Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

>>>>>>> Boardstock 2 Planning <<<<<<<

• 25-08-2004 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭

Ok, Boardstock was a success, even more than we thought it could be, but I think that was due to planning it for a long time, and getting just the perfect venue.

So here it is, the Offical Boardstock 2 planning thread.
    Is it a bit early? Sure it is, but who cares it's only a thread so far, nothing set in stone, except maybe some of the bands who are playing.

It was Jenko who suggested we try to see if it was possible, and ultimately, would it be as popular as the first one. Well the first thing I would be going for is to make it even more successful this time.

We're thinking Christmas time, which leaves from now til then to plan. A venue has to be sorted pretty early on, so it makes sense to start talking about it now if indeed such an event would go ahead in December.

I was looking through the old thread earlier, and it said that the Christmas beers was the least attended. I don't know why, it could of been anything, but of course we have to keep that into consideration.

I was originally considering April, around Easter due to people having holidays and such, but of course, if Christmas is doable, then surely thats what we should be aiming for.

We all know how it works by now, and what problems can arise, so all thats left is to get the ideas in and what not.

Trusted None are pretty much going to be given priority due to them having to drop out last time. They came anyway and helped us out alot.

20 Bulls each were also up for it last time, but couldn't make it.

I've been thinking about getting New Colour Soul to headline this time (after see loads of people up dancing for the Camembert Quartet, they should have no problems making people dance....just at the right time slot :D)

Of course this is all conjecture on my part.

For Venues, definatly The Sugar Club is up for consideration, but we mustn't rule out places like Whelans which also cater to large crowds.

Whelans would be great from a band point of view, considering everybody is standing right in front of the stage, but The Sugar Club can't be beat from a pure comfort point of view. I think TSC is definatly the first option anyway.

Dig in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

have it after the 18th Sept

I should be sitting the first batch of my finals and could do with a bit of stress-relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Sounds like a plan. As regards a venue, if you're going for Christmas time you're going to have trouble getting somewhere due to the large amounts of Christmas parties being booked early. And that's probably why the christmas beers was so poorly attended, everyone's partied out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

20 Bulls Each will definatly be around for this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Great stuff Giblet, fair play to you for getting the ball rolling on this so early.

Christmas is a very difficult time to run a gig, because of the amount of parties that people can choose to go to, as was proven at the last boards xmas beers (which I wasn't at :) ). We need to think long and hard about how to make sure the night is a guaranteed success, particularly if we want to repeat the attendance of the first boardstock. Basically, we need a gimmick to get people in!! We've plenty of time for coming up with a plan though.

Cheers for saying you'd like us to do the headline next time, that's very kind and we'd be honoured to do it!! Priorirty however has to go to Trusted None and 20 Bulls Each on the gig, they have to be on the next bill whatever happens. It's also good to offer a different lineup from the last gig too, as it's going to be much of the same crowd there at the next one. Personally I'd like to see something like a stand up comedy slot thrown in somewhere, make the night into more of a cabaret thing for the craic!

Let's get thinking on this nice and early. I suggest leaving the date until very close to Christmas, most office parties happen between the last week in November and the week before Christmas, so just after that is the time to strike!

I would vote for the Sugar Club again, to be honest it was perfect and there is nowhere that suits our needs better than that.

Robbie

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭fitz

I think we need to look hard at Christmas...I'm not sure it's the best time to organise this for.

People have office parties/christmas booze-ups with family/mates, and presents and, and, and....

It's all expense, so a boards beer might suffer because peoples priorities will be elsewhere.

January sucks cause you've got no money left after Christmas.
    End of February is when I'd suggest.
    There's no point in rushing into doing this for the sake of it.

I'd love to play to a boards crowd with a band, but I think Robbie's right, vary the line-up. NCS headlining would be great, as long as their sax-player manages to buy a diary before then, and would really make up for the rescheduled set at BS1. But I think if it's gonna work a second time, you have to offer something different.
    Me with a band is different, and I'd do it if asked, but we need to look at other bands being given opportunities aswell...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

fitz wrote:
    People have office parties/christmas booze-ups with family/mates, and presents and, and, and....

couldn't agree more, I always have more parties then I can attend, some times I wish I could clone myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

I'd push for the Sugar Club again. Excellent venue. Excellent sound. Comfortable. Easy enough to get to and piping the PA into the jacks was just a fantastic touch!

Did anyone record it?

Many thanks for nominating us for the next one, we'll try and have a drummer sorted by then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I believe that the xmas beers were quiet because it was around the 22nd or 23rd when loads of people were away, partied-out, busy somewhere else, or were stuck for cash.

The Sugar Club was excellent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Trojan wrote:
    I believe that the xmas beers were quiet because it was around the 22nd or 23rd when loads of people were away, partied-out, busy somewhere else, or were stuck for cash.
    Yeah, any Christmas beers have always been in the last two weeks before Christmas, which cuts out a lot of people due to aforementiond parties, shopping, etc. In fact, anything from the last week in November to halfway through January is going to have a low turnout, because people are busy. Office parties start in November, and the empty pockets continue till Mid-January.

So my vote would go for Mid-November, or late January....

November is too soon, and January is the most financially sparse month of the year for most people after the Christmas. Still reckon end of February is the best bet...

Son Of Boardstock Valentines Night Special? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

So Christmas is out then :D

I'll change the topic so!

Hmm Valentines day eh? Too bad it's a Thursday :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

I dont think November is too Soon, most bands play at least once every week or 2 , realistically this is just another gig. theres no reason there couldnt be a boards band gig every 2 months or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

bombidol wrote:
    I dont think November is too Soon, most bands play at least once every week or 2 , realistically this is just another gig. theres no reason there couldnt be a boards band gig every 2 months or so
    In fact, it could be a useful springboard for up and coming bands. This country needs a hell of a lot more voluntary organised gigs. If this was a very regular thing, it would become a popular one very quickly.

Oh god we better start a company!

Beers work best when people are dying for the next one.
    If you do this again to soon it'll flop.

"Ah sure, I'll go to the next one...it's only a month or two away"

I agree with Fitz. What made Boardstock so cool was that it was an event, it was a special occasion. One every month or two would take away some of the excitement and mystique that we had in barrelfulls last Friday. I think it should be something for the calendar, a big deal like the last one. Let it build up and let us hype it up.

I mean, I'm painfully aware of how much bands need gigs in this town, but I think it would be a mistake to tie Boards into regular gig promotion.

I like the idea of Boardstock being staggered that it doesn't occur to often. By running it every two months not only do you have people deferring going like fitz said but you'll run out of good bands (I know there are plenty of bands in Dublin but there aren't as many good as there are bad). And by having a big gap you can plan out and organise special things, not just bands to play but maybe visuals if someone was feeling particularly creative.

I missed Boardstock because I was away but from what I've heard it wasn't a night for the bands to get recognition and a record deal but a community night out (that sounds like we're all in rehab or something :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Don't mind them, they're young, high spirits.

Leave it be for awhile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Kelter

While I imagine bands for this gig would not be in short supply, The Dogs, would be interested.

Also a chance to plug our upcoming gigs

“The Dogs” play The Pale, Christchurch, on Friday 27th

“The Dogs” play Whelans, Wexford St, on Sunday 29th

So February or Easter then.

A Bi-Yearly event :D

Yeah this thread can still be used for crazy ideas, like insane visuals and what not!

Oh Oh Oh wait for it...

"Bi - An - Boards - Stock - Thon!"

It rolls off the tongue ;)

Personally I prefer Boardsapalooza

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Doctor J wrote:
    Oh Oh Oh wait for it...

"Bi - An - Boards - Stock - Thon!"

It rolls off the tongue ;)

Noe!

Bi - An - Bo - Sto - Thon!!!

Much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 800 ✭✭✭dabhoys

I think february would be a great time for the next one. Having them two often takes away the anticipation of the next one. Decemeber and January are not a good idea at all. We want the nite to be a success.

Defo opt for the Sugar Club again. I must say it was a great venue for the event.

The idea of a comedian thrown into the fold wouldn't be a bad idea in my mind. Varies it up a little bit.

Just take our time and kick around ideas for the next one and try make it as big a success as the last one...

February sounds perfect, The Sugar Club sounds perfect. It's a bad idea to do anything on Valentines, cos obviously people have more important things to do that night.

What did you all think about the 4 bands instead of 5? I thought it worked out very well, the set lengths were just right and there wasn't too much of a panic between changeovers. I'd be in favour of 4 bands again, if we are using the Sugar Club.

Here's the thing though, there will be tons of requests from bands to play at the gig between now and next Feb. Priority will definitely go to Trusted None and 20BE, so that's only 2 slots left (or 1 if ye still want us to do it!). So we need to fairly choosy about who or what gets that last slot. Something alternative like a comedian, magic act or pole dancer might be well worth thinking about.

Also, there were a lot of under 18s who were dissapointed they couldn't come to Boardstock. So what I propose is the "Baby Boardstock" event! This will be a gig that we could also run twice a year perhaps, and in the middle of the other ones (ie in November and May). We hold it in a venue that caters for all ages gigs and run it over the course of an afternoon/early evening. Voodoo has gigs like this on all the time. It gives more bands a chance to play and gives a chance for a boards social event for the under 18s among us. We can start the kids on soft drugs at this event in preperation for the hard stuff at the main Boardstock event when they get old enough.

What do you think?

Robbie

I'm liking your ideas's man. I know we're getting priorty to play the gig. I hope we have a drummer by then :) Any DRUMMERS????

4 is defo better then 5 less hassle and more relaxed and was still plenty variety.

I would defo be up for have New Colour Soul headlining the next one.

How about getting a comedian to MC? It'd be a cool way of keeping folks entertained during changeovers. There must be somebody funny around here ;) I agree with Robbie entirely about an under-ages gig too. I had a few messages from Boards users who were unable to go to Boardstock because of their age, it'd be fun to do.

And yes, NCS for Return Of The Son Of Boardstock, but this time when everybody is pi$$ed enough to dance :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

he folksies.
    i'd love to help out again if i can.
    no reason why the next one shoouldn't be bigger!

k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Jenko

Great stuff, lots of sense being made on this thread (obviously someone hikacked Robbies account :D:D:D ).

I think February is a perfect time to do it, and as for the Sugar Club, it seemed to be a hit the last time, the management are sound, it suits the bands, so lets go for it.

As for monthly boards gigs, i think Tony is right, there's no need to turn boards into another gigsmart, and for those of you who want exposure for your band, gigsmart is the place to get it. For anyone who doesn't know GS, pop over to www.gigsmartireland.com and check it out. They are true pro's at organising gigs and tours, and all they ask in return in that you support the cause and help out other bands by going to their gigs and helping out a little. The best part is that the majority of the bands are class, so it's far from a chore to go to the gigs. Anyway, my point being, leave the monthly gigs to the (non profit making!) pro's, and keep the exclusivity of the boards gigs by making them few and far between.

As Robbie said, we'd be honoured to headline the next one if you want us to, and our sax player will either have a new diary, or a sax up his hole by then ;). I love the name Boardsapalooza, that gets my vote!

Andrew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭daram

Humplifunker are game for this too. I help much on the front of what should be different from the last one cause I missed it, but Im home from holidays now. I have contacts in most venues in Dublin. If you're gonna change venue from the Sugar Club then I can get good prices. Although, the Sugar club sounds good because they'll let you have a weekend night or cheaper rate probably now that they saw what a success the last one was. Maybe.

Yeah, anyway, shtick us on the bill.
    Doctor, you gotta find yourself a drummer and fast....

We're searching man we're searching....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

all,
    ..I want to know,,is where can I park my big red drumset on the night!!...febuary sounds interesting...was good to meet a few last time, maybe make more contacts next time....any Rush tribute bands gopnna play at it?..:))))

ciao' amigo's,,Baggio.;....

I heard there was talk of a mariachi band that played Rush covers all right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭delorentos

yeah so we put our names in for the last one but we were too late, so we'd love to included in this one!

(hope we're early enough!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Jenko

Slightly off topic ;) but we'd love you guys to give us some feedback on this:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=184112

Good stuff. Nice and tight, like good funk should be. Did ye record the Boardstock gig?

No, unfortunately not, we didn't think of it. I don't think the recording would have been all that great anyway tbh. Thanks for the kind words! Any luck on the drummer? (You know you will be harrassed by me and several others until you get a drummer and do a boardstock gig!)

We're checking out a couple over the weekend, so here's hoping. It has been too long already.

Hey Robbie will New Colour Soul be doing the next boardstock too. Hopefully we'll be in the line up too...

Yeah we are up for doing the next one for sure!! You guys have definitely got to do it too, I was looking forward to your set, and I missed the gig you did in Slatterys due to arriving too late, so you guys better make the next Boardstock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭DotOrg

Hopefully if the bands want I can come down and do photos of the whole event.
    The last one I only had time to shoot New Colour Soul. You'll probably see all the pics on the New Colour Soul website soon but here's a few of my favourites from that gig.

0165a.jpg

0089.jpg

0040.jpg

0027.jpg

0009.jpg

0002a.jpg

James
    www.AAAphotos.org

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭daram

Those photos are super. What kind of camera were you using? The lens has fantastic depth of field?

What is the proposed lineup for the gig currently anywise? Someone must have an idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭DotOrg

a canon 300d with a 50mm f1.4 canon lens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

ok..
    me and fitz were talking a little about this...

how about friday 17th december :christmas boardstock?
    again in the sugar club?

we could organise a knock down price hopefully...

any ideas?

I think that's waaaaaaaaaay too close to Christmas. Around that time of year people are busier than mafia bees

Christmas would be a terrible time. And so is january. I think the original idea of february is the best time.

Christmas would be suicide to the event.

Agreed, it won't work that close to Christmas. That's a prime Christmas party night. In fact, I'm already going to one that night! We need to catch people when there is no particular special event on, which is difficult - there's always festivals, valentineses, Christmases, Eastereses etc on, we just need to look at a calendar and pick the date in february furtherest away from any other significant date.

There definitley should be some kind of a boards christmas bash, just on a smaller scale, with no overheads, venue hire etc to worry about.

Robbie

Yeah defo!

What about venue? I still think the Sugar club was excellent. Great all around venue.

Can we get it again?
    robbie1876 wrote:
    Agreed, it won't work that close to Christmas. That's a prime Christmas party night. In fact, I'm already going to one that night! We need to catch people when there is no particular special event on, which is difficult - there's always festivals, valentineses, Christmases, Eastereses etc on, we just need to look at a calendar and pick the date in february furtherest away from any other significant date.

There definitley should be some kind of a boards christmas bash, just on a smaller scale, with no overheads, venue hire etc to worry about.

Robbie

Aye, December isn't a good time for it, merely because everybody has too much on and too little money to spend.

How about the last Friday in February? It's just after pay day for a lot of folk and it's a fortnight away from Valentines and Paddy's Days.