Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

break up

• 22-08-2004 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭

my girlfriend just broke up with me.
    she broke up with me because she is going on hoilday and is afraid she will cheat on me when she is drunk,and does not want to have to say it to me when she comes back.she was crying telling me.I dont no what the story is or what to do? she will be back in a few days,should we try fix it then or will i just go get pissed and forget about her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Not to sound harsh or anything, but if she's so sure she'll cheat on you you're probably better off...

Went through a breakup myself last week. You'd think it would get a little easier, wouldn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

thanks mate, i think you are rite,if she is so sure that she will break up with me. shes not writing back to my texts now,
    never gets easier :rolleyes:
    ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭acous

yeah, it sounds like a cop out excuse. leave it. remind yourself of it if she changes her mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

And if that doesn't work, Put a picture of her on the wall where you'll always see it, attached via a nail through the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

Why dont you call a formal break, you dont hear what she does and she doesnt hear what you do then pick up the pieces after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

IF she reckons she was gonna do the dirt on you, ye shouldnt be together. Drink is no excuse. If you really care about someone you dont do the dirt, even if yer sittin on their face ;)

My girlfriend went on holiday to Portugal for a week and didnt cheat on me, the thought didnt even cross her mind... although maybe thats because I told her every Portugesse male had every STI goin *evil grin*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

JohnCleary wrote:

My girlfriend went on holiday to Portugal for a week and didnt cheat on me, the thought didnt even cross her mind... although maybe thats because I told her every Portugesse male had every STI goin *evil grin*

or else she did cheat on you and just didnt tell you! :D

anyway, as everyone has said you are better off without, if she comes back on holiday and wants to start dating again then dont. if she cant last a fews days away on holiday without cheating then theres no hope for yous.

no point in getting more attached and getting heart broken later down the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

hey, dont make any contact with her whatsoever, let her get in contact with you, shell wonder why the sudden lack on interest. I obviously dont know the girl, but blaming whatever may happen on drink is seriously taking the piss, if you meant that much to her could she not drop the week in the sun or whatever it is? I mean im assuming this problem has not arised before but im assuming shell have plenty more such holidays in the future. I dont think i could be with someone i didnt trust. I mean she drinks here aswell im assuming, what the hell does she get up to here you dont know about? I was just talking to a mate a few minutes ago and his girlfriend cheated on him and came clean, now if youd have asked me or him if we thought shed ever cheat wed probably say never. Or she wants to end it with you and this is some pathetic exsceuse. Alot of girls would go away and never intend to cheat but end up doing it anyway, what will this girl do if she already has the notion in her head? Mine finished with me about 3 weeks back and gave me a reason for breaking up which i really dont buy, you just never know with them. But like a mate said to me last nite you can always do better! In fairness as hard as it probably is your probably better off ending it now and saving yourself alot of grief down the line. Hope things work out for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Forget her, now its time to bulk up, get a tan, expensive clothes and then suddenly show up in 3 months time looking fantastic.. get her jealous and want you back and then ..... BANG ... tell her for FOFF

Not speaking from experience or anything:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭lisa.c

i could go on foreign hols every year and i wouldnt dream about being with someone else. so if the thought can enter her head and you take her back how could you ever trust her on a night out any where on her own.

drunk or not if your commited to someone then your commited to some one and wether your home or abroad it should'nt happen. your best off to just forget her and let her feel sorry for herself all alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭snoopish

if you care about someone you don't cheat on them simple as that.she did you a favour.forget about her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

she is as shallow as a spit, move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Celticwarrior

chrismon wrote:
    she broke up with me because she is going on hoilday and is afraid she will cheat on me when she is drunk,and does not want to have to say it to me when she comes back.she was crying telling me.I dont no what the story is or what to do? she will be back in a few days,should we try fix it then or will i just go get pissed and forget about her?
    Don't bother with her again, if she feels that her drinking problem will make her cheat, its a cop out, no-ones saying she doesnt have to drink, she just doesnt have to drink to the point where she loses control.
    What she really wants i'd say is to go on holidays, with no responsibilitys, going out with someone means having those such responsibilitys that she cant keep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Teddi

i says aim to get with older more mature women... :D

obviously shes not really there yet!!.......

let this give you a chance to have a bit of fun and avoid the drama of having a g/f

bring on the one nite stands!.....wooohoooo!

i think you know what im saying.. (hopefully)

it will pass in due course mate..... try not to worry :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

"ooh, I'm breaking up with you because I'm afraid I'll cheat on you when I'm away"

Better off without her mate. Doesn't make it easier from your end but if she's got that little self-control (and telling you in advance is almost as good as planning the possibility of something) you are indeed better off without.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭fitz

She's a shallow wench, better off without her.

Typedef her sister before she gets back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Yeah, really - if she's not responding to your texts - don't send anymore. Get together with some friends - go out have a few drinks, forget about her. And if she changes her mind after her holidays tell her to go f*ck herself.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

chrismon wrote:
    she broke up with me because she is going on hoilday and is afraid she will cheat on me when she is drunk

forget about her
    drink is not an excuse for sleeping with someone and she's just using that as a reason for breaking up with you - see it as such and move on
    you deserve better imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

chrismon wrote:

how do you reckon she'd react if you told her "im breaking up with you so i dont feel guilty for sleeping around while away on holidays" thats basically what she said to you. definitely dont get back with her when she gets back. you might catch something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Typedef her sister. It's the only thing for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

or else she did cheat on you and just didnt tell you! :D

Nah im pretty sure I convinced her that all Portugeese lads have coliflour d1cks :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Your ex grilfriend is clearly a slapper and if you're even slightly objective about it, you'd be 'glad' to be rid of her.

She's actually done you a favour. She knows full well that she's exactly the sort to get messed up pissed and fnck some random bloke.

Good riddance.

Now what you should concentrate on is meeting another chick exactly like her (perferably related to her) so you can have some cathartic (I'm over her sex).

Shagging her best friend would certainly even up the score.

To be honest though, such a move is best performed as a pre-emptive strike, to save as arsnel for a later argument.

Her : I shagged some bloke while in Portugal.

You : That's ok, I've been kicking it with your best friend since we met.

Then ask her to have her stuff removed from the sidewalk where you just dumped it and to return the key to your apartment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Ahh pre-emptive sex!
    Is there anything that that dosen't solve!?!
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

The unmarried mothers problem?

You : Yes I realise I slept with you to get back at your sister/bestfriend/blah, as a pre-emptive measure and I also realise you're up the duff.

Her : And you'll do right by me right?

You : Yeah sure... Hey what's that over there?
    /runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Typedef wrote:
    The unmarried mothers problem?

You : Yes I realise I slept with you to get back at your sister/bestfriend/blah, as a pre-emptive measure and I also realise you're up the duff.

Her : And you'll do right by me right?

You : Yeah sure... Hey what's that over there?
    /runs
    LMAO! :D
    Thank you, Typedef. Thank you, for making my Monday bareable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Here's some boots. There's the kerb. Get kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

If its not April first and i dont think it is, tell her to go sling her hook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Corksham

I agree with what most people said, tell her to take a hike, in fact dont contact her again which I know is a hard thing to do but that excuse is the biggest load of bollix of an excuse I've ever heard.
    You deserve better and she deserves worse

Walk away it's the only thing to do, once trust is gone the relationship is doomed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

thanks for all the help everyone :D
    i no what must be done