Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone purchased from hairloss.ie ?

• 19-07-2004 9:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭

I was wondering if anyone has ever invested in the laser product from hairloss.ie or any other similar items in the past? €700 euro for one person is a lot of money. Would anyone be interestred in split-buying an item like this as it only needs to be used a few times, once every week.

Or has anyone bought a product ilke this that would be willing to lease it for a period of time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'll shave you daily for half that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

...I like hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭blobert

I think it looks a bit dodgey. There doesn't seem to be much in the way of scientific fact there and the stuff they do quote is from the 1970's. Beware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

I bought one, but haven't really had any luck with it to be honest. Been using it for almost a year too, so I kind of expected some results, but nothing. And yes, it is a lot of money!!

Definately no luck with it, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

More snake oil just with some fancy tech talk...whats so bad about hairloss? It happens, I know!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

When I see a balding bloke who has shaved his head I don't blink an eye ie 'Fair play to him, he has accepted it and isn't overly concerned about it etc". When I see a balding bloke who has combovered or has hair implants or who is wearing a toupee etc , I invariably say to myself, "You're not fooling anybody buddy and you just look like an eejit.

I shave my head anyway (blade1) because I was a vain bastard who couldn't have a hair out of place. I suppose I was obsessive about it. Now with the head shaved I don't have to worry about it and just give it the once over with the electric shaver every 7-10 days. I think it suits me now and I look back at photo's when I had longer styled hair and reckon I looked like a gimp! :D Saved a fortune in Barbers fees too. I amen't losing my hair either (30yo) and it doesn't look like I will either seeing as my father has only now developed a baldish spot on his crown at 57. Even the granddad at 84 has a decent amount of hair left albeit thinned out. I lucked out on the hair genes I guess.

With being fussy and vain about my hair previously I probably would be worried if I had started to loose it, and would have looked at ways to prevent it or hide it like yourself, so I can understand why you would worry yourself but I also can't help but feel that lads that try to hide it 'look like eejits'. I know its a bit of a contradiction but there you go. I dunno. Maybe because I shave my head anyway now and actually prefer it, that that is why I reckon fair play to balding blokes who shave.

IMO if you are worried about what other people think then shaving is the way to go. Its not like you are the only bloke in your age group losing your hair. Shaved head and I don't think anyone would give you a second glance. Trying to hide it actually draws people attention to it, "hey look that bloke is going bald and he's making a lousy attempt at trying to hide it"

WRT that laser crap, like Mike65 said, its just mumbo jumbo psuedo scientific BS. Companies like that should be prosecuted for trying to fleece people. The only thing currently available that works at all is that Regaine shampoo and even that looks like its not worth the time effort and expense for the small amounts of regrowth that you get. Wait until you see Frontpage newspaper headlines " True full hair regrowth formula discovered" etc etc rather than an ad in your email inbox or in the corner of page 20 of some newspaper. Until then I would say shave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Originally posted by Calibos
    I amen't losing my hair either (30yo) and it doesn't look like I will either seeing as my father has only now developed a baldish spot on his crown at 57. Even the granddad at 84 has a decent amount of hair left albeit thinned out. I lucked out on the hair genes I guess.

Apparently the "Hair Loss" gene (if there is such a thing!) doesn't get passed down from your father's side, it gets passed down from your mothers.

And with regards to going bald...

Shaving = Good

Combover/Implants = Bad!

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

my mothers father had a fine head of hair at 70, my dads father is bald! Is that true so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭blobert

"The most common form of balding is male pattern hair loss, representing close to 95% of all hair loss cases. Mild to moderate male pattern hair loss affects about half of men by age 50. This type of hair loss results in receding hairline and/or balding at the crown. It is due to heredity, from either the mother’s or father’s side of the family, and is dependent on hormones"

It's not specifically from your father or mother's side, it can be either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Originally posted by JohnCleary
    Definately no luck with it, no?

Yeah, nothing noticeable. I'd expected, from all the positive feedback I'd read, to have seen some pretty convincing results by now, but my hair is still going south. I also shave my head to a blade one, but will probably end up going the Mach 3 route soon enough if the comb doesn't start producing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Just to shine an uplifting thought to those who are genuinely concerned about hair loss, most of what is written above is completely false and totally misleading. The so called "experts" who have posted, really have nothing good to say about anything.
    Just take a look at the quantity of posts by some of the suscribers and you will notice how many have nothing else to be doing other than trying to offload their own sorry miserable existences on others. For the actual facts please read this short acurate fact................
    Medication, Therapies and Treatments of all sorts and Particularly Laser PhotoTherapy along with LaserComb all have excellent benificial effects on the majority of people who use them. The fact is we all react and respond to diffrent things in different ways. The message here is ... If you choose to do nothing, then you will achieve nothing... but if you value or seek to improve in anything that you have, do or are... Then ignore the begrudgers and follow your own intuition.

Sad people make sad statments... Happy people make happy statments..... Just remember that..... and for whatever it is worth never EVER reduce yourself so low, that you would some how accept the opinions of the minority.

Chow!

JNRDR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Wouldn't happen to be affiliated with the ACME LaserComb corporation by any chance, would you JuniorDr.?

impr0v wrote:
    Wouldn't happen to be affiliated with the ACME LaserComb corporation by any chance, would you JuniorDr.?

My thoughts exactly.

Yeah thats my problem Junior, my mind is closed to the limitless possibilities MAN, Its all those negative waves in my head MAN! :rolleyes:

Its people like you taking advantage of peoples insecurities to line your own pockets. Its sickening. This kind of product is a quack therapy wrapped up in Psuedo scientific sounding BS whereas generally quack therapies are anti science ie ancient wisdom of the wise men of the chinese ching dynasty blah blah. There is no differance other than how this hairloss therapy and an 'alternative holistic herbal blah blah' hairloss therapy are presented. One relies on a persons insecurity and his belief in the power of science. The other relies on a persons insecurities and their distrust of science.

Like I said in an earlier post. When I see front page headlines on a national broadsheet describing an amazing new hairloss therapy, I'll believe it. As long as the only place I hear of amazing new hairloss remedies is in spam emails than forgive me for being sceptical.

Yeah those lasers are so futuristic and amazing man...is there anything lasers can't do?? Can they make my d1ck 3 inches larger or my money back?? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I don't blame the posters for trying this product because when something is affecting your confidence and making you insecure, sometimes you'll try anything to remedy the problem. I blame the likes of you Junior, trying to make money off these people and taking advantage of them, just so you can line your own pockets. Bloody con-artist!! I just cannot understand the morals and mentality of people who try to con others. At lest 'some' of the purveyors of alternative therapies, herbal medicine etc believe in what they are selling so they aren't actually conciously conning people. Whereas you know you are selling something that does not work, but are taking peoples money anyway.

{edit} clairifcation. If Junior does work for acme laser haircomb or whatever then he is a scumbag. If he doesn't then I appologise for calling him scum and hope I haven't upset him and unbalanced his chi chakra meridian line ying yangs :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

There has only been one actual poster here that has bought it, and been disappointed. Not exactly a scientific proof, but most definately not a reason to lambast with calls of "scum" and mumbo jumbojibes.

Personally I would think that it's a bit of a placebo but I can't say honestly as I have no proof at all. Just like any claims from posters here saying that hairloss.ie and any other such companies in a similar field are total bollix - what proof do you have? There's very little actual personal experience in this thread that deals with the topic raised. One poster so far.

What exactly is hairloss.ie's product anyway - is it cream or ointment or... what?

Original post seems to have disappeared into the ether.??

Anyway

Have a look at the site Gordon. Its hilarious. Obviosly I cant quote it verbatim due to copyright issues and we know they would find out about the copyright infringement as we have a Hairloss.ie employee....I mean 'Guest' poster here in the thread already. Juniors task today after posting fake positive testimonials in their own forum was to google the internet for Hairloss.ie referances by which method he found this thread.

Anyway apparently the laser comb feeds the living hair(isn't hair dead cells/keratin??) with positive laser energy which helps hair cells to communicate with each other via plasma and this works at the quantum level etc etc. I know quantum theory is often strange and sometimes counter intuitive and all that and that work is continuing apace on quantum computing etc but who'd of thought that quantum effects could help hair grow!! Amazing!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

[These opinions are purely my own and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Boards.ie] just in case Junior of hairloss.ie/acme lasercomb fame felt like suing for slander!!! :D:D

Hey!

Dont want to praise this Laser unless me couldnt, but my ould doll bought one for me after seeing the laser comb been used by master Jack Nicholson in the movie Anger Management.
    I'm using laser comb for about 9 months since Santa brought me my therapy last xmas.

Hey guys It works very well indeed! I'm an ex-minoxidil soaker upper. They even give consumers their dosh back if not completely satisfied after 3 months... No One does that nowadays...Considering MinOx and all the other tons of stuff which costs about a GRAND!!!! a year, this laser thingy is really really gr8!!! at a fraction of those costs and apparently is much much safer....... & Service is amazing toooooooooo.

And one other thing... My ould doll is much prettier that all your ould dolls and she'd be gone if I became a baldy man... I know this for certain... Does anyone mean to tell me that ould dolls dont mind their lads been bald or even balding... Crap!!! of course they do.. Unless you've lots of dosh of course. I dont have the dosh but at least I have the hair... Yipeee Thanks Laser Comb!!!

Time to make love .. OUT!!!

Yet another 'Guest' praising LaserComb.

/me gets some pubes and glues them to FranticHangover's head...
    There, all better... and ALL THANKS TO THE LASERCOMB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Hey!

Dont want to praise this Laser unless me couldnt, but my ould doll bought one for me after seeing the laser comb been used by master Jack Nicholson in the movie Anger Management.
    I'm using laser comb for about 9 months since Santa brought me my therapy last xmas.

Hey guys It works very well indeed! I'm an ex-minoxidil soaker upper. They even give consumers their dosh back if not completely satisfied after 3 months... No One does that nowadays...Considering MinOx and all the other tons of stuff which costs about a GRAND!!!! a year, this laser thingy is really really gr8!!! at a fraction of those costs and apparently is much much safer....... & Service is amazing toooooooooo.

And one other thing... My ould doll is much prettier that all your ould dolls and she'd be gone if I became a baldy man... I know this for certain... Does anyone mean to tell me that ould dolls dont mind their lads been bald or even balding... Crap!!! of course they do.. Unless you've lots of dosh of course. I dont have the dosh but at least I have the hair... Yipeee Thanks Laser Comb!!!

BEST LAUGH IN AGES. What a lame attempt. It's like JuniorDr. left the room and came back in seconds later with an obviously false beard crudely stuck to his face. Admit it, you got your marketing degree on the internet, didn't you?

LMFAO! :D

If at first your psuedo scientific mumbo jumbo doesn't succeed, try, try again.........by stooping to the ultimate low of questioning balding mens masculinity and infering that their girlfriends will desert them if they loose more hair. Jebus H!!! If that doesn't convince anyone contemplating using the lasercomb that this is a quack therapy preying on their insecurities than I dont't know what will!

Spot on with the 'internet marketing degree' Improv! :D:D

On a sidenote: Was browsing through the Sun the other day(don't buy it, just browsed!!) and came across a 'FULL PAGE' ad for lasercomb. I reckon I may have inadvertantly given them some good marketing advice in an earlier post.

ie. "Hey boss, no one is going to take our quack product seriously when we only do spam email or tiny print ads at the back of the magazines/newspapers beside the Sexline ads. We gotta think bigger....how about a full page ad on page 10 of the Sun" etc etc

:D:D

Try using cheapo Minoxidil from Ebay (roughly €30 for 4 months supply), and try extra virgin olive oil every now and again - it helps.

Also, Saw Palmetto is supposed to be very good but I haven't started it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Another place to get cheap minoxidil (mine just came this morning) is http://www.minoxidilshop.com/. Get the kirkland brand, its the generic form of rogaine, even made by rogaine with the same active ingredient, just much cheaper!

If you can, do a bit of research on finasteride and then look into getting a prescription from your doc. It comes in 1mg tablets called propecia and 5mg tablets called proscar. Get the proscar and cut it in 4, (much cheaper!)
    You can get them cheaply from http://www.qhi.co.uk
    or http://www.canadadrugs.com/.

Whatever Calibos said, if you don't look good with a shaved head it's either proscar or prozac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Hey!

Oh no!! My bird is going to leave me cause ive no hair! Oh curse these super shallow women who only like men for thier appearences!! Why?? Whyyyyyyy???
    Please, save me juniordoctor er i mean frantic hangover! Tell me the secrets of your miracle LASERCOMB tm.