Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

na hIarmhí

• 24-07-2004 8:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭

Not sure how it looked on TV but they deserved that. If Laois had scored that goal chance near the end it would have been a travesty.

Mullingar is ablaze!

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

GWAN WESTMEATH!!!!

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Wahoo...

As above, that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Well done. About time too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Our Paidi,
    Who art from Ventry,
    Hallowed be Thy Name.
    Thy Lake County come,
    Thy Will be done,
    On lakes as it is in Kingdoms.
    Give us this day,
    our Delaney Cup,
    and forgive our doubters
    as we forget those
    who lost against us.
    And lead us not into temptation,
    but deliver us Sam.

Amen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Muchos congratulations to my Dads home county

Good win laois died and didn't deserve the win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Originally posted by Imposter
    Our Paidi,
    Who art from Ventry,
    Hallowed be Thy Name.
    Thy Lake County come,
    Thy Will be done,
    On lakes as it is in Kingdoms.
    Give us this day,
    our Delaney Cup,
    and forgive our doubters
    as we forget those
    who lost against us.
    And lead us not into temptation,
    but deliver us Sam.

Amen.

lol, nice1.

Mullingar was kinda scary tonight, such was the level of celebration. Team allegedly walked across the bridge from meath into Kinnegad. Official reception at 3 o clock in Mullingar tomorrow (Sunday), will be chaotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

fair play to weatmeath - congrats to everyone involved

from a dublin poit of view its nice to know the only team that beat us so far are the leinster champs. doesnt make me feel good about the possibility of meeting laois but we'll cross that bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Shaque attack

fair play to westmeath they were the better team in both games laois did not show the commitment Westmeath did but injurys didnt help either. i've gotta hold my hands up and say i called it totally wrong. best of luck to westmeath in the quarters.

Judging by the state of the laois players last night i dont fancy our chances against tyrone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Great win for Westmeath. I only saw the second half, but they were the better team by a good ways in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

congrats to westmeath, well done, best team won!!

i made a prediction early on in the year (did not post it to boards.ie so i guess you will have to take my word for it) that the all-ireland champs this year would come out of leinster. unfortunately i do not think so now. i would have to say that the all-ireland final is looking to be made up of armagh, tyrone and kerry. i cannot see laois beating tyrone next week (we live in hope).

anyway, this is westmeaths day, fair play to ye.

--laoisfan

ps. make sure ye keep the cup clean for the year, we'll ve wanting it back next year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Delighted for all the Westmeath people and players. They were by far the better team and deserved the title. A great occassion and my heart was in my mouth for those last long minutes when there was a chance Laois might rob them.

The problem I have with it is the plaudits that the ignorant, miserable, mizerly, pr1ck of a manager they have will get.

It did prove though that it is better to have a lucky manager than a good manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

lads - westmeath deserved to win.

the one thing which is annoying me and without trying to take away from westmeath, is that laois team is capable of playing a 100 times better than they did. that is the sore point from my point of view. also, laois are lacking a bit of muscle, same as last year.

i hope westmeath go on and do well but somehow i cannot see them doing it. i will stick with the all-ireland final being made up of armagh, tyrone and kerry (some combination thereof).

i believe micko is extremely pissed off with some players so expect a lot of changes (not for the tyrone match) but for next year!!

Well done westmeath!!

--laoisfan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Congratulations to Westmeath, I have been a big critic of them but they showed just how good they are! Well done and enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭watman

Na Hiarmhi Abu
    What a day , i was there for the celebrations on the pitch but didnt get a chance to get back home to Mullingar , Work Commitments :( .. Id Say it was mental. Congratulations to all involved . A great day for the county !

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Fair play Westmeath. It had to come sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Atmosphere

On the radio they said that the whole population of Westmeath must have been on the pitch:rolleyes:It was a great day for Westmeath,hopefully there will be many more to come!:D