals in xtravision,free cinema previews and 2 for 1 tickets,discounts for massive events such as Miss Saigon and of course loads of competitions
    My main competitors include webrewards,ipoints,mypoints,coolsavings and also ebid.ie,ebay and ryanair.But hopefully we will have eliminated all these competitors by the end of the year through a combination of dirty tricks bribes and aggressive takeovers
    Anyway once more thanks for the kind words and remember to keep on saving those Piggy Points,that speedboat is almost in your grasp
    Piggy Power to the People

Pighead wrote:
    My main competitors include webrewards,ipoints,mypoints,coolsavings and also ebid.ie,ebay and ryanair.
    OMG OMG! Its the creator of Pigsback!
    But about those other companies you mentioned, are any of them Irish? (I mean the "points-collecting-and-exchanging for stuff" companies.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Diarmsquid wrote:
    OMG OMG! Its the creator of Pigsback!
    But about those other companies you mentioned, are any of them Irish? (I mean the "points-collecting-and-exchanging for stuff" companies.)

Relax buddy,i'm not that famous.I mean i'm no Michael O Leary.MMMMMMM Michael "Bachelor Boy"O Leary.What a man
    But to answer your question yes they are all Irish.I hate them all apart from maybe ryanair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

okidoki987 wrote:
    I just flew through my piggybank and added up the amount of points I have spent. I have spent 12,800 points since I registered in November 2001. I'm only on it every fortnight the last couple of years (before that I would have been a lot more regular). I just clicked on the 10 points links, signed up for newsletters, referred friends, etc. I spend 4,000 on Paddy Power vouchers. Probably the same amount on Miller vouchers. The rest on credit, cinema tickets, etc. I also won a few thousand for predicting the first scorer in the Cameroon-Ireland match, a few hundred people got it correct too so it had to be split.

Pighead - Have you made much money since it started? I found out about it from a giant Pig on the Grand Canal Docks 4 years ago. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I'd be pretty certain Pighead didnt start pigsback, or is a very poor representation of the company(search users posts)

Wasn't it started by a Couple from Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

julep wrote:
    it's great for spyware and pop-ups.

Idiot :D

Shows how much you use it... If you get crapware on pigsback its because you were stupid enough to let it on your system from some porn site or other non legit site. Pigsback itself does not have anything of the kind there. Only pop ups are when you click a pop up link like the daily trivia quiz or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Pigsback are having their cineclub preview tonight in UCI Tallaght, Blanchardstown and Coolock....

The preview is Skeleton Key...anybody from Boards going???

I just got my tickets confirmed a few minutes ago, hopefully i will get home from work on time.