Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fermanagh v Mayo (SFC Semi-Final)

• 20-08-2004 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭

OK, so what are your thoughts on this match? Are there any Fermanagh supporters out there expecting an easy game? Or more likely Mayo followers?

I expect it to be a close game. You could say that on paper, its likely to be Mayo. They have the pedigree over the years and its Fermanagh's first semi-final ever. And although Fermanagh have played undaunted and with nothing to fear in this campaign, perhaps this is the time when they will buckle. They are a bunch of young lads really and Fermanagh have buckled badly in the last couple of seasons. So maybe this is the moment for that, or maybe not.

Its a difficult one to call. Mayo have some capability - I for one didnt see that in the earlier rounds putting their wins down mainly to weak or poor performing opposition. But they are better than I thought and clearly can beat Fermanagh.

I rate it 60-40 in Mayo's favour. A lot will depend on the bounce of the ball, maybe lashing rain will be a factor, decisions by the ref, etc. It should be an open game however and clean. Both these teams have shown that in their campaigns so far so it should be good to watch from a neutral's perspective. Judging by the number of postings about this match (ie: none!), it would seem that most of us are neutrals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Mayo are a very good side and play some entertaining football. I am thinking it will be a Mayo v Kerry final although it seems to be the year of the underdog so I will not be putting any money on these games. I think Mayo have got just a bit too much for Fermanagh. I know Fermanagh beat Armagh, but Armagh were misfiring and Fermanagh had several chances to extend there lead late on and did not punish Armagh enough. I would agree with your 60:40 assessment spider.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I wouldn't put it past Fermanagh to win this one either. They are a very tricky team to play. They were even tricky last year and were very unlucky. This year I think they can make it to the final, but will lose out to Derry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I wouldn't put it past Fermanagh to win this one either.

I'm hoping that this is one step too far for a young and relatively inexperienced Fermanagh team but I'm certainly not going to be putting too much money on Mayo. They're not the best with a favourites tag on their head and I think they'll by justifiably wary of the northerners. I'm going to the game in hopeful anticipation rather than expectation and hopefully come 5.00 on Sunday we'll be more bothered about how to get tickets for the final instead of thinking about the horrendously long journey home. (note to self: in the event of Mayo reaching final, consider aer arann!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I'm keeping my fingers crossed for a Fermanagh win. Just for the underdogs. But have a lot of friends from Mayo so not too bothered really about who wins. Hopefully its a classic game though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭kilkennycat2004

Great to see Fermanagh in a semi-final & they have taken some major scalps along the way. In fact they have improved each year since the origin of the qualifiers.
    Hard to choose who to support as mayo are a good football side also.
    I fancy Mortimer & Mc Donald to get Mayo over the line first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I'd fancy Mayo too, but there won't be much in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭pdh

Cheering for Fermanagh all the way. Was up in Garrison last weekend and the atmosphere is unbelievable, they really think that they have a chance.

Anybody know what the bookies are giving for an all Ulster final again this year ???

pdh wrote:
    Anybody know what the bookies are giving for an all Ulster final again this year ???

To make the final:

Kerry v Mayo 4/6
    Derry v Mayo 9/2
    Kerry v Ferm 11/4
    Derry v Ferm 12/1

To win outright:

Kerry 4/5
    Mayo 7/4
    Ferm 6/1
    Derry 10/1

I just got back from getting my ticket at Croke Park this morning. There is a lot of interest in this game. The weather forecast for tomorrow in really bad. The remains of Hurricane Charley is heading our way. That will spoil the game and the type of football that both counties play, but we can't do anything about it. :( I'd still go along with the general consensus that Mayo will win, but it could be close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭AndRoiD

i would like to see fermanagh doing well but realistically Mayo are gonna tramp over them. Tyrone last year were the all-ireland champions by a mile and think of how easily Mayo disposed of them. Mayo are gonna win whole thing.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I wouldn't go by the Tyrone game. Remember how easily Donegal disposed of Tyrone in the Ulster Semi Final. Where are Donegal now?

It is a very wet day here in Dublin, which will spoil the game to a certain extent. :(

Just home. As predicted, the weather did disrupt the game, with lots of wind and rain, with some dry periods, throughout. This led to a poor and low-scoring game with both teams having chances enough to win it. A draw being the result, 9 points each. Many will say Mayo got out of jail. Well they are back in Croke Park next Saturday for the replay, as I intend to be.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

God what a wet miserable day, and a very poor match. Thought we were lucky as hell and that Fermanagh should have taken us, have the blown it?? We would hope so but the word is that McGarrity has broken ribs and Conor Mort has a bad ankle injury.
    Took us 5.5 hours to get from Maynooth to home!! Brutal weather, driving conditions and idiots who seem to drive with no care for other drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

The weather did indeed influence the game and kept it low scoring, and it was close as we all predcited/expected. Fermanagh had the better of it though and missed the most chances, including a few at the end when they could and should have taken the win. A draw is a fair result though for both teams, but will do neither team any real favours for Sam. Kerry is happy with the result, although that may make them take their eye off the Derry game.

You would think that its more likely again for Mayo to go through in the replay, especially if Fermanagh think that they have blown their chances. Their management team alluded to the fact that they should have won the game, and there is no worse feeling than coming away from a match like that.

It doesn't look as if Fermanagh are going to fold this year. A team that can get a goal or two against them though should see them off. Mayo had a chance to do that yesterday (at least one goal) and blew that chance. Kerry would have likely taken their chances better.

Its all difficult to call but its looking like Kerry's Sam now.

We were lucky as f**k to come out of there with a draw yesterday. If there's a positive to be taken from the game it's that I don't think we can play as badly again, or at least I hope that's the case. Fermanagh will feel certainly feel that they left it behind them. One lighthearted moment from yesterday though, a mate of mine went to his seat in the Cusack stand, seats BB 15 and 16 to find "a big bellied guy with a headband around his wrist" sittin in his seat and wouldn't budge. After calling a steward to check it out, he asked to see this guys tickets.

Steward: "You're in the wrong seat mate"
    Man in Seat (stubborn): "I'm not - look at the ticket, BB 15 & 16"
    Steward: "Yeah right seat number, but this is the Cusack Stand, you're tickets are for BB 15 & 16 in the Hogan Stand"!!

Hopefully Mayo can right yesterdays wrongs come next Saturday and that Mortimer and McGarrity's injuries aren't serious. Here's hopin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

"We were lucky as f**k to come out of there with a draw yesterday. If there's a positive to be taken from the game it's that I don't think we can play as badly again, or at least I hope that's the case."

Threebeards you are now beginning to sound like one of us Dubs fans! :D

Waylander wrote:
    Threebeards you are now beginning to sound like one of us Dubs fans! :D

Lol. Full of confidence before the game and trying to find the right excuses afterwards??

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well at least the dubs got 4 pages in the Sunday World while Mayo and Fermanagh just about got 3! ;) So ye had something to read about in the papers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Flukey wrote:
    . Many will say Mayo got out of jail.
    redspider wrote:
    You would think that its more likely again for Mayo to go through in the replay, especially if Fermanagh think that they have blown their chances.
    We were lucky as f**k to come out of there with a draw yesterday. If there's a positive to be taken from the game it's that I don't think we can play as badly again, or at least I hope that's the case. Fermanagh will feel certainly feel that they left it behind them.

the psychological advantage will be with Fermanagh next day as they got the equalising score

I'm sure if Fermanagh had allowed Mayo back into the game and get the equalising score / scores you'd would be saying that Fermanagh had lost their chance.
    Therefore as Mayo had the lead and couldn't hold it the opposite applies - i.e. Mayo have lost their chance. End of story

It is more than who got the last score. You've got to take a much broader look at the game to say who has the advantage. The general consensus, even from the two team managements, was that Fermanagh should have won it. Weaker teams usually lose replays, but it doesn't always happen that way. There are lots of examples of that. This tie still has a lot be decided. Both teams missed a lot, even allowing for the conditions. Mayo on balance, have more work to do. Both teams have more in the tank. My ticket is ordered for Saturday, and Sunday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭MickFarr

I hope Fermanagh win the replay! The buzz up in Enniskillen is Electric!!!! :D

I bet it is. There were reports that even the Protestant community took down some of their bunting after a march on the weekend before the match, to allow the Fermanagh colours be put up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭MickFarr

Thats true! I think it was in Irvinestown. I drove through Fermanagh going up to Derry and I've never seen as many flags and banners supporting the team. Its great to see! My girlfriend and a few of her friends are coming down to Dublin next week to see the match (and for a party) so I hope its a good game and a nice day aswell. :D

The forecast isn't great, but they can't be sure as yet. In any event it should be a good day in other ways. A day in Croke Park is something special.

Flukey wrote:
    A day in Croke Park is something special.

Unless you're from Mayo and the day in question is in 1985, 88, 89, 92, 93, 96, 97, or 99. Please let this year be different!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Flukey wrote:
    The general consensus, even from the two team managements, was that Fermanagh should have won it. Weaker teams usually lose replays, but it doesn't always happen that way.
    The weaker team almost always loses replays in GAA. I'm sure there's been the odd exception, but I cant think of one off the top of my head. An underdog usually only gets one chance, if they dont take it, they'll be beaten in the replay.

However, I have seen nothing to suggest that Fermanagh are a weaker team than Mayo. They look evenly matched based on what I've seen, and I believe the game is wide open and could go either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭por

Unless you're from Mayo and the day in question is in 1985, 88, 89, 92, 93, 96, 97, or 99. Please let this year be different!!!!!

You forgot 81

por wrote:
    You forgot 81

No, it's just that I was too young to be there back that far. My first experience of Croker was Mayo v Dublin in 85. 2 great games and heartbreak in the replay.

Rooster - Westmeath v Laois, only a few weeks ago!!!

1985, the year of the two semi-final draws. The John Finn incident.

It could have been a Monaghan v Mayo Final!

Flukey wrote:
    It is more than who got the last score. You've got to take a much broader look at the game to say who has the advantage. The general consensus, even from the two team managements, was that Fermanagh should have won it. Weaker teams usually lose replays, but it doesn't always happen that way.

I agree with you Flukey. Fermanagh, with so many wides, missed winning that match. I think that both teams are closer on paper so the weaker team attitude wont be there in Fermanagh's minds. I think that Mayo are likely to play a game similar to the last day, so it will really depend on the minds and form of Fermanagh. If they feel that this is as far as they are going to go and that they have done well (and they have), then they may have less of a fight in the replay than last week.

The big question for Fermanagh will be if Mayo get a goal and say go 4-6 pts ahead. What then? Could Fermanagh come back from that? I dont think so although I would like to see it.

Here's hoping for a good game and for the best team to win on the day. I think the neutrals among us would like to see Fermanagh in the final. I've nothing against Mayo either having said that and would definitely savour a win from them over Kerry, if that was the final. But can Mayo guarantee that?

There's a lot of talk in Mayo about unrest in the team camp. Apparently David Brady has missed a couple of training sessions because he has a gripe with the management that after Fergal Costello was dropped for the drawn game, he felt that he should have been made captain. His reason (and I have to stress that this is alleged) is that as GPA spokesman for the team he felt that made him best qualified to captain the team. If this is true I think it's very selfish and shortsighted on his part. It's well known that he doesn't get on with a few members of the team (most notably Ciaran McDonald) and my opinion of what a good captain should be is someone that the team respect and who can motivate all the players. If there's truth in this Brady story, I think the management are justified in not having made him captain. It's a pity that we're so short on midfielders because that sort of behaviour should be rewarded with one thing - A.N. Other in the number 9 shirt.

He won't be much use of a captain if he doesn't have the support and confidence of the team.

Did you realise, that AN Other, one of the most prolific, versatile, dual players in the history of the GAA, is no more? He hasn't played for anyone this year and may never do so again! :( It is amazing that he never got an All-Star!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Croker

:cool: I think James Gill's sending off had a big influence on the game and Kieran Mac struggled to get on top without his right hand man beside him, although must be said he was marked well throughout. In fairness to him he tracked back well and came up with an insparational point when Mayo needed it.
    Conor Mortimor showed the world what what a fighter he is on Sunday last. Without any real supply he won balls he had no right to win and he is the main reason Mayo have a second chance.
    Word from the camp is that both Conor and Ronan Magarrity are fit for next Sat. and thats a huge boost. Brady keeps his place and we will be expecting a big game from him after a poor enough showing.
    The Basillica in Knock is thronged with pilgrims this week praying for a dry day on Sat. next so that the lads will get a chance to show what they are made of. Thats not to say Fermanagh wont want a dry day too because we all know what they are capable of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Croker

:cool: Verdict: Mayo to win by 2 point margin
    Trevor Mortimor to get Man of the match,

(Mayo supporters to head for heart surgery if extra time looms!)

Well predicted. Final score Mayo 0 - 13 Fermanagh 1 - 8. A great game. Much more exciting and open than last Sunday. Mayo opened strongly, dominating the first 20 minutes. Fermanagh came back late in the first half. Fermanagh were much better in the second half, opening strongly. A tense hard fought second half saw Mayo get the last tow scores to clinch their place in the final. Fermanagh, while disappointed, can come out with their heads held high, both for today's performance and their championship as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Anyone have the stats on Frees awarded for this game?. I saw on the Telly at one stage during the game that Fermanagh had been awarded a whopping 23 frees against the 8 that had been awarded to Mayo.

Today's or tomorrow's papers should have them.

This was again a very close match. Either team could have won it really. Fermanagh had a much better second half and at times showed that they were better than Mayo and had the beating of them. But fair play to Mayo for coming back in the last few minutes. Fermanagh had a chance after that and could have made another so it could have been another draw, but I think overall, its fair for Mayo to go through, they were more consistent than Fermanagh.

Well done to Fermanagh for a good campaign and for flying the flag of the under-dogs. Best of luck for next year.

Mayo now approach the final against Kerry, and have a real chance of beating them. I hope they do it. When was it last that Mayo won it?

They have won it 3 times: 1936, 1950 and 1951.

Flukey wrote:
    They have won it 3 times: 1936, 1950 and 1951.

Thats quite a while ago and a different era, so it would be good for the sport if Mayo win it this year. Mayo got to quite a good few finals in the 90's so were sort of succesful in that way but losing finals is nothing like winning it so I'll be rooting for them in the final.

I've just realised that a far out relation of mine played for the Louth team that lost to Mayo in that 1950 final!

I thought the chance was gone from Mayo half way through the second half but fair play, they showed resolve to pull it out of the fire. Fermanagh will feel that they left it behind them but I have no doubt that they will be back next year in a big way. Kerry will go into the final as hot favourites (Kerry 8/15 Mayo 11/8) which should suit Mayo. Those odds are probably justified given Kerry's performance yesterday - their best of the year I feel. If the day of the final is dry, it could and should lead to an open game of attacking football. I can feel the butterflys in the stomach already, or is that just the excesses of the weekend taking their toll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Mayo got to quite a good few finals in the 90's
    96 & 97? Is that a good few or are you talking about Club/Minor etc etc also?