Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone Built a HTPC (Home Theater) PC?

• 27-10-2004 8:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭

If so would love to know what case and stuff you used.

Have an Abit NF7 and an XP2500 lying around together with an old AIW card - all I need is a good HTPC case and HD.

Anyone else built one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

Phibsboro on this forum helped me out when I built mine. I've since found a great website for it, here.

If you've got any specific questions feel free to PM me and I'll try to help! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

I don't think an XP2500+ is the best bet for a quiet HTPC to tell the truth. I was thinking of getting something by Via and a small case but since then I've found out I could mod my XBox and get it to take on the task of playing my movies. I have as yet not gotten the time to do it but I don't think it should be rocket science /Offler crosses fingers ;) Have you an XBox lying around ready to mod?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Funny you should say that actually - I almost ordered a modchip for mine today - however I paused for more research.

The big problem I can see with the Xbox is lack of writeability - ideally I want a pvr going too. In my limited research so far I havent seen any mods that let you use your xbox as a pvr.

Plus when you get right down to it an Xbox is fugly compared to a nice shiney htpc case. I reckon the XP2500 will work like a charm in one of the bigger Amp sized cases and under clocking is always an option.

My xbox is chipped and it's just lovely with Media Centre loaded on it. MythTV for linux allows you to have remote frontends, so if you were to install linux on your xbox you could use it to control the HTPC elsewhere in the house over the network....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Mixie wrote:
    Phibsboro on this forum helped me out when I built mine. I've since found a great website for it, here.

If you've got any specific questions feel free to PM me and I'll try to help! :D

Excellent site..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

thanks very much .. I just lost half an hour reading on that site :eek:

No problem, there is another site - trying to think of the URL, if i remember I'll post it (it's a little more geared to the software/*nix side of things though whereas that website is mainly windows nuts.)

I probably won't check this thread too often but sure if you've got any questions feel free to fill my inbox :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Mixie wrote:
    My xbox is chipped and it's just lovely with Media Centre loaded on it. MythTV for linux allows you to have remote frontends, so if you were to install linux on your xbox you could use it to control the HTPC elsewhere in the house over the network....

woah. *goes off to read about mythTV*

quarryman wrote:
    woah. *goes off to read about mythTV*

http://www.mythtv.org/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rampy

Mixie wrote:
    No problem, there is another site - trying to think of the URL, if i remember I'll post it (it's a little more geared to the software/*nix side of things though whereas that website is mainly windows nuts.)

I probably won't check this thread too often but sure if you've got any questions feel free to fill my inbox :D

Thanks for linking to byopvr :p

although a lot of people on the board do use windows for their PVR's, I do definitely encourage linux and opensource software discussions over on byopvr.com. We just don't have enough hardcore linux folks (yet) to answer some of the config/compilation/make/"why won't debian recognize my sound card" type questions... (consider that an open invitation) :cool:

As soon as I get some more time, I will be making a knoppmyth pvr box and writing up a few articles on it's creation...

*shrug* So yeah, just wanted to thank Mixie for pointing some folks to byopvr, and point out that the site is most definitely NOT linux-averse, we just don't have enough regular linux contributors/members...

rampy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

byopvr is a top notch site. Was just looking at it earlier.

I intend building a linux based HTPC based on what I've seen there (Prolly RH9 since I have it on cd and am lazy). I'll be using MythTV because it looks like just what I'm looking for. I'll document the build and let people know how I get on. Probably wont actually put it together until the christmas holidays though....plenty of time to tinker then.

I'm relatively handy with linux and I also know a proper linux geek (you know who you are), so I could get phone support if it all goes pear shaped.

rampy wrote:
    Thanks for linking to byopvr :p

although a lot of people on the board do use windows for their PVR's, I do definitely encourage linux and opensource software discussions over on byopvr.com. We just don't have enough hardcore linux folks (yet) to answer some of the config/compilation/make/"why won't debian recognize my sound card" type questions... (consider that an open invitation) :cool:

As soon as I get some more time, I will be making a knoppmyth pvr box and writing up a few articles on it's creation...

*shrug* So yeah, just wanted to thank Mixie for pointing some folks to byopvr, and point out that the site is most definitely NOT linux-averse, we just don't have enough regular linux contributors/members...

rampy

No problem - I wasn't saying you're anti-linux, just that most of ye are windows users primarly... and that's cool. I've posted to your forums a few times (check your PMs! heh) with linux/windows related questions and answers for others when/where possible.

If it wasn't for byopvr.com in general, and Rampy here specifically, I doubt I'd have ever gotten around to building mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

The big problem I can see with the Xbox is lack of writeability - ideally I want a pvr going too. In my limited research so far I havent seen any mods that let you use your xbox as a pvr.
    Ah sorry that's not something that is important to me I have a huge amount of downloaded content I would like to see on the TV. On the other hand there is very little on TV I want to see :D so a PVR isn't what I want, a simple video player will do me and for that I think the XBox will be just perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Velcrow

Ok good thread - and now to give some info back -

I have been looking for a HTPC case for ages, a full sized ATX for maximum flexibility, not only was it difficult to choose the case but also find a supplier that was not taking the mick on price.

So in the end after much research on spec and price here is what I have come up with.

The Silverstone SST-LC10M on www.komplett.ie ( Its unconfirmed at the moment so forget having it for Christmas ) but the price is the cheapest I found for this model at 209 euro ( inc vat )

Great case especially because of the inclusion of the built in imon as well as the 3 fans.

I just built mine last week.

I'm using the following setup:
    Pundit-R (dabs)
    Celeron 2GHz (ebay)
    512MB ram (bought off a mate)
    160GB hdd (jes)
    Hauppauge PVR350 (ebay)
    Belkin wireless NIC (dabs)
    Linksys wireless router (dabs)
    Sony silver dvd-rom (dabs)

The pundit is lovely looking. Very small front face (though it is deep). The only requirement that my better half had was that it didn't look like a PC, and it doesn't.

I'm running it on Linux (Fedora Core 2 currently). Having some issues with the ivtv drivers, but everything else is working great. I used jarod wilsons excellent howto.

It'll be running MythTV when it's finished, which is possibly the most beautiful looking piece of software ever. I also got heaps of mame roms for it :) (MythTV supports playing xmame and other emulators through it)

Another useful site that I just found is:
    http://www.mythtvportal.com

I've also subscribed to the mythtv users mailing list. There's enough generic stuff in there to keep me reading. I get the "digest" version, because it's a busy enough list.#

If anyone has any specific questions, I'd be glad to field them.

My current htpc runs on xp with Meedio Essentials ( I was a myhtpc fanboy ;) )

Linux - I like the idea of removing xp - but I know nothing of Linux ( Thats never stopped me before :) )

Some questions:

1. ATI support for Radeon Cards - ( Is there Omega Linux Drivers )
    2. imon and vfd display software
    3. MythTv ?? ( Tv scheduler for Ireland - can you integrated xmltv )
    4. Nforce 2 Soundstorm are there drivers available for this ( I use a Asus D a7n8 MB)

Velcrow wrote:
    Linux - I like the idea of removing xp - but I know nothing of Linux ( Thats never stopped me before :) )
    Have no fear! That linky I gave in the last post is excellent. Practically automates the process for you :)

I did have to do a bit of reading to get my wireless card to work (it uses windows drivers! In Linux! Madness.)
    Velcrow wrote:
    Some questions:

1. ATI support for Radeon Cards - ( Is there Omega Linux Drivers )
    There are ATI drivers for linux, but they're a bit lacking in support. I'm using the "default" (aka vesa) drivers. Everything looks grand to me. I'll be bothering my hole to upgrade to the ATI drivers at some point though.

Velcrow wrote:
    2. imon and vfd display software
    What now?

imon = internet monitor? You want to filter stuff? Or you want to monitor the amount of traffic? I'm sure either is possible.
    Velcrow wrote:
    3. MythTv ?? ( Tv scheduler for Ireland - can you integrated xmltv )
    See http://www.mythtv.org/ and eyecandy :)

Answer to xmltv: yes :)
    Velcrow wrote:
    4. Nforce 2 Soundstorm are there drivers available for this ( I use a Asus D a7n8 MB)
    I presume so. My Pundit-R integrated sound card worked out of the box. The Fedora Core installer detected it and played a nice little guitar sound for me :)

Decent soundcard support in Linux has been around for a long time now, so it's nothing to worry about.

What now? imon = internet monitor?
    imon

Its an ir remote which you can programme on the pc to do almost anything - it is your new friend - they are now building the reciever into the vfd of the silverstone cases

Ok so for the crac I'm going to give this a go - ( I like the xmltv support ) would it be possible to run the system of a cd for testing eg like knoppix - ( see i'm starting to bs in linux already :) )

Velcrow wrote:
    imon

Its an ir remote which you can programme on the pc to do almost anything - it is your new friend - they are now building the reciever into the vfd of the silverstone cases
    Aha! ok, yes so. There's IR support in place. I have the IR up and running on my machine.
    Velcrow wrote:
    Ok so for the crac I'm going to give this a go - ( I like the xmltv support ) would it be possible to run the system of a cd for testing eg like knoppix - ( see i'm starting to bs in linux already :) )
    LOL@BS. Yeah, there's a distro called KnoppMyth (google it). I have it myself, but wanted the comfort of follwing that guide I pointed you to earlier. KnoppMyth should do the trick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I picked up a Mini-ITX board a month or two ago for my FYP.
    It'll be doing some heavy routing for a while, but then it gets retired to become a Media/PVR box.
    If I can get my hands on a nice big drive, slimline DVDR and a Hauppage 250/350 I'll be happy :)

That said, I'm also seriously looking at getting an XBox, slapping in an Xecuter and a 250Gig hard drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

/drags up old thread

Interesting approach from Shuttle:
    http://www.anandtech.com/tradeshows/showdoc.aspx?i=2317&p=5

Cool what a sexy looking beast! As anand says Im surprised no-one else has ever thought of putting a Pentium M chipset into a SFF case.

Of course the buggers would do it the second I get my HTPC up and running. :mad:

Still I wonder if they would bring out a diy version?

/me takes screwdriver to my laptop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭statto

What's the best way of connecting a HTPC to a TV. I am connecting a ATI Radeon 9800 pro to my TV via the tv out and a s-video cable and the quality is very poor.

Are you talking about the quality of the windows desktop - which to be honest is never gonna be great unless you can a get a native tv resolution working on you GFX card.

Or are you talking about DVD playback for example? You can get lots of utilities to tweak DVD playback - its also worth trying a selection of software DVD players WinDVD6 and NV_DVD are considered the best for Quality according to the polls I've seen.

Currently ( Alwalys:) ) building the HTPC / Media PC

The Spec:
    Silverstone Tech LC03 with VFD
    P III 800E
    ( Are u mad u ask, well yes :) but I wanted to build a fanless pc and a 800E is a perfect low power ( less heat ) CPU to play MP3 / DVD / DivX etc. I can even pause live TV without cpu overload - who needs P4 and AMD 64!!
    Win 2000
    All in wonder ATI 9000 PRO
    32 bit generic sound card ( Need a dolby 5.1 one )
    QDI A9 motherboard ( old crap - but great )

As a Media front end I am using Meedio ( used to be myHTPC ) and this maybe of interest to those trying to sort out EPG as meedio can use xmltv as a source for EPG which has all the ntl channels - most channels infact even digital

My problem at the moment is finding a fanless heatsink for the CPU, anybody know of a supplier ( online pref ).

Thanks in advance for any

Yes, I'm looking for fanless heatsinks for my HTPC too. The mrs. is giving out about the noise of it. :rolleyes:

I have a Socket 478 celeron 2GHz in a Pundit-R box. I would happily underclock it, but the bios wont let me :(

Khannie:
    OK Try Here
    Zalman CNPS6000-CU AMD / PIII Flower Cooler from Quite Pc this one is for the Socket 370 but they have another for the 470

Thanks for the link.

Just copped that there's no way I'm going to be able to passively cool without an underclock. The case is too small for a large enough heatsink. :(

Zalman sell most their products on the "wife friendly noise factor" :)

Nice Case - No room ! - the price u pay for being cool ;)

What about water cooled?? Are there micro atx options... That case deserves to be on show - so what about putting into a glass cabinet ??????

I have just finished prying the fan and heatsink off my 9000 Pro AIW with a clubcard and a screwdriver and replacing it with a heatsink ( no fan ) from a 9200se and would you believe all is working, but I think I will underclock the card just incase! So on to the cpu - I am going to try a tall old northbridge heatsink and see how it goes.....

Underclocking -- the new black!!!!!

Velcrow wrote:
    I have just finished prying the fan and heatsink off my 9000 Pro AIW

My 9000 AIW was passively cooled outa the box so Im sure you will be grand...

9000 PR0 AIW - out of the box passive :( - why did they not make them all like that... my one whined like a .........

Any way all is working well now just need to get rid of all the remotes I have - Anybody got a working solution of a IR input /output bus eg tira or IRman?? I would like to know if they are any good