Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

just a quick question

• 10-06-2004 4:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭

to be honest i have no idea on where to post this so mods, feel free to move wherever...

basically im sick of bein at home, i wanna move out, i want my own life.. now i have bills already, car insurance, a loan to be paid, etc etc.. so with all that crap i am left with around 80 yo yos a week for myself, now is this enough money to survive on if im sharin a house a with a couple of other people,, i've already budgeted for rent so im just talkin about regular bills like, gas/elec, phone and food for myself etc?? i dont drink or smoke

please say yes!!

cheers;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭TheWolf

Well, you could try the accomadtation board. The question is, do you think 80 quid is enough? Why not see over the next few weeks if you could get away with just spending the 80. Seems a bit tight if you havent allowed for fod and bills tbh but if you reckon you'll survive, then go for it.

On a side note, what age are you? Do you have any savings to kepp ya going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I say go for it!!

You'll learn to be economic with your funds and resourcesful with your lifestyle! Not drinking or smoking is a big plus. Your not gonna be in the lap of luxury but so what! Take a chance! Worst comes to worst, you bail back home! No biggie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sounds fairly tight - food, entertainment, travel, clothes, the occassional luxury ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

im 20, i do have savings but i have a loan out so they're not much use to me,, i dont mind survivin on bread and water,, plus i'll be finished payin motor insurance @ the end of the year so i'll a lot better off then.. i think i should just go for it.. how much do ameneties cost on average if you're sharing with 2 others?

i dont mind missin out on entertainment, i've included travel in my budget and i can never find clothes that fit me anyway:) plus i get a nice little bonus every quarter from work so that can be my luxury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭TheWolf

In that case, sure why not? Go for it then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

Find a way to lose the car.

Move close to work. Sell car, clear loan.

Might not sound nice, but cars eat cash like nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Originally posted by rs
    Find a way to lose the car.

Move close to work. Sell car, clear loan.

Might not sound nice, but cars eat cash like nothing else.

Yeah rs - I have to agree with you on this one - €80.00 a week for yourself is very little - your lifestyle would be crap - you should try to hold on a bit longer until you're more finanacial secure. You're wages must be pretty crap if that's all you're left with after paying for a car & a loan ...... maybe you should think about that too before making any decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

80euro a week is not great.. I budget for every single expense I have, and I end up with around 200blips per week. I struggle with this, but this is down to the copious amounts of booze I throw down my gob every weekend. If like you, I didn't drink, I'd be sorted.. but I still think you might find it a bit tough. You'll be surprised how much you can spend on food alone..

Also remember, if you're sharing a place.. Others will eat your food, and there's always some moron who won't pay his share of the bills on time..

Kevin.

well im not gonna sell the car cos i literally just bought it(picked it up today) and insurance is settin me back 140 a week(over five months), so when thats finished im left with 220 a week for myself.. ive been tryin to budget and see where all my money HAS to go and tbh honest i *think* i can manage, i've tried takin everythin into consideration.. i really dont spend that much on myself, and anythin i do buy i can cut back on.. but it is quite a scary thought considering i REALLY am gonna have to budget and save every penny.. but i suppose its probably a good experience to do it, even if it does go pear shaped in the end!

plus i'll be gettin a fairly good bonus next month which will help me out for a month or so, and its my 21st in sep so i'll hopefully get enough money to last quite a while then as well as another bonus in oct, then its the new year and my insurance is clear for another 6 months, so thats an extra 140 a week ill have..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

with regards to your car insurnace. Why are you paying it off over 5 months? Is it just valid until year end?

If not, extend that loan to 12 months for the car insurance... 140 a week on car insurance seems to be a lot..

I dont have a car myself, so i'm not entirely sure how car insurance works, but that 140 per week is what will cripple you financially....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Originally posted by Third_Echelon
    with regards to your car insurnace. Why are you paying it off over 5 months? Is it just valid until year end?

If not, extend that loan to 12 months for the car insurance... 140 a week on car insurance seems to be a lot..

I dont have a car myself, so i'm not entirely sure how car insurance works, but that 140 per week is what will cripple you financially....

Yeah - i have to agree with this one - I was only paying €178.00 per month for mine - your is 560.00 per month - that is madness!you do know that you can do it over the year don't you?

not with the insurance broker i went with, and they were offering me the cheapest quote by about 400e,,, im payin 3700, 1200 upfront and 140/week for 5 months and then 7 months ''free'':rolleyes: stupid ****in country!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

if you got a loan though you could pay it off over 12 months... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Making the big move into independent living is never easy, but you seem to be the right age, and sharing is cheaper than living alone.

You will face a steep learning curve in the beginning, but what price freedom Eh ?...

Good luck. ;)

Originally posted by newband
    not with the insurance broker i went with, and they were offering me the cheapest quote by about 400e,,, im payin 3700, 1200 upfront and 140/week for 5 months and then 7 months ''free'':rolleyes: stupid ****in country!!

Newband as Third echelon has said the 7 months aren't free, you've paid the money in five months.
    From a budgeting point of view you would be better off paying your insurance over 12 months and that way at least you will be paying less for the first five months meaning you are less strapped for cash then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Getting a bank loan would definitely be a good move. It might cost you a few quid in interest but it would leave you a comfortable amount of money to live on for the entire year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

You’re not going to get very far on € 80 a week. If you’re in Dublin that could well be you rent alone. Even if you get to live rent free, you would in effect be talking about an average budget to feed, wash, and otherwise take care of yourself, of just over € 10 per day.

As has been suggested, the car is frankly a luxury you cannot afford. Even without that overhead, your budget will still be pretty tight, but frankly on € 80, I can’t see you making ends meet.
    Originally posted by Sleepy
    Getting a bank loan would definitely be a good move. It might cost you a few quid in interest but it would leave you a comfortable amount of money to live on for the entire year.
    If you are suggesting he supplements his income with credit, then this is advisable only if his expected income will catch up with his expenditure within a reasonable timeframe. Otherwise he’ll probably find himself in a whole new World of pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Man ditch the car.. 3,500 a year on insurance is ****ing mental, it really is..

I am paying 500 a month on rent and that is my biggest out going. Loas and savings to my credit union is in second place at about 300 a month... After all the other stuff I would normally be left with about 230 - 250 to work with and sometimes that be tight if a few bills come in at once..

So imagine your 80 euro sitting next to a fairly big heating/esb or phone bill.. Its all well and good saying you dont mind giving up some of the luxuries now that you have them, but how will you feel after not having them for 6 months and knowing you have to stick it out till your lease it up?

TBH, when I was a student I had about 80 a week to live on and that was not nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

As a PhD student whose funding was cut after 3 years, I live on E80 or less a week after rent and bills. It's not fun, and while it was grand during the college year as I was supplementing it by teaching in the CIT (to apprentices who were feckin earning more than I was), it's going to be rough over the summer.

I'm doing it willingly because I want to earn my doctorate, but I will be so glad not to have to budget every penny when I finish.

Originally posted by Third_Echelon
    if you got a loan though you could pay it off over 12 months... :rolleyes:

well i currently have a loan of E4000, covering car, some insurance, and a course im doing, im not exactly able to pay it off over 12 months now am i..
    Newband as Third echelon has said the 7 months aren't free, you've paid the money in five months. From a budgeting point of view you would be better off paying your insurance over 12 months and that way at least you will be paying less for the first five months meaning you are less strapped for cash then..

well at the moment i dont have the option of payin over 12 months with my current insurer,, i am going to look into getting another quote from a different insurer that allows me to pay over 12 months but to be honest i dont think i'll get a better quote.

The words ''Diggin a hole'' come to mind..
    You’re not going to get very far on € 80 a week. If you’re in Dublin that could well be you rent alone. Even if you get to live rent free, you would in effect be talking about an average budget to feed, wash, and otherwise take care of yourself, of just over € 10 per day.

i've already budgeted for rent so this 80e isn't goin towards the rent, just other bills.. and i've been speaking to people who rent and share who say there bills(excluding rent ect) only come to around 20-30 per month, if that! so if this is the case i only have to spend 10-15 a week on bills,, which leaves me 60 at least for myself,,, i really dont spend that much anyway..
    TBH, when I was a student I had about 80 a week to live on and that was not nice!

do u drink or smoke? i dont so where else is my money gonna go to?
    Making the big move into independent living is never easy, but you seem to be the right age, and sharing is cheaper than living alone.

You will face a steep learning curve in the beginning, but what price freedom Eh ?...

Good luck.

my thoughts exactly;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

do u drink or smoke? i dont so where else is my money gonna go to?
    #

I don't smoke but do drink. However, I barely drunk while I was earning 80 euro a week.. See where this is going?

You give the impression from your most recent post that you have made you mind up already.

well i really wont know if i *can* do it untill i do do it... but ill probably wait till next month when i get my bonus, that should keep me goin for a while,, besides, i absolutely ****in hate where i live!!! full of scum, so anythin is better than that:)...

even if i do just scrape by i really cant stand where i live, so i think i'll be much happier livin in a decent place that I like,,,,as far as i'm concerned happiness is the only thing that matters tbh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Stay where you are, save your 80 quid for a couple of months then go on a good holiday with some friends. It will be a lot better than learning the hard way that it is impossible to live on €80 per week.

sayin its impossible is kinda wrong,, i've budgeted and i think i could do and even save a lil each week,, holidays suck! they only last a couple of weeks then you're back to where you've started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

if you dont drink or smoke, and have factored in rent etc. then €80 will be enough to live, not too many luxurys though, do your shopping in lidl etc.

One thing you might have overlooked is the cost of petrol though. If you're doing a lot of driving that'll suck up your cash reserves.

I lived on less for ages (was getting 114 on the dole and paying 50 per week rent), its not fun but once you clear the insurance loan you'll be laughing.
    Get into reading, its the cheapest pastime i have.

Of course Tommy is wrong. I well remember when I left home and shared flats, we really did live cheaply.

Even when really broke, after some crazy weekends. We could always afford the food substitute called "Complan" a liquid flavoured 'meal in a mug', my favourite was strawberry. As far as I know, it's still available.

Those friends of mine who stayed at home until they got married. IMO made a major mistake never experiencing true freedom and independence. They went straight from their Mothers apron strings to a Wifes/substitute mothers. They still can not even boil an egg for themselves.

They simply ' have not lived '. Breaking away and facing the world head on, and learning how to stand on my own two feet was the best move I ever made in my life. ;)

Originally posted by echomadman
    One thing you might have overlooked is the cost of petrol though. If you're doing a lot of driving that'll suck up your cash reserves.

ive already budgeted for 20e a week for petrol, i dont live far from work and i dont plan on movin far,, ya see, i have thought of everythin:)
    Those friends of mine who stayed at home until they got married. IMO made a major mistake never experiencing true freedom and independence. They went straight from their Mothers apron strings to a Wifes/substitute mothers. They still can not even boil an egg for themselves. They simply ' have not lived '. Breaking away and facing the world head on, and learning how to stand on my own two feet was the best move I ever made in my life.

here here;)

Originally posted by Paddy20
    Of course Tommy is wrong. I well remember when I left home and shared flats, we really did live cheaply.
    I don’t want to seem impolite, but did we even have currency decimalization when you moved out of home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

ya see, i have thought of everythin:)

speaking from experience here, the amount of little things that soon add up to a large amount is shocking. You'll go to the shop to buy a carton of milk, end up spending €20, and when you get home there'll be a couple of bills waiting to wipe the smile off your face!

On the other hand, if it's what you really want to do, then go for it, it's all good man

The Corinthian,

No, I left home and headed for London before currency decimalisation. It was 1961 and I was only 15 years old.

I lived in the right place at the right time, through the revolution of the sixties . Christ it was great.

Back home and a hell of a lot older now, but I am still Rockin n Rollin around. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Originally posted by Tommy Vercetti
    speaking from experience here, the amount of little things that soon add up to a large amount is shocking. You'll go to the shop to buy a carton of milk, end up spending €20, and when you get home there'll be a couple of bills waiting to wipe the smile off your face!

i don't step into the shop with more than exact change any more, it's just *asking* for trouble..

Originally posted by Paddy20
    No, I left home and headed for London before currency decimalisation. It was 1961 and I was only 15 years old.
    Fair enough, but then using the experience of forty years ago to advise someone on a similar situation may well be erroneous? Indeed, I would hardly use my experience from ten years ago to advise him as I think it’s out of date.

After all we’re discussing Dublin (I think) in 2004, not London in 1961. Worlds apart.

Originally posted by Mordeth
    i don't step into the shop with more than exact change any more, it's just *asking* for trouble..

indeed, sure this happens to me even now,, im not stupid, i know money can go in an instant, sure this happens no matter how much of a budget ya have

The Corinthian,

What the hell are you on about :rolleyes: Children grow up and leave home, in order to gain their freedom and independance.

In fact I would like to see more young Irish males encouraged to do the same. Makes you learn about the world and how to survive in it. If you can not cope, you can always run back to Mammy.

IMO it's only natural for the young to leave the roost, no matter what era you are talking about.

Sorry, but your point of view. Is a bit backward, no offence meant.