Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Explorer Problem -- help!

• 12-07-2004 11:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭

In windows explorer the left hand section with the big folder list just shows up as a big grey patch. I'm using Windows ME with the latest windows updates. Has anyone ever had this problem?

Does anybody know which dll/ocx is used to make that control, I'm thinking that it might be corrupted or not loaded or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭jim_bob

Originally posted by grasshopa
    I'm using Windows ME

there's your problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

I knew someone would say that... feck off ya useless bastard - I like ME, you're just going with what everyone says. Linux sucks as a client side OS!

I ran file monitor, opened up a window and clicked folders to bring up the folders thing (now just grey). When I open it, no change in the file monitor. Could somebody do me a favor and see what happens when they open it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

I'm using Windows ME

just incase you didnt cop on the first time, there's your problem, your using windows 98 with a spray job.

go buy 2k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭jim_bob

I knew someone would say that... feck off ya useless bastard - I like ME, you're just going with what everyone says. Linux sucks as a client side OS!

I never said anything about linux don't even like it myself as stevenk said, "winme is just windows 98 with a spray job". it's the worst os m$ ever released and really really unstalble. ok cause you called me a useless bastard and a sheep following the heard i think i'll take some time out and help

try the System Restore feature

Start > Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore. and restore it to a previous working date

if that down't work i'd disconnect your floppy drive and cdrom jsut to make sure there not causing a problem and winMe cant read off them

then unistall internet explorer and then reinstall it

also try sfc afaik it's not in winme but can't remember so give it a try

Sorry for being so bitchy, I'm just really sick of getting those kind of answers to questions that aren't stupid... Though it tends to happen more on usenet. I uninstalled the windows update patches and reinstalled them and it's working grand.

I still don't find ME to be unstable, and no matter what everybody else says if it's crashing less and working faster I'm gonna continue using it.

Thanks for your help and sorry once again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭hostyle

What software did you install recently?

<edit>Oops. You resolved it already :)</edit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Grasshoppa, before you ever try using System Restore in Me go to this page:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;zh-cn;q290700

and download the fix that this page is about, otherwise you're wasting your time trying System Restore as a bug in Win Me prevents it from restoring from checkpoints created after Sept 8, 2001.