Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being underage and in a pub

• 31-05-2004 11:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭

I know it's illegal for minors to be in a pub after 8 o'clock but I'd like to know if there's any sort of exceptions for musicians who are under the age of 18 playing in pubs after this time. I'd also like to know what your views on it are, should the law make an exception for musicians playing provided they leave after and don't be hanging around the pub? I know that the law places a lot of responsibility for keeping minors out on the premise holder.... responsibility meaning a big fat ****ing fine.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I never had problems being in a pub when I was under 18 - is this a new thing they're enforcing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

To be honest, it's not law that young people aren't in a pub after 8. I think some pubs have that rule to stop any confusion. If you are there and not drinking nothing will happen if the guards come in, afaik. If you are playing music there shouldn't be a problem, once you're not like 14 of something daft like that.

John

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Here's what you want from the Oasis site:
    Children
    Children (anyone under the age of 18) are only allowed in licensed premises if they are with a parent or guardian, but this provision carries certain restrictions. For example if accompanied by a parent/guardian, the child may remain on the premises between the hours of 10:30 a.m. - 9 p.m. (unless the licence holder feels this is injurious to the child's health, safety and welfare). Children aged between 15-17 years may remain on the premises after 9pm where they are attending a private function at which a substantial meal is served. All licensed premises must display a sign to this effect in a prominent place at all time and failure to do so can result in a fine of up to 25.40 euro for a first offence and 63.50 euro for a second and all subsequent offences.

If the licence holder is found guilty of allowing unsupervised children in his or her premises, a fine of up to 127 euro can be imposed on summary conviction in a District Court for a first offence. The fine is increased to 317.50 euro for a second and any subsequent conviction. Parents and guardians can also be guilty of an offence under the Act if their children are found to be in licensed premises without supervision. If the parent or guardian cannot prove that the child was there without his or her knowledge or permission, he or she can be fined up to 300 euro on summary conviction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

if your playing in the pub, they are making money off you and once your in they will probably serve you after the gig - you'll be grand, there is no way they'll kick you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

on a side note...which i found interesting the new harry potter film changed a scene from the book because they felt it was wrong to have 13 year olds going into a bar.

About under 18s playing a gig. Been to loads in my youth in the strictist bar, they have it that anyone who came for the band (i.e dressed in similar fashion, or general age group) will not be served without I.D and the band where to leave within half a hour of finishing...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

Originally posted by BlitzKrieg
    on a side note...which i found interesting the new harry potter film changed a scene from the book because they felt it was wrong to have 13 year olds going into a bar.

They changed that! omg! the three broomsticks held an important part in the plot!
    /me is sooooo angry :mad:
    I will be seeing this movie on friday and hope I am not too disappointed.

back on topic though....at certain boards, cough, beers, cough I have seen under age drinkers and no one ever said anything. I suppose if you are not acting like your 10 they wont have a problem with ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Guagi recently bought a quarter of a Galway pub called the Roisin Dubh. Our vocalist (who is 23, where the rest of us are 16, 16 and 17) knows him fairly well and was asking "hypothetically" if they'd let underage bands play. He said that it was totally out of the question for any pub because the fee all fell upon the license holder. I didn't think there'd be much of a problem.

Cheers for the link to the oasis site, didn't know it existed.

Thanks, grasshopa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

a couple of pubs in tramore (im sure its the same in most places) dont seem to care about who is in the pub. in 1 particular place the clientele range from 15-19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

fine of up to 25.40 euro

It is an awfully lame fine lol. I read the intoxicating liquor act, I wonder what they categorise as a "private function". Also it says that you're exempt from the rule if you're the son or daughter of the owner, if you're passing through or if you're employed by the pub... I smell a loophole in the last one.

Update: The Gardaí say you have to be a registered employee (i.e. tax etc) so I guess it is illegal... just have to find places that don't give a ****.

Is it different in cities than it is in rural areas? Most of my friends who work in a bar are under 18 and are not related to the licence holders. My friends and are never kicked out of pubs in our locality, but I it is harder in bigger towns/cities.

Fake I.D. is cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Most of my friends who work in a bar are under 18 and are not related to the licence holders.
    Guy above said that if you are a tax paying employee (ie on their books) its fine. You cant serve alcohol tho (as in pour it, u can bring it to their table tho afaik).

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    Guy above said that if you are a tax paying employee (ie on their books) its fine. You cant serve alcohol tho (as in pour it, u can bring it to their table tho afaik).

No, they pour, they serve, they are u18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

well im fairly sure ur not supposed to pour when your u 18 but i really aint too knowledgable on this topic. (more pub discussion than anything)