Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ridiculous

• 18-07-2004 2:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I think all of that is pretty sensible with the exception of the tyres. That said, it woudl be immensely hard to enforce a less grippy, more durable tyre by other means.

One other thing I would like to see is a ban on all trick diffs (with traction control, natch) and a return to live rear axles...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,211 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

bring back manual gearchanges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

They'll be putting traffic lights on the track next.

ROFL!

"135mph sweeping left hander followed by a swift braking procedure to halt the car before the traffic lights, this really is exciting stuff! Did he cross the white line? Did he? I hope for his sake he did not! For those just joining us, traffic lights can be either red, meaning stop, amber meaning fúck all, and green, go go go! Oh no! Oh no! There's a train of ducks crossing the track! This has surely dampened Bruni's chance of winning this amazing grand prix..." - (imaginary) James Allen.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,211 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Originally posted by Einstürzende
    traffic lights can be either red, meaning stop, amber meaning fúck all, and green, go go go!
    so they won't be like Irish traffic lights where red means that about six cars can continue to drive on

No, the FIA will have drive thru penalties for anyone who fails to correctly observe the rules of the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

it will be box junctions which means you can of course stop here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Then there'll be a 58 week waiting list to do a qualifying lap, and they'll eventually just say "feck it, ye can all go on pole" just to clear the backlog. And sure if you crash during qualifying, you can go on pole anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Devilman

Can't see whats so ridiculous about these rule changes the F1 techincal directors all agreed, with 1 or 2 exceptions that changes were necessary and the cars were beginning to get too fast again. Its just they were too slow to come up with their own set of proposals that the FIA imposed their own..

Whats ridiculous is that the teams themselves didnt sort out something sooner and now all their work on 2005 cars is pretty much wasted e.g Ferrari had a V10 engine in development - scrapped.. a gearbox , also scrapped and are now talking about running the 2004 car next season

as Ross Brawn said himself

"We have only got ourselves to blame because we didn't respond early enough.."