Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moderation and You

• 01-08-2001 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭

*Ahem*

This being my first post to this board, I wonder how it's going to be received (if at all). eek.gif

Anyway, onto the issue in hand. One of the first things I noticed about this bulletin board is the readiness of moderation. Practically anything that moderators deem offensive, vulgar, pornographic etc. can be removed at their will. While I accept that there are sites that offer unmoderated content, and that those unhappy with this system are free to migrate to those sites, I sometimes wonder if the ability to censor and hence, in a way, control media that is brought before us should not remain within the mandate of one or two censors (per forum) that deem what is or is not 'suitable' for the rest of us to view.

I acknowledge that the moderators in question are responsible individuals who take that responsibiltiy seriously. I also accept that younger viewers who logon should *not* be exposed to the obscenity that 'graces' many internet sites. However, I sometimes find it frustrating when I come across a message that has been edited just because it's not PC (politically correct) or that it contains material that some may find offensive. I like to judge for myself whether something is objectionable or not, and to tell the truth, sometimes I like to be a little shocked by something once in a while - rather than viewing everything in a sanitary 'niceness'.

I do view other bulletin boards, some of which are unmoderated. This means that links to the most gruesome of sites can be posted (and one in particular *shudder*) and the occasional 'hate' thread appears (a topic with the sole purpose of inciting hatred towards a user). All in all, however, I like the fact that people can post whatever they wish - despite the fact that some people abuse that luxury.

Again, I'm not trying to lambast this site. One must also consider the thorny legal issues around such a site that offers it's content to all. What I'm trying to say (perhaps unsuccessfully) is that trying to make everyone conform to a set of guidelines, however well-meaning they may be, might not be to everyone's interest - and I'm not just referring to those that would post content that would ordinarily be edited.

Oh, and it also annoys me somewhat when those ****ing stars show up smile.gif
    And if this has already come up for discussion, my apologies... I'll have to do some better background reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Try posting on the Admin forum if you have a gripe about the boards.

Better yet go search for posts from Devore (probably this forum and Admin) about censorship and whatnot.

Kind of funny that you would post on the board belonging to a moderator who is only second to Castor Troy in stalinising muppets. smile.gif

Btw, I can only assume as this is your first post that someone banned your previous account, or your scared to post under your real nick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Some good points there swiss but the thing is even with the moderators boards seems a nice free place where if ya have even the smallest sense of descency ya wont cause anyone any problems plus the mod`s seem to be very carefully chosen and all are sound peeps

I might look like a fool but i`m really a blithering idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

Moderators have to make a judgement call which you dont have to do. Search for previous posts on the ages of some people here, you will find that many of them are under 18 years old (crappy yardstick but you get my point). Personally, if I had a 13/14 year old son/daughter I wouldnt want them looking at certain material, and I would have no respect for a respectable person my age who hasn't a qualm with it.

As for being PC, read the humanities boards, I dont think anyone is PC, matter of fact there was a post a few months back (which im sure youve read) on how crazy pcness is.

"Wont somebody please think of the children"

Anyway, there is a very simple set of guidelines here
    1. Don't be a muppet
    2. Use common sense
    3. Read rules 1 and 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

What ****ing **** ****** ****ing **** **** ****ty mother****ing ***** **** ******* *** ** stars are you talking about?

-Dark-Angel-

[This message has been edited by Dark-Angel (edited 01-08-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

A) If you don't like the moderation you are 100% free to longer read boards.ie

B) Boards.ie is privately owned and run by DeVore, Regi et al., and if they want to have a set of guidelines so that people don't have to read the kind of utter drivel that is prevalent on the Internet in general, they can.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">I sometimes wonder if the ability to censor and hence, in a way, control media that is brought before us should not remain within the mandate of one or two censors (per forum) that deem what is or is not 'suitable' for the rest of us to view.
    </font>

I assume you mean should remain there - as otherwise you're arguing against your own point.
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">One must also consider the thorny legal issues around such a site that offers it's content to all.</font>

Such as?

Oh you've gone and woken up Castor now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

If links are edited its because they are not suitable for certain age groups. They cant be left for you to judge for yourself because what if someone from that certain age group sees it. Simple...

Hobbes, Im only second to castor because most muppets know to avoid this board by now wink.gif

Insanity is spreading like wildfire.......and Im at its center :p

www.scifi-meshes.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I think that the moderators on boards.ie are great, This site can be viewed (and even understood (but only sometimes) ) by at least people aged 11+ in my opinion.

Sometimes fukers post bad things but bad things happen so what can ye do, its usually dealt with fast. So basically the moderators are grand, a bit superior, but ok none the less.

biggrin.gifThe admins on the other hand, Devore i mean jesus he nearly took over the Counterstrike board and i heard he had plans to annex poland after that tongue.gif
    wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

First off Swiss thats a good post no flaming and you get your point across. But take this into account. I was at a LAN at the weekend and everyone at it was from this site now I myself am a ripe old age of 22 but many of the users of boards.ie are young and this point was really hammered home when at the LAN I had to drive a few of they home so nothing would happen them and reflect badly on the LAN ie kid gets beat up the parents blame us for not taking care of him. It is a long the same reason why boards have mods if a 12 year old kid is looking a great big pr0n pic or site he got off boards.ie you know whos going to get the blame Devore,Regi,Cloud and the lads which could mean the end for this long established community. Ant that one mean I would be very bored in work and we dont want that to happen smile.gif

kayos
    When you get to hell tell them I sent you,
    you'll get a group discount...

tribes.gameshop.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Kix

Swiss, an excellent first post (if you're not just an old poster masquerading under a new nick smile.gif).

I must say though, from my point of view, that Boards is a community with well established community standards and that those standards are what makes me feel very much at home here.

I'm probably tending towards the upper end of the age scale and the admins (well Cloud anyhow, he was two years behind me in college) are probably there or there abouts as well. I think that the tone is somewhat dictated by that age profile. Still, there's plenty of room for fun and freedom of expression. I've never seen anyones post shot down as long as they thought it out and avoided flaming anyone.

Boards are society in miniature. Just like in real life, we accept certain limits to because the abuse of those rights, if granted, by malicious individuals, would ultimately limit our freedom to a far greater sense. I'm no believer in anarchy as a viable system.

That's how I see it anyway.

K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

besdies, if we had less mods, then there wouldnt be half as many posts from people moaning about karma, unfair treatment, dictatorship on the humanities board, etc etc etc etc.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteWashMan:

besdies, if we had less mods, then there wouldnt be half as many posts from people moaning about karma, unfair treatment, dictatorship on the humanities board, etc etc etc etc.
    </font>

Indeed and who'd be there to make sure the madness that is the Work Board doesn't de-generate into a spiral of madness! biggrin.gif

Mods are needed, all of us do a good job - it's thankless and we sometimes get abused.

In relation to the Humour board, I think "would it be OK to have that picture on my screen if the boss walked up behind me" or "would I want a kid to see/read this" and nine times out of ten, the stuff's grand - a bit crass sometimes, but to me, if it's OK for a 15's cert (the youngest age group we have knocking about - there are some younger), then it stays.

A constructive and well formed post - fair play.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    So Bob Hoskins was about to roll a spliff when in walks Dana with her 3 foot Bong
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    When the Beefy King arrives, I shall be paying homage with Puunack The Receiver in a haze of green curry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kharn:
    Indeed and who'd be there to make sure the madness that is the Work Board doesn't de-generate into a spiral of madness! biggrin.gif

</font>

its a dity job.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I was once like you Swiss, but after years on Usenet and it's endless spam these boards are like an oasis of calm in a sea of anarchy. I agree that it is a double edged sword in that a certain amount of censorship is required but that's the price we pay.

Lunacy Abounds! GLminesweeper RO><ORS!
    "Boxes for show, Baskets for a pro" - [FCA]SyxPak

If you want to see a world of boards.ie without mods go into the trolls forum and set it to view all threads. Then go read a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Hobbes:
    If you want to see a world of boards.ie without mods go into the trolls forum and set it to view all threads. Then go read a few.
    </font>

you might aswell search all posts by me, rich and whitelancer!

- smoke-me-a-kipp0r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

Okay, a mixed response

Firstly, I didn't mean to annoy any of the moderators who felt that I was inferring that they don't do a good job. Erk! Perish the thought. Nor am I seeking to effect a change in the way this site is run, given that most people seem happy with it. I just wanted to gauge the views of people towards the issue of moderation, using this particular website as an example.

Next, yes I am new to this board (though I have posted on others). I'm a bit surprised at the suggestion that I'm an older poster too scared to use his 'real' login, although I didn't *really* know how people were going to react. I've read a few of the topics posted in the forums, and decided that the boards crewe are a decent enough sort (and I have turned to TheWolf for my jokes 'fix' - keep up the good work!).

I would agree with nesf... they are a necessary evil, as there are those whose sole mandate on a board would be to basically annoy others (such as what I may be doing now smile.gif )

The 'Thorny legal issue' I had in mind is the Incitement to Hatred Act which was recently introduced. If there were posters who were being maliciously abused then if boards.ie (who are supposed to provide moderated content) were found negligent in removing/censoring this material, they could find themselves responsible, for hosting the material - despite the diclaimer stating that they are not.

And to the moderators, thanks for not clicking the command 'Put that muppet's post in Trolls' when you first read this smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by smoke-me-a-kipper:
    you might aswell search all posts by me, rich and whitelancer!

</font>

Dont bring me into your dirty troll spam club smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by swiss:

And to the moderators, thanks for not clicking the command 'Put that muppet's post in Trolls' when you first read this smile.gif
    </font>

A few of us(mods) stopped doing that because it caused more problems than it solved...Deletion works so much better anyway wink.gif

Insanity is spreading like wildfire.......and Im at its center :p

www.scifi-meshes.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    they are a necessary evil
    </font>

thank you

I would consider myself to be fair on that hotbed of controversy the webgames board, but you do get idiots who try to spoil others enjoyment/use of the boards and that is why we are here. Un-pc and controversial are welcome as far as I'm concerned, as they promote discussion. We are painfully aware of the dangers of censorship so we are careful. Pretty much the mods make sure everybody behaves themselves and we do a good job (I think). That's why it's the second biggest Irish bbs, next to them p45 ****ers mad.gif

It's a great first post though, welcome to boards.

[This message has been edited by Evil Phil (edited 02-08-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Mod's, a necessary evil unfortunately. There is an argument for only having admins, and let more freedom to post to individuals. I can't say I agree with it, with the kind of age group that reads the boards. Since there is no real way of controlling this that is viable, then we need mods or at least someone to censor the worst stuff.

Plus most of 'em just warn and won't edit unless it's totally necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Yes the censor can be a little over the top on certain words but over all the mods are fine and dont jump the gun to much.

Sadly there are to many sub human fools who post on the web board for it ever to be uncensored and if I had my way Dev's 12 click system would be down to 4 clicks.

And at the end of the day,if you dont like this web board,take your sub human fool ass to any other board on the web.Its not like you will be missed.