Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How lazy can you get? Or, what's the laziest thing you've ever done?

• 12-10-2004 1:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

A friend of mine works in the two story building - ground and first floor. And this building has a lift, which is mainly for wheelchair users. But my friend and others use this lift to go up one floor, to the only floor, rather than use the stairs.
    How lazy is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

I was so lazy I didn't bother reading the thread. (But have been shown up by those to lazy to reply to it, who is turn are shown up by those to lazy to open the thread)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Prozium

That's not lazy. Just put it this way, if he and his co-workers didn't use the lift it would'nt have any wear and tear and therefore never get broken. If it never got broken the lift repair man wouldn't have anything to do and if the lift repair man didn't have anything to do he'd be out of a job.

So to cut it short, your friend is keeping the repairman in Otis in a job. Oh and Otis themselves, small little family run company, i hear they need the business !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

Prozium wrote:
    That's not lazy. Just put it this way, if he and his co-workers didn't use the lift it would'nt have any wear and tear and therefore never get broken. If it never got broken the lift repair man wouldn't have anything to do and if the lift repair man didn't have anything to do he'd be out of a job.

So to cut it short, your friend is keeping the repairman in Otis in a job. Oh and Otis themselves, small little family run company, i hear they need the business !!

I had a row with a street sweeper years ago when I was in college and threw some empty cans on the road after a freshers ball.
    He was roaring at me about being a lazy so-and-so flinging my litter about the street instead of putting it in a bin, but I felt fully justified in telling him I was keeping him in gainful employment tidying up my in freshly littered wake!!! :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I'm lazier than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Or you could look at it this way.

By using the lift through laziness, he is using energy that wouldn't bu used otherwise. The production of this extra energy is releasing more pollutants into the atmosphere which will in turn cause the end of the world!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

even though i wear a watch....sometimes i ask the girl next to me in the office the time because i couldnt be bothered lifting my wrist

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

My eyes are starting to hurt reading boards now

giftgrub wrote:
    even though i wear a watch....sometimes i ask the girl next to me in the office the time because i couldnt be bothered lifting my wrist

Now that's lazy !!. Perhaps someone should start a tread about the laziest thing you've ever done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

giftgrub wrote:
    Admit it. She's hot, and you just need an excuse to say something to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

but then he'd have to think about what to say after that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

giftgrub wrote:

That's not being lazy, that's flirting. :D

PH01 wrote:
    That's not being lazy, that's flirting. :D

na thats too much like hard work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

A guy in work makes coffee every morning and I gave up taking milk cos I was too lazy to walk to the kitchen to get it from the fridge! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep

when i lived at home i would call my mum from my bedroom and ask her to bring me a cup of tea :o

meepmeep wrote:
    when i lived at home i would call my mum from my bedroom and ask her to bring me a cup of tea :o

_731080_ali300.jpg

RESPECT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭K2

I once pee'd into an empty 2 litre coke bottle instead of walking up the stairs to the bathroom. This procedure requires a rock steady hand and excellent cordination, both of which were a problem for me this particular morning. I was quite surprised at how close I came to filling it up but then, it was the morning after the night before......

In my defence I was hungover and 19 years old! There is no way I would do that now, well actually thats a lie, I would ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

In my last job, sometimes I'd go home at lunchtime for a bit of an auld kip.
    I only lived around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

PH01 wrote:
    what's the laziest thing you've ever done?
    Absolutely nothing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

MeepMeep - I'd get a beating for that. Be made to go downstairs and get my mam a cup o tea. One of my mates is like that, I still abuse him over it, tut tut, terrible on the poor mother.

As for original lift story, no wonder ppl are getting fatter younger these days..

My own laziness, hmm(actually thinking about this) neh. Prob one of those times when ur alarm on fone/watch is going off and your comfortable in bed, and u say, if u just put up with 30 more seconds of unbearable noise, you can stay comfortable for next 7 mins til it goes off again..

Pretty lazy. Actually im terrible in morning. Anyone find that they can become accustomed to their alarms?? The noise, i associate it with a noise in my dreams, trucking backing up type thing(beep, beep, beep) then if someone shouts at me in RL then they are warning me bout the truck backing up in the dream..

Conclusion: Use a mobile fone and change ur alarm tone every couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep

Mear wrote:
    MeepMeep - I'd get a beating for that. Be made to go downstairs and get my mam a cup o tea. One of my mates is like that, I still abuse him over it, tut tut, terrible on the poor mother.

But my mum loved lookin after me, God bless her.

Thats how i justifies it anyway :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

One of my mates was so spoilt by the mother she'd put milk on his coco pops when she heard him getting into the shower so that they'd be soggy for him (which was how he liked them) when he got downstairs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

I used to be so lazy, I once used the same mug for 4 days without so much as rinsing it, and the sink was literally 5 foot behind me! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

aye lisa, wel ill let ya away so, so long as u make her tea every now and again.

thought of more lazyness, inspired by above, on holidays with the lads last year, I used a teapot to drink water out of, cos was too lazy to wash a cup. became known as my teapot, but god when i spilt some out the funnel (drank from where ye pour water in) it was cold.

sob. *misses teasy*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

Mear wrote:
    sob. *misses teasy*
    *misses Dinny*

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

K2 wrote:
    I once pee'd into an empty 2 litre coke bottle instead of walking up the stairs to the bathroom. This procedure requires a rock steady hand and excellent cordination, both of which were a problem for me this particular morning. I was quite surprised at how close I came to filling it up but then, it was the morning after the night before......

In my defence I was hungover and 19 years old! There is no way I would do that now, well actually thats a lie, I would ;)

I always do that when I'm in bed
    the toilet is litterly about 10 steps away, and i always piss into a pint glass a bottle i find beside me when I wake up during the night
    its the most relaxing thing ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

If you saw my room you would understand how lazy I am.

And yes, I always associate my alarm with things happening in my dream, can be great fun some times, like thinking its my dads phone going off and I am YELLING "TURN OF YOUR FUKIN PHONE!" then I wake up and realise after the alarms has been going for at least a minute!

I am terribly lazy, although I cant think of examples! I do the watch thing were I ask the person beside me for the time bespite having a combination of phone and(or) watch

I live on the first floor of an apertment cimplex in Galway. And almost everytime I go out or come in I use the lift. I just cant be bothered walking up the stairs.

Also lat night I couldnt be bothered to make my bed so I took my two double duvets and slept on the floor. It was the best nights sleep I have had in a month, so I plan on sleeping on the floor again tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭frodi

I'm so lazy I couldn't be bothered replying to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

When I was still in school I would borrow stationery and pens from people, just so I wouldn't have to reach down and rummage in my bag for it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I once pee'd into a pint glass, one drunken night,
    i always borrow other pen's at college,
    i bum smokes when mine are in my bag,

i'm a lazy bastard, to be honest

My wife and I employ a maid to clean the house every two weeks. It's a two hour job for our small semi-D, and we pay her €25 a time. She doesn't break her back, some vacuum cleaning and then cleans the bathroom and kitchen.
    The dirt use to pile up around us, and then we would fight over whos turn it was to do the cleaning.
    If we didn't have her it would never get done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

I knew of a fella who used to take a wooden chair into the shower, so he could sit down while washing. That to me takes some topping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Lenny wrote:
    I always do that when I'm in bed
    the toilet is litterly about 10 steps away, and i always piss into a pint glass a bottle i find beside me when I wake up during the night
    its the most relaxing thing ever.

That really is scumbag material there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Stekelly wrote:
    ?

Meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I have this poster up in my room above my bed:

procrastination.jpg

I'm terrible in the mornings, always think my (three) alarms are part of my dreams and usually don't cop on to switch them off untill my parents start shouting in at me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

hmm well i'm not a lazy person myself(sometimes i goof off though) but this guy i'm seein O.M.G.!! never have i met a lazier person.
    ok he sleeps for day's... he won't delete his text messages when his inbox is full. I've applied for job's for him.. all he had to do was attend the interview, what do you think he did.? He moved into his dad's house the town next to mine so he wouldn't have to travel to far to see me... also grow's his hair untill i get fed up with it and save it for him.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Taxi the length of O'Connell St?

Well it was damn cold last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

I often call my GF in from the kitchen (where she is cooking my dinner... bless) on the pretext summat great is on telly and get her to change the channel or find the remote for me when she comes running in...!

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm Lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

Sleipnir wrote:
    In my last job, sometimes I'd go home at lunchtime for a bit of an auld kip.
    I only lived around the corner.

Oh my God! I used to do that too!! I used to work 20 mins walk away from my house... but I used to drive it so I could zip back home for a nap at lunchtime.
    I got in to trouble many times for wandering, bleary eyed, back into work 2 hours late! hehe :D
    It was sooooo worth it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

My gf bought me one of those travel pillows. In my old job, I used go out, eat my lunch, put my seat back, blow up travel pillow, and nap for 45 mins. Somedays, i would tell the others I needed to go to a meeting, and would leave an hour early, so i could nap for 90mins plus.

Lazy: Not doing something you need to do because it is too much hassle to do immediately, even knowing that not doing in will cause you savage hassle in the long term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

laziest things i have ever done

1) was upstairs in my mother's house and I rang the house phone and asked her to empty the washing machine and put in my washing

2) sitting down one saturday, i used my daughter to put my orange skins in the bin when i was finished eating them (i just didnt want to get up)

3) getting a taxi to my friends house, who lived literally 5 minutes away

4) whilst traveling with my mother in her car, i feel asleep rather then answer her while she was ranting

i am sure there are more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

i always get my little brother to find the remote while i lay on the couch watching tv!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

PH01 wrote:
    A friend of mine works in the two story building - ground and first floor. And this building has a lift, which is mainly for wheelchair users. But my friend and others use this lift to go up one floor, to the only floor, rather than use the stairs.
    How lazy is that?
    Not that lazy i will pay for a bus to go one stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

i pissed in my sink for years, the toilet was next door...............

...........ahh "golden" memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Phoning for pizza delivery and it's only a 2 minute walk... it even pissed me off that I had to get up to open the door :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

A lazy thing I tend to do often,when my mam tells me to do the dishes.Being a lazy teen i just fill up to sink and drop them in and declare them washed.

I never put my rubbish in my bin so it builds up on my desk,even though the bin is like 30cm away from me.

And also when i have my dinner in my room,when im finished i dont bring my plate or whatever cups,bowls and so on down to the kitchin for days.

O yes and im also to lazy to read over posts to check for splling mistaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Always without fail piss in the shower...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Woke up one Sunday morning, had to leave at 11am, no clock beside the bed and the clock on my mobile wasn't set cos I took out the battery the night before. Instead of going into the next room and checking the clock which would involve me leaving my comfy bed I simply sent myself a text message and checked what time the message delivered at (around 9.30am btw :D ).