Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College food

• 01-10-2004 1:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭

Theres bl00dy nowhere decent to eat lunch on this side of town - Wards sandwiches take an hour to queue for, G&L sucks, city centre is too expensive - is there somewhere hidden in Newcastle that does good lunches/sandwiches that I don't know about? DO NOT mention that god-awful spud kip with their surly staff and cr4p food.

Oops didn't mean to rant - I just need some variety.....

'cptr

• Registered Users Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

The river inn i think its called its up the road from supermacs oppsite UCHG.
    its not to bad the few times i have been their.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

I eat in Wards most days......the queue is **** but the rolls are best in town, not too pricey neither.

Er, there's this place near lanfest (dominick street), can't remember the name (they changed it to numbers or summit), you can get a "breakfast roll" at lunch time consisting of roll, sausages, rashers, wedges and butter/ketchup, it's cheap, think around 3 euro, havent been there in ages tho.

Are you the_interceptor or a different one?

que

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Try a sandwich and cuppa in the King's Head.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

note he did say this side of town .. and I've gotta agree :(

westwoods crap as well ... well its okish .. but pricey ... not my cup of tea

error9 wrote:
    note he did say this side of town .. and I've gotta agree :(

Oh, don't be so lazy, it's a five minute walk.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,207 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Sarky wrote:
    Oh, don't be so lazy, it's a five minute walk.

Look sarky, we all know you wear that trench-coat so you can FLY to your destination. And you call US lazy?! :p

Well, there's nothing stopping you from getting a magic trenchcoat of your own, is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 PowerPuffGirl

In my day (cause I'm old) we brought in sambos and stuff for our lunch... means you can spend your lunch money on a couple of drinkies in the evening :D Which was nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Hey PPGirl, I'm one of the oldest ppl on boards.ie and I cycle from Newcastle down to SubWay on Dominick St just for a change sometimes!! Hi Fobia, i thought I was the only interceptor here so no, I'm not the missing 'the_interceptor'.

River Inn is full of expectant fathers and does a plate of 'mate and spuds' for under a tenner but not for every day or I will return to previous whale-like proportions.

Westwood is too fancy for the likes of me - they look funny at you for dunking your bread in your soup...

Again, I cannot be clear enough - avoid the baked spud place if you value your stomach lining!!!

'ceptr

I'll do a re-con in Dominick street - wedges in a brekky roll - MMMmmmmm.

thats why I miss snack box ...
    they used do up a veggie breaky roll for me when ever I asked. ..
    2 or 3 eggs ... tomatoe ... onion .. mushroom ... and a load of chips ... it was GREAT .. ok technically not vegetarian but screw it :) ...

still mario's is nice for the fishy chips ...

EEK just looking out .. its sunny as hell and pissing rain .. thats just wrong

btw ... to he of the 5 minute walk ...

being up in dangan business park ... its not a 5 minute walk so :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

McCambridges Ciabattas - plenty of food for a decent price.
    Ward's is nice for a treat now and again.
    G+L is ok if you're walking up Newcastle way and want a bit of grease and mayonaise with your food.
    A little known sekrit, and one I hope isn't abused:
    The Mace across from the Hospital. Good freshly baked rolls with nice fillings and damn-all queue outside of peak office-slave hours.
    Failing that, Supervalu or Dunnes for a roll/spicey wedges.
    Or just grab some stuff and go home and cook.

La Salsa can be ok, if a little pricey.
    I can't think of anything else off the top of my head, but there are a good few little nook places where good food can be had at a comfortable price.

SyxPak wrote:
    A little known sekrit, and one I hope isn't abused:
    The Mace across from the Hospital. Good freshly baked rolls with nice fillings and damn-all queue outside of peak office-slave hours..

They take fucking hours to make your roll, as myself and ronan|raven found out at the last GL..

Wards all the way, they are skilled in the ancient ways of roll making.

que

Mace also have rather tasty lumps of lasagne. if you can wait 4 minutes for them to heat it on you, it's gorgeous. They sometimes do some lovely hot pastas too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Wards rolls are nice but are over-priced and under-sized. When I think of Wards I'm reminded of the ultimate business model: They provide very tasty but expensive sandwiches and rolls that are too small if you are hungry but people still persist in queueing out the door in the cold. Well worth the honorary degree.

I'm a big fan of the McCambridges Ciabatta. A good fresh bread half-ciabatta, wide variety of nice fillings and surprisingly inexpensive for town.

If you need a good quick lunch then I'm with SyxPak on this one. Mace do a decent roll without the high prices and epic queues I associate with Wards.

but people still persist in queueing out the door in the cold. .

That'd be me (when I can afford it), but a hot roll with ketchup, butter, sausages and stuffing (yum) and a bottle of water for about 4.50 can't be too bad can it?

Must try out this "ciabatta" ye keep talking about.......

Epic queues should really take a Elemental Resistance feat if they intend to stand outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Fobia wrote:
    They take fucking hours to make your roll, as myself and ronan|raven found out at the last GL..
    Must've caught them on a bad day or a weekend where young whipper-snappers such as yourself are behind the counter poisoning the patrons.... ;)
    Fobia wrote:
    Wards all the way, they are skilled in the ancient ways of roll making.

que
    Except they keep cutting the bloody thing in half even when I ask them not too.

Quite irritating when you're munching through your (under-sized and over-priced) roll only to find that the tail end of the first half falls out because you were expecting it to be attached to the rest of the roll still in your hand.
    Then you're soiled for the afternoon, and by the evening you're standing on Cross St., stereo blaring out the Dubliners and your hand out-spread awaiting monetary fulfillment by sympathetic/näive passers-by.

(on knees in front of the burning Catherdral ruins)
    Damn Yous Wards, Damn Yous All To Hell!
    (pounds sand with fist)

SyxPak wrote:
    Must've caught them on a bad day or a weekend where young whipper-snappers such as yourself are behind the counter poisoning the patrons.... ;)

Except they keep cutting the bloody thing in half even when I ask them not too.

There was an asian chick who wasn't too good an english, had to pick up the ketchup and brown sauce to ask which I wanted as she didn't know what they were called.....

It's much better in half....like having 2 rolls! To not realise that your roll is cut in half you'd have to be umm....what's the word? Special?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Magnolia_Fan

Jaysus..theres really nothing to talk about on this is there?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

What happened to the nyomtiousness that was the college bar food? More expensive than the canteen, but the sandwiches and rolls are stuffed full so they don't even close, and my god, those dinners are big! And a hell of a lot tastier than The River Inn, who's chicken I just don't trust, it never tastes right.

All Wards rolls taste like the shop smells, thats why they put really strong suaces on them whenever they can.

Mace's rolls aren't bad, and they're certainly a good price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Get your mammy to make you a packed lunch in the morning. And get a power rangers lunchbox. If you're willling to go to town go to Maguires for sammitches.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,207 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

fozzle wrote:
    What happened to the nyomtiousness that was the college bar food? More expensive than the canteen, but the sandwiches and rolls are stuffed full so they don't even close, and my god, those dinners are big! And a hell of a lot tastier than The River Inn, who's chicken I just don't trust, it never tastes right.

All Wards rolls taste like the shop smells, thats why they put really strong suaces on them whenever they can.

Mace's rolls aren't bad, and they're certainly a good price.

Your right, you know. Did you ever smell that 'chicken' without sauce? Just doesnt smell right. I wonder where they get their sauces from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Rredwell

What's so bad about the college Bialann? Their sandwiches are relatively cheap, at about €3, but they could do with getting in some Earl Grey.

Why not demand caviar while you're at it?

Sarky wrote:
    Why not demand caviar while you're at it?

Well, they have a whole range of specialist teas, and Earl Grey is quite a basic specialist tea. And I couldn't eat caviar with Earl Grey. Come on!

to be honest you could get a ****load of different tea's for like 20 quid ...
    earl grey .. I don't think I've had before .. but considering they don't go off ... and the price of a tea ? .. you'd make it back by selling 2 tea's ...

caviar goes off and isn't in that high a demand...there's just something fishy about those little eggs ...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Foie Gras, tbh. It's even better when you explain to someone squeamish how it's made...

I can't say I liked Foie Gras when I tried it. It was tasty, yes, but the intricate network of blood vessels was intact and made for a distinctly unpleasent texture...

Isn't that veering off the point a bit? I doubt you're going to get foie gras in NUIG.