Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you had a Paranromal Experience?

• 22-07-2004 7:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭

Where has your Paranormal experience occured?

Where have you had a Paranormal Experience 34 votes

At Home
    0% 0 votes
    In a Graveyard
    79% 27 votes
    In a reputed Haunted Building
    5% 2 votes
    At a cairn/stone circle/standin stone
    14% 5 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭satori

My reply dose not really change it as its being all four

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Mine is in my account of my trip to Charleville castle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭keu

yay a poll

yes ah have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭lulu

Were have i not have one!!!!, Ive have them all over the place but have always put it down to me just being a bit weird. In my mams house, my old house, the local hospital... and the list goes on.
    p.s. first time around this forum and have to say pretty impressive at last more to talk about than computers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭malico

yeah... Had a few im y time! ;)

Welcome to the Fourm Lulu... Hope to see you at PRAI opens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

i havnt had one so i just picked one at random i hope thats ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

Home and at Charleville Castle...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

I used to go out with a wierd chick who believed in all that sort of stuff - while were going out together I had a couple of experiences - one was being in Gatwick airport with a sudden premonition of meeting someone I knew -which I did when the flight was boarding - that was spooky! Another was as I was about to switch on as light - irrationally I thought this bulb is about to go and it did. Luckily we split up and have no such stuff in my life since. We could still be together if she made me predict lotto numbers ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭lisa.c

was at home one night and feeling pretty sad so started to chat to my grandad who by the way died quite a long time ago when i was 7 but as i was pretty close to him i feel the need to talk to him when my life feels low. any how this particular evenin im chatting away when i just said. "Grandad i dont think your listening to me but if you are i really need to know" well what happened next scared the crap out of me. i heard him whistle it was as if he was standing beside me it was so clear. there was no one else in the house with me either that night. i swear to god i freaked but then i calmed down and felt relieved to know that i had his guidence and always would.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 633 ✭✭✭dublinario

Lisa, it's a nice story, as are those of the other posters. But such stories are incredibly vague and relatively easily explained. For starters, it takes a certain kind of person to reach for a paranormal explanation before reaching a more lucid assessment of the event.

Take elivsvonchiaing for example. He attributes meeting somebody he knew at the airport, and a light-bulb going to the paranormal attributes of his then girlfriend. I don't mean to be condescending, but these are just coincidences. Life is full of them. Think of all the seconds of every day when things don't unfold as planned, when you have a myriad of feelings, and emotions, and hunches, and intuitions etc etc. Just because somebody things to themself 'I could meet somebody I know here', and then does, why attribute this to the paranormal rather than a rational explanation?

Similarly Lisa, you attribute an audible whistle to the fact that you, at that moment, asked your deceased grandfather for a sign. There are lots of plausible explanations applicable here, not least of all that the whistle was a figment of your imagination. Nobody ever wants to admit that something might have been in their head, but the fact is that the brain is an unfathomably complex organ, and the subconcious an enigmatic, much misunderstood tool of perception. You just have to watch an episode of Derren Brown to realise this. Did you happen to catch his Seyance episode?

Put it this way: what is more likely? That your grandfather contacted you from beyond the grave, or that the whistle you heard was a figment of your imagination, or something even more innocuous?

"Put it this way: what is more likely? That your grandfather contacted you from beyond the grave, or that the whistle you heard was a figment of your imagination, or something even more innocuous?"
    like you stated, it does take a certain kind of person to reach for a "paranormal" explanation.
    If you believe that there is more to life than you can possibly perceive, than hearing her grandfather whistle is a very likely explanation.
    If you don't believe in existensial life, life beyond these boundaries, than I'm sure its easier to write it off as a coincidence or a figment of the imagination.
    Jung called these type of coincidences "synchronicity", moments of meaning. Why try to take the meaning out of something which is serving a purpose?
    Lisa got her message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Pyschopath666

once in warrick castle (i think thats how u spell it)

dublinario wrote:
    such stories are incredibly vague and relatively easily explained

Mmm. i had a something happen to me when i was about 16, i was in bed, had just turned out the lights and i felt something in the room with me. then i could see, it was a tall man in top hat and long coat just like an undertaker but had no face. the feeling of fear was something else but i couldnt do anything. I was just froze, it lasted i suppose about 20 sec till i felt i could move again and i screamed and ran to my folks who told me it was in my mind!!

The same man appeared twice more over a period of about 1 month and i was so bad i had to go see someone about it, each time it got longer and then it stopped and i never saw him again. Try and easily explain that ;)
    dublinario wrote:
    why attribute this to the paranormal rather than a rational explanation?

You give me the rational explanation cause frankly i would rather have it than the paranormal one sometimes.

dublinario wrote:
    Just because somebody things to themself 'I could meet somebody I know here', and then does, why attribute this to the paranormal rather than a rational explanation?
    I should have made this clearer. I normally don't entertain such thoughts - and felt an irrational certainty that I was going to meet some I knew.

Yes, we do have a myriad of thoughts and emotions, but when you entertain a very wierd thought 0.01% of the time and if 40% of the time it comes true, I think this is more than pure coincidence.

But I do agree in principal that anything assumed to be paranormal must be viewed sceptically - particularly where charges apply!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

This might sound weird but i was bringing my 2.5 year old (we're both scorps) for a walk the other day and he was singing a number song he made up, goes 2,3,7,8 well just as I was passing a lotto shop I got an energy thing that drew my attention to the lotto sign so i went in and picked a couple of numbers, then i could hear himself sing his song so i said feck it i'll do 2,3,7,8 on one line and pick the other two out myself. Guess what (I didnt win the lotto) but the numbers 2,3,7,8 came out in the draw, lotto plus 2 .check lotto.ie for wednesday the 4th. he won 7 euros for us.

Does that count as a paranormal experience. its a great story but its true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭lisa.c

referring back to my whistling grandad id like to tell you all something else. a couple of days after i heard the whistle i was whistleing it myself when my aunt looked at me in amazment she told me she hadnt heard that tune whistled since her dad died(my grandad). now i was seven when he passed so i wouldnt of remembered him whistling so i guess it was ahuge coincidence.......
    also i was always very close to him .a couple of years after he passed on my mother went to see a fortunr teller she apparently was quite good. on my mothers arrival she told her that she felt the presence of a man and that he kept saying " be wary of QUEENY with strangers and my mother was amazed as this was my grandfathers pet name for me... and as it happens i did have a very bad experiance shortly after with a stranger... i guess another great coincidence....

lulu wrote:
    The same man appeared twice more over a period of about 1 month and i was so bad i had to go see someone about it, each time it got longer and then it stopped and i never saw him again. Try and easily explain that ;)
    ......You give me the rational explanation cause frankly i would rather have it than the paranormal one sometimes.

Lulu, I actually can easily explain that, and I'm surprised anybody you went to see about this didn't explain it to you. What you describe are classic symptoms of a condition called Sleep Paralysis. Throw 'Sleep Paralysis' into a google search and you will get thousands of matches, because it is a harmless condition that effects about 1 in 5 people (to varying degrees) including myself. It also accounts for a massive, massive percentage of reports of paranormal phenomona, including Alien abductions.

When we sleep, our bodies release a certain hormone that paralyses the body (a small amount of tossing and turning notwithstanding), hence stopping us from acting out the motions we are thinking about in our dreams e.g. it is what stops us from getting out of bed and jogging out of the bedroom when running in a dream. People who are affected from Sleep Paralysis, on occasion, experience a phenomona whereby they are essentially awake, but unable to move. This is caused by a lack of synchronicity between when the body wakes, and when it switches off the release of the immobilising hormone i.e. you have begun to wake, but the body, defectively, is still paralysing you.

Because you are still only half concious, the mind is not fully rational, and jumps to the conclusion that someone or something is suppressing you, holding you captive. They often experience the sensation that the person/presence is sitting on their chest, and hence they can't breathe. Their body often quivers, as they try to release themselves from the grip of the fictitious presence, until they ultimately fully awaken and are free to move again.

So, to sum up, the phenomona is a combination of physiology stopping you from moving, and your half awake mind inventing an alien/monster/evil etc that is causing the inability to move. Sleep Paralysis sufferers very often see the 'presence' as an old witch, or hag, leading to the condition being nicknamed 'Old Hag Syndrome'. Down through the ages, before modern pschology/psychiatry diagnosed the condition, it was alway attributed to evil spirts, the devil, demons etc.

So Lulu, your tall man in a dark hat is actually only a slight variation on the most common hallucination associated with the condition, the old hag. Some people see nobody, but instead feel that he (or it) is just out of view, but still stopping them from moving. Some people's mind portray the presence as an alien. Everybodies mind invents a different villain to fit the bill.

As I said, a quick search for sleep paralysis in google will give you countless websites explaining the phenomona. If you want a serious, objective read on the topic, try to stick to medical journals/websites rather than paranormal sites, which I find are being wholly disingenuous by suggesting there is anything paranormal about something which has long, long been explained by medical science. Even UTV did a bullsh*t so-called 'documentary' a couple of years ago, and never ONCE mentioned the term 'Sleep Paralysis.

e.g of websites on the phenomona

http://nc.essortment.com/paralysissleep_rauu.htm
    http://www.nightterrors.org/paralysis.html
    http://sleepdisorders.about.com/cs/hallucinations/a/terrorparalysis.htm

Hope this helps you to understand the phenomona you experienced Lulu, and to draw a line under it once and for all. I know people are often reluctant to accept an explanation of something they regard as paranormal (even if the experience was negative), because in the end, most people desparately want to believe there is more to life than our corporial existence. But believe me Lulu, having done a lot of research on the topic, what happened to you is an absolutely classic instance of Sleep Paralysis, in every single way.

Incidentally, for anybody else who suffers from this, if you want to avoid it, don't sleep on your back, as it pretty much only ever happens when in that position. Reading up on it also helps, because for me now, when I experience it, it doesn't bother me even remotely. Even in my half awake state, my mind is now fully aware that what is happening is a medical occurance, and hence no longer bothers to hallucinate any sort of demonic presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

dublinario wrote:
    Lulu, I actually can easily explain that, and I'm surprised anybody you went to see about this didn't explain it to you. What you describe are classic symptoms of a condition called Sleep Paralysis.

Actually, if Lulu's description of events are accurate sleep paralysis is very unlikely.

Sleep paralysis usually occurs in end stage REM sleep. Seeing as in her account she was not only not in REM sleep but actually not sleeping, I would find it a very unlikely explanation.

Sleep paralysis does account for many nocturnal encounters though, ranging from UFO abduction to sucubus and vampire attacks. That said, perhaps Dublinario, you may take more account of what the person is saying and base your explanation on that informed account rather than jump to the first conclusion.

Syke,

firstly, I actually did take account of what Lulu wrote. Secondly, I'm sorry, but your posting contradicts itself.

You say "Sleep paralysis usually occurs in end stage REM sleep". 'Usually'. Does it say 'always'? No. It is different for everybody. Personally, I would have bouts of Sleep Paralysis more often when first dropping off than during REM. And the reason Lulu says she wasn't asleep is because, essentially, she wasn't asleep. You never are when it occurs. You are awake, but paralysed, which is precisely the fulcrum of the disorder. But I'm willing to bet that whether Lulu realises it or not, she was at the very least 'dropping off' when it happened. Put it this way: I would bet everything I own that an instance of this phenomona has never happened to her, or anybody else, whilst, for example, standing-up and buttering a slice of toast in the kitchen. It always occurs whilst in bed (99% of the time whilst lying on the back), and this is not coincidence. It is because it is a sleep-disorder.

And Syke, despite your accusation, I have jumped to no conclusion whatsoever. I have actually recognised with absolute certainty the symptoms of a condition in which I have invested a lot of research. Now before anybody replies to berate me, I am NOT dismissing what Lulu may or may not believe has happened, and hence not saying I am absolutely certain what did or did not happen to Lulu. I am, to reiterate, stating, with absolute certainty merely that those ARE the symptoms of Sleep Paralysis. I would even go so far as to say that, unless Lulu has left anything out of her account, there is nothing even remotely unusual about her particular experience, insomuch as it could be held-up as an archtype of this particular sleeping disorder.

dublinario wrote:
    Syke,

firstly, I actually did take account of what Lulu wrote. Secondly, I'm sorry, but your posting contradicts itself.

You say "Sleep paralysis usually occurs in end stage REM sleep". 'Usually'. Does it say 'always'? No. It is different for everybody..
    This is factually incorrect, the use of "usually" was to take into account drug induced sleep paralysis-like states and those that occur due to chronic fatigue.

Seeing as lulu mentioned neither and was not in final stage REM then sleep paralysis is highly unlikely.
    dublinario wrote:
    Personally, I would have bouts of Sleep Paralysis more often when first dropping off than during REM..
    You might like to think you do, but you don't. The mechanism for sleep paralysis excludes a possability. If you want I can give youreferences from the american journal of neuroscience which details the pathways involved and the neurochemicals required to be present. If you still want to presume you know better you can e-mail the editors of the journals with your creditials.
    Dublinario wrote:
    And the reason Lulu says she wasn't asleep is because, essentially, she wasn't asleep. You never are when it occurs. You are awake, but paralysed, which is precisely the fulcrum of the disorder. But I'm willing to bet that whether Lulu realises it or not, she was at the very least 'dropping off' when it happened. Put it this way: I would bet everything I own that an instance of this phenomona has never happened to her, or anybody else, whilst, for example, standing-up and buttering a slice of toast in the kitchen.
    Probably not, but the fact of the matter is, sleep paralysis is not the condition in question. I don't believe it was paranormal, in fact I'm pretty sure I could explain the cause, but I'm afraid that sleep paralysis just doesn't fit the bill. I'm happy to encourage debating and debunking, but please try research a little better before proclaiming truths in this forum.
    Dublinario wrote:
    And Syke, despite your accusation, I have jumped to no conclusion whatsoever. I have actually recognised with absolute certainty the symptoms of a condition in which I have invested a lot of research.
    Do you still want that reference to debunk your certainty? What galls me about people on forums, is not that they don't back up their arguements with references, but they poorly choose them, ignoring actual scientific literature while making a scientific arguement and take some blokes website as gospel. Please come back with medical and scientific references proving this "certainty" of yours.

Syke, I will happily take your word for it that Sleep Paralysis can only occur during REM. On this point I will acknowledge that I was probably mistaken to suggest otherwise, it having been many years since I researched the topic, back when I was searching for my own answers as to what exactly was happening to me.

But I believe you are innacurate to therefore instantly dismiss Sleep Paralysis as a possibility, simply because the phenomona occured at the start of a sleep. Most people encounter their first period of REM about an hour and a half into sleep. But entering into REM at the beginning of sleep is not altogether rare, and is another sleep disorder in itself. For instance, it can be symptomatic, but is not restricted to, conditions such as Narcolepsy and Apnea.

For this reason, I will repeat my assertion, the one that seems to have galled (the heart bleeds, it truly does) you so: that Lulu's account matches perfectly the symptoms of Sleep Paralysis. Nothing you have said in your posting negates this.

As an aside, I find it amusing that you vented your 'galling' grievance about postings that are devoid of references, whilst in the very same posting (shock horror) offering no (i.e. zero, zip, nada) references to support your own hypothesis. Yes, you talk about the existence of such references, but you don't give them. So, I'm curious, from where exactly does your bombastic moral high ground emanate?

And before you go and have an apoplexy trying to track down said references, I am not questioning their existence, so it won't matter a damn whether you post them now or not. The horse has already bolted, so to speak. Moreover I am simply highlighting the mind-boggling, unfathomable cheek you must possess to admonish other posters, when you have yet to put up a single reference yourself!!!

If you want credibility Syke, I will ask you (unbelievably) for the second time in as many postings, stop contradicting yourself with your own postings! If you want people to use references, use them yourself. Or, as our intellectual superior are you subject to different standards than the rest of us?

syke wrote:
    I don't believe it was paranormal, in fact I'm pretty sure I could explain the cause,
    want to share?

lulus experience with the man in the tall hat, reminds me of a story my mother told me years ago. When she was young she stayed as a guest in a relatives house. An big old 3 storey town house where she slept in the top bedroom. (in describing the creepy house that I knew myself)
    She explained how she couldnt sleep and at one point "saw a man in a top hat standing behind the door", naturally as a child she was petrified, until the following morning when she realised what she had been looking at was a suit hanging on a hook at the back of the door. (top hat included)

keu wrote:
    want to share?

If lulu had been stressed at the time (were there exams around then?), or perhaps was suffering sleeplessness (study?) or fatigue there may be an explanation.

Hypnagogic hallucinations or pre-sleep dreams, are dream-like hallucinations that occur in the transition between being awake and being asleep, that is, while falling asleep. Sometimes they occur while the person is still awake. They are very vivid, frightening dreams.

Now usually they are associated with sleep disorders but have been known to occur in cases of fatigue or stress or even with breathing disorders such as severe athsma.

This would be my take on things. However its validity depends on what Lulu can tell us about her circumstances.

syke wrote:
    Sleep paralysis does account for many nocturnal encounters though, ranging from UFO abduction to sucubus and vampire attacks.

Does anyone know how to induce this? I'm not interested in the UFO or the vampire attack just the sucubus? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭zervi2003

I think that some experiences cannot be explained rationally and some can.

I have had things happen me I cannot explain yet I hear stories with "funny/rational" endings!

For example, years and years ago a member of my family was walking along the country road back to the house when something was spotted in the shadows that couldnt be explained-turned around the other way and ran. Was petrified by what had been seen-went completely mad with fear and was very very disturbed.

What was seen was something 7 foot tall but with horns on the top of his head. Quite a disturbing scene for anyone. Turned out the next day that the neighbour had been returning from the mart to sell his animals and had returned with an old goat. The goat got stubborn, wouldnt walk so he decided to carry him on his back/shoulders!

I myself had something happen me about 2 years ago-scared the be jaysus out of me. This is the most recent incident.

Was in bed fast asleep. I had an exam the next day but I wasnt worried about it/no anxiousness-nothing.

At about 2 in the morning 2 big loud bangs woke me up. One came in the direction of my parents' room. The other from outside (opposite end of the house). The noise from the 2 bangs were very very loud.

So I hopped out of the bed to see if my parents were ok-if something had fallen or whatever and stood outside their door. There was not a peep from them and I could hear my Dad snoring, having a nice sleep.

So, I was thinking "Ok, the bang in the room was really loud, they arent awake from it, maybe it was my imagination". I put it down to this (I wasnt going to go outside a 2 in the morning to check out the other bang!).

Hopped back into bed, was half asleep when there was an awful "clatter" in my room. Something had fallen off the wall (I have wooden floors in my room). I hopped up again, turned on the light and saw some jewellry I have lying on the floor. Odd I though, but I still wasnt freaked out.

Back to bed again, up and down so much I wasnt feeling tired and I was finding it hard to fall asleep.

A few minutes later I opened my eyes, dont know why-was trying to sleep. To this day i cannot explain it. My room was all lit up. I was like "what the fcuk?" Next thing my eyes are distracted by some black ball shaped thing hovering above my head. Was not petrified looking at it. Was more curious, thinking was is that!? Next thing everything goes black. Like a switch was turned off.

Thats when I hopped out of the bed and started screaming (yes that woke the whole house!).

I cant explain it.

Have some other things happen too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Had three things happen in my time:

1. At the age of 8, I was coming down the stairs in our house, when I had the overwhelming feeling to turn around. So I did. The bottom of the stairs was lit; the top of the stairs was not; I saw a hooded figure in black descend the stairs towards me.(think typical image of the grim reaper, minus the reaper), scared the living bejesus out of me... probably an overactive kid's imagination, but there you go.

2. On Bettystown beach again around the age of 8, me and my grandad both saw a cigar shaped object fly out from the direction of gormanston army camp towards the horizon that then shot straight up. No explanation I can think of, maybe some kind of baloon, but it was pretty freakin fast for a baloon.

3. Where I live now has some quite substantial lands, one night after a pretty bad arguement with the parents went out to the fields for a walk, decided to lie down on the grass and look at the stars, and have a think; was looking at the stars when5 of them seemed to "detach" from the sky and start to rotate in a circle above me, the lights started to get bigger; I almost stayed to see what happened, but chickened out and sprinted home... I wasnt that pissed off, no drink or drugs taken etc. Was 17 at the time.

My great uncle was in the RAF - was a navigator during the war - off the coast of scotland flying at night he once saw a cigar shaped object with a row of lights on it off his starboard side that then shot straight up.

Thats about it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭zervi2003

Scary stuff.

I once saw the rocking chair in the tv room rock away with noone in it.

Noone was in the room with me, no windows/doors were open. Dont know why it moved.

I did look for an explanation but couldnt find one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Blinda

I am quite used to these occurences now having had possibly 10+ paraphysic experiences to date. Venues are varied. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I was in mexico in 2000 and on the way back from a tour to an ancient aztec site, I was staring up at the blue sky from the bus me and the family were coming back in. All of a sudden I noticed a reflective, silver disc shaped object appear out of one of the clouds. It made extremely fast maneuvers in the shape of a Z in the sky, but backwards. It would "zoom" to a position, stop instantly, then zoom to another position. After about 30 seconds it disappeared.

I know what I saw and, it could be aliens indeed, but more likely to me it's the Americans who have already conquered gravity. From having read "The Hunt For Zero Point" by defence journalist Nick Cook, there is more then enough evidence to suggest that the Americans took plans and test aircraft from the Nazi's at the end of WW2 for flying discs which were created by the inventor Victor Schauberger. The Nazi's had a few of these craft in service before the end of WW2 (They were the 'Foo-Fighters' phenomenon reported by so many USAF and RAF pilots). The US military is likely to be still testing them under a massive top-secret black project operation.

I really think these US military flying discs can account for at least 50% of sightings in the US. But then again there is more than enough evidence to suggest aliens are using the same type of craft...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Blinda

I keep saying I will document my P/xp's when they happen and never got around to it, until now. How's this for one which happened today and in the event I got accused of being a jinx.
    I was doing routine housework about 11AM today while Olympics on TV. As my interest is in track events which finished yesterday I was not passing much notice, except when I just happened to see another medal cermony where the Khan lad from UK got silver.
    Later my brothers and friends turned up to watch 'the boxing final' I told them they were "too late, and Khan got silver".
    I lost the argument of course when the real fight started, and at the end of it 'I jinxed' the outcome.

Mmm.. looks like i stirred up a hornets nest, sorry folks i was off line for awhile so am only just getting yr views on my experience. I have to say dublinario i fully take account of yr views and being realistic thats prob what happened but the fact is no one will ever know, yr theory of sleep paralysis could explain what i felt but to answer a few questions:

I was under no stress at the time i.e. no exams or such.
    Was in perfect health

Other than the above i was the average teenager, but while i cant say for certain i was not asleep and was not in a state of sleep paralysis i feel that this really did happen, how do i know this?

cause i have had experiences even when awake,mind u not while buttering bread :D , not many but a few. To quote one.

Was with my granfather on his death bed, had sat through the night with my mother and he was still hanging on. At about 6am i got up and my mam whispered something into his ear ( found out later that she had actually told him to hurry up and pass on as i had to go to work, we ar a very close family but also very practical ;) ) He had lived till he was 96 and never sick so we were not sad as he had lived a great life and was ready to pass.

At this point he started to rasp and took his last breath, my mam was about to call the nurse (he was in hosp in a private room) but for some reason i asked her not to just yet. Then to me the unbelieveable happened. We were both sitting next to him with our hand placed on his body saying our goodbye when all i can say is a rush started to go through our bodys. We both were just stunned, looking at each other but unable to explain what was going on, to give an example if u have ever got that funny feeling in yr belly when u go over a hump on the road, well multiply that by 100 through yr whole body from yr feet to yr head and it lasted for approx 5 min. Then for some reason i suddenly felt elated, i couldnt explain it, just sheer joy, i jumped up and started running from corner to corner in the room cause ( now this bit sounds crazy but i swear its true) i just knew there was something else in the room with us, couldnt see anything but i could most certainly feel. In my mind and maybe some will say thats the only place they were but i know there was angels in the room, they were in every corner.

At this point my mam was still routed to the spot, she was feeling what i was but just sitting still, i asked her later why she thinks she behaved differently to me and she just said she could not or indeed did not want to lose this feeling going through her.

To cut a long story short it came to an end when our attention was drawn to a window in the room and ( the crazy bit again) we just felt something come in from the window and my granfather go out with them. With that our experience came to an end, i wanted to stand up on the pulpit the following night in the church and share my maybe mad experience with every person there but my more sane mother asked me to avoid the gossip and keep the story for family so thankfully i did, until now that is.

So there it is, just one more account of what some might think is an overactive imagination but i take some solace from the fact that i didnt experience the above on my own, what ever anyone else thinks of it i believe my granfather gave us the greatest gift ever and that was to know what everyone else that has ever lost a loved one wants to know and that is "Would you think they are happy" and having felt him starting out on his journey without a shadow of a doubt i can say yes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

A quick comment on the poll, it should have included "None" as an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

I really had one big paranormal expreince that was really comforitng.

My Grandparents(Who are all dead now, my Gran on my mum's side died Jun 2002) who I weren't really close, except for my gran on mum's side.

Anyway, she came from Liverpool, and my mum came from there as well, and we spent the christmas after she died there. I was sleeping about 3 or 4 nights after christmas, and I dreamed I was outside the house, and there was no cars or any other people: Just myself and Silence!

I heard a car in the distance, and it was one of those English black cabs coming towards me. It stopped in front of me, and someone got out of the taxi. It was my grandad on mum's side(Who died well before I was born) he started towards me, and he had a wooden walking stick. He said "Hello" and I woke up and to this day I'm convinced he actually came to say 'Hello'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

Ok I used to be a sceptic and have an inkling that this paranormal stuff existed, was always a sucker for Arthur C. Clarke as a kid, but like I say primarily I had a healthy scepticism with regard to the paranormal, that is until one night when I lived in Baggot St.
    My flat mate there was apparently extremely psychic and had regular visits from spirits since she was a kid.
    One Saturday night I was sitting on my computer playing games or chatting online and I heard my other flatmate call me so I went to see what he wanted as his voice had an air of urgency. The house we lived in was a three story and the top floor was their room and I lived on the ground, the lounge was in the middle, I popped my head into the lounge and they weren't there and thought it unusual that he was asking me to come up to the room but I went up anyway. When I got into the room his girlfriend (Let's call her "L.") was on the bed writhing about and looking generally like she was being choked with no one near her. I grabbed her by the chin and talked straight into her face and she was looking through us completely she was not aware that there we were in the room and she did not appear to be "present". It took me a minute but then it clicked that maybe this was the psychic thing that she had told me about before, in any case she thrashed about for a bit making worrying noises and looking generally like she was being throttled and gurgling like struggling for breath, this went on for what appeared to be about a minute or two, in the heat of the moment it always seems to take ages, then all of a sudden she went limp and fell back on the bed and exhaled, then she popped back up and took in a large breath and said " that woman is dead" she was back "with us".
    This was strange at the time but it took me a while to digest what had happened as originally it looked like she was in physical trouble. About 3 days later I finally spoke to her about it, she was so upset that evening crying and such that I left her alone with her bloke and went back to playing pc. She explained to me that she had been sitting on the side of the bed and that she had seen a woman enter the room who was beaten and bleeding and that she had fallen on top of her and that was the last she remembered, she did not remember all that we had experienced.
    There was no acting involved she was FAR too upset for that to have been an act, this experience was definitely strange and new to me as I have personally never had a paranormal experience, I now KNOW that there is another layer that I cant see as that evening convinced me of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

People wander around asleep. Just pay attention and you'll notice it.

phlematic..do you have anything constructive to say ever? or do you just enjoy ripping the p*ss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭tovalee

This is a great forum(my first time here).

I live in the states in a town built around and over a huge american indian earthworks. They say it was built around 2,000 years ago.Anyway, its funny because most places you might get a funny look if you say your house is haunted or you have paranormal experiences, but I've yet to find one person in this town who even blinks when you mention weird things happening. I think the whole place is haunted. I voted in the poll for stone circle, hope the earthworks are close enough :)