Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Piano Tabs

• 01-11-2004 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭

Where the best place to get piano proper music,Free, with songs like Colorblind counting crows,coldplay etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

Umm.. you mean sheet music? (I'm not entirely sure what Piano tabs are.)
    I find it's quite difficult to come across it so I download midis and open them in sibelius... and this will only work if you have sibelius. Fat lot of good I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Fusion251

Don't be so feckin lazy and learn them by ear! I can recommend a god eartraining program? Earmaster Pro 4, twill have you recognising chords in no time!

Here's the best way to figure out chords in my opinion:

First you get the bass note, then you figure the chord tonality, is it Minor, Major, Diminished, Augmented or Dominant? After that you just need to find alterations, i.e flat 5 sharp 9 etc...which won't be that common in the tunes you're trying to figure out so you should be grand :D

That is amazingly difficult. I spent a good half an hour trying to find one starting note in a piece (not even a chord, just one note) because my piano is seriously out of tune...

It's not that hard. But if the owl pianner is out of tune, that would pose a bit of a problem yeah :rolleyes: Sometimes the tune you're listening to is a bit unclear in the mix too. If that was the case i'd see if I could find and acoustic version of the tune :p

Yeah, only 'tis an orchestral bit in the music anyway...
    Well, I suppose I'm just doomed to never be able to play that interlude...

Yeah, only 'tis an orchestral bit in the music anyway...
    Well, I suppose I'm just doomed to never be able to play that interlude...

What interlude you need to play?

Ah, it's not a real interlude. Just a piano and possibly cello bit in The Black Goddess Rises by Cradle of Filth. About 2 minutes in if you know it.

I'll take a listen now, see if I can figure it out for ya....

Don't feel obliged now, 'twas just a passing fit of craziness that made me want to play it. It's nice enough and all, but it really doesn't matter.

It's not a problem, that was the intention of this post....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=197970

Just want to do a bit of ear training really...it's good the keep the owl cord recognition sharp, never know when I may need it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭daram

Proper sheet music is just about impossible to find online free. Simply because no-ones invented a way of displaying it other than huge images. There are some websites that have a weird piano tab thing going on, but I dont understand it. And some other websites have the sheet music for some popular songs, but it takes a lot of searching to find them becuase they break all sorts of copyright laws. In short, either fork out for a book, or learn to play by ear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

daram wrote: »
    Proper sheet music is just about impossible to find online free. Simply because no-ones invented a way of displaying it other than huge images. There are some websites that have a weird piano tab thing going on, but I dont understand it. And some other websites have the sheet music for some popular songs, but it takes a lot of searching to find them becuase they break all sorts of copyright laws. In short, either fork out for a book, or learn to play by ear

I find books dont follow the way you hear music being played on the radio. I bought a book of Queen songs because I wanted to learn the Bohemian Rhapsody. I was disappointed to find not only that there was none of the instrumental solos, but some of the songs weren't even in the same key as you'd hear them on a CD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Not sure if this is of any use to you, but what you could do is this..

- Arm yourself with a MIDI sequencer, like Cubase.
    - Download a MIDI files for the song you want to learn..
    - Open it up in score mode and print it out...

Kind of a roundabout way of doing it.. but could be what you're looking for.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Lads, this thread is 8 years old...