Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

barabados

• 18-06-2004 5:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭

the mother got a really good deal for here near the end of july/start of august, 500eur per person,

myself n the girlfriend are thinging about going,
    does anybody know what its like??
    what are the people lke, is it rough??
    is it dear cheap? coz i heard its dear over there,

thanks for any help..

cartman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

Isn't that hurricane season?

The best time to go to Barbados is during the cooler, drier months of late winter and early spring (February to May). This is also the peak tourist season when prices are higher and places most crowded. In July, the wettest month, there's measurable rainfall for an average of 18 days, while April, the driest month, averages seven days. Who knows how much rainfall is "measurable", but I always thought that July-August was the "bad" weather. "Bad" meaning a bit damp and temperatures around 28-30 degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

went there good few years ago,the beaches are amazing,u could have a whole section to urself all day and no hassles.....fly up n down sea on jetski.....the people are grand when i was there.....the buses are mad they are converted mini vans with seats,next to nothing to get on one.....i had bloke flying by me on a mountain bike saying do i want BOB MARLEY hahaha he went so fast by me that there was no way i could of answered him.....the people are like that Malibu Ad (u give me road rage!!! haha) very laided back.....we were just outside bridgetown.the Taxis vari if they have air con they charge u more but u know if they have air con or not because ones without have windows rolled down hehe.....

the money was ok too was not that expensive,some places we went for drink were cheap infact one place looked like a shack,well it was a shack made from corrigated iron,paid one barbados dollar for a bottle Malibu(Great!!).....only thing were we where there was no nite clubs and pubs shut around 12 or 1,food was lovely.there local beer was BANKS beer not bad either....

who u flying with?...we flew with wait for it AEROFLOT.JAYSUS never again,russian airways......there was male and felmale airstewards and when they said HAPPLE JUICE and smiled they both had silver back teeth like bloke from bond movies....when we were landing the whole cabin filled up with mist and steam and i said this is it were going down!!!! never actually found out why plane did that,heard someone say because we up so high and so long it had to vent pressure,,,,,Russians hey!!!! place was dripping of condensation when gettin off plane......but all in all Barbados was lovely.....btw its an 8hour flight

i was there late oct,early november....no hurricanes or anything

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Got married there 8 years ago this August and have been back twice since.If youre staying anywhere go for the west coast.There its like a millionaires paradise.

The south coast is a good bit cooler(well more windy actually) plus the water at the beaches is a lot more choppy and not at all like the "postcard " scenes you see.

Its very cheap to eat and drink and gold is for nothing.

Theres an open air nightclub in St Andrews(The bar district)which is great and goes on until 7.30am or something.

Its not at all rough and once the locals know youre Irish they treat you like royalty--literally.
    A lot of Bajans are descended from the Irish settlers who ran the plantations in the 1800s plus theyre the only other country in the world whos national holiday is Paddys day.
    Barbados has one of the lowest crimerates in the world--last time we were there the headline news story was that the sewer in the bank had blocked up and the central bank had to be shut for 4 hours.Was dead funny though--on the news channel it was like Skynews what with all the newsflases about the blocked sewer.

But yeah for 500 euros it`ll be the holiday of a lifetime..

And someone else mentioned Aeroflot--I thought they were great to fly with-not for the standard of plane but the social activity at the back of the plane where everyone was smoking was great craic.

Im actually hoping to go back in two years for our tenth anniversary.Trying to book the same place but its fairly expensive now.Place we stayed was the Almond Beach Club resort in St James.
    Richie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭cartman

thanks for the replies.
    i thik im gonna take it, is there many markets arund, cheap stuf to buy, im big into all that crap, also barbados has never recorded a hurrican since 1955 but the other caribeen islands have, it rains though, hellraiser have u been there durin july or august?? will it be hot, its supposed to be hot hot hot one of the hottest places in the world and tbh thats why ill be going there, will it be hot there when were there?, i heard that when it rains it clears y=up in a few minutes and its really really hot again, do you know anything about this/.

thanks for any replies in advance,

cartman

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Yeah I ve been there in August and November.Audust is cooler but more humid.November to February is high season I think.

As for the no hurricanes--The last time we were there we got the tail end of hurricane Andrew--40 foot waves,70mph winds.We were out kayaking in it.But no hurricane has hit the island directly in decades.

does it rain alot during july/august??will it still be very hot[sun shining], the gf wants to become black with tan so shes wondering will this happen?? will the rain n stuff be very heavy?

thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

cartman if this deal works out for you will you be good enough to let us know where you found it etc, so we (me specifically ;) ) can have a look at it?

well im pretty pissed as it was booked up, but the mother gets these offer via fax in work, she knows ppl in the travel angency so she just tells me n i go book...

cartman,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

I've been poking around a wee bit since you left us :P and have found BA flights for circa 600 pp. and 3* hotel circa 40 a night pp. So still well under a k for a week...

Don't know much else but it seems worth following up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Thinking of going there myself in December. For the people who've been there, what's it like at that time of year regarding weather and prices? High tourist season is it?

Also is it easy to get around without using a car? And is there plenty to do? I'm thinking of going for 3 weeks, would I be content or would I get bored easily? I mean should I visit some of the other islands closeby or does Barbados have enough to keep people occupied?