Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tucking in shirts

• 23-08-2004 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭

This seems to be widely regarded as a fashion "faux pas". It's often said that only nerds and rednecks tuck their shirt/t-shirt into their trousers/jeans.

I think that if you're thin or of slim athletic build, letting your shirt hang loose accentuates thinness. I have this build so I usually tuck my shirt in, think it looks much better tucked in as it allows me to show off my V-taper (chest significantly wider than waist) It gives me some shape unlike a loose shirt which makes me look like a rail.

IMO the fashion for leaving your shirt hang out is because large numbers of people are not in good shape and have a bit of a gut. In these cases, letting a shirt hang loose probably helps to disguise the gut.

What do you fashion gurus think?

BrianD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I think you're right. I was 16st 4lb about this time last year. I wore XL shirts and t-shirts, and always left them hanging out. Now I'm 12st 12lb, have a good build, and prefer everything tucked in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

There *is*, I think, a sort of a half way point.

Y'can go for the 'mammy-dressed-you-this-morning' look of having the shirt tucked so well in that (were you wearing one) a vest would be visible by the traces underneath. This is bad.

Being slim meself, I also feel that (unless it's v hot) the 'reckless', 'leave-it-all-hang-out' look is daft. You end up looking like a tent pole with canvas blowing around you.

You can, however, tuck in the shirt, and then lightly pull it up such that there's a bit of 'overhang'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

If you insist on tucking in, I agree with grump trousers method. Also very nice belt is essential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭ThreadKiller

TmB wrote:
    I think you're right. I was 16st 4lb about this time last year. I wore XL shirts and t-shirts, and always left them hanging out. Now I'm 12st 12lb, have a good build, and prefer everything tucked in....

Interested in how you achieved this weight loss.

I'm of the hang em out type, true I'm large but not so large that I have to disguise it (although I'd love to lose some), but I hate having anything restrictive around my torso.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

You can, however, tuck in the shirt, and then lightly pull it up such that there's a bit of 'overhang'...
    Spot on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

I make the decision on a shirt-by-shirt basis. Some shirts just look better tucked in, and vice versa.

If you insist on tucking in, I agree with grump trousers method. Also very nice belt is essential.
    Tsk - one assumes there is always a belt present... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭*Sassy*

Hmmmm..... I'm really not sure if this is ever ok lads. Maybe in the ofice yeah. But I think it does look a bit daft tucked in. If you buy the right shirt it should show off your build without flapping about in the wind. I think it might be a bit of a country phenomenon to be honest. The key is to find a shirt that fits. No more tucking in pleeeeeeeease!!! Its awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Interested in how you achieved this weight loss.
    Plenty of exercise in the gym, and watching what I eat (don't cut out all the bad crap, or you'll end up binging on it - just cut down). Drink plenty of water, don't eat after 8 in the evening. Monitor weight every week (its possible to lose 1-2lb a week - if you don't, you're doing something wrong).

Bottom line is hard work, but its worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

I think it all depends on the build of the man too or the style of the shirt / jeans / trousers etc. I agree too that slim men are often nicer with the shirts tucked in but not tucked in really tightly and more stocky guys are nicer with them outside. It really does vary from person to person and the style of the shirt etc.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

BrianD3 wrote:
    This seems to be widely regarded as a fashion "faux pas". It's often said that only nerds and rednecks tuck their shirt/t-shirt into their trousers/jeans

I was told that leaving your shirt out is a very irish thing to do and that the rest of europe tuck them in :confused:
    swings and roundabouts

Beruthiel wrote:
    I was told that leaving your shirt out is a very irish thing to do and that the rest of europe tuck them in :confused:
    swings and roundabouts
    bloody europeans with their sophisticated cafe/bars, efficient public transport, lack of litter problem, clement weather...and now they add 'better dress sense' to the list...

GAH...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 PandeB

NEVER EVER TUCK IN YOUR SHIRT LADS!!

It looks dreadful, a very bad through back to the eighties! All you need then are tight jeans, leg warmers and ankle boots.

Like someone already said, you need to buy a shirt that fits properly. I think people who have a bit of weight tend to buy clothes that are too big because they think it makes them look better but all it does is make them bigger.

The only time a shirt should be tucked in is for schoolboys or with a suit and tie.

All other times, keep it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

*Sassy* wrote:
    Hmmmm..... I'm really not sure if this is ever ok lads. Maybe in the ofice yeah. But I think it does look a bit daft tucked in. If you buy the right shirt it should show off your build without flapping about in the wind. I think it might be a bit of a country phenomenon to be honest. The key is to find a shirt that fits. No more tucking in pleeeeeeeease!!! Its awful.
    I'm with Sassy here. In work I tuck it in, but out I never do. Too much risk involved (dork factor 6 :p ). If you get a nice shirt it will fit you properly.

Na...I say having shirts hanging out (alot of styles anyway) is so ugly. SO ugly! To me seeing a Ben Sherman shirt sticking out at the front screams "a member of the unsavoury element of society" or whatever way you'd like to summarise that type.

The only type that should stick is thoes newer style smaller short-sleeved shirts that people wear as semi-casual.

Well, I wouldn't wear a ben sherman myself.

Oh my GOD!!! I'm just shocked and dismayed with the amount of people who think this looks good! What age group are you lot? Just goes to show that the vast majority of Irish blokes (and a lot of the girls too) haven't got a CLUE about fashion. Next you'll be saying its ok to wear your GAA jersey on a night out!!!

Tucked into your Wranglers of course ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Depends on the shirt. Formalish shirts (the kind you'd wear with a suit and/or tie) look silly if they're left hanging out, because they're not designed for it, but the more casual style shirt I'll wear hanging out. Mainly because dress shirts are made slightly too long and look sloppy.

Pseudo-dressy shirts (Ben Sherman, any chequed or light colors) left hanging out just make you look like a scumbag.

I totally agree

Tucked into your Wranglers of course

Dunno 'bout your neck of the woods, it's all track suit bottoms round these parts ;)

Farah slacks for a sunday, obv...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I haven't heard any good explanation in this thread as to why loose shirts are good and tucked in shirts bad. Just saying "tucked in shirts look naff" isn't a valid argument. The "tucked in shirts are for rednecks and mammy's boys" argument isn't really valid either. We've all come across guys who wear big lumberjack shirts tucked tightly into their Wranglers. The point is, would they actually look any better if they left the shirt hang loose? I don't think so .

IMO the reasons why tucked-in shirts are generally better are:
    1) they allow an athletic guy to show off aspects of his physique such as his V-taper and his arse. Believe it or not, chicks do check out guys arses regularly. What's the point in having some big sloppy shirt hanging down over your arse and hiding it from view. A tucked-in shirt shows off the guys physique. A loose shirt hides it and can look like a little girly dress - which is grand if you're into that sort of thing :)
    2) Tucked in shirts can make a guy look more mature, suave and sophisticated. Chicks dig this. Loose shirts can make a guy look like some 18 year old football hooligan from Essex who's about to start a riot. Not good.

BrianD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

BrianD3 wrote:
    Just saying "tucked in shirts look naff" isn't a valid argument.

Is this guy a valid argument:

nerd.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Is this guy a valid argument:

nerd.JPG

No, he looks well cool in fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Wanna know why you shouldn't tuck your shirt in?

jerrypic.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

ahhh ... I hate it .. with a passion. Shirts tucked in = nasty.

It just looks too percise and rigid. When I was about 5 my mum used to tuck my school shirt into my uniform and I just remember how uncomfortable it was ... now when ever I see a guy with a shirt tucked in I just think he looks akward and stiff. Cringe ... major pet hate.

With suits though its ok. Anything else ... especially jeans .. its horid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

i would never wear a tucked in shirt either, when people tuck in their shirts it look like their on there way to a comic book convention, which is never a good thing.

i am small enough myself, and let it hang out, if your small and tuck your shirt it you like a compete nerd.

also, ben shermans should never be worn full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Depends really... Just wearing a casual shirt, definetly out, but as for something formal like an interview, or fancy dinner party, or wedding where I'd be wearing a jacket, having my shirt hanging down from underneat my jacket would be complete pleb-ness altogether.

A time and a place really.

Zulu wrote:
    Well, I wouldn't wear a ben sherman myself.

Hang on! I've just realised something. I'd like to clarify my previous comment didn't imply I'm in favour of wearing said brand tucked in either! :D

BrianD3 wrote:
    I haven't heard any good explanation in this thread as to why loose shirts are good and tucked in shirts bad. Just saying "tucked in shirts look naff" isn't a valid argument. The "tucked in shirts are for rednecks and mammy's boys" argument isn't really valid either. We've all come across guys who wear big lumberjack shirts tucked tightly into their Wranglers. The point is, would they actually look any better if they left the shirt hang loose? I don't think so .

IMO the reasons why tucked-in shirts are generally better are:
    1) they allow an athletic guy to show off aspects of his physique such as his V-taper and his arse. Believe it or not, chicks do check out guys arses regularly. What's the point in having some big sloppy shirt hanging down over your arse and hiding it from view. A tucked-in shirt shows off the guys physique. A loose shirt hides it and can look like a little girly dress - which is grand if you're into that sort of thing :)
    2) Tucked in shirts can make a guy look more mature, suave and sophisticated. Chicks dig this. Loose shirts can make a guy look like some 18 year old football hooligan from Essex who's about to start a riot. Not good.

BrianD3
    Brian - whatever makes you happy.
    Suffice to say Bill Gates wares his shirt in. ;)

Brian, please don't try and convince me that "chicks dig" that. Being a "chick", I certainly do not "dig" it. And I would be hard pushed to find one that does under the age of 40. It seriously looks geeky. I find the fact that you think it can look suave quite laughable. This might be the case on the continent where it is the norm (but still considered uncool I might add). Believe me, if you're wearing a decent shirt, NOT TUCKED IN, and you have an ass and body worth looking at, us girls will notice. I get the impression you're not going to be talked out of it.... I suggest you invest in a few fashion mags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

It depends on the shirt and the situation. T shirts tucked in always look bad. If you are waering trousers then the shirt should always be tucked in. From reading this thread all I can picture is males from Ibiza Uncovered, loud shirts hanging out over white jeans

blackball1.jpg

ringing endorsement for the 'shirt out' movement here....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I always think that casual shirts look better worn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

If it's a casual (or even semi-casual) shirt and it's the right length (not too long) then imo it's ok to be left out. If it's too long then it should be tucked in but pulled out so as not to be too tight to the skin. Same goes for t-shirts.

I also think that people with a gut (or even a relatively small but noticable belly) look better with it in, like described above, as then it doesn't hang straight down after the belly making them look bigger than they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

if I'm wearing trousers then I always tuck it in, if I'm wearing jeans or combats I leave it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

if I'm wearing trousers then I always tuck my shirt in, if I'm wearing jeans or combats I leave it out

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Thank you, grumpytrousers, for pointing out what I was about to say:

For every nerdy-looking guy with a tucked-in shirt, there's a scumbag-looking bloke with a shirt worn loose. At the end of the day, there's too many different types of shirt for a blanket rule to work for everyone - a long-sleeved dress shirt looks retarded worn loose, just as a hawaian shirt looks dodgy tucked in.

Personally, I don't wear my shirts tucked in that often because it feels too formal, and never if they're short sleeved because, well, it doesn't look right to me. Even when I do wear a shirt tucked in, I do what has previously been described and wear it with a bit of overhang.

Ben Sherman shirts are still hideous and suggest a lack of taste, sophistication and brain cells to more than a few people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

It's pretty much a knacker/scumbag trend. Also the 'shirt tails out' are supposed to bring attention to the arse much like the way a baboon's arse cheeks go red when it's mating time. Read this in the Sunday Times. Tucked in is more sophisticated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Heres the answer:
    If the shirt has long sleeves, wear it tucked in (with an overhang)
    If the shirt has short sleeves wear it hanging out, either closed, or open over a t-shirt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

It's pretty much knacker/scumbag trend. Also the 'shirt tails out' are supposed to bring attention to the arse much like the way a baboon's arse cheeks go red when it's mating time. Read this in the Sunday Times. Tucked in is more sophisticated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Baffled

I think the short square cut shirts are nice left out. But in saying that I prefer shirts that are tucked in. Its much neater and tidier looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Dublin_Andy

If it's too long, tuck it in..

If its just right, wear it out!

Who cares what people think if it's tucked in or not...each to their own. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

This thread is from 2004. Please don't bump old threads.

Locked.