Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a happy story and a thanks to boards.ie

• 23-10-2004 2:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭

god forbid huh :P

anyway

Little over a year ago while i was posting like a lunatic I got to know a few people here very well and when the opportunity came up to go and meet a good few people from boards I decided it would be a good night out, even if it was in Doyle's bar just off trinity college.

I met up with a person from boards before hand and we had a few (alot) to drink before setting off up there, it was a good night to be had.. drink poured, dancing happened and the atmosphere was very good all thanks to a girl named amz who organised the whole thing.

Sweat ensued and nearing the end of the night i set my eyes on a wonderful lady dressed all in red and looking good, she was not from boards so I went up and introduced myself, we chatted for a while and i ended up walking her home and getting her number, i followed it up not long afterwards and set about trying to get the ball rolling so to speak

We met for a few dates and she was great, we automatically clicked and even though i felt i had been in love before, it wasn't and this was only now at this present day and for the last few months i have realised this. But something happened and I fell ill for about 4 months, we broke apart as i wanted to be alone during that time as i could not cope.. however after starting to get back on my feet i took my chances and rang the pretty girl in red to explain things not knowing what would happen, she understood things surprisingly as she had been ill herself at one stage and knew how these things could work out and luckily for me was still single, so we agreed to go out not long after christmas period and we even ended up spending the whole of new year together, the spark was still there after those few months and i think both of us realised it.

A flick to the present day, and we are staying together and have been for about 6 months now, and if it wasn't for that one night organised by a boards member for a boards night out it might never have been so a kudos to boards and a kudos to amz for making it happen

This will probably be ignored or some smarty will say "wrong forum" but well, i couldn't care less for now, why you ask am i sharing this now? i don't know exactly myself other than to say i guess these things were possible and i have participated in boards a long time, not so much recently as due to work problems etc but i have always been overlooking these things and keeping a close eye on them and i guess now was a perfect time to say thanks for what the guys here have provided and im glad to see it grows stronger month by month

Not one of my usual flame posts, or on the soccer forum posts so i apologise for the cheesiness in advance :)

Sorry for not having been to the actual boards beers but i stopped drinking over a year ago due to illness and have never looked back since, but all the people i met were great people, corinthian for the dressing up and being generally a ace and funny guy and ofcourse fio for getting me there and keeping me company beforehand to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

I for one am happy for you . and fair play to amz for getting the two of you to know each other.

at least your happy and **** the begrudgers.

just a question though have any couples been formed out of boards.ie. was thinking of posting a thread about this a few days ago but was too shy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Amz- Is there anything it CAN'T do?

You lucky bugger. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Nice one, well told and no need to think there's anything cheesy about what you've said. More good news stories like this are needed at this time of year with the manky weather and dark evenings.

Here's to you and your fair lady !! Long may you be together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Aww. that story made me feel warm.

I'm Happy for yis! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭shiv

Aww...Big Chief, we really need more posts like yours.
    That's so sweet, it's so nice to see someone taking the time to be positive and share it with others. Glad things worked out with the girl, and that you're feeling better.
    How often do these boards nights happen anyways guys?
    I don't know many people, but it might be interesting to put faces to avatars... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

shiv wrote:
    Aww...Big Chief, we really need more posts like yours.
    That's so sweet, it's so nice to see someone taking the time to be positive and share it with others. Glad things worked out with the girl.

Tears forms in my eye, sob, sob. Isn't life wonderful
    :):):):)

shiv wrote:
    I don't know many people, but it might be interesting to put faces to avatars... :eek:

It's very much a double edged sword. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Blimey!
    This is a bit nuts ...

Teehehe!

I'd wondered where you'd gotten to Big Chief, glad to hear you're feeling better.

Congrats by the way! I remember the lady in red (sorry, just had to lower the tone!) 'Twas a good night out alright.

Hope all continues to go well for you.

Talk t'ya soon!

A.M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

'twould bring a tear to a glass eye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Awwww... that's cute. Wish ye the best.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Fair play Bosco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Very happy for you Big Chief! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭eoin_f

thats the best thing i have read all week, a fresh change from all the negative stories we are bombarded with, i truly hope everything always shines for you, thanks for posting that, really has upped my mood!!

Eoin.,

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Fair play. Certainly does make a change to the usualy rants and complaints about stuff. (me included).
    *lifts glass, nods, and drinks to the future*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Howdy Big Chief

Thanks for sharing that with us it braught a smile to me this evening. I often wondered where you got to from the soccer forum you are missed over there. Its all sweetnes and light there now so maybe you'll drop by again some time. The best of luck to you and the good lady and may you both continue to enjoy good health and happiness.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

go you BC :D
    delighted to hear things are going well for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

aw...thats so sweet...sorry to sound like such a girl, but I just think its great when stuff like that happens. :D fair play to you, congratulations, enjoy it and appreciate what you have!

i too similarily by chance met my current boyfriend on a night out(again in doyles)I had known him from before, ie i'd seen him around and had thought that there was something about him that i liked, but never really did anything about it, or was with someone else or just didnt think anything of it.

then one night by chance the two of us were in the same pub and started talking, and dancing and really getting to know each other, and i realised that i really liked this guy, but didnt want to **** it up by kissing him or something and then having it blamed on alcohol or something and maybe scaring him off...anyway i got v nervous not something that happens around me and guys, i usually av no problem around them in that kind of situation..

Anyway one thing lead to another and we did end up kissing each other, and it was probably the best thing iv ever done, because a year later we're still together and im completely head over heels in love with the guy :D ..dear lord i sound so cheesey and girly :o ...but i dont really care, im in love and im happy, and he makes me happy, and i hadnt been happy for a long time before he came along due to smelly evil boys or my own stupidness or just general crappyness etc,so....altogether now

"all you need is love!love!all you need is love!love!love!love is all you need, love is all you need"

can anyone smell the cheese...? :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

A nice story and a lot of positive replies. We're all going soft in our old age ;)

Fair play to you Big Chief - will we all be invited to the wedding? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭shiv

Sarky wrote:
    It's very much a double edged sword. :)

I'd say it is all right!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

FFS Merc how many accounts do you have now !!!!!!!

Chief glad to hear things are working out lad, see ya at the next boards beers ??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

Congrats BC, very happy for you!
    This doyle's place sounds like the place to meet people so, 2 posters met thier sig.other there...perhaps all the beer's should be there :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭littleninja

That's a cool story Big Chief, not at all cheesey, tis nice to hear a nice story of two people being happy for once - long may it last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Its a sad reflection on todays society that neither BC nor Alana thanked God in some small way for their current happiness. But I'd say if either lost their partner in a tragic accident they would blame god in some manner!

That's like an inverse troll! It's so stupid I can't comprehend it. If that device where you can stab people in the eye existed I would have just used it... and it's your invention!?

Big Chief -Good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

cheers for all the positive replies :)

just thought i would share for all and to say thanks in some way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

roll on the galway beers tbh.
    yarrrrr! booty ho!

tman wrote:
    roll on the galway beers tbh.
    yarrrrr! booty ho!

We can only hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Get back to playing TFC and sitting in IRC you waster ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

well im sure when the big day comes chief,you'll give some boards members a day out to remember!

goodluck

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Sarky wrote:
    Amz- Is there anything it CAN'T do?

pee standing up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

:o) Good work, promote that man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

its good to see that light can penitrate even the darkest of courners in the old boards.ie castle, good luck with your 'lady in red' (shudder)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Miss Mann

Aww

Moving on.