Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early Doors - Any Use?

• 06-07-2004 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

Hello - early doors (british sitcom based in a pub) started last week on Network 2.

Caught the first 2 episodes, but I cant really decide if its any good or not. Some funny bits alright, but its on a bit of a wierd buzz.

I think it was on the BBC last year. Has anyone seen it - does it get good / is it worth following? Feck all else on at 10.30 on a monday I suppose.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I think its really good.

I cant remember if it gets funnier after the first few episodes, but its worth watching IMO.... last nights episode was pretty funny.

as you said, nothing else on, give it another go next week ;)

flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

I really like it, there are some good one-liners in it. I would like to see it move a bit from the pub all the time as i feel that it could get a bit monotonous, the guards in the back door are funny, but it's wearing a bit thin.
    But an all round thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Originally posted by gogo
    I really like it, there are some good one-liners in it. I would like to see it move a bit from the pub all the time as i feel that it could get a bit monotonous, the guards in the back door are funny, but it's wearing a bit thin.

I think the 'Guards' are meant to be one of those running-jokes that are so trendy these days (á la yer man in Little Britain - i want THAT one)
    I actually quite like that part. I've only seen 3 episodes and not in sucession so, not sure yet, but ok for early doors tv in bed monday night :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I saw it on BBC2 months back and really loved it. It gets better as it goes and as you get to know the characters esp the Publican and his daughter. I only hope they make another series.

Mike.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Originally posted by gogo

you have to remember that Craig Cash was a co-writer of The Royal Family, so the whole concept of staying in one place for the whole series is carried here too.

The dad/daughter story is really good, ad's an extra dynamic to a good comedy when theres a nice story running through it like that... I find emotional story lines are most effective in comedies, especially ones where you get to know the characters well (like this, and Scrubs).
    It is a great show, alright... really enjoyable... one of the recent wave of great BBC comedies, which sadly seems to have slowed abit.

flogen

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I watched all of it last year on BBC2 and I found it to be an excellent series. Much like the Royle Family, it's incredibly well observed.

I did like the bit in the last one where Ken is trying to draw a shamrock on Joe's pint whilst hearing about Duffy's sexual exploits and it turns out as a cock'n'balls.