Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning into something else

• 05-11-2004 10:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

To get to the point straight away my excessive drinking has left me with no friends I only have my girlfriend and everytime I drink I get abusive and totalyl change, This is very scary and its really something I stand against when sober. The logical thing would be stop drinking..well i have done that for two months I came off my anti-depressants and medication because I thought that was making me aggressive but last night I went out drinking and i only had like 6-7 pints but I flipped again going home alone and woke up with txt replies that only suggest I was sending abusive texts last night.

What are the reasons for this? Do you think I have alot of anger inside that only gets out while drunk?

I become a total ****ing psycho at times when I have drink in me and it's not a nice experience and either is having no friends anymore.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Hurting wrote:
    What are the reasons for this? Do you think I have alot of anger inside that only gets out while drunk?

you can answer that question better than any of us in here,
    do you?
    if you cannot answer it then perhaps a professional could help you with that

I become a total ****ing psycho at times when I have drink in me and it's not a nice experience and either is having no friends anymore

it would appear from your post that drink does not agree with you, for whatever reason.
    would you find it difficult to give it up? you did for two months, perhaps you need to make that longer.

I reckon the best thing you can do is give it up, see a councilor and perhaps apologise to your friends.
    but please, get some help asap

best of luck
    a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Stop drinking. You have to. Not easy but you have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Stop drinking

Which is more valuable to you? Your friends and girlfriend or having a drink which results in you losing the plot?

Im not being condascending but its a simple choice, stop drinking before you lose everyone you care about...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Hurting wrote:
    i only had like 6-7 pints

Only? Slow down, if you can't cut it out, cut it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

I agree with the above, but sometime I its what you drink also, you say "only 6-7 pints" Thats is excessive, next time just bring 25 euro out with you and leave your bank card at home (drink local) and have 3-4 pints, just because you go out doesnt mean that you have to go loco or get into rounds, just take it easy, going cold turkey is much harder than reducing your intake of booze. I used to go mad when I drank shorts and would drink 6-7 JD's a night, I moved on to bottles of beer, now i would drink 4 or 5 a night, I have a good night I remeber what I did and I'm not a complete a$$hole to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Go see a professional.

You may have anger problems. On the other hand, you may just be an abusive drunk. Some people are.

A mate of mine used to get abusive when he drank. Most of it was caused by his mother and his ****tiness of life, but the abuse rarely focussed on that. It would usually just be a tirade of abuse against every individual who dared walk within 5 feet of him.

It's stopped now, because his mum is busy and his quality of life has improved.

Go see a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I've been drinking for a long time and have never been allergic to alcohol it's a more recent thing like the last three months...You say 6 or 7 pints is an awful lot I used to drink alot more but I feel my pattern of thought changing after 2 pints even sometimes, My thoughts can go really morbid and Im afriad if I got pissed off to such a point I would end up harming myself, I think the best thing for me to do is just stop altogether im grumpy most of the time I think I will go back and have a word with the doctor.

It's just a bit hard to take because its just like its happening all of a sudden I could go out and binge drink and wake up the next morning not grabbin my face and grunting in the past.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Only 6-7 pints.

Cop on, ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

hurting wrote:
    ...You say 6 or 7 pints is an awful lot .

6 0r 7 is a lot when you haven't been drinking for a while.
    Question: Do you always drink the same thing?
    I find if I drink vodka I get extremely irriatated and roar and shout at other people who are generally annoying but not worth the hassle when I' sober. If I drink anything else this doesn't happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

beer makes people arrgressive the only time me and this would ever fight is when he'd be drinking beer, he was a totally different person. now he drinks vodka
    1 he cant handel as much as he can with beer
    2 he doesn't get as ill the next day.

my advice is cut down and change your flavor larger's beers wiskeys and ciders are not good for anger managment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Ren0

No one likes a violent drunk.

How about this... DO NOT DRINK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

Drink effects us all differently - I'm a happy drunk. In saying that I don't like being drunk - merry is fine for me as I like to be in control. You need to pace yourself. You say you got texts from what must've been replies to violent texts you sent - so you got a blackout then. When I was younger - late teens early twenties I often got blackouts and I'd be ashamed the next day not remembering a lot of the night before - luckily my mates would "mind" me and I would only act a complete moran on the dance floor :o but I decided I didn't like not remembering and learned how to pace myself when drinking. It was hard at first but its worth it. My cousin's girlf is a violent drunk - she would start a fight with anyone when drunk (not remember the next day) - she tried pacing herself but she wasn't able - some people can't stop at 2 or 3 or 4 so she decided to quit as my cousin was on the verge of leaving her. She is now sober over 3 years. She loves her joints though and they are both really happy. We were at a family wedding during the summer and a few people asked her why she wasn't drinking and she said she didn't like the person she was with drink and don't drink anymore. I really admire her for that. So basically you need to see if you can pace your drinking and if not give it up totally or else you'll end up a lonely old man sitting at the bar stool on his own everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Ren0 wrote:
    No one likes a violent drunk.

How about this... DO NOT DRINK!

Hear hear.
    And if you're going to drink I hear that Copthe****on make a nice pint, if you're into foreign drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

hurting wrote:
    I've been drinking for a long time and have never been allergic to alcohol it's a more recent thing like the last three months...You say 6 or 7 pints is an awful lot I used to drink alot more but I feel my pattern of thought changing after 2 pints even sometimes, My thoughts can go really morbid and Im afriad if I got pissed off to such a point I would end up harming myself, I think the best thing for me to do is just stop altogether im grumpy most of the time I think I will go back and have a word with the doctor.

It's just a bit hard to take because its just like its happening all of a sudden I could go out and binge drink and wake up the next morning not grabbin my face and grunting in the past.

Drink is a depressant so if you are feeling bad it will make you feel worse. Best thing to do is have a word with your doctor. He should be able to refer you to someone else you can help you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

If you don't want to give up the drink try drinking slower or stopping when you feel yourself getting drunk. If you can't do that then you definitely have a problem and will need to see someone about it. The fact that you can't seem to remmeber anything is a bigger problem than what you may have done imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

You need to seriously stop drinking. Are you willing to risk your girlfriend and everything else just coz of a stoopid drink?

Perhaps you should see a professional if you can't stop drinking by yourself. Or at least cut down on the booze - as someone already said, bring out a small amount of dough with you and leave your bank card at home - and don't get into rounds. That way, you'll have to limit your booze intake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Hurting wrote:
    ... The logical thing would be stop drinking..well i have done that for two months I came off my anti-depressants and medication because I thought that was making me aggressive......

Alcohol is a drug which acts as a *depressant*, and can potentiate or be potentiated by other drugs. 6-7 pints may not seem like a lot to you, but if you had been off it for a while, that's a different story!

You recognise that alcohol is a major problem for you. Now it is time to do something about it before the problem gets worse.

You might consider trying an alcohol-free night in the pub or club - drink Lucozade in a pint glass with *loads* of ice. It 'looks' like cider, if you have a problem with looking wimpish. Might be a bit difficult to get to sleep though! Being sober at the end of a night out, and seeing the state other people are in can be a real eye-opener.

Make an appointment with your doctor, so you have time to talk. Tell the doc you have stopped your meds, and the reason why. Describe your social situation, and the effect that alcohol has had on this. Take the doc's advice re your meds, and possibly ask about another med you can get that makes you very unpleasantly sick if you do take alcohol.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Stupid question.. but have you considered the possibility you are an alcoholic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Hurting wrote:
    last night I went out drinking and i only had like 6-7 pints
    Stating the painfully obvious but that's obviously too many (especially in your case). I'd suggest one or two (no exceptions) or a nice round zero.
    Possibly and talking to a counsellor would be a good move but either way you drink too much when you drink at all. Even if you stand by the "only" before "6-7 pints" it's too many for you. It's costing you your friends and it'll cost you more than that if you continue.
    I become a total ****ing psycho at times when I have drink in me and it's not a nice experience and either is having no friends anymore.
    Solution's in your hands. If you can't do it on your own, get help. Professional help, AA or any friends you still have. Go the AA route and you'll be doing that making amends step anyway so you could do worse than to phone some of your closer old mates, say you've been an arse and could do with some help even if they think you don't deserve it.

I'm not pontificating by the way - we've all got problems we could do with dealing with. it's just that yours are presumably obvious to even the dogs on the street and they're affecting the lives of others. And more importantly, your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 99Dragons

All you need do is get in touch with people who've kicked it. It will surprise you every step of the way I can assure you. Recovery is all it's cracked up to be.

See otherwise the disease owns one' ar$e so to speak and sad to say. It has one asking the questions that aren't even the correct questions and one remains in this stultefying baffling control - limbo state.

Once the anaesthesia wears off - you are free as you were when ye were a-grawin' up! Then you can experience life as a new person. You'll be surprised at what you find underneath there