Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finding it difficult to deal with the Irish drinking mentality

• 16-09-2004 4:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭

Hey,

I've started going to the gym again with the intention of getting quite big. This means I need to be very strict with my diet - no coffee, tea, alcohol, drugs... lots of food, water and sleep.

The reason I need to be so strict is both "scientific" reasons (alcohol making creatine inneffective etc) and psychological (I'm very much into extremes - either lots of alcohol or none - I can't do moderate.)

The problem is this:

My friends are putting quite a bit of pressure on me to get drunk/stoned etc. I really don't want to do this as I'm very serious about my training (and I'm actually tired of wasting all my money on beer.)

How should I handle this? The "peer pressure" is quite heavy, and they're making me feel like a boring arse. And I know there is only so many cinema/DVD nights my girlfriend will put up with before she wants me to go out and get locked.

What can I realistically do?

Moderation won't really work for me (I've tried it before) and it's not as if I'm sitting at home - I have no problem going to the pub with them with me not drinking...

But this pisses them off.

Is there a solution?

AARRRGH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

it only pisses them off because they are so used 2 u goin out with them drinkin
    if u see it through after a while they will get used 2 it
    stay the course and it will work out, may take a while though
    drinkin something like a becks shandy or something while out with them
    will give the impression of u drinkin, might help
    oh and u dont need 2 give up all that 2 become big btw
    it may just take a little longer but is a much easier path ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Kick them in the nuts.

I never understand some people's inability to cope with other people not drinking.

A mate of mine refuses to buy me water unless I kick him in the nuts. Even then, he'll return with water and a pint of Guinness. For some reason it disgusts him to not be drinking in a pub.

As well as that, the amount of times I've asked for water, and people go, "Ah, are ye locked?". WTF?! Why do I have to be locked to want water?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

At christmas I gave up all intoxicants - alcohol, coffee, any drugs and even fast food.

I actually didn't find it so hard at all to be honest. And in fact, I've started going out more than ever! But the reason for this is because I have a completely "don't give a ****" attitude anyway, always have. I've always done my own thing and always will - and this is what I want to do.

My advice to you is not to make such an issue of it. Don't make it such a big obvious thing. Some people who stop drinking may as well put a sign over their heads saying "I AM A NON DRINKER - IS THAT OK WITH YOU?" . I don't get this mentality.

Who cares whether or not people like it - this is your decision. Stick with it. In fact, one of my most successful tactics of all is... DON'T tell anyone unless you really have to. Go out, have the craic, go ****ing mental ... after a while people forget you aren't drinking (or maybe they don't even know to start with) because you're having such great fun with them and arent being one of these "hey, im a non drinker" types.

Most people don't know I'm a non-drinker. As soon as I tell people I can see that for some it is a problem... perhaps because people are a little paranoid about going out getting pissed with someone who is sober? Keep it quiet, and if you have to tell people, then don't make it an issue because it is not even up for question :)

Man... I've had some amazing times since I gave up drink. In this country, we are so BRAINWASHED into believeing you must drink. Our society is ****ed up in a few ways... and as soon as someone comes along and challenges this social madness, people DO NOT like it, because they are so conditioned by this drinking culture that we live in...

All you can do it... transcent, and live your life YOUR way.

**** drugs, **** drink, and **** this conditioned brainwashed society who can't see that life can be such an amazing thing if they stop being sheep!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Well, going out and getting plastered regularly is pretty boring once you've done it a few times. Explain that you just can't drink alcohol and if they don't respect this, consider finding new friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Change ur mates dude - real mates would support you & not give u **** over it.... mine backed me to the hilt when I said I was knocking booze & smokes on the head & have never given me jip over it once.....

::: ven0mous :::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

ven0m wrote:
    Change ur mates dude - real mates would support you & not give u **** over it....

Oh shut up... Obvious a bunch of nancy boys! Peer pressure is part of growing up and you need people to test your resolve!!

The whole everything revolves around the pub in this country pisses me off too.. It would be nice if there was alternatives though, besides the cinema and bowling of course!!

Maybe your friends just want you to enjoy yourself with them.. Over time they will get the message though and give you a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

simu wrote:
    Explain that you just can't drink alcohol and if they don't respect this, consider finding new friends.
    ven0m wrote:
    Change ur mates dude - real mates would support you & not give u **** over it.... mine backed me to the hilt when I said I was knocking booze & smokes on the head & have never given me jip over it once.....

It's not quite as black and white as this. You can't simply give up your friends
    because they disagree with you. They're going to deal with it. It's their problem, and not yours.

I have been in both situations - the person not drinking, and with someone who is not drinking.

I presume you stopped drinking recently enough?
    After a while (maybe a month or two), I can't see them still being interested in the fact that you don't drink. It becomes boring after a while. A friend of mine went off the booze for about 4 years, and we quickly lost interest in peer pressuring him.

How do you feel about being in a pub though? If you are not bored stiff watching your mates getting drunk I would say there is hope. However, in the 6 months I wasn't drinking I tried to avoid the pub as much as I could. There are only so many 7UPs and Water you can drink, plus you see your friends in a whole new (stupid) light. And once they get drunk and start talking crap you start to feel like a bit of an outsider.

Oh shut up... Obvious a bunch of nancy boys! Peer pressure is part of growing up and you need people to test your resolve!!

actually those who ENGAGE in peer pressure are insecure & need to push someone else to make themselves feel big.... the only person anyone needs to test their own resolve is themselves - either you got the minerals or you don't.... no grey area about it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Jaysis seamus, I'm amazed you have friends if you kick them in the nuts all the time!

Johnny, I'm surprised at you bowing to peer pressure. I would have thought that in your circles - you would be the peer.

I presume you stopped drinking recently enough?
    After a while (maybe a month or two), I can't see them still being interested in the fact that you don't drink. It becomes boring after a while. A friend of mine went off the booze for about 4 years, and we quickly lost interest in peer pressuring him.

3 months & ur prolly right, but even when I said I was giving up there was no b.s.-ing or ribbing me over it.... they were pretty respectful about it which was cool
    How do you feel about being in a pub though? If you are not bored stiff watching your mates getting drunk I would say there is hope. However, in the 6 months I wasn't drinking I tried to avoid the pub as much as I could. There are only so many 7UPs and Water you can drink, plus you see your friends in a whole new (stupid) light. And once they get drunk and start talking crap you start to feel like a bit of an outsider.

We've kinda all gone past the going out drinking to get locked thing, & I don't drink 7up or the usual stuff, I actually am into drinking 'Cranberry & Soda', which is pretty cool & an American friend of mine who is big into skateboarding introduced it to me saying that alot of x-Gamers & Extreme sports dudes were into drinking it & I really digged it .... as for my mates acting the dick "drunk", they're actually no different drunk than they are sober 99% of the time.... so it makes no difference LOL

Spose it's each to his own but knowing Johnny Versace as I do [Yes 'Johnny' I do have the 'fortune' of knowing you LOL], I find it wierd he'd be bothered by peer pressure.....where's ur mojo gone boy????? LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

ven0m wrote:
    3 months & ur prolly right, but even when I said I was giving up there was no b.s.-ing or ribbing me over it.... they were pretty respectful about it which was cool

We've kinda all gone past the going out drinking to get locked thing, & I don't drink 7up or the usual stuff, I actually am into drinking 'Cranberry & Soda', which is pretty cool & an American friend of mine who is big into skateboarding introduced it to me saying that alot of x-Gamers & Extreme sports dudes were into drinking it & I really digged it .... as for my mates acting the dick "drunk", they're actually no different drunk than they are sober 99% of the time.... so it makes no difference LOL

Spose it's each to his own but knowing Johnny Versace as I do [Yes 'Johnny' I do have the 'fortune' of knowing you LOL], I find it wierd he'd be bothered by peer pressure.....where's ur mojo gone boy????? LOL

feck yer friends, if they want you to ruin your life with drink they obviously dont care, and going off the point a bit....whats with the lack of skateparks in ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Lord diablo

im with you i dont drink and when i go back to work after the weekend all they talk about is DRINK, and then when i havent gone out they look at me like im a freak what i would do is go out and just drink diet coke or something i still like going out just dont need the drink!!

listen mate, im FOURTEEN and all i hear about is drink. beat that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

i havent read the other replys but i just wanted to say, that just dont listen to them (easier said than done i know) but im the same. I dont drink much, not to get locked anyway, and a lot of the time i have more fun being out and getting to take the piss of all the drunkards! Im only 17 , so as rozabeez said, its only drink drink drink around me.

And of course there is THE MONEY. Its such a waste.

Sorry if this didnt help much, but its kinda early and im quite confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

A few options really....

1) Try to avoid going out with mates to pubs, clubs and bars if they are going to pressurise you so badly and it genuinely gets to you.
    2) Tell them in no uncertain terms to fu<k off.
    3) Go out and drink drinks that look alcholic but aren't... like white lemonade with a slice of lemon (looks like gin & tonic).
    4) Start suggesting other stuff to do with your mates that doesn't involve drinking.
    5) Make up an excuse about not being able to drink, for a medical reason.
    6) Get new friends. (Not necessarily a bad thing, if they are giving you hassle about not needing to get buckled every weekend).

I know if I was in your situation, I would choose option 2. Its the easiest. The rest of them are a bit outlandish and daft....

What kinda mates slag their friend and put pressure on them cos they won't drink? They sound like immature kids. In which case, maybe option 6 wouldn't be a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭narommy

Why would you want to be so big???? What are the side affects of creatine??

I've never been an alcoholic but I haven't touched drink for a year. Before that it'd only be once a month or so. Before that, in college it was all week long. I'm a danger to myself when I drink. Just get so stupid. I could never build up a tolerence for it either, and i probably drank too much.

I'll tell you the number ONE rule to going out and not drinking. "Don't remember any of the nights events". People don't like some one who rubs their idiotic performances in their faces the next day. And they can't enjoy themselves cos they know they'll hear about it the next day. The person above who said it'll take a month or two was right. After that when trust is built up they'll be delighted to have some one who will get them home safe.

It helps too if you have a mental outgoing personality and enjoy listening to s**t talk.I also found it helpful to arrive a bit later? I don't know why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭eggshapedfred

tell you friends that your gym membership is sucking up all your extra cash and that you'd be happy to go out and get slaughtered every weekend if they are willing to pay for it. after about two weekends on the lash you won't have any problems about not drinking...

people only pressure you when it doesnt cost them anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

Tell them you are training to work off the huge level of supressed rage you have. Tell them you can't drink or do drugs any more because then the bad man tries to make you hurt them. If you really want to make this believable cut your forearms a bit with a steak-knife. You'll find that as you get bigger they'll respect your decision more and more.
    I wasn't aware that creatine doesn't work if you drink. Interesting. How did you find that out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Thank you for all your replies. Some good advice :)

MrNuked: Found out about alcohol blocking creatine from a bit of googling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Corksham

Maybe you should change your attitude, moderation doesnt work for me is a bit of an extreme lifestyle to live IMO.
    As for your friends pressurising you then maybe ya need to tell them f*** off and take your training seriously or get new friends
    Best of luck with the training

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

Whats the problem with a bit of a slagging???

I go off the drink for lent (or at least till paddy's day) every year but the lads at home tend to give out to me, not because they want me to drink, but more because I don't generally loosen up and allow myself to have fun when I dont drink. This makes for a boring night for the people I'm with and I tend to go out less and when I go out I rarely hit the clubs.The problem is actually that I seem to need the few pints to enjoy myself (which is exactly why I go off it). Of course this is just me but its another point of view other than kick em in the nutz!!! After a while I get used to it and when I start enjoyin goin out again they forget I'm not drinkin.....

PS. Never remember what happened last night - everyone hates that.

.........Then kick-em in the nutz!!!

Rozabeez wrote:
    listen mate, im FOURTEEN and all i hear about is drink. beat that.

why did i get a negative comment on this?
    whats wrong with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Tell your mates to cop on and grow the fúck up. What age are they anyway? Ask them that... immature gits. You shouldn't even need to post looking for advice. They need to snap out of it.

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Tell your mates to cop on and grow the fúck up. What age are they anyway? Ask them that... immature gits. You shouldn't even need to post looking for advice. They need to snap out of it.

HERE HERE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

narommy wrote:
    Why would you want to be so big???? What are the side affects of creatine??

Guys want to get big so men won't fcuk with them (and women will.)

We are shallow creatures after all.

The main side effect of creatine is that your muscles retain water, and they look bigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭bandraoi

just put a stop to it yourself.
    Sit there, don´t laugh along but blank it out when they start.
    Don´t explain it, don´t apologise it for it, don´t comment on it, don´t discuss it when you´re in the pub with them.

The only reason they keep doing it is because they get a reaction out of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Teddi

hey johnny..word of warning..

this has nothing much to do with your prob but

if you care anything about your 'fella' down there

id stay well away from creatine...use protein powder/bar/food supplements instead :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

Yeah, I'd have to agree that you shouldn't have to justify it to your friends. The fact that you don't want to drink should be enough for them, but the thing is, if you give in about the drink, they'll probably end up pressuring you into getting stoned as well and it doesn't look like you want either of these. If you stand the slagging for a while until you're 'big', you could always just bait them around the place then, or as seamus suggested, kick them in the nuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭M@lice

The trouble with ireland is there's very little to do besides drink!

Think about all the smaller towns. They're mostly pubs. What else is there for a person to do besides drink?

I honestly believe that the attitude isn't going to change until there are real alternatives to drinking and not just in the big towns.

Not to mention that its practically Irish Heritige by now. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

That's an oxymoron of logic.

Alternative services won't evolve until there is some demonstrable desire for those services.

Necessity is the mother of invention etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

M@lice wrote:
    The trouble with ireland is there's very little to do besides drink!

Think about all the smaller towns. They're mostly pubs. What else is there for a person to do besides drink?

I honestly believe that the attitude isn't going to change until there are real alternatives to drinking and not just in the big towns.

Not to mention that its practically Irish Heritige by now. :(

WHat do people in other countries do? Maybe go climbing, hill-walking like in Norway? Swimming?

Most western socialising revolves around bars, not just Ireland. UK is much much much worse. Central europe is more like cafe bars so because people have space and sit outside it's more relaxed, whereas in the typical ****hole pub on a weekend in Dublin it's packed.

I've made it a point to not go into pubs that have somebody's name in the title (e.g., Murphy's, Mahaffy's, McPubs, McBar, Mc Lounge). Places like the new bars are quite nice during the week when not packed with drunks.

The mentality I think boils down to people not being comfortable with themselves enough to just relax and chill out, they have to get pissed or the severe lack of social skills comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Rozabeez wrote:
    why did i get a negative comment on this?
    whats wrong with it?
    I would appreciate if reputation comments are not replied to on Personal Issues. If it is a point worthy of explanation then the reputation giver will comment on the thread.

Therefore, do not take such bad rep to heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

I'm off the drink for 11 months now. Decided to give it up for 12 months in total to test my resolve.

What I do find is strange is that I have to explain my choice each and every time I meet someone new.

"You driving ? "
    "Yes, but I don't drink alcohol anyway"
    "Oh right, you in the AA or something ?"
    "No "
    "Oh health issue then"
    "No"
    "Well what's wrong with you then ? "

This country is really fcked up that people are unable to understand that I have made a choice not to drink alcohol. It would seem more acceptable for me being an alcoholic than just being someone who abstains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Yeah Irelands drink culture is gas tbh.
    "Aah there's nothin' else to do"
    I'll bet you haven't even been thinking of what else there really is to do... drinking is just the first thing that popped into your head isn't it?
    It's like me sitting around reading boards.ie for hours, because there's nothing better to do... where if I just stopped for a few hours I'd find plenty of more interesting things to do.

Why don't you just order a glass of coke and tell them there's vodka or rum in it?
    Tell your friends you're a bit broke and would like to opt out of the rounds system so you can hide your shameful non-drinking. ;)
    Or just stand up for yourself and call them on it - "why is it so important to you that I drink?", or something to that effect... after all, it's their problem not yours.
    I dunno, I think (hope) attitudes are changing about drinking.
    The more people take a sensible attitude towards drink, the more people will believe you can still have fun without booze, and that not drinking doesn't make you a boring arse.

Teddi wrote:
    if you care anything about your 'fella' down there

id stay well away from creatine...use protein powder/bar/food supplements instead :)

That was what I was thinking, is it true?
    If it is I doubt that Johnny's lack of alcohol intake will be his girlfriend's main concern

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 dargan

I've made it a point to not go into pubs that have somebody's name in the title (e.g., Murphy's, Mahaffy's, McPubs, McBar, Mc Lounge). Places like the new bars are quite nice during the week when not packed with drunks.

Don't think you can compare Mahaffy's and Mc-Inc! New bars (in Dublin anyway) are generally owned by huge groups - such as the Capital Group which owns an amazing amount of pubs, and more than likely don't have a person's name on it. Point is not going into a pub just cos it has someone's name on it doesn't really make sense!

http://www.capital-hotels.com/xml/Bars/Bars.xml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,081 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Can't wait to get a full drivers licence so I can use the "I'm driving" excuse. Though I've seen people use this in the past and the response they got was "But you can still have one or two". It's crazy. It's selfish insecurity in my opinion. Most people don't like to be confronted with the fact that they might be drinking too much themselves. If this was America and someone started drinking the amount a "normal" Irish person drinks then they'd be labelled as an alcoholic straight away. But over here it's "but I drink the same as everyone" else, even though most people answer yes to more than the required number of questions on the AA questionnaire.

Also soft drinks and the ilk can be almost as bad as actual alcoholic drink, so I get a further barrage from people when I refuse a "well have a Coke then".

narommy wrote:
    That was what I was thinking, is it true?
    If it is I doubt that Johnny's lack of alcohol intake will be his girlfriend's main concern

No, that's totally not true :)

Steroid only affect your penis size if you take them at a young age.

And creatine is NOT a steroid - it is mainly proteins. It has the advantage of feeding your muscles very efficiently which makes them stronger and more energetic, and it also helps them retain water which makes them look bigger.

It's a harmless substance when combined with exercise (it's not recommended for non-gym people though.)

I didn't drink this weekend. I'm so proud!! :)

I stand corrected. You have my permission to proceed to bulk up :D

Good for you on the not drinking issue. Get's easier with time.

Stark wrote:
    Also soft drinks and the ilk can be almost as bad as actual alcoholic drink, so I get a further barrage from people when I refuse a "well have a Coke then".

And I know how Stark feels on that score. There's only so much Coke a stomach (and teeth) can handle. And it's not a lot! And a pint of coke costs more than a regular pint which includes exise duty????? (Up in Belfast non alco costs less than alcoholic versons)

Becks is a good substitute but it tastes better with ice. Bars sometimes have better tasting non alcoholic versions but i can't remember the names of them.

dargan wrote:
    Don't think you can compare Mahaffy's and Mc-Inc! New bars (in Dublin anyway) are generally owned by huge groups - such as the Capital Group which owns an amazing amount of pubs, and more than likely don't have a person's name on it. Point is not going into a pub just cos it has someone's name on it doesn't really make sense!

http://www.capital-hotels.com/xml/Bars/Bars.xml

Actually (wasn't clear in original post) I meant places that are the "traditional" Irish pub, like say ....christ I can't think of the names of them it's been so long. Basically I would prefer a place like BaMizu or Dakota during the week simply because there is some money gone into the place, nice decor and a wide range of drinks and okayish food. Compare to the "Irish" pub which usually is called O'Neills or something, is cramped, has ****ty furniture, carpet with old puke stains and a piece of generic timber for a bar, lousy food and no table service, etc., . Not to be anti my own country, but I can't stand that type of pub. Yeah most Dublin pubs turn into it at the weekend anyway, but the lack of service and space in those old pubs is disgusting. Those old pubs I actually refer to as the McPub as they are all an impression of each other, the newer pubs might be owned by large investment groups (e.g., 4 Dame Lane-Dakota, etc., ) but at least there are thigns like nice seating and table service. WTF is with pushing and shoving all night - no wonder people drink so much.

E.g., that pub half way down grafton street and you take a right, I think it's red outside called Keoghs or something. Place is a bloody dump.

narommy wrote:
    And I know how Stark feels on that score. There's only so much Coke a stomach (and teeth) can handle. And it's not a lot! And a pint of coke costs more than a regular pint which includes exise duty????? (Up in Belfast non alco costs less than alcoholic versons)

Becks is a good substitute but it tastes better with ice. Bars sometimes have better tasting non alcoholic versions but i can't remember the names of them.

I think SoSumi on George's St has non-alcoholic Erdinger which is quite nice, but that was over a year ago I was last there.

Also, there is non-alcoholic Holsten or something which is served in Market Bar and whatever that place is that replaced Major Tom's (? at basement corner or Mercer Street and Stephen's Green). It's slowly catching on to have non-alco beer. Makes a nice change to have some and then get in your car and drive home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭thejuggler

I can relate to this conversation. My wife and I don't drink (from choice) and we have found that this has alienated us from people who were previously our friends. So many irish people can't even contemplate social activity which doesn't involve getting hammered. Tragic really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

No, that's totally not true :)

Steroid only affect your penis size if you take them at a young age.

For a guy that seems to be serious about training you've been misinformed. Steroids never effect your penis size regardless of age. They do however cause testicular atrophy and refractiveness of the hypothalamic pituitary testicular axis due to testicular redundancy caused by exogenous testosterone influx.
    And creatine is NOT a steroid - it is mainly proteins. It has the advantage of feeding your muscles very efficiently which makes them stronger and more energetic, and it also helps them retain water which makes them look bigger

Secondly Creatine is NOT a protein it's an amino acid, which is the basic building block of a protein but by itself is not a protein. It also doesn't feed your muscle at all, the chemical transference of ATP releasing phosphate and becoming ADP is where the energy is supplied from, ATP is then regenerated when ADP undergoes phospjate transference from PCr, creatine increases storage capacity of PCr thus facilitating energy release within the muscle but not fueling it directly.
    I didn't drink this weekend. I'm so proud!! :)

As for drinking, serious training and drinking don't mix. Decide what you want to do and stick with it.

Here's some inspiration: http://www.skwigg.com/id13.html

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,081 ✭✭✭✭Stark

They do however cause testicular atrophy and refractiveness of the hypothalamic pituitary testicular axis due to testicular redundancy caused by exogenous testosterone influx.

Wow, you sure you were never a writer on Star Trek? :p

My father used to take creatine a while back for marathon training but he stopped because he found it wasn't helpful. That muscle volumizing thing due to extra water doesn't sound good. My muscles used to be mostly water before as I was eating way too many carbohydrates and hardly any protein during training. The muscles you end up with tend to be soft and weak as opposed to hard and strong. I had a friend who's a completely stick figure and he was about twice as strong as me.

logic1 wrote:
    For a guy that seems to be serious about training you've been misinformed. Steroids never effect your penis size regardless of age. They do however cause testicular atrophy and refractiveness of the hypothalamic pituitary testicular axis due to testicular redundancy caused by exogenous testosterone influx.

Secondly Creatine is NOT a protein it's an amino acid, which is the basic building block of a protein but by itself is not a protein. It also doesn't feed your muscle at all, the chemical transference of ATP releasing phosphate and becoming ADP is where the energy is supplied from, ATP is then regenerated when ADP undergoes phospjate transference from PCr, creatine increases storage capacity of PCr thus facilitating energy release within the muscle but not fueling it directly.

As for drinking, serious training and drinking don't mix. Decide what you want to do and stick with it.

Here's some inspiration: http://www.skwigg.com/id13.html

.logic.

Please tell me you're trolling or taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Please tell me you're trolling or taking the piss.

Why would I be trolling or taking the piss? Do you not believe something I've said?

Do your research and you'll find I'm 100% correct.

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

So went to the pub just there, i arrived late though. The lads all sittin down with their guinness. I stroll to the bar, come back with my fanta orange....

1) €2.30 - WTF? For a crappy 200ml bottle? they tryin to make me buy alcoholic drink??

2) They gave me the most feminine glass in the place, couldnt just give me a normal
    straight glass. Again, They trying to make me buy alcoholic drink or something?

3) To top it all of, my mates predicided to sit near these good looking girls whom we kinda know... GREAT.

Anyway, tis my rant. The girls didnt care at all, didnt even ask. The lads of course gave the whole 'there a bleedin naggin in tha' crap. but jokey crap. Good humour. Oh and one of em is now saying, I didnt even wanna drink really, wanted to just get a soft drink, next time ...

You paved the way forward brian, well done.

brian

logic1 wrote:
    Why would I be trolling or taking the piss? Do you not believe something I've said?

Do your research and you'll find I'm 100% correct.

.logic.

I know you're trolling. No one can be that obsessive about detail/language!

Unless they had a medical background??? Or did postgrad research on the topic???