Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good locations for a work weekend away?

• 03-08-2004 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭

Our department have been given a budget to go away for 2 days, including hotel, food, activities...but we can't think of anywhere to go!
    Somewhere like Blessington adventure centre (most of us have already been there before).

Any suggestions? We'd be going in October.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

eth0_ wrote:
    Our department have been given a budget to go away for 2 days, including hotel, food, activities...but we can't think of anywhere to go!
    Somewhere like Blessington adventure centre (most of us have already been there before).

Well if you're going in October, then an adventure centre might not be
    everyones cup of tea as the weather will put a lot off.. Why not try and
    find some festival thats on down the country somewhere and go to that
    instead.. something like the Cork Jazz festival might be worth checking out..

Tox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Any of those adventure centres are good. Do a search on the web for them. Of course you might just want to go on the piss. Go abroad in that case. Prague is nice, cheap and easy to get too for example. The age and gender mix of your group would be important considerations. If there are a lot of lads, a sports weekend might be good. Maybe take in a Premiership match of something like that. Best thing to do is talk to everyone and get general ideas of what things people like doing and how far your budget can stretch and then start looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Era just go to Killarney and get bollicksed...

Failing that, Delphi in Mayo? Personally I'd rather stick pins in my eyes than go there again.

I'd be more inclined to go for the Killarney thing and maybe go paintballing (or some other fun group activity) on one of the days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

eth0_ wrote: »

I'd recommend Delphi adventure centre, not great but there's plenty to do there.
    Or how about a few days in the ring of kerry cycling might be good craic too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Camp Crystal.

Deadly time guaranteed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

gaoth dobhair tír chonaill/donegal

barring that just do crystal meth,bring it to a whole new level motherf--kers

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

if you work in mcdonalds, a trip to burger king would be in order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

Carlingford Adventure Centre. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭spartan1

GALWAY all the way :)

Come down here to Galway on the holloween weekend and organise a fancy dress pub crawl, great craic, could go carting on the saturday and have a grand prix or I always recommend westport for a weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Guantanamo Bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Arent we a little late with the replys lads,the op posted this 5yrs ago..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

eth0_ wrote: »

I'd like to help but i need to know something first..

Are you planning on putting out on said weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Arent we a little late with the replys lads,the op posted this 5yrs ago..:)

Forward planning. I hear they're not actually taking the trip until 2010.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

pacefalm.
    When facepalm is so bad even monkeys can be trained to spot it and mock you.