Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One for the lads...

• 25-06-2004 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭

...and girls who shave their face. q;-)

Any shaving tips?
    Here's what I do:

1. Wash face
    2. Rub face w/ hot facecloth
    3. Use 'aviNe for men moisturiser'(its an anagram, i dont know if i'm supposed to use real product names on this thing).
    4. Apply shaving gel
    5. Use 3 'chuck yeagers' (Google it to see what he did), and warm - Definitely Not Hot - water, and shave with the grain
    6. Repeat 4. and 5., this time shaving against the grain
    7. Use aftershave stuff of some sort (i use a balm by aviNe)

Shave everyday, whether you need to or not.
    You should get smooth results, and no cuts.

If you think my method needs refining, or it's completely mad, let us know, and post your own method, so we can give them a go.

cheeers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

How much time do you spend shaving?

I use an electric shaver. Very smooth. No rash and leave a tiny bit of stubble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

1 - wet face with warm water/step out of shower half way through...
    2 - apply 'king of shaves' gel (teh shiznit)
    3 - shave with the grain, or against it if it's the weekend...
    4 - clean face/jump back into shower
    5 - pat face dry with a towel and apply some nivea for MEN aftershave balm

mach 3/mach 3 turbo all the way tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Get razor, put foam on, shave, call people who put to much effort into trivial things morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Steveire

yeah, mach 3 turbo.
    It takes a bit longer, cos of the shaving twice, but it's the only way.
    electric is just not close enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭fragile

Originally posted by WATCH_OUT
    Shave everyday, whether you need to or not.

Why :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Originally posted by tman
    1 - wet face with warm water/step out of shower half way through...
    2 - apply 'king of shaves' gel (teh shiznit)
    3 - shave with the grain, or against it if it's the weekend...
    4 - clean face/jump back into shower
    5 - pat face dry with a towel and apply some nivea for MEN aftershave balm

mach 3/mach 3 turbo all the way tbh

Ah man, you ****ing fairy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

nothing wrong with a guy that takes care of himself==ask any girl and they will agree(including me)....though i have a penchant for the ''rough look"'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

1. Run electric shaver over facial hair untill there's nothing left in desired area
    2. Wash face

Done.

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Ah man, you ****ing fairy!
    i have sensitive skin:(

the methol king of shaves stuff truly does roxor though. worth every penny (best part of €7 for a tube:dunno: )

tman dont take those kind of remarks to heart.....guys have just as much of a right to use creams et al as we do!! they gots to look gooooood too. a lot of men in the usa wear make up ........ben affleck any one?( a bit orange)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Man Time

1. Wash with Nivea sensitive face wash *
    2. hot face cloth on the face for 2 minutes
    3. Nivea sensitive shaving gel
    4. Mach 3 Turbo to shave, with the grain (against sometimes for my gf)
    5. splash with cold water
    6. pat dry
    7. Then Nivea sensitive after shave balm or sensitive daily moisturiser
    8. Once a week a trim down below is in order

*twice a week this is replaced by Nivea deep cleansing face scrub

There's nothing wrong with a man who knows how to take care of his skin and bodily hygiene. I wouldn't be attracted to a women who didn't look after her bodily hygiene properly so why should she have to put up with me being dirty?

Originally posted by munkeehaven
    tman dont take those kind of remarks to heart.....guys have just as much of a right to use creams et al as we do!! they gots to look gooooood too. a lot of men in the usa wear make up ........ben affleck any one?( a bit orange)
    i shave to get rid of stubble, and use aftershave balm to soothe the razor-burn... doesn't mean i'm about to chop my twig & giggleberries off and start using makeup

i didnt mean that ...im just saying each to their own ..and who cares??/ its a means to an end..not that i am in any way a machivellian.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

I use one of those hair shaving things that you use on your head, but with no plastic shield. Leaves a little bit of stubble but who really cares about that huh, those clean shaved conservative rights thats who!

stubble is sexxxxy

Originally posted by munkeehaven
    i didnt mean that ...im just saying each to their own ..and who cares??/ its a means to an end..not that i am in any way a machivellian.....
    cool, just so long as you're not comparing me to that Asslick feller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

i use a deep pore cleanser lotion, in the shower i use a water activated gel cleanser, then a honey almond body scrub, and on the face an exfoliating gel scrub. then i apply an herb mint facial mask, which i leave on for 10 minutes while i prepare the rest of my routine.

I always use an aftershave lotion with little or no alchohol because alchohol drys your face out and makes you look older. then moistureiser, then an anti-aging eye balm followed by final moisturising protective lotion. . . .

there is an idea of a patrick bateman, some kind of abstraction, but there is no real me, only an entity, something illusiory, and though i can hide my cold gase,and you can shake my hand and feel flesh griping yours and maybe your can even sense our lifestyles are even comparable, I simply am not there . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Originally posted by whosurpaddy
    i use a deep pore cleanser lotion, in the shower i use a water activated gel cleanser, then a honey almond body scrub, and on the face an exfoliating gel scrub. then i apply an herb mint facial mask, which i leave on for 10 minutes while i prepare the rest of my routine.

I always use an aftershave lotion with little or no alchohol because alchohol drys your face out and makes you look older. then moistureiser, then an anti-aging eye balm followed by final moisturising protective lotion. . . .

there is an idea of a patrick bateman, some kind of abstraction, but there is no real me, only an entity, something illusiory, and though i can hide my cold gase,and you can shake my hand and feel flesh griping yours and maybe your can even sense our lifestyles are even comparable, I simply am not there . . .

Glad to see you take care of yourself, now if you'll excuse me I have some videos to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

against or with the grain ? I dont understand , does it matter ?

Originally posted by Tusky
    against or with the grain ? I dont understand , does it matter ?
    against the grain - closer shave with the downside of shaving rashes

with the grain - not so close, your face doesn't feel like it's been rubbed with sandpaper afterwards though:dunno:

took about 3-4 years of shaving before i started to get shaving rashes though

oh yeah, the post-shave-cold-water-splash is v. important.

it matters with and against the grain, but i dont remember why anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Kobie

Holy sweet Jaysus on a poggo stick. Moiturisers, cleansers, hot towels?

Wasn't there a thread during the week wondering if men are less masculine these days?

Give me a dollop of motor oil and a rusty dagger any day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

ROFL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I shave sideways to the grain, what does that do? Best of both worlds?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Blisterman, "to the grain" means shaving in downward strokes. Upwards is closer, but more irritating and painful.

Thing is, warm water is always important and I shave in accordance with a shower.
    So, which is better - having a shower to soften up the hairs and then shaving - making shaving easier, or shaving from scratch, then showering to get rid of the crap and making sure you're clean and done?

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

wash face.
    use electric shaver.
    wash face.

thats of course only on the times i could actually be arsed to shave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Absolute genius man! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

Those 3 drop shaving oils can work quite well.

Rinse with warm water before shave to open pores, rinse with cold after to close pores.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i just dont shave....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

King of Shaves is the sh|t. No more shaving rash for meh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

Ye dont really need any of that nivea schtuff tbh. All ye need is a good few splashes of cold water to close up your pours. Then maybe some aftershave for the same reason.

The nivea stuff is plenty expensive and not really needed so fup it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

take razor in hand
    put razor in water
    put razor on face
    put razor down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

So where do you Nivea boys get the time to paint your toenails in between all that moisturizing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

along the lines of some of the things so far....

shave. stop shaving.

(apart from when my beard has got long, in which case put in a few owwwss and eeeesss and ooossss)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

Surprisingly helpful thread for me, since I spend significant time each day converting my face and neck into a mass of razor rash and cuts, and still have a permanent sandpaper effect.
    So these Mach 3 turbo things are good then? Better than Sensor XL, which is what I use now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Three simple steps

1. Press power button on electric shaver
    2. Shave
    3. Open top and wash out.

Five minutes flat, twice a week. Nivea for men my arse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Jump out of bed, walk into bathroom, bit of water on my face. Cheap Lidl blades up, dow,up, down, up, down face all done and Jes what a stud I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Slightly OT, but I was shopping with herself at the weekend and she purchased that Veet stuff (the hair removal stuff that used to be Immac).

Anybody ever try this on the face? I have always wondered why you can't use it on the face. If it worked, it would be the job, no more razor burn, no rash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

:D:D LOL @ the google ads with this thread :D:D

googleads.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by tom dunne
    Slightly OT, but I was shopping with herself at the weekend and she purchased that Veet stuff (the hair removal stuff that used to be Immac).

Anybody ever try this on the face? I have always wondered why you can't use it on the face. If it worked, it would be the job, no more razor burn, no rash.

i personally wouldnt trust anything that dissolves hair like that, has to be bad for ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Badbonez

I googled "Chuck Yeagers" and found nada...wtf is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Chuck Yeager was a legendary American test pilot and the first person to break the sound barrier in the rocket-powered Bell X1 plane in 1947 (I think! or was it '48? Sometime around then, anyway! :D)

In case you didn't know, the speed of sound is often referred to as "Mach 1". ;) There you go, work it out for yourself now. I can't give you a bigger clue than that, can I? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Badbonez

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    Chuck Yeager was a legendary American test pilot and the first person to break the sound barrier in the rocket-powered Bell X1 plane in 1947 (I think! or was it '48? Sometime around then, anyway! :D)

In case you didn't know, the speed of sound is often referred to as "Mach 1". ;) There you go, work it out for yourself now. I can't give you a bigger clue than that, can I? :D

Yah, I know who Chuck Yeager is (I am a yank after all). What I didn't know was what "3 Chuck Yeagers" meant in relation to shaving. I guess you mean Mach 3. What a friggen stretch! :D

cheers aidan_dunne. i'm just surprised everyone got it for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I don't "apply" nuttin. I just shave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

reminds me - must read that again.

electric is better for sensitive skin.
    exfoliators and moisturisers all the way!
    wax the old pubes once a month too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Zoton

Personally i just use hot water, some shaving foam and a wilkinson extreme 3. Shave, then splash cold water. Somethimes use a balm.
    Always wait a while before applying aftershave. The alcohol is very harsh on the raw skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

cold water. Bic disposables. gilette foam. only do it when the "catweasel" "grizzly adams" and "jesus" jokes start.

Saves time, money and effort.

So you can spend more time, money and effort doing nice things for (or to :) ) the female in your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Lather.
    Shave downwards, along the grain.
    Wash.
    Lather.
    Shave upwards, against the grain.
    Wash, cold water.

Shave against the grain second. It' removes the irritation and gets a closer shave.

I find shaving is almost like meditation. It clears my mind of everything except the horribly sharp edged steel I'm holding to my face. Good way to prepare for all the crap the day has ready to throw at you.

Electric shavers are all well and good, but, well, they're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

On one of those stupid channel 4 programs, (think it was something like Ten Years Younger) - they suggested shaving twice, once with the grain (ie downwards) and once against the grain. Also sugeested a gel instead of foam as it softens bristles better.

I tried womens hair removal stuff once (imac or the like), did nothing - hair too coarse I reckon.