Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show..

• 05-11-2004 10:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭flyinfishmonkey

Just saw that shower of "always bet on a sure thing" clones, Westlife on the Late Late. Easy knowing they are managed by Louis "I'm your man" Walsh. They are going to make a fortune (AGAIN) on the backs of others who far outweigh them in pure class. I speak of course about The Rat Pack. They are doing an album with all those old hits and the kids can't and don't have the voices that the likes of Sinatra and Martin had to carry the songs! They performed two songs and they made them both sound abissmal. But look lads,cometh forth a boat laden with gold and riches. Lets grab it!!
    I rest my case.

• You're right....great songs made sound flat and soulless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭kaiphas

I totally agree. Two smashing songs ruined by Westlife jumping on yet another bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

The ad for the album claims that the songs are "inspired" by the Rat Pack.

Good to know they aren't singing the originals. Boy was I worried for a moment, but it must be a different "My Way"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

They sang so flat and with no class.
    They came across as bad imitations.
    Louis must be slippin lettin them have a go at this............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭dublin_apache

Your all right, but you know what the worst thing will be ?

We'll get the album as an x-mas presant :eek: .........

And have ye seen this ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Yep saw it on the show, FANatical not FANtastic :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Westlife have stopped being a band for the past year and a half. Correct me if I am wrong but their last two singles were covers/reworks - Mandy and Hey Whatever (Rainbow Zephyr rework). There last 'original' song was Be Bob Baby, I think. They have a tour coming up and do this karaoke album. Stopping being a band of any kind about 2 years ago, going through the motions, or effectively stealing money out of parents of 12 year old pockets. Yet it is showed down the throat of anyone reading newspaper that they actual do something for a living.

Now dont get me started on Samantha Mumba. Photo'ed at the Irish Film and TV awards....had she two songs about five years ago....

Goddam media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

hmmm... both myself and the missus actually thought they sang well! :o

Must be getting tone deaf in me old age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭kaiphas

to be fair bad and all as it is I'd rather see her that way round (and I don't mean 4 tits are better than 2).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

total rubbish, hope it flops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Haha, I was going to ask if the flower up the top left was to cover up McFadden's head but his ugly pig face is much bigger than that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Morgans wrote:
    Westlife have stopped being a band for the past year and a half.

They were never a band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭flyinfishmonkey

I'm glad to see everyone agreed with me (nearly), so it wasn't just my total dislike at their attempt to make a quick buck off the backs of others. Well thank god for free speech! As for your woman with the Tat on her back... Well I reckon her husband must really hate them and when he's erm.... doin' it "like the Discovery channel" I'd say he gets so vexed lookin' at them that she ends up with a real smile on her face :eek: ! Or maybe its the nearest thing he can get to actually doing it with one of them... The mind boggles!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Makaveli wrote:
    They were never a band.

...and just always a brand.

Evidence of which was the fact that they were originally going to be called 'Westside' until Louis Walsh was denied registering the trademark by the trustees of the Sonheim and Burnsteen estates who feared confusion with "Westside Story".

Ok, so they've gone and done a 'Robbie'. What did you expect, originality?

But they fact that they're copying the career moves of someone else copying a genre brings the whole thing to new lows of banality.

I thought McFadden singing his 'Daddy' song on the Late Late was scrotum tightening enough.

Actually, there's an idea, I'm off to start a thread on what would be the ultimate Late Late Show from hell..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Christ. When Tubridy gets his hands on this album, 2FM will become even more of a no-go area in the mornings than it is now. And of course we'll all be tortured with tweenies singing 1930's ditties down the back of the bus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Presumably Brian McFadden is tatoo'd across her ass? Actually, now that I think of it you wouldn't even need a tatoo to get a startling resemblance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

Wertz wrote:
    Christ. When Tubridy gets his hands on this album, 2FM will become even more of a no-go area in the mornings than it is now.

Nope, he doesn't like what they have done with the songs...heard him being interviewed on the Saturday show a few weeks ago whilst promoting the TV Show and he was asked if Westlife offered him a exclusive performance with their new album would he have them on...he said no way!!! So doubt that he will play much of their album!