Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling all galway headz

• 22-05-2001 1:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭

Lads,

Kharn
    Trojan
    Kayos
    Jaden

and anyone else who wants an excuse to socialise. Tis my 21st this weekend, the weekend where I say goodbye to 20 and say hello to 21.
    The day where I can get in to clubs, where 16yr olds don't run the place.
    The day where I can get served drink in Tescos and laugh @ them while producing ID
    The day I will have a stamping machine to stamp "fuk you" on the headz of all the bouncers that said "fuk off you little ****".

Oh yes gentlemen, this will be the day.

Twill be in Cuba downstairs bar(Eyre Square) first @ around 8:30pm on Saturday 26th May. And then we will move upstairs (and upstairs again if you want), you see I am catering for adverse music tastes.

Confirmed from Castlebar will be
    Crystal
    Eamo
    Sheamy
    Stevo
    Colin

Till Then,
    phobos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Hey West,

Sounds like a plan. I may make it only for one or 2 (exam Monday), but sure we'll see!

Al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Who are all these Castlebar lads? Do any of them know me or do I know you?

I'm the Dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Hey phobos,
    happy b-day and all that. smile.gif

btw, i go to college in castlebar, and i know of a girl called Crystal, is she in college?The girl i know has an american accent and a friend of mine used to live with her in castlebar.

Aka: Dragon,Sexual Harassment Panda, SCUMM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Me in.

Hail To The King, Baby.

Jaden.
    Mail: jaden@eircom.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Cool, happy birthday.
    Can I come?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

New avatar angel?(:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭black_wizardd

21 eh, hmmm, I'll see what I can do mate, this is a VERY busy weekend for me, should be a good 'oul sessuin though and you know how I love beer, and everybody around me when I've had to much smile.gif, I'll try my best to get s hit done and get up to see ya, after all your only 21 once, i think. If I dont make it then have a good 'un.

But oh, no tears please, fear and pain may acompany death, but it is desire that sheperds its certainty, as we shall see...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Jeff - they're mates of mine from college - come along - should be a good laugh.

Kento - that's the same Crystal. Stick yer head in the door on Saturday and identify yourself!

Jaden - bring your riding boots and I'll bring the Vaseline!!! curlydav.gif (you know you want it baby)

Angel - ya - more the merrier (these were the words of the man himself as I spoke to him last night).

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...

Here - I had a sudden thought the other night.
    Kento - Phobos lives with Crystal (and did last year), so you 2 probably know each other already curlydav.gif

Anyway, kayos isn't coming - he's spending quality time with the wife and who could blame him - girlfriend or gamers? Tough choice!

So, confirmed are:
    • Phobos
    • Kharn
    • Jaden
    • Trojan (for one or 2)
    • Kento Shiro
    • Angel Whore
    • Plastic Membrane
    • Stevo (Castlebar head)
    • Seamie (Castlebar head)
    Maybe's are:
    • Jeff Lebowski (come along dude and bring "The Artist" - it'll be good).
    • Black Wizardd (if he can escape the evil clutches of Sligo)

Don't forget - 8:30pm in the downstairs bar of Cuba.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    Tribes 2 Goodness

[This message has been edited by Kharn (edited 25-05-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

Kharn, when you grow up you should be a wedding planner smile.gif

You can dress like Jennifer Lopez, and fall in love with that texan hick dude from U-571.

Anyway, it should be good night. See y'all there, ye'hear !

Damn it Jim, im a doctor, not a Beefy King !

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteLancer:
    New avatar angel?(:</font>

Yes...

I kinda feel the old one was giving off the impression that I am a girl... biggrin.gif

And that's not going to work out in the long run, is it?

Anyway...
    Kharn?
    Should I bring my boots? wink.gif

Hehe... You left early too? biggrin.gif

Personaly, I had way too much aftershock, and decided to call it a night...

Great fun none the less, I enjoyed myself.

Here's to lesbians! WAH HEY!

Fair play to all the boys and girls who showed up. Good Night.

Indeed, to lesbians, WAY HAY !!!!

Indeed a good night was had, with boards.ie not quite getting the representation it should ahve - only myself, Plastic Membrane and Angel Whore were in attendance (not including the birthday boy himself).

Much alcohol was consumed and much headbanging was done (by Angel Whore and myself) and much cursing of new contact lens was uttered by myself as I had to leave early to remedy the situation.

Of couse, it all ended up as a Buffy fest in the birthday house - mmmmmmm, Buffy...

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

Cheers lads,

Twas a good night, and I'm glad you all came (well all the decent ones anyway, Hisssss). Looking back on all the past birthdays I've had it had to be the best. But when I was 14 we went bushin and then went back to a friends gaff to watch Basic Instinct (christ times have changed).

I also have to say Im thankful for all the presents such as

- six ironing boards
    - a kettle
    - a tea set
    - action man
    - and a little book that tells me that Java is not going to take off (now I'm worried)

Considering that I asked for
    - Tribes 2
    - and a pint

Only joking lads, I have to admit, twas a good nights drinkin (I did not spend anything), but I did ask Sheamy to get me a pint and gave him a fiver. Which I did not see again, no pint either (cunning fuker, always playin the drunken fool).

Right I have to go now, because I am going to watch Aliens on DVD.

TTYL
    :-phobos-)

PS: Dav I got that 3Com NIC (RJ-45), and installed it. All systems go, perhaps we be able to put it to use over the summer.

Weston - bring yer PC round to our house and we'll have some 3-way madness (oh-er missus)!

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

WAHEYYY!!!!!!

Guess who just got his photo's developed??? curlydav.gif

All I can say is LOL biggrin.gif

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Hmmm.... well another night boozing was missed by me due to the fact that I am the poorest ****er in Galway.

This working for yourself lark isn't all it's cracked up to be! CURSE THE SCABBY PEOPLE OF GALWAY who don't want to pay for decent web design.

The Artist, as you call him Kharn, was in Castlebar at the weekend so he couldn't go. I was too poor to even rent a video.

Everybody.... Aaaaawwwwwww!

I'm the Dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Bugger it all anyways. Only spotted this page there. blast. That would've been good craic. Sorry i missed it, a belated happy birthday and all. Like teh origional comment about Tescos though, nice1 smile.gif
    Usually i find that if u go in just before they close, walk around lloking at teh beer fora bit (like u know what you like) and then go up ot the desk, ask for a botle of vodka tehy're only too happy to give it to u just so tehy can close up. It does mean ariving at teh Bsuh/party/home alone a tad late (11pm+) but worth it if u have no ID.
    It's worked before, and I intend it to work again. Also teh Red brick dun-nes are VERY understanding, nice women work tehre too, so even if ur refused (rarely) they let u leave witha smile. wink.gif
    Pity i missed it honestly.
    Phobos, are u coming to the Galway Lan thing?

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kharn:
    WAHEYYY!!!!!!

Guess who just got his photo's developed??? curlydav.gif

All I can say is LOL biggrin.gif

</font>

What? A big blurry smudge of headbanging??? biggrin.gif

I have to see the state I was in...

I'll bring 'em along tonight...

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Brilliant!

Funny story...

A friend of mine had one of those disposable cameras on his birthday ****up.
    Took loads of photos, and a couple went bizzarly wrong...

One of me, where I had been stretched to "Java The Hut" sized proportions...

Duna duna duna duna FAT MAN!

Another someboady was standing sideways in mid air about 3 metres above a van...

Strange stuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Oogy_Boogy

Oogy_Boogy

I can see this thread finishing off with something completely different from what it started with (my 21st in case ne1 forgot), LOL.

[FCA]SyxPak I would luv to go the LAN thingy. I just installed a NIC in my machine, but my gaming CV is crap. I was playing Kharn the other night (QuakeWorld) and TBH, made a complete tit out of myself (Bad Kharn, BAD!). So I am trying to brush up on my Q3A skills as we speak.

Anybody know how to get good @ Quake3 fast so I can go back to Dav's and kick his ass?

Oh you may have won this time Dav, but the war is not over, youuu'lll see.

[This message has been edited by phobos (edited 31-05-2001).]

Bring it little ginger girly man - I'll make you soil your underwear again and again and again (even when I'm in a worse state then I was in the other night).

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kharn:
    Bring it little ginger girly man - I'll make you soil your underwear again and again and again (even when I'm in a worse state then I was in the other night).

</font>

Now that was a sight i never want to experience during my lifetime. Dav getting medieval on Westo...no, i've said too much...

Damn you, damn you all, curse Sligo, curse it I say, the one f ucking weekend I would of loved to get away I could'nt, Weston, my sincere apologies man, you know I would of went if s hit had'nt tied me up. Why do I live in Dublin, why, well maybe cause I took my work placement here smile.gif, so far away frown.gif.

You'll have to come down some weekend Jim for a bit of a wild one!

Next weekend?

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    So Bob Hoskins was about to roll a spliff when in walks Dana with her 3 foot Bong
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Wait a minute, I think I just had an idea, Oh no wait that's subtraction.

Anyway Jimmy if you could make it down to Galway some weekend we could go on the almightyus weekendus ****us maximuss. Sound good?

We could make this the official "Calling all Galway headz 2".

Eamo you on for it too?
    There would be no problem you guys kipping in my gaff.

TTYL,

Im there.Yessir, we'll be shagging inexpensive prostitutes and snorting baking powder (pretending its cocaine) before you can say " Thomas, get your head out from under that horse this minute, ya dirty sod".

Hey Wes ! Get a job yet ??

Actually YES!, I do have a job. I am living the life of a web designer once again. Getting nicer money this time also, because I am not working for that muppet company that I was working for last year. Oh yes phobos has moved on and is all for the better (financially).

I am just in from having a good night out 2nite.

Skeff => Cuba (GALWAY)

Met some quality women, and got me and a mate in to the club for free (it's a DJ thing ;-) )

And now I'm home sobering up with you guys on the boards.

Ni8;

;-phobos-)

Man...

I need another night out...
    But, do you guys actualy LIKE Cuba???

I thought it stunk...

Yeah another ni8 sounds good. But I actually do like Cuba. My reasons are

A) Since I am a dance DJ myself, I like the "Tunes".
    B) For those who don't like dance the top floor caters for "Alternative".
    C) Scumbags don't get in, because the doormen in Cuba do their job right.

So it doesn't matter what kind of music ya like they will play it in Cuba.

Also there is this fine bird that works on the "dance level", and I hung out by the bar for the whole ni8. She is quality!!!!!

Need I say more. But for a night out with the Boards crew I am open to suggestions

;-phobos-)

Phobos - just as a matter of interest what company do you work for? Did you just get hired recently? I didn't think any web designers in Galway were hiring at the moment.

I'm the Dude

Out of the clubs in Galway I've been to, Cuba certainly seems the best.

Weston - check yer mail.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    So Bob Hoskins was about to roll a spliff when in walks Dana with her 3 foot Bong
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Jeff,

I'm not actually working for a company @ the moment coz I had a really bad experience with a **** taking company last year, so I'm all the wiser now (I'll consider companies after my final year [degree]). I find (undergrads/part time workers) get tossed around, and basically treated like ****.

I was recently advised to go to Dublin next year if I wanted to go in to web design full time (prefer to be a programmer). They recommended it because I am a Java developer and would be writing all my backend stuff in Java as opposed to PHP or ASP.

But anyway for now I am relying on some wealthy relatives to support me and get some clients (and TBH it is all falling in to place). I have nearly earned in the last 3 weeks, what I got from that stupid slave company last year (for the whole summer).

Jeff if you are looking for a web dev job in Galway do a search on IrishJobs.ie, you will find some stuff there.

Take care,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭irishguy

just wondering all u guys [and gals] that go out in galway 2 cuba ,from the boards did u know each other 4 b or did u meet here?

Well since I started this thread I think I will tackle that question.

Irishguy, I only knew a mere handful of people from the boards and have still to meet most of them (face to face). I also see that you are new (so don't be shy), I am not classed as a "wise old man" myself, yet!.

So keep posting...
    Can I assume that you are from Galway?

If so, we usually have a Boards night out (in Galway) every so often, the last one you can probably see was for my 21st about 2 weeks ago. So when the next one occurs, you are most welcome. It is always nice to see the face of the people we communicate with almost every day (especially newcommers).

Take care,

PS: You don't have an interest in programming or Multi-player games by any chance; do you?

Ahem, right, lads (Phobos, Plastic, Kharn and anyone else interested) i'm gonna be in the bar this weekend, it's pete's 21st and he's invited me along, yippppeeeee, beer, sweet, precious succulent (I dunno if that's spelt right) beer. So lads who am I gonna see ???, Plastic, you horny little toad, you better be there, Kharn, to steal one of your lines, you bring the vaseline and I'll bring the riding boots (classic smile.gif), Phobos, oh fuzzy one, maker of funny rabbit on motorbike joke, shalt thou be able to join in the merryment ?. Hope y'all can make it, should be a good 'oul night.

But oh, no tears please, fear and pain may acompany death, but it is desire that sheperds its certainty, as we shall see...

[This message has been edited by black_wizardd (edited 12-06-2001).]

WAN DA JIMMY!!!

Weston was over in my house last night and I told him about Pete's 21st - Pete himself rang me and told me, so we'll have to organise a few bands for a few tunes - Jimmy - fancy doing one yourself? I'll sing it (if I know it) and I'm sure either Killo or Pete can bass it while Ollie can play the drums.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Excellent, so I take it that the curly man will be there, great stuff. Damn right a few tunes are in order, I'm up for it if you are smile.gif. I'll be up on Saturday (early), currently deciding whether or not to get insured on the car for the weekend, t'would be nice to have it, I'll drop you a line during the week, until then cheerio.

Ya man - gimmie a ring. Forget about the car - you're not going to be sober at any stage curlydav.gif Get on a bus/train straight to Castlebar and Robert shall be your mother's brother. Speaking of which, how is Pat? *bold Dav*

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭irishguy

phobos,
    well actualy i live in limerick ,i think these boards are great its the only place i can find irish ppl 2 talk to on the net.i do have an interest in Multi-player games QIII,QIII Arena,unreal etc and i hope to start learning programing next year when i start going to collage

OI! Dav! Give me a ring one of the days, I'd be up for going out...

Nice wan IrishGuy, keep posting, get involved.

Lads yeh, sounds like a plan for Pete's 21st. I will have to make a few phone calls first. I don't have a place to stay, so I need to sort something out. Dav when R u going up? (I'll go up wija)

Does Pete have anthing planned apart from getting intoxicated & whiplash?

Speaking of whiplash, I would want to grow my hair or find my extensions for the w'kend.

Anyway I would like to go, hopefully this time I won't **** up. Jimmy haven't seen ya in a while (so tis in order).

;-phobos-)

Im there.

Of course, thats a statement of fact, as in im currently residing in Castlebar, so its pretty much a given that y'all will be seeing me, eventhough im workin'.

Added to that, y'all can stay ay my gaff, if you can stand nubile naked women and vast, plentiful supplies of alcohol being in the same vicinity. If ya can, then there's no doubt you can stand dirty floorboards and radioactive fridges that have been known to attack strangers thanks to the uncleaned interior. Sure you can....guys?..guys ?..

WHAT ABOUT THE DRAINS IN HACKNEY ?

Hmmm, radioActive fridge, nubile naked women. I dunno Eamo, I still haven't quite recovered from the dirty carpet monster trying to bugger me in my sleep!! confused.gif

Here's to a good'un lads.

See y'all Saturday.

Dah Dah DahDahDah De Du De Du De Du De Du Dah Dah (Iron Man).

[This message has been edited by black_wizardd (edited 13-06-2001).]