Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Age Dilemma for publicans.

• 23-01-2001 9:50pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Beautiful.jpg

Does anyone know if this has come into effect yet, because bloody clubs are still refusing admission saying that they are over 21's etc. Although its more because they dont like the look of you. *Ponders* ... how does Sam get into clubs then ??? smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

It is the law!!

It is in force!!

If you are over 18 you are entitled to be served in a pub!! (threatening "I'll smash yer head in" to the doorman is of course still a barring offence). Clubs and pubs are still entitled to have dress codes and of course 'regulars nights'.

Employers and schools can't force people to wear different uniforms because of their sex (and male / female fits will be needed where uniforms are required). However guys, I'm sorry guys you will still probably be done for depravity if you dress as a girl - but would a girl be done for dressing as a guy? Hmmmmm, me suspects discrimination in the anti-depravity laws.

Employers can't ask you for your age, marital status or disabilities on an application form - unless another law provides that a certain job can only be done by say over-18s e.g. night watchman, certain industiral / mining jobs (then can ask you for it afterwards for record purposes). Once you are 16 you can get a job anywhere (assuming you are qualified of course and another law doesn't stop you).

Everywhere new or altered building (including houses) must provide for equality of access. You must provide a wheelchair accessible WC and in theory door steps are illegal. (This is under the Building Regulations 2000, Part M)

[Nsk]Victor
    [NSK]MAC10ASSASSIN
    Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.
    I know things about pigeons, Lily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Hmm... I'm 18, and I have one of those relatively-new Garda "Age Card" ID's ... most publicans just look at you in confusion when you present it as ID and then ask for a fvcking driving licence.

Bloody annoying mad.gif

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I'm waiting an opportunity to give the Gardaí a statement about the way a duo of bouncers refused myself and my mates entry to a pub in Dublin (O'Reilleys under the DART on Tara St). They will be prosecuted!

They refused one of my mates entry on the grounds that he was too young. Now, he is very young looking, but he's 21 and has ID to prove it. However, the bouncers wouldn't even look at his ID so he wasn't even given the opportunity to prove his age. Pants bandits!

All the best,
    kharn_sig.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Frodo@work

balls to this new law.
    theres nothing worse than having a group of spotty 18 year olds running around and p1ssing me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kharn:
    I'm waiting an opportunity to give the Gardaí a statement about the way a duo of bouncers refused myself and my mates entry to a pub in Dublin (O'Reilleys under the DART on Tara St). They will be prosecuted!
    </font>

Bóllix, i'm going there saturday and i don't look 18 even tho i have a driving licence to prove i'm 20 frown.gif

glassesprv.gif
    Sweeet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

You have to be over 18 to own a credit card. Just show them that.

While they have to serve you, they do have the right to refuse admission to anyone they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

As long as it's not on grounds of your age. E.g. apparently if they refuse you because they think you look too young, then you produce valid proof of age, then they tell you you don't meet the dress code, that is not valid reason for refusal and you can sue. If the real reason for refusal is in fact your appearance, they must tell you this first, without bringing up the issue of age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Take it

Yes it's law and they can be fined up to £5000 for refusing you clubs has got easier to get into now in Dublin anyway!

But it's not that you can provide ID then they must let you in, if they say "not tonight lads" they have the right to refuse you if you provide id or not.

But if they ask for you ID then they MUST let you in on the grounds that you have proved that you are over 18 they can't change there mind and say no pink trousers allowed (in your case Slaan) after asking for ID.

Also by the way if they say "Regulars only tonight" you can ask to see if they have a private licence to legally refuse you on those grounds.

But then again are you going to argue your point against a 7 foot bouncer whos getting ****ed off because your holding the que up or are you just going to leave it smile.gif.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

I is still confused, now from the posts here, they are not allowed to disallow you entrance based on age, but if you go by the article the wording is confusing, i.e. is it that they can't stop you entering the premesis based on age, or is it that they can't refuse to serve you based on age.

I know that's confusing in that if they stop you entering they are kind of doing both, but I is still confused and want that one cleared up please thank you very much

AFAIK if they have doorstaff working and you show them i.d. to get in then you're entitled to be served because you have already proven your age in order to get in.

apparently

glassesprv.gif
    Sweeet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Kulgan

HHmm i think the worst case is that "new" fire gaf smile.gif which i ve heard many a story.

Apparently Theres one dude on the door who randomly selects people who get in or not (without barely a glance) dont matter what age ,what appearance etc etc he's just a dickhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

If they don't want you in their club they'll find some other reason not to let you in, like you're too drunk, or you're in breach of our dress code.
    Dress codes are a pile of **** aswell, if they won't let you in due to having the 'wrong' kind of shoes or whatever, they're supposed to provide you with shoes or some ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 [Neil0r]

yah that law is a load of underpants.
    It will make no difference what so ever to whether or not people will/wont get in imho.

This "right to refuse admission" will probably be used for bouncers/publicans to hide behind. As most of you probably realise there is a big difference between theory and practice when it comes to the law.

nethousegames

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Chief

Well FB.. down to the tavern then i must go.. over 30's PAH! £5000 sounds yum..

wink.gif

"LOSE me.. Hate me.. SMASH me..
    ERASE me.. KILL me.."

nine inch nails - eraser

|Chief|...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

If I ever have an establishment such as a pub, I will be the one to decide who gets in and drinks at my table. Pfah! Fark the law!

http://run.to/pile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Take it

Fire works is getting slatted by the papers for letting the ques pile up so that it looks like it's busy and literally refusing every second person!

Yes they can refuse you even if you have id on other grounds. But if they ask to see your id then you prove your over 18 they can't refuse you.

so in short:

If asked for ID and shown can't be refused

If not asked for ID but refused legally theres nothing wrong with this!

i.e. you can't go up to a bouncer and give him your ID card and say "you must let me in"

This is what I've been told by my boss!

And Baz_ they can't stop you from entering the premises if you've proven you are over 18 when asked. Also they can't refuse serving you if proved your over 18 when asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

talking of bouncers-saw this in the wexford people--

advert.gif

Ah o'neills you are a great pub indeed, well worthy of my patronage.

glassesprv.gif
    Sweeet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 beth_craig

Can a pub or off-license refuse a passport as proof of age??? i got refused in an offie last week and had both my passport and drivers license, they said garda i.d. only. is that legal?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

[biff tannon]
    i know your new here, so im gonna cut ya a break
    [/biff tannon]

its generally not a good idea to bring up month old topics. or so if been told anyway.

but they shouldnt refuse you for drivers licence and passport.

OFFICAL DISCLAIMER: The views expressed in this post are not necessarily the views expressed by SANE people. We accept no responsibility for any contamination caused to your bodily fluids due to reading this post. We ask patrons to please keep their feet visible at all times and their left hand raised in the air, for their own safety. Remember we're extremists with miniature guitars...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

O'Neills: Another pub with bloody ignorant bouncers.

One night i was there with 3 friends, they refused two of us saying that were too young, despite the fact that we all had passports proving that we were 18. Their excuse was "neither of you look like your passport photo".

SMAK: I do think its important enough to leave up.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by kaids:
    Their excuse was "neither of you look like your passport photo".</font>

How old were you in the photo? Do you genuinely look different? I suspect they do have to accept a passport, but it does have to look like you. I heard a story of kids in the 1970´s bringing sisters birth certificates
    Bus Scene
    Female passenger: Do you go to Smyth´s [Pub in Malahide]?
    Bus Driver: Yes.
    Female passenger: Two half fares please.
    Bus Driver: No.
    Female passenger: What?
    Bus Driver: Eh, you are going to the pub ...

Kill, kill, kill the laser mice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by [Neil0r]:

This "right to refuse admission"...
    </font>

...is a legal grey area, and generally non-existant.

Bard
    'First motorbike in the bible ???? ---- a Triumph --- 'Yea verily Moses struck down the ammmanites and all the land heard the roar of his triumph !!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Victor:
    SMAK: I do think its important enough to leave up.</font>

i was just pointing out, not to ge digging up topics too often.

anyway, ive never been refused (with id, cos i look nowhere 19 smile.gif). i usually just have a drivers licence with me and that does the job. im gonna get one of those age cards though, just to be sure.

OFFICAL DISCLAIMER: The views expressed in this post are not necessarily the views expressed by SANE people. We accept no responsibility for any contamination caused to your bodily fluids due to reading this post. We ask patrons to please keep their feet visible at all times and their left hand raised in the air, for their own safety. Remember we're extremists with miniature guitars...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭irishguy

so when ur 18 u have a legal right to be served on any premises including sex shops,gambeling halls ect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

How the fúck are you putting pics in sigs?!!!!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

longfield you cant put images in your sig. If you actually read the text in your profile you would know this.

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    The UBB Code Image tag is not permitted, however
    </font>

To test things out use the trolls board.

Dont Post off topic, its annoying.

Insanity is spreading like wildfire.......and Im at its center :p

www.scifi-meshes.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭irishguy

what about this.i was in a pub about a week ago it was during the day so it was realy quite.there was 4 of us we each ordered a drink and were asked 4 id they accepted each of our ids [even my fake collage usit]then i whent up to get a second drink but the same barperson said she could not serve me because she was just told that they only accepted the national age card.can she do this after she allready served me? assuming i was 18 [which i will b soon]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

I'm afraid so!. Because if her superior had asked you in the first place, you wouldn't of had that first drink. The reason you got server was a fault of the barwoman. She just worked there and was not management. TBH it is widely known that the Usit's can be easily faked. It was done all the time when I was younger.

Actually it's really funny when you go to a club when you're 16 (present your Usit), do that for the next 2 years. Then finally go there on your 18th Birthday with a big badge saying "Happy 18th" etc. I did that, and the bouncers just laughed and said "Get in there you little fukker before I change my mind", twas priceless. wink.gif

But I know all about bouncers, and gettin refused. I am 21 and look about 17-18 (I think anyway). I have been asked for ID most of my life up until I turned 21. And for some strange reason it just stopped. I hardly get asked for ID anymore, and it's just plain sailing through any door I please. Now I know there can be the odd instance, but it's just a quick flash of my college ID, and in I go. I don't mind showing my ID to a bouncer, and I'm always have a friendly attitude towards them. Any of the places I seem to go in to lately have decent door staff. Not that they let you in all the time. But they are very good at picking out the younger ones (even the women), and the ones that are bound to start trouble etc. Not that I'm biased or anything, but when a group of lads come up to a door with black eyes, a nose ring, and smell like sour milk, ya know it just a matter of someone looking in the wrong direction before sh*t happens.

All in all I do sympathise with those that should gain access and don't. I'm obviously going to different places than you.

;-phobos-)

;-phobos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

to be perfectly honest phobos post is the best post on this thread so far. the fact of the matter is that when we go out we like to be around a certain type of people, the ones we feel comfortable with. in all fairness if i want to drink with teenagers i'll go to fibbers/the vatican and drink with teenagers.
    the fact that i dont want teenagers drinking with me means that they dont get into the pub that i'm in. the fact that i am the "right sort of people" for my pubs disqualifies me from getting me into tram co, zanzibar etc BUT because i am not a teenager anymore i realise that i will have more fun going to the places i like rather than having to go to a **** superpub full of accounts clerks from roscommon who tuck their shirts into their wranglers think dublin is a terrible place all together and think that it is acceptable behaviour to play "down under"[bold culchie! no biscuit! you are not australian!]/"summer in dublin"[truly dreadful eighties culchie anthem - by bagatelle, yet another dire irish eighties band(cactus world news, u2, aslan, etc, etc.)] in a public place.
    [christ some serious thought went into writing that believe it or not.. probably most of the serious thought went into the punctuation though... painful weekend]

HOWEVER I PROBABLY WILL GO THERE AN AWFUL LOT IN A FEW YEARS TIME WHEN I'M FED UP WITH WHAT I DO FOR FUN NOW AND WILL RESENT IT WHEN "KIDS" WHO ARE THE SAME AGE AS I AM NOW SIT DOWN AT THE TABLE NEXT TO ME TO CHATTER LOUDLY ABOUT HOW COOL THEY ARE BECAUSE THEYVE JUST BEEN ON AN ALL WEEKEND DRUG BINGE THE POINT OF THIS POST IS TO HIGHLIGHT AN IRONIC FOIBLE OF THE HUMAN CONDITION SLIPKNOT HOODY MASSIVE READ THE WORDS IN CAPITALS AGAIN

incidentally, it could be that i am being remarkably double standardeded or whatever by implying that i hate teenagers and then hanging out with them - i do have several teenage mates, wicked ppl they all are too - but i would rather you thought of age as an abstract thing that has nothing to do with looks [unless youre prepubescent and on drugs at the point - i dont care how cool you are or how intelligent, articulate WHATEVER, your parents should be locked up i will never go to a dance music type thing that is at the point again because it turns me into a family values type of guy, the type of guy that all decent boards heads me included give out to at the humanities board]
    now the point of the story is that YOUTH is for finding out what you like, and also for learning where you're not. next comes realizing that if they dont want you there they probably have a reason. then comes realising that, well you'd rather take it a bit easier. after that comes actually taking it easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭KevDaEdbanger

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by [cm]tyranny:
    if i want to drink with teenagers i'll go to fibbers/the vatican and drink with teenagers.
    </font>

Oi!! I go to fibbers and I'm in me twenties, and a lot of my friends there are older. Don't knock Fibbers. It may be a hole, but its MY hole 8¬)

When I find out who hacked me acount I'm a goana get 'em!

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by irishguy:
    so when ur 18 u have a legal right to be served on any premises including sex shops,gambeling halls ect?</font>

Pretty much, unless there is some other piece of legislation to say otherwise, but I imagine many "gambeling halls" are "members only".

Kill, kill, kill the laser mice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Things I remember from my childhood:

I was legally permitted to have sex from the age of 16.

The local chemist wouldn't sell me contraceptive protection, however, until I was 18.

I wasn't allowed to buy cigarettes for a post coital smoke until I was 18 (local pub had a notice pasted to the ciggie machine), nor could I vote on whether or not I should be able to have sex, buy contraception or get ciggies until I was 18.

My local pub tolerated me on their premises, just about, from the age of 17 onwards, threatening to bar me (no result of my actions, I assure you) every six months or so.

Now I'm 24, and can do pretty much what I like.

Except buy cider in a Tesco off licence.

They still card me.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

kev, you're right, i shouldnt knock your hole. i will however feel free not to dink there. no disrespect intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Minesajackdaniels:

Except buy cider in a Tesco off licence.

They still card me.

</font>

Yeah, they're bastids for it. I looked about 60 with a beard and all and they asked me for id... wouldn't take driving license either, w4nk0rs...

I find the best way to buy drink in Tescos, without, passport or age card, is to slap a credit card on the counter along with your 6 cans of Scrumpy Jack, they never ask if you pay by Mr. Flexible.

I couldn't believe at the age of 23 and looking 40 that ppl still carded me ... smile.gif

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

"You have to be over 18 to own a credit card. Just show them that."

I've had one since I was 16, when enquiring at the time I was told that anyone under 18 could have one who either had a guarantor, or a sufficient income and "good history" with the bank. *shrug*