Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Post "losing" mail

• 07-07-2004 11:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭

Right, dont know if this is the right place but I was wondering if anybody has had much experiance of the old An Post "losing" cough cough their mail.

Its very strange indeed as my bank statements,credit card statements, bills, payments etc seem to arrive fine, but theres a 25% chance that anything in a DVD or CD shaped box will wander off en route.

In the last month I've ordered eight seperate things from Play and only 6 arrived, thus a 25% drop out rate. Surely a bit on the high side, Play send them out again no problem and I get them mailed to me at work, where they arrive but I dont want to get "thieving gypo" put on my account by Play and at the same time I dont want to pay for things Im not getting.Also getting all my mail with any inherant value sent to me at work isn't really an option either as I sub-con and can move about on a regular basis.

I read in the news that An Post were having a bit of trouble with theft from their sorting offices all right, but I seriously doubt having a rant at them would make any difference.

Whats your experiences? Are you an An Post employee up to your knees in purloined DVD's and CD's? Anybody complained and got a result?

Cheers

Chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I've never had anything go missing on me. Maybe have a word with your neighbours and see if they're experiencing the same thing? There could be an errant postman in your area...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

I know the Cork city sorting office hires agency staff during busy periods with little or no background checks, so it wouldn't be beyond the bounds of possibility that other sorting offices do likewise.

A recent documentary on Channel 4 about London sorting offices showed how easy it was to nick post as it was being sorted, as well as how few checks were done on postmen over there too...

http://www.channel4.co.uk/news/2004/04/week_4/19_dispatches_post.html

Personally I think the average postman is an idiot. Our business post can arrive at any time between 11 in the morning, to 3.45 in the afteroon. And that was when we had a regular postman. When it rains, they're always late.

So mail going missing doesn't seem too remote a possibility in my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I've had a few CD's mysteriously disappear in the past, but nothing recent.

Whenever I send a CD/DVD in the post nowadays I register it and it always arrives intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I sent a book in an envelope to my brother last year.
    The envelope arrived alright but minus the contents.
    A letter from An Post came with it saying they "were investigating the theft"
    as the envelope hod been opened with a knife, so it didn't just fall out.

Never heard anything more of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

Yeah, I might ask about the apartments and see if anybodys lost any mail allright. The other poss is that its one of my neighbours nicking it of course, we have a communal front door that the mail gets lashed through. So were on the honour system that whoever picks the mail up leaves whatever isn't theirs out.

The fact that it all hasn't dissappeared makes me lean towards the post though.

Think I'll just have to go for registered or get it all shipped to the chicks house instead.

Cheers

Chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭jabberwock

where about are you?

Rathmines, Leinster Road in fact.

Why are you currently laughing while playing Unreal Tournie 04 and listening to Bruce Springsteen?

is that you, please put your clothes back on! :p

Eh, You've lost me. I'm more than happy to parade about naked though, at the right price. Ie my Unreal Tournie DVD and my Springsteen CD.

Bah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭center15

I'm in Cork, while our normal postman was on holidays a several relief postman was on instead, I had seen several of them and some were as young as 16 i'd say. Loads of our post like bills, insurance & tax disc's were missing.
    So when our normal postman came back he said everyone in the area was complaining about missing post and to ring the sorting office and complain.
    So I did, their story was the relief postmen had been let go "Because he wasn't very good"and said there's nothing else they can do,

oh right i get ya now, you read my profile.

just wondering were near my route.
    could do with some new cds!!!

I see..............................so your the corruption at the heart of this scandal then. The black heart of An Post.

Well whats the scoop then, is there a black market for knocked off mail then? I presume the real money would be in "intercepting" passports,credit cards and the like.

Had much experience of people redirecting mail? I sense, in the true tradition of investiagtive journalism, an An Post Expose upcoming.

Chris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Originally posted by calhob_ie
    Yeah, I might ask about the apartments and see if anybodys lost any mail allright. The other poss is that its one of my neighbours nicking it of course, we have a communal front door that the mail gets lashed through. So were on the honour system that whoever picks the mail up leaves whatever isn't theirs out.

The fact that it all hasn't dissappeared makes me lean towards the post though.
    The possibility of your neighbours nicking it sounds far more likely to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

I'm in Cork county here and have had very few problems with the postal service especially considering I often get a few different items every day in the mail. Everything always arrives although one time a few play.com DVD case's were cracked.

Seems to me that people are slating An Post a little more than they deserve, my only quibble with them is that their charges for parcels and packages are a just a wee bit over priced.

Originally posted by Raskolnikov
    Seems to me that people are slating An Post a little more than they deserve, my only quibble with them is that their charges for parcels and packages are a just a wee bit over priced.
    I agree.
    it's no easy job, i tell you.
    Originally posted by RainyDay
    The possibility of your neighbours nicking it sounds far more likely to me.

and why do you immediatly accuse the postman.
    do you know these people well?
    would you trust them with your kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭turnback

fecking an post...I'm waiting for a sim-card from the mobile repair company for the last 3 weeks, and a new windows 2000pro from ebay (London) for a month now. thievin bastids

Right, I'll conduct a pop quiz round the block over the weekend and see if anybody else has had any problems.

Prob wouldn't hurt to put a note downstairs "reminding" everyone not to tamper with other peoples mail, I'd say if it is someone in the block whos doing it would stop it if they reckon someones on to them.

Prob do something up along the lines of:

"Would the tealeaf who nicked my mail, please desist as I know who you are and am in the process of compiling detailed evidence against you. Any further activity on your behalf will result in:

A) Your immediate eviction and forfeiture of your deposit.

B) The incident being reported to the Garda.

C) Your hole being extensively toed up and down the place."

why don't you get them all in the apts to put up post boxes?

i won't deliver to apt block who don't have them.

saves me the trouble of having to deal with people accussing me of stealing their stuff!

why not ask our postman to hold onto your mail and collect it?

Yeah, thats a pretty good idea allright. They'd have to be mounted somewhere on the exterior wall though, not really sure where you could do it. Something to mention to the landlord next time I see him.

Its just a pain really, I mean you'd have to be some character to nick someones mail from the same apartment block as you, the risks are pretty severe for a game and a cd after all. All it would take is one of my flatmates or me to walk in while they were there and there'd be big trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Originally posted by jabberwock
    why don't you get them all in the apts to put up post boxes?

i won't deliver to apt block who don't have them.

saves me the trouble of having to deal with people accussing me of stealing their stuff!

why not ask our postman to hold onto your mail and collect it?

thats where you get all them *cheap cds* you give sell to me.

Only joking.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

I've had a ton of stuff go missing recently - think I will be ringing my local sorting office. I had my local "postperson" leave my post on my window sill recently instead of in my letterbox..... the stupid bitch..... one of my mates does work in the sorting office mind you & some of the things he's said in the past now make alot of sense & yes, workers in An POst's sorting offices are thieving gits!!!!

What do you expect from a work-force backed by a communist union membership (my mate is in CWU branch in An Post & another mate works for their national exec & says An Post's CWU members are practically communist in their approachs to union membership.)

Makes you think.... angry phone call tomorrow or else I roll down there on my Harley in the morning & raise some hell, do some doughnuts & generally make a nuisance.... muhahahahaha LONG LIVE THE ANGRY BIKERS!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

There was a scam a while back not sure if it's still going on where people would nick posties bags just to get folks bank details or credit cards that are just being delivered.

If the posties are thieving or you think they report it and internal operations are setup to try to catch them out. With bogus birthday cards sent out along that route to see if it arrives and catch the postie out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

A pretty expensive digital camera that I purchased on Amazon over 3 weeks ago has mysteriously never arrived.... The item was shipped the day after I bought it too :confused:

Thankfully Amazon have posted me a new one. I contacted them after 2 weeks and to be honest the guy on the phone didn't seem surprised nor did he ask many questions - he just made sure that I'd checked with my local sorting office etc (which I did) and told me that a new one would be posted the next day! That was last Wednesday so if it doesn't arrive soon I'm gonna be well pissed off for the second time!

This is the first time anything has EVER gone missing on me and I've ordered alot of expensive electronic goods online as well as numerous cds, dvds etc...

It would seem that this type of thing is becoming more and more commonplace. :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

eh - I was under the impression that intefering with the post was kinda illegal in a major way - and the laws relating to it were strict..

PS. alway loved the reason for a postal system - the English king declared a monopoly on transport of letters so he could have the spied upon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

I ordered a dvd from a company called dvdlegacyUK through amazon.co.uk and that was about 50 days ago. I emailed them and they said wait 30 days from your order and i told them its been nearly 50 so they've sent me another copy of the dvd.

This sort of thing must happen all the time if they're willing to just lump another copy of it in the post.

So let's see if this one arrives...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

I've had two dvd's posted to me a month ago that haven't arrived yet. Odd really considering that anything else I've ever ordered from them arives in 2 weeks max. Although, considering all the dvd's i bought since december i'm supprised this is the first time any have gone missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

What do you expect from a work-force backed by a communist union membership

Yes, it's a commie conspiracy :rolleyes:

Happens in the UK - I've had at least 3 things go missing in the last two months, and it's very annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

I've had two separate parcels go missing after I'd had the 'You weren't here when we tried to deliver' message put through my door!
    Worth more than €150, stuff from eBay. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Hmmm, it's all a bit too suspicious if you ask me....

Perhaps a trip to my local sorting office with a sawn off shotgun might speed up the appearance of my disappearing packages! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

About a year ago I ordered a brand new graphics card. I came home to find the post woman had left it on our step outside. In the rain.... :rolleyes: :mad:

In a further development, last night when I went in my play DVD package was sitting in the "mail for people thats been sitting for ages so weve thrown it in a box under the table" box, now it def wasn't there yesterday. So I can only assume somebody else has picked it up, left it sitting in their flat for a few days, realised it wasn't theirs and sneaked it back.

Either that or they've read this, put two and two together and realised that if they didn't return my mail I'd bring down my righteous fury on them!

I'm still down a Springsteen CD though.

Chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Originally posted by calhob_ie

I'm still down a Springsteen CD though.

Chris

Your as well off tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭martarg

Its just a pain really, I mean you'd have to be some character to nick someones mail from the same apartment block as you, the risks are pretty severe for a game and a cd after all. All it would take is one of my flatmates or me to walk in while they were there and there'd be big trouble.
    Never underestimate the human impulses of curiosity and theft.... :p Some relatives of mine live in an apartment block, and there is a neighbour (clear suspect, but has never been caught) who regularly fishes out confidential letters from mailboxes and puts them back inside closed with sellotape...

As regards the x-files of the Post Office, it happens everywhere, I suppose. At least it has happened to me a couple of times. I try to avoid sending valuable stuff through the public post....

just a little off topic but heres what the postman has to go through

my a mate was on his post yesterday and was shot at, yes shot at by a young lad with an imatation MP-40 gas propelled air-rifle/gun.

interesting, don 't you think!

anyone remember a thread on here somewhere with someone braging about having one of these???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Strange, nothing's EVER gone missing on me in the post and I've always got CD's/DVD's on order...

Ah what you didn't say was that he was climbing through the guys window at the time, kiddin of course.

Whats unacceptable to one person is an everyday thing to someone else. I must admit to have been shot at myself a few times by an assortment of spud/air guns. I even remember seeing a few guys back home "dueling" with fireworks, rockets, in a multistorey carpark.

Did he get hit? Theres a few weeks off on the sick there and a compo claim, every cloud and all that.

Chris

no, unfortunatly he wasn't hit... damn:p

spanner got me to give him a hand finishing his route today.

i'm too much of a pushover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Originally posted by jabberwock
    no, unfortunatly he wasn't hit... damn:p

spanner got me to give him a hand finishing his route today.

i'm too much of a pushover.

you going to jump in front of any speeling bullets were you.

Good job it wasnt you who got shot at jabberwock. They be still trying to pull you off the lad on the way to the hospital.

I know jabberwock personally and i aint joking.

ha.... ha.... ha....

ye always did have a dodgy opinion of me at college.

you get my txt? you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

My postman arrived with the mail at 4pm today. :dunno:

Haven't had anything stolen, but I got handed a video with which the packaging was soaked and half ripped, and of course the video didn't work.