Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terms for the luas (dublinese)

• 01-07-2004 11:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭

..Came from this thread by Dublinwriter in Politics, who nicknamed the luas as "the train in the drain", also on the same thread "sham tram"
    Can you come up with any dublinese terms for our new public transport system?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

The huey, as in huey luas(lewis)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

The Train That Couldn't Slow Down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

the daniel day ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

luas? luas? Lu F**cking you-is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭spudulike

The Tram in the Jam...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 633 ✭✭✭dublinario

The Jerry Lee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The Little Train That Could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

I've got a funny name!

the D.A.R.T.

it stands for Dublin Area Rapid Transport!!!

hahahahahahhahahaha...

what a stupid name!

ooooorrrrr...

the ram tram.... WHAACCCKKKK

Originally posted by Sleepy
    The Little Train That Could.

The Little Train That Was Doomed From The Start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

what does LUAS stand for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

the granny killer

the skanger crusher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Originally posted by tba
    what does LUAS stand for?

Its the Irish for speed (as in velocity rather than fast)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Little
    Urban
    Ass
    Shaker

Light Up At Stephens green.. no... maybe.... no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Slapper Faced Jacks Express

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

what is with the "funny" dublin people thinking up "funny" names for everything - but only if it has the formula - the _________ in the __________.

eg the spike: the stiffy in the liffey (:dunno: its not in the liffey) the stilletto in the ghetto ?? I mean come on - "The Train in the Drain"???

What fecking drain? HAH? Why not the train in the brain/lane/main/plane/grain/rain/vain/train??

Just shut up you gommy dubs and make up a good name for the luas (some decent ones here so far), and while yer at it, quit yer fecking moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Evil_Bilbo
    what is with the "funny" dublin people thinking up "funny" names for everything - but only if it has the formula - the _________ in the __________.

eg the spike: the stiffy in the liffey (:dunno: its not in the liffey) the stilletto in the ghetto ?? I mean come on - "The Train in the Drain"???

What fecking drain? HAH? Why not the train in the brain/lane/main/plane/grain/rain/vain/train??

Just shut up you gommy dubs and make up a good name for the luas (some decent ones here so far), and while yer at it, quit yer fecking moaning.
    Whisht bucko. "Train to the plane" is reserved for the Metro. This one'll be called the "clanker with the ****" if lots of suited types start using it.

I like the Jerry Lee myself, nice one dublinario. No points for tony 2 tone as there are some things we'd all rather forget. Especially the prospect of teenagers singing "let's zip to the Square" on their way to Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

quit yer fecking moaning.

This was the funniest part.

Bloody mulchies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

The big...swollen testicle.

Originally posted by Deadwing
    The big...swollen testicle.

now com'on your just not tryin!!!

along earlier lines.... the WHAM tram!!!!.....

they'll have to get bigger windscreen wipers to clean off all those cycilists!

I said quit it!

Okay I'll jump on board with the old "something with the something" people:

The banger full o skangers (for the tallaght line)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭lyonsy

Originally posted by joe_chicken
    I've got a funny name!

the D.A.R.T.

it stands for Dublin Area Rapid Transport!!!

hahahahahahhahahaha...

what a stupid name!

ooooorrrrr...

the ram tram.... WHAACCCKKKK

thats dublin area rapid transit, idiot :D

Originally posted by lyonsy
    thats dublin area rapid transit, idiot :D

whichever... it's still stupid, spa! :D:confused::o

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Okay I'll jump on board with the old "something with the something" people:

The banger full o skangers (for the tallaght line)

Woop. I'm no scanger, but I travel with em! Woop for getting out of Tallaght.

Isn't it so typically Irish taht we'd get a tram line that doesn't meet in the middle?? And when they try to dig an underground tunnel for trucks to releave traffic congestion, it's too small for them.

Can't think of any names at the mo' although I think I'll be using a variation of the above one. A banger for the scanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Heard on 98FM

Rebecca Luas , because its good for a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

the scanger magnet

the tallagh line could be called "mobiles on wheels" other people mobiles delivered to your door.

call the metro "pie in the sky"

oh the luas will be like the metro you wont be able to use your mmobile on that either.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

the luas....

for when you want to be late!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

i think someone has gotten a bit over excited...

theres no witty dublinese for the f'ing bus is there

i don't you make slang names for modes of transport

name the bridge in dundrum or perhpas the sqaure trees on o'connell street

or the dart for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭neonitrix

[LUAS] We Rob You To Build It And Then Rob You To Ride It [LUAS]

Neonitrix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

Those wacky Dubliners with their slang for everything... :rolleyes:

Although I did like your slogan neonitrix...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by fcddunne
    oh the luas will be like the metro you wont be able to use your mmobile on that either.
    It says "If you are talking on the phone please speak quietly", there is no legal or technical restriction on using mobile phones on a tram.

Playing a radio or walkman loudly is banned, as is singing. However, mics / amps and megaphones are not banned specifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

However, mics / amps and megaphones are not banned specifically.
    Boardstock - Boards Bands Showcase - 20th August 2004 - Doors Open 8.30pm sharp - Meet at LUAS terinal, Stephens Green - Limited to 320 patrons - Entry only €3.40 (for a 40 minute show)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭shurl

Originally posted by robbie1876
    Boardstock - Boards Bands Showcase - 20th August 2004 - Doors Open 8.30pm sharp - Meet at LUAS terinal, Stephens Green - Limited to 320 patrons - Entry only €3.40 (for a 40 minute show)

:) lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Carlitos

the kourier killer

or

Lads
    U
    Aint
    Serious

the scanger magnet

Scagnet?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Originally posted by chewy
    theres no witty dublinese for the f'ing bus is there
    CIE - cyclying is easier.. (very old)

would someone who commutes on it be a Luser ?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Molly's Trolley.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Originally posted by Unpossible
    the granny killer

the skanger crusher

lol was full of skangers today anyway "ahh anto ****ing mental man me ****ing name written on it for ever man" "anto does this train go to bray?" twats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Leave
    Us
    All
    Standing

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Originally posted by peachypants
    Leave
    Us
    All
    Standing

Classic thats has to be the winning entry if this was a compitition a well 1st place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

It says "If you are talking on the phone please speak quietly", there is no legal or technical restriction on using mobile phones on a tram.

the question is though how long will you have the phone if your on a luas full of knackers.

I liked molly's trolly by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

here we go.. was posted by neonitrix earler....
    but i just made it more exciting :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

'The Pickpockets Paradise'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

What have the tax payers paid for that people actually liked? The LUAS is great IMO. The Irish really are full of moaner's with really high standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Hecate

I second that.

By the way the 'train in the drain' is what londoners in the 1800s used to call the underground when it first opened, and what a *spectacular* failure that was...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Crotch Chop

Originally posted by joe_chicken
    whichever... it's still stupid, spa! :D:confused::o

You're the spa. If you're gonna slag it - get it right.