Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assault on Precinct 13!! How Crap

• 24-06-2004 9:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭

I am writing this to ask if anyone here is familiar with the disgrace that is, Assault on Precinct 13. I came across this... emm...what's it again:confused: -Thinks for a moment- ....... FILM, yeah thats right... Film, one night while watching RTE 1, to my shock, RTE actually payed for this film, it's a bloody discreaceful attempt at a film. It has many reasons for been hated, here is to name but a few. It's plot is watery, diabolical script, putting aside the "trivial" things, there are also mistakes like, forgetting to remember that there is a power-cut in some scenes and then not in others, and like the number 14 above the precinct's door when it's suposed to be in Precinct 13.....I know, it's rediculous.

Thinking of it now, MABEY if I watch this "movie" again (Payed to, of course) looking at the funny side of it, it could be good:dunno:. MABEY it was an ingenious plan by the writers to make you think it was an "action" movie but instead a halarious paradoy of terrible directorial mistakes....... -complete scilence and.... que tumbleweed-..... Na, not a chance.

VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV
    204211.jpg
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Anyway thats enough of my ranting, now it's your turn.

Rent it if you dare!!

Assault on Pricenct 13 or is it 14 4 votes

-cough- mediocre -cough-
    0% 0 votes
    The worst film/thing in the history of mankind
    100% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

Get fucked.
    Assault on Precinct 13 is a great film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

it's class

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Instead of ranting about the movie, can I rant about your poorly written review of an acknowledged cult classic that's inspired a whole slew of woeful imitations?
    For example, how about your shit poll that doesn't give anyone the option to disagree with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

iv seen it 3 or 4 times.. really like it,
    especially the ice cream truck part at the start.:) :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭ALLGOOD

Originally posted by Y o u s s e f

I am writing this to ask if anyone here is familiar with the disgrace that is, Assault on Precinct 13. I came across this... emm...what's it again:confused: -Thinks for a moment- ....... FILM, yeah thats right... Film, one night while watching RTE 1, to my shock, RTE actually payed for this film, it's a bloody discreaceful attempt at a film. It has many reasons for been hated, here is to name but a few. It's plot is watery, diabolical script, putting aside the "trivial" things, there are also mistakes like, forgetting to remember that there is a power-cut in some scenes and then not in others, and like the number 14 above the precinct's door when it's suposed to be in Precinct 13.....I know, it's rediculous.

Thinking of it now, MABEY if I watch this "movie" again (Payed to, of course) looking at the funny side of it, it could be good:dunno:. MABEY it was an ingenious plan by the writers to make you think it was an "action" movie but instead a halarious paradoy of terrible directorial mistakes....... -complete scilence and.... que tumbleweed-..... Na, not a chance.

Dude, you've missed the whole point !

Also, you could upset alot of people talking 'bout classics like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

I must say I like the cult classics as much as the next guy, and really like alot of John Carpenter's early stuff (they live, the thing, bt in little china etc etc).

A mate of mine called over to my gaff with Assault on Precinct 13 on dvd a few weeks ago. I must say I thought it sucked big time.

well - it was alright - but a really big disappointment. I'd heard so much about it (i.e. heard that its an absolute classic movie).

Whats so great about it? I just thought it was boring.

And you can get fucked too.

Instead of ranting about the movie, can I rant about your poorly written review of an acknowledged cult classic that's inspired a whole slew of woeful imitations?

an imitation (of rio bravo and el dorado) spawning imitations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I refuse to vote on this poll.

And I'm brown-nosing Obeygiant 110% on this!
    Get ****ed, the lot of ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

Assault on Precinct 13 rocks, you die now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

I'm joining Karl Hungus by brown nosing ObeyGiant, get ****ed all of you. Precinct 13 is great, I love it.

Anyway this poll doesn't even have an Atari Jaguar option, for shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

How can you not love a film where the brutal murder of a little girl is played for laughs?

Well I laughed anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This is what happens when I movie gathers up a storm of hype by fans, even if it is great someone was bound to be dissapointed!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Originally posted by ixoy
    For example, how about your shit poll that doesn't give anyone the option to disagree with you?

hehe nice one.

As for the threadstarted go watch the fast and the furious, while carpenter may not be up to form of late prcent is a classic !

why are people brown nosing obeygiant and telling everyone else to get ****ed? ... pretty much everyone else agreed it's a class film

Originally posted by Cactus Col
    why are people brown nosing obeygiant and telling everyone else to get ****ed? ... pretty much everyone else agreed it's a class film

Get ****ed in fairness!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

the little girl who seems to be in all 70's movies gets gunned down buying and ice cream classic. "heah this is regular vanilla" Bang!!!

mindless violence he he:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

tis a great movie always watch whens it on usually late on TV3 or RTE on a sat night maybe crap to todays standards but the 70's where weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Originally posted by ObeyGiant
    Get fucked.
    Assault on Precinct 13 is a great film.

nuff said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I caught the last few minutes of it on RTÉ the other day and I was not impressed - the whole thing had that grey, depressing 70s/80s "In the Heat of the Night" tv-show look where everybody looks exhausted and sweaty all the time. might give it a go if I could see it from the start some time, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

First off, catch it on DVD. Carpenter shoots almost all of his films in scope (i.e. very wide) so the pan-and-scan versions absolutely butcher the look of the film.

Second, the film cost about 50p. Throw it a freakin' bone.

Third, the theme tune is cool. And it was composed by Carpenter himself (as is pretty all the music in his films).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Phil_321

What a ****e fooking film. Unbelievably boring, for the first hour until it becomes untintentionaly funny during the assault. The state of the lads trying to come in through the windows right after the previous guys got their heads blown. Half them got caught in the blinds. And then it went **** again.

If it had've been as ridiculous the whole way through, it would have been a good laugh, but it was just boring.

And Carpenter's "music" is woeful, it's nearly as bad as his writing and directing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Yeah, I do like alot/most of John Carpenters stuff, and I was hoping this would be good too. But no, it was really, really bad.

I agree about the scene when they all come through the window and get blasted one by one. You can't take that film seriously. Boring too.

Sorry guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

That film is brilliant, great music also.

A true classic.

@ Phil_321 and masterofsolos,

Why don't you rent out Armageddon, it's packed with class music and splendid acting blah blah blah.

You people . . . :mad:

Originally posted by joseph brand

Carpenter has zilch musical ability, a retard could write that score.
    What's so brilliant about the film anyway? Bad pacing, cinematography, dreadful acting, ridiculous scenarios. No character developement. And worst of all, boring as fook.

A true classic.

A true turd.

Why don't you rent out Armageddon, it's packed with class music and splendid acting blah blah blah.

Armageddon is way better than AoP13, it may be a pure popcorn movie, but it's better in every respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Originally posted by joseph brand

A true classic.

You people . . . :mad:

I don't remember commenting on the music, or the acting either really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

How can all you fools think it's good, it's S H I T,Whats good about it. PLEASE TELL ME :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Its a classic!!

I remember I stumbled upon it late one night a few years ago on UTV. There nothing better than watching a film you've never heard of on TV and loving it. It also reminds me of one of my other favourites, 'The Warriors'.

"Warriors, come out to Play-ye"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,474 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Youssip,

Go back to your Van Damme movies or whatever you jerk off to, because you have no taste in Films!

Carpenter went on a roll with Assualt, Halloween, The Fog, The Thing Escape from New York all great movies!

So as Frank Black once said "You F**kin Die!!!!"

Snake

:mad:

Yeah, what's good about it?
    Can you name one element of this film that was done well. I can't.

The music is cool (in a funny kind of way) but the movie sucks the big one.

Yer all just saying "its a classic" because you cant make up your minds for yourselves. What, prey tell, makes this movie a classic?

Armageddon definitely kicks this dumb movie's ass. (and thats saying alot). It was boring as hell.

I do love carpenters other movies but this one sucks bigtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,474 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

IF you guys think that Armageddon is better then this, there is no point in arguing with you as your a Van Damme man!

Why was it a Classic?

1) Soundtrack
    2) Made on a Low budget (if you have the dvd listen to the carpenter comm track)
    3) Great acting from an unknown cast
    4) Great script
    5) Super catchphrases (Got a Smoke!)
    6) Evil Gang
    7) Back in the 70's & 80's shooting a little girl was a big no-no

I could go on but I think i've outlined the main points

Snake;)

Originally posted by Snake Plisken
    IF you guys think that Armageddon is better then this, there is no point in arguing with you as your a Van Damme man!

Why was it a Classic?

1) Soundtrack
    2) Made on a Low budget (if you have the dvd listen to the carpenter comm track)
    3) Great acting from an unknown cast
    4) Great script
    5) Super catchphrases (Got a Smoke!)
    6) Evil Gang
    7) Back in the 70's & 80's shooting a little girl was a big no-no

I could go on but I think i've outlined the main points

Snake;)

Above is your last post, i will now argue your points,

1) Soundtrack = Crap
    2) Made on a Low budget = I would hope so, because it's Crap
    3) Great acting from an unknown cast = Great acting compared to a school play
    4) Great script = It's terriable... and Crap
    5) Super catchphrases (Got a Smoke!) = WHAT CATCHPHRASES???:confused::confused::confused: They would be crap anyway.
    6) Evil Gang = -- Tumbleweed --
    7) Back in the 70's & 80's shooting a little girl was a big no-no = What are you talking about, I thing shooting a little girl anytime is a big no-no... What are you saying.... now-a-days we can go around shooting people at random and its accepted

I think i have put forward a very strong arguement...... :D

ohh , and by the way, when did i ever say i was a Van Damme Man???:confused::confused:

There's some people here who simply don't get Assault On Precinct 13, so for the benefit of those people, here's the real skinny.

It's crap.

Yes, it's an absolute peice of **** film altogether, BUT that's also why it's so brilliant. So making criticisms about the budget, cheesy music, and it being crap just isn't going to do any good whatsoever. On the grand scale of films that are so bad they're good, this film is akin to what Citizen Cane is to well-made films.

One of the reasons I personally love the film, is because it's a great Zombie movie.

Yes, you heard that right, a zombie movie. Granted, there are no zombies in the film whatsoever, but that's not the real qualifier here. It's the great excecution of the good old zombie movie tradition of people holed up in a building and fending off against the hordes of assailant. Don't agree? It's pure zombie movie right down to the scene in the basement fending off against that big final push and incredibly bleak outlook for our heroes. You could draw many more parralels between Precinct 13 and any classic zombie movies than any other film. In fact, it's closer to Night Of The Living Dead than it is to say, Rio Brava.

I'd wager that most of the people here who love the film also are big fans of Romero, Fulci, and all. Personally I think that Precinct 13 stands up there with the likes of Dawn Of The Dead, or Zombie Flesh Eaters. It's just a fantastic zombie movie, just without any zombies.

I think i have put forward a very strong arguement...... :D
    A terrifying argument of "it's crap". Nice going, Noam Chomsky.

You can join the ranks of "get fucked", too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

It sounds so bad that i want to see it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Just a bit of non abusive commentary here. I loved the film and seen it years ago before I even heard of Carpenter or that it was a 'cult classic'. I fear that all the crap movies made these days have turned the viewing publics brains into mush, they want flashing lights and big bangs and as a result have the attention span of a goldfish and have become ironicaly, much the same as some of the characters in the film. The film was all about the build up of tension and if you want to go further into themes it can be compared to Day/Night of the living Dead which has already been mentioned which were basically about brainless comsumerism and such and such.

People are saying it's a crap film just for the sake of it mainly because they heard it is a 'cult classic'!

P.S. The music is cool though !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭MogwaiFearSatan

THATS A BRILLIANT FILM YA GOBSHEEN.
    the music is great in it too, like in all JC movies. check out sound a likes Kling Klang from liverpool.
    radium

Now that you mention it - it is VERY like a zombie movie. I think I would've liked it more if they had been zombies - probably wouldve trippled the budget though.

The fact that this "gang" was just descending on the building didnt really make much sense to me - if they had've been zombies, it wouldve been cooler. (yes I know, zombies descending on a building dosent make much sense either okay).

The last 5 minutes of the film are good, but I guess I just dont see why its so widely acclaimed as an absolute classic. All a matter of taste I suppose.

"They Live" kicks its ass

OMG - The movie is the biggest load of Bollox ever, and the music is pathetic, holy crap i don't know how you can't see that it's rubbish.

Now...... End Of Discussion, Finish, Over, Gone......

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

W

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Napoleon Wilson

The scene where the silenced gunshots kick up paper from the desk is a comic classic - particularly the final "pffffft".

The soundtrack is wonderful

Wilson is the coolest dude ever - "I have moments"

And Laurie Zimmer - whatever happened to Laurie Zimmer?

It's corny, it's cool, it's class

Dum diddy dum dum - the best ring-tone in the world.

Youssef - you swear too much - it weakens what little argument you have.

OMG - The movie is the biggest load of Bollox ever, and the music is pathetic, holy crap i don't know how you can't see that it's rubbish.

Now...... End Of Discussion, Finish, Over, Gone......

Have you overdosed on stupid pills?

You've been constantly blurting the same unintelligible crap since you started the thread like some kind of mantra, and you just don't seem to want to hold any conversation with anyone, or respond to any points made. What the ****ing hell is wrong with your head? Is the concept of discussion that alien to you?

After taking your point into consideration, that there might be somthing wrong with my head. I sat down and I thought about it, and the answer is... NO, as simple as that. What is wrong with you, you are taking this way to seriously, so sit down and relax.

Now can we end this discussion with the conclusion that it is a S H I T film, and nothing you say or do will change my mind on this matter.

GAME OVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Is1ldur

Brilliant film. The word that sums it up for me is atmosphere. This film just has a great ambience and, as someone else mentioned, the build-up of tension is great. I love the music also. I believe it was the first film with an electronic soundtrack or something like that (could be wrong though).

I sat down and I thought about it, and the answer is... NO, as simple as that.

If there is indeed something wrong with your head, you wouldn't be able to judge for yourself, so that's a completely null point. Therefor, untill you can provide medical certification that your head is in fact alright, we can be perfectly right in assuming that you aren't right in the head.

And by that, we can also assume that you're wrong about Assault On Precinct 13.

Going by your god complex; thinking yourself the be-all and end all of everything, with your delusions of having the ultimate word on when such discussion ends and that your word is as good as fact, we can all pretty much be safe in the assumption that you're not quite right in the head.

I think the term Intellectual Midget suggests itself.

AMD Athlon XP 2700+ 2.2ghz | 2 x 512MB Corsair PC 2700 | Radeon 9800 Pro 128 | MSI KT4 Ultra | 120GB Western Digital | 160GB Western Digital | 36GB Raptor | Creative Audigy 2 Platinum | 5.1 Creative Surround | Chieftec Dragon Midi Tower Black | Coolermaster Aerogate II | Coolermaster Aero 7 Lite | 4 Spire 80mm Case Fans | Windowed Side Panel With 80mm Fan | Logitech MX500 | 17" Philips CRT - I can't believe it's not AngelWhore.

Nerd.