Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GF and weight

• 03-11-2004 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I hate even doing this. I hate more that Im a registered user on this site, and Im hiding behind a feckin assumed name.

Anyway. I love my girlfriend. She loves me. We hve a great relationship, which up to recently was very physical, very adventurous.

I dunno is this shallow of me, but her weight is just going up and up, and I am getting less and less attracted to her. Im no oil painting myself, but I am trying to keep in shape.

I have tried alluding to her about fitness etc, but it seems to be going over her head. She would feel better eating another crap burger from mcDs than work out, and try and look attractive again.

Maybe Im just a horible shallow person, but Im getting tired of it.

I want her to realise it without me saying it, which i wont do, i know a previous relationship of hers ended over her ex saying something similar. I dont want to lose her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

I dont think it is shallow to be honest, you say you love her and this is a problem that needs to be addressed if it's effecting you. You will have to be careful about how you say it to her and whatever way you put her she will be upset but it is also unfair for you to keep quiet and say nothing if this bothers you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Nothing shallow about it, in fact she probably needs telling. Sometimes these things can happen and she might not be thinking about it, she might work on it if she realised it's that noticeable to others.

Do you have any mutual friends that you could have a word with? Though they probably won't want to assume responsibility... It's a toughie! More than likely you'll just have to set her aside and have a really quiet loving supportive talk with her. Either that or announce one day "you know, I think I'm feeling a bit pudgy, I might go on a diet for a bit" and she might go "hmm.... i'm pudgy too..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep

Do you live together? If so, you could offer to do the shopping and buy only healthy low fat stuff. Or you could say that you wanted to lose a bit of weight/get fit yourself, and tell her that you would love her to join you for the support. Or, (!) you could do a lot of the cooking at home, and make healthy stuff for both of you.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

It not shallow at all.
    Have a word with her. Explain that you don't find heavy people attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

Everyone else has said it yeah dont worry you arnt being shallow. I dont envy you becuase its a ****ing minefield that your walking through approaching the subject (but if its making you unhappy its got to be done). As meep meep said if you are living together changing the contents of your shopping basket would be a great way to start. Its real simple and I have said it to girlfriends in the past (and have had it said to me). If you get fat and unattractive you will be dumped. No relationship is going to work if you arnt physically attracted to each other

ChRoMe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Difficult situation.....

There is no way that you are going to be able to say it to her without upsetting her. I mean she'll know herself anyway, but I know myself from when I piled it on a few years ago that you convince yourself its not so bad. When someone tells you though, you know they are right but it still upsets you. So when you say it to her, she's going to feel crap, be prepared for the waterworks. Maybe walk in with a gym leaflet, start giving out about yourself and the shape or fitness you are in and ask her to join with you to help motivate you, she'll probably start complaining about herself then and do all the hard work for you. Focus on giving out about yourself though and say, no I need to eat healthy, so lets do a weeks shopping etc... eat all healthy stuff, if she does it with you it will help you etc... etc...

Take it further, pick a 10k fun run or something and say you are aiming for that and get her to do it with you to help motivate you, blah blah, it can work if you are careful, I have been there. Make sure to compliment like hell when she does make improvements and insist on dragging her to Ann Summers or somewhere to get some gear to show off the new improved her (even if she doesn't look that much better), and prepare yourself for a night of filth and depravity. It will motivate her to keep going. Women like to feel sexy, and you can help her feel that way.

BTW, you're not going out with my Ex by any chance ? because this all sounds very familiar, she's not an engineer by any chance ? In which case I say drag her carcass to mcdonalds and stuff her full of cheesburgers ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

Quigs Snr wrote:
    BTW, you're not going out with my Ex by any chance ? because this all sounds very familiar, she's not an engineer by any chance ? In which case I say drag her carcass to mcdonalds and stuff her full of cheesburgers ;-)
    LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

You really need to be careful here, There might be a reason that she's eating like this. Most women comfort eat & this might have something to do with it. Try to make sure that there's nothing bothering her first, Then as suggested before let on that it's you that wants to lose weight, tell her something like you want to go to the gym & could use the company? Believe me she'll thank you in the end, It will do her confidence the world of good when she looses the weight.

Best of Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

at last someone posted with some sense, thanks ravenhead.
    Women are far more suceptible to emotional relationships with food than men are. There might be something troubling her that is making her turn to food for comfort. Is she turning to food because she can't get support from you.

I don't think anyone else can decide for a person that they need to loose weight. You have to want to shed lbs and get fit for it to really work.

If you love her, then you love her no matter what weight she is. Be very careful as you could end up ruining your so called great relationship.

It could be something as simple as that work or home situation has changed. People put on weight for all sorts of reasons, it might even be a thyroid relating thing. Just be sensitive to her.

Also you don't know she hasn't realised it. I'd say its quite likely that she has, but what is she going to say. Oh look I'm fat, oh and if she does say that, your answer has to be , no you're not darling, otherwise you'll get a slap!

Post back and let us know what you got on.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,736 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

How does comfort eating work? You feel bad, so you stuff yourself fatter so you can feel worse?
    My girlfriend always puts on weight when she's generally in a good state of mind, enjoying life, and sheds kilos when she gets depressed and anxious. The latter scares me, frankly. I'd much prefer a smile and love handles than a gaunt stick of misery.

Women are far more suceptible to emotional relationships with food than men are. There might be something troubling her that is making her turn to food for comfort. Is she turning to food because she can't get support from you.

I don't think anyone else can decide for a person that they need to loose weight. You have to want to shed lbs and get fit for it to really work.

If you love her, then you love her no matter what weight she is. Be very careful as you could end up ruining your so called great relationship.

It could be something as simple as that work or home situation has changed. People put on weight for all sorts of reasons, it might even be a thyroid relating thing. Just be sensitive to her.

Also you don't know she hasn't realised it. I'd say its quite likely that she has, but what is she going to say. Oh look I'm fat, oh and if she does say that, your answer has to be , no you're not darling, otherwise you'll get a slap!

Post back and let us know what you got on.

Yeah I have to agree with you here, I had a similair situation where I gained weight because I was comfort eating & I felt like it was a never ending cycle, I'd try not to eat but then something would upset me & there I was eating 6 bags of tayto's! This went on for months, thankfully my boyfriend didn't say anything to me about it & always paid me compliements when I'd get dressed up but I'd still feel like crap because I knew that i was after putting on weight & to tell you the truth I really lost a lot of confidence. It took a trip to galway with my b/f to sort it out - We were in shopping & he picked up this fab pants & said that I should try it on, I knew to look at it that it would show every buldge but I went ahead & tried it on for him, When I came out & saw his face, that was enough for me. He politely asked me was it comfortable, knowing well that it wasn't.
    I was at the next weightwatchers meeting at home after that & in 3 months I've lost 24Ibs,!!

So Mo'Fo try to be tactful when you talk to her about it ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Women are far more suceptible to emotional relationships with food than men are.

Excuses, excuses. Seriously.
    If you love her, then you love her no matter what weight she is.

Sorry, but what a load of shíte. There's physical as well as mental attraction. Original poster most likely got together with his girlfriend through a combination of both. Now that she's starting to resemble the michelin man, he's being turned off the physical side a bit. Perfectly acceptable.

Are you saying you'd still love your partner if they turned into a slob?

Original poster, next time your gf sits on the couch beside you, jump off it like you've been launched by the sheer power of her weight displacing you. That'll learn her.

Either that or talk to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

As Ravenhead and Commuterized said, it's quite possibly something preying on her mind, or bothering her that's causing this. Most people don't suddenly develop an intense liking for McDonalds.

Does she have a sister you could raise the subject with? And I wouldn't approach it by saying 'X is piling on the pounds, have a word to her will ya?'..

You could mention that she seems to be comfort eating for some reason.. something you can't put your finger on, and you're worried about how this is affecting her, and would they mind having a word. For all you know, and I don't mean this in a bad way, it could be you...

K.

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Excuses, excuses. Seriously.

Sorry, but what a load of shíte. There's physical as well as mental attraction. Original poster most likely got together with his girlfriend through a combination of both. Now that she's starting to resemble the michelin man, he's being turned off the physical side a bit. Perfectly acceptable.

Are you saying you'd still love your partner if they turned into a slob?

Original poster, next time your gf sits on the couch beside you, jump off it like you've been launched by the sheer power of her weight displacing you. That'll learn her.

Either that or talk to her.

Are we to take it from this so that it's ok for us girls to dump a fella because he gets a bit of a beer gut??????? :rolleyes:

ravenhead wrote:
    Are we to take it from this so that it's ok for us girls to dump a fella because he gets a bit of a beer gut??????? :rolleyes:

Where did I mention dump?? If you can point it out I'll give ye a fiver!

No.... didn't think so.
    It's perfectly acceptable for you to say "look at the beer gut on you!!" though. Or "Sort that out". Or "That's really cute" Ha ha.

Beer guts are mandatory after you reach 21. I'm proud of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

"Bit of a beer gut" isnt the same as a Kate Moss to Roseanne Bar super transformation.

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Where did I mention dump?? If you can point it out I'll give ye a fiver!

No.... didn't think so.
    It's perfectly acceptable for you to say "look at the beer gut on you!!" though. Or "Sort that out". Or "That's really cute" Ha ha.

Beer guts are mandatory after you reach 21. I'm proud of mine.

You mean you can honestly say that if you had a couple of extra pounds on top of that beer gut & someone said something to you about it that you wouldn't be a bit ticked off about it?

He might well be ticked off. Ticked off enough to go and lose them. QED.

i don't know, I just think that men & women's attitude to food & gaining weight are completely different, I mean men don't relaly understand it when we say that we feel better after eating a bar of chocolate etc... & that yes, when we get depressed or have something worrying us we eat more! & Fella's are better than women at handling comments about their weight, we need to be dealt with a little bit more carefully, I mean you really don't understand the pressure that women are under to be thin, & that's just from other women, never mind our partners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Meh.

In my opinion, people will sort out their physical appearance when they are ready. Why should it effect anything else?

I'm sure if she is eating due to depression/stress then she would be more concern about whats causing the stress than her weight. On the other hand, if she has never done anything about her weight in the past then maybe you should proceed as advised.

ravenhead wrote:
    You mean you can honestly say that if you had a couple of extra pounds on top of that beer gut & someone said something to you about it that you wouldn't be a bit ticked off about it?

Nope. It's happened already. I told them to feck off - in a friendly manner. Then cut down on beer for a while (switched to spirits :) ) and I walk alot more now... still have a belly though, but I'm not exactly Jabba the hut.

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Nope. It's happened already. I told them to feck off - in a friendly manner. Then cut down on beer for a while (switched to spirits :) ) and I walk alot more now... still have a belly though, but I'm not exactly Jabba the hut.

Yeah but see, it did bother you to some extent or you wouldn't have reacted at all, So try imagining if you're already feeling down about something or something ir worrying you, you already know that you're eating too much (drinking too much), & then someone comes along & makes a smart comment about it! That's all I'm trying to say, that Mo'Fo should just be a little sensitive about saying to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

ravenhead wrote:
    i don't know, I just think that men & women's attitude to food & gaining weight are completely different, I mean men don't relaly understand it when we say that we feel better after eating a bar of chocolate etc... & that yes, when we get depressed or have something worrying us we eat more! & Fella's are better than women at handling comments about their weight, we need to be dealt with a little bit more carefully, I mean you really don't understand the pressure that women are under to be thin, & that's just from other women, never mind our partners!

Women have a hard time keeping thin?
    You must be kidding, todays society dictates both parties be magazine type figures, otherwise your not successful. And some guys can take weight comments even harder than a female. I know I did due to my past history with weight problems. I dont think anyone would feel too happy about being called "tubby" and having their flab grabbed, especially by a partner, since they are the people you are most comfortable around (hence the whole getting naked thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

"Are we to take it from this so that it's ok for us girls to dump a fella because he gets a bit of a beer gut??????? "

Yeah it goes both ways of course (as do nearly everything in relationships). I think its perfectly reasonable to question the status of the relationship if you dont find yourself physically attracted to the person anymore.

ravenhead wrote:

True, I don't think we can have any notion what it's like to be under constant scrutiny. Can't say I envy youse. Then again, to balance it we also never get that feeling of leaving everyone in the room slack-jawed when you walk in looking a trillion dollars/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

ravenhead wrote:

a dirty great big beer gut?

sure, dump us.

True, I don't think we can have any notion what it's like to be under constant scrutiny. Can't say I envy youse. Then again, to balance it we also never get that feeling of leaving everyone in the room slack-jawed when you walk in looking a trillion dollars/

That happens with guys too,it's just that girls are more discret about it!! ;)

ravenhead wrote:
    Yeah but see, it did bother you to some extent or you wouldn't have reacted at all,

When someone says something to me, I tend to respond, rather than stare blankly ahead. Someone said, "jaysus Loon, you're getting a bit of a belly goin there aren't ye?" I said "feck off, I'm proud of that", and that was pretty much it, although it made me think about it.
    That's all I'm trying to say, that Mo'Fo should just be a little sensitive about saying to her

I'm not saying for Mofo to start calling his girlfriend a fat bítch, obviously! The thing about bouncing off the couch was a joke. I think common sense says to approach the subject lightly.

Err, hello? I posted the same advice as others and I'm a girl.

I speak from experience. I packed on the pounds because I was in a comfort zone and I got lazy. I needed a kick in the butt. I worked it off and feel great.

koneko wrote:
    Err, hello? I posted the same advice as others and I'm a girl.

I speak from experience. I packed on the pounds because I was in a comfort zone and I got lazy. I needed a kick in the butt. I worked it off and feel great.

Fair dues to you, it does take a lot to make the decision that you're going to do something about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 miniperson

Why is it when men put on weight they are deemed cuddly and cute - even normal and when women put it on they are absolutely ridiculed?

I think that if a man keeps going on about his wife/girlfriends weight then the only weight she needs to loose is that useless saggy thing called a man.

miniperson wrote:
    Why is it when men put on weight they are deemed cuddly and cute - even normal and when women put it on they are absolutely ridiculed?

I think that if a man keeps going on about his wife/girlfriends weight then the only weight she needs to loose is that useless saggy thing called a man.

You go girl! :rolleyes:

ravenhead wrote:
    That happens with guys too,it's just that girls are more discret about it!! ;)

Too discreet, hence we never get the feeling :)

Well, not saying that I would anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Dr. Loon wrote:
    You go girl! :rolleyes:
    Was going to say the same thing myself Loon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm in almost the same position as the original poster, but I've tried to hint that my gf should stay fit etc, I'm a bit of a fitness freak myself. Anytime I mention weight, she gets emotional and or angry. So I shut up and tell her I lover her, which I do. I make the effort to be the best I can be, for her and for me, but the truth of the matter is she is lazy and or she doesn't care for me as much as she says she does.

What really gets to me, is that my gf still insists on wearing the same tight clothes that she used to wear when she was thin. They really don't suit her anymore. It's embarassing. I'm ashamed of that.

I too am hiding behind this anonymous username :(

Why is it when men put on weight they are deemed cuddly and cute

Says who? If my man were to put on weight I'd have no problem telling him to shift it. There's no double-standards here.

If you're losing your attraction to your mate because they're turning into a little porker then you say something about it, or at least hint. Being attracted to your significant other is pretty important in a relationship tbh!

koneko wrote:
    Says who? If my man were to put on weight I'd have no problem telling him to shift it. There's no double-standards here.

If you're losing your attraction to your mate because they're turning into a little porker then you say something about it, or at least hint. Being attracted to your significant other is pretty important in a relationship tbh!

Isn't that a little harsh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Alot of people are saying that you're not shallow because you don't like your girlfriend storing mickey D's in her ass.

They are wrong, you are shallow. But it's ok, no one likes a fatty. If you don't find her physically attractive while she's naked anymore then there's a problem.

The issue of comfort eating has been brought up and it is a very real issue, unfortunately it's not an excuse. Comfort eating and it's associates are all products of depression. However they are also products of a lazy individual lacking self control and discipline.

Your girlfriend needs to work on the source of her problems. If she is currently 100% happy and just likes eating mcdonalds then refuse to feed her your salami for extended periods of time until she spends a few minutes on the stepaciser working off the blub.

Either way when you eventually call her fat she will get offended but hopefully it'll prompt her to loose weight. Don't however get someone else to call her fat for you as she will find out it was you at the end of the day and won't be one bit pleased.

If it doesn't prompt her to take affirmative action it'll push her further into McDonalds and perhaps she'll also start sampling Burger King, Abra Kebabra, Zaytoons and the many other fine 'fat' food joints available to the ever increasingly obese occupants of Ireland.

That's one step from size 30 clothes and a life on the couch watching Heraldo , Jenny Jones, Sally Jessie and the wonderous Judge Judy.

If you stay with her you will have kids named Porsche, Mercedes and possibly Ford. If you're really unlucky.

This has been a stark look into your future, act now CARPES MCDONALDS!

.logic.

No, I don't think so. I'm not saying "break up with your mate, he's put on 5lbs!", but what I am saying is you should be able to say these things to your partner. If you're in a loving trusting healthy relationship communication is essential.

If you are losing your attraction for your partner then that will put another stress on your relationship. If it's something that worries you, then why shouldn't you say something?

(That's the better phrased more politically correct answer than the last one :) )

I think that of course there is a sexual attraction between couples - that you find your partner asthetically pleasing.

But

In my opinion there are many many different layers to a relationship. The way someone makes you feel when they smile, or how they laugh, or how bleedin smart you think they are and are proud to call them your partner.

Lets be honest here, I think making someone happy is more important than what you consider "eye candy".

To the original poster, I think you are missing or even dont understand the finer points in a relationship. That is not to say you are "shallow" or are a bad/not nice person. You just havent learned or realised.

Everyone will experience something like this at some stage in a relationship. The trick is to see what is really important under all the outside baggage.

What would be really disgusting and a disgrace would be to loose this relationship because you cant think outside the box.

miniperson wrote:
    I think that of course there is a sexual attraction between couples - that you find your partner asthetically pleasing.

But

In my opinion there are many many different layers to a relationship. The way someone makes you feel when they smile, or how they laugh, or how bleedin smart you think they are and are proud to call them your partner.

Lets be honest here, I think making someone happy is more important than what you consider "eye candy".

To the original poster, I think you are missing or even dont understand the finer points in a relationship. That is not to say you are "shallow" or are a bad/not nice person. You just havent learned or realised.

Everyone will experience something like this at some stage in a relationship. The trick is to see what is really important under all the outside baggage.

What would be really disgusting and a disgrace would be to loose this relationship because you cant think outside the box.
    So your saying if you loved your boyfriend / girlfriend (assuming your a girl), and thought "Hmm...I might spend the rest of my life with this person", then they started putting on weight, not making an effort to look good for you, and generally letting themselves go. If you no longer found them sexually attractive, you would stay with them and not say anything to them about their weight?

I doubt it. And thats taking the most extreme example.

Aswell as that noone has metioned the health implications of being overweight.

miniperson wrote:

But

One of the layers is your physical attraction to your partner. Regardless of all the other layers if you open your eyes at 8am and think "HOLY **** WHAT THE **** IS THAT" then you have a problem.

I don't agree. If I wanted to make someone happy I'd donate money to starving kids. I wouldn't sacrifice my own happiness for a partners gluttony and inability to remove pies from her face.

You can't really say this. Relationships mean different things to everyone. Maybe the original poster is a seasoned veteran of relationships and knows exactly what he likes, apparently this doesn't include lard sandwiches. Your 'Feng Shui' view towards relationships doesn't apply to everyone.

Thinking outside the box involves loweing his standard of what he finds aesthetically pleasing? I think it'd be more disgusting if he compromised his own views, ethics and moral beliefs and 'settled' for something he doesn't like.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

miniperson wrote:

Doesn't seem to ba much basis for this statement, granted different people put different emphasis on physical vs. emotional attraction, but the best case scenario is where they're on an even key, and if that's not the case it doesn't suddenly mean someone is in a sham of a relationship.

You have to have a physical attraction to your partner, that doesn't mean everyone has to be aphrodite, or apollo, but there's got to be a physical aspect to the relationship.

You can't just pick the fact that this guy feels his GF is getting fat, and decide that makes him a poor, misguided BF. I could just as easily take any of the examples you gave,(eg. intelligence, emotional gratification), and make the same claim about you.

Point is, if you're with someone and you feel the physical attraction is waining, there's a problem
    , which needs to be solved. Maybe the problem is that you're too hung up on looks, or maybe your partner genuinely needs to lose some weight, either way, in this instance there's no grounds for this kind of blanket statement.

You are still not getting it at all.

Who says sexual attraction comes from the size of a girl's arse?

There are many different layers to sexuality. Its not all about "the size of something".

Someone, no matter what they look like, can make you feel the sexiest person alive by a comment, a sexy smile, a good sense of humour etc etc

If you are honest with yourself you'd realise this.

I love my partner to bits no matter what they look like.

I used to think when I was younger it was all about what you look like, what you wear, how you wear it.

Its not. Its not at all. And you'll never be happy with anyone until you realise this.

miniperson wrote:

There are many different layers to sexuality. Its not all about "the size of something".

Someone, no matter what they look like, can make you feel the sexiest person alive by a comment, a sexy smile, a good sense of humour etc etc

If you are honest with yourself you'd realise this.

I love my partner to bits no matter what they look like.

I used to think when I was younger it was all about what you look like, what you wear, how you wear it.

Its not. Its not at all. And you'll never be happy with anyone until you realise this.
    Yes, but the original poster said that they are now unattrated to their partner because she is putting on weight.

miniperson wrote:

No you're not getting it. I know and I'm sure the original poster knows what he finds sexy, incidentally he doesn't find fat girls sexy regardless of their other qualities.

The sooner you realise you're not the enlightened one and everyone else isn't deluded because they don't buy into your quasi-scientific train of thought then the easier it'll be to accept everyones an individual.

.logic.

I dont think anyone is shallow, even the posters above, even those calling names, for thinking that their woman/man should conform to what they think is sexually exciting for them.

The partner who wants the other partner to conform/change to their ideas is very misguided.

miniperson wrote:
    The partner who wants the other partner to conform/change to their ideas is very misguided.

Misguided in your opinion. Did you even read Logic's post? Maybe you don't have the world all sussed out like you think you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My gf was piling on the pounds a few months ago as well. Luckily I didn't have to say a thing. Her sister who is very up front and will call a spade a spade told her she was getting very FAT!!! It didn't go down too wekk but definitely done the trick, she lost all the excess weight in a matter of a few weeks!

JimeatsmenuYes, but the original poster said that they are now unattrated to their partner because she is putting on weight.

And I am saying to that poster to have a think outside the box to solve the problem rather than being misguided.

I think most of the people commenting here are single or not married.

You would understand that you love someone for who they are not what they are.

I wont bother with Logic1's comment. Ive seen you post before and you have a bit of a silver tongue on you.