Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"THey said the guy without the seatbelt did the damage." - NO HE DIDN'T!

• 20-05-2004 6:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭

FFS! From where I'm watching it was the guy in the silver BMW who smacked into them. He pretty much done all the damage that could be done.
    And does anyone bitch about him?
    No.

3 dead in this vehicle the girl is critical- and the blame some guy who wouldn't wear a seatbelt in the back seat? NOBODY wears the seatbelt in the back- seatbelts in the back are for pussies. There wouldn't be a problem if this
    silver BMW prick hadn't ploughed into him. And then he gets away scott free! This is supposed to be a road safety ad for ****s sake! You tell me who's got permanent brain damage?

Where's the, "they said the spoilt little trinners **** in the silver BMW his daddy probably bought for him who was driving three times the speed limit on a small country road done the damage." Because he did, and anyone who says otherwise is blind and stupid.

(By the way I don't actually drive but that should in no way alter the fact that I'm right)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

seatbelts in the back are for pussies

You totaly missed the point of the ad then ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Originally posted by The Beer Baron
    ...NOBODY wears the seatbelt in the back- seatbelts in the back are for pussies...

Not too sure about that, but I also hate those adverts.

Simply for the fact that they don't work (road deaths are not on the decrease) and they are unsuitable for children.

They also miss the fact that most humans are completely selfish. The adverts would be much more effective if it was about killing or severely injuring yourself, not someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

And that wanker in the car was driving a stolen car, when i see the ad on UTV there's Northern Ireland number plates on the car, but when I see it on RTE the number plates are changed.

I think he stole the car in Belfast and was driving too fast getting away from the Gardai and then he hit the BMW

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I didn't
    young men are animals and need to be kept leashed and under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Finally! Someone else. "it was the guy without the seatbelt that did the damage" ... not the car on the wrong side of the road!?!?! I wonder could i drive past a garda checkpoint for drink driving detection on the wrong side of the road and not have anything said .. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Mordeth
    I didn't

You do get that vibe from all those ads dont you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Who cares tbh, its just an ad :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

You totaly missed the point of the ad then ?

what ad?

The one your ranting about......I guess its not right to call it a ad but i dont care

Originally posted by bizmark
    The one your ranting about......I guess its not right to call it a ad but i dont care
    The point of the ad. is sound. The way they communicated the point is insulting and offensive.

how'd you get hold of their next banner? It's going to replace "speed kills! slow down lads." (Blatant sexism) :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

the ad seems to be accepting that fatal accidents are just a totally unavoidable (and technically they are, but precautions can be taken) occurance and that if we don't wear our seatbelts.. it's our own fault what happens.

..fatal accidents are just a totally unavoidable (and technically they are, but precautions can be taken) occurance and that if we don't wear our seatbelts.. it's our own fault what happens.

so... crash whilst not wearing seatbelt... (and you survive)... the ambulance leaves you to bleed? Harsh but effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭jongore

NOBODY wears the seatbelt in the back- seatbelts in the back are for pussies.

Well nobody gets in my car unless they wear a seatbelt and I don't care how old they are or where they sit, an idiot is one who fails to use safety equipment when its provided.

The point the add was making is that accidents happen and they are not always your fault, if the guy had ben wearing a belt in the scenerio they showed everyone in the car would more then likely have lived.
    (By the way I don't actually drive but that should in no way alter the fact that I'm right)

With an attitude like you've just displayed I hope you never do drive and although the BMW casued the accident, the failure of the guy in the back to belt up contributed to the deaths and injuries so I'm afraid you are completly wrong.

It's typical Ireland.
    One woman is braindamaged.
    3 people dead.
    One guy who's DEAD get's the blame for what happened.

There's NO MENTION of the fact that the guy (or woman but from the driving we'll say guy) in the BMW actually caused the accident.
    NONE!

It's like saying, "look wear yer seatbelt because ye never know when some moron who shouldn't be on the road is gonna come rocketing down the middle of a small, windey country lane and end you life."

I mean, ok fair enough, it's true.
    Because we're hopeless drivers, I await a national safety council ad with some braindead jock wrapping his tarted-up honda civic around a pole @ 130mph and the caption, "yer dead and you deserve to be you wreckless braindead asshole- you also killed three people in another car who actually WERE wearing their seatbelts, airbags and armbands- you still killed them, your rear spoiler is now encrusted with blood - burn in hell you little ****!"

How's about that for a responsible and fitting advertisment for road safety.

That might be the point and (again) it's valid. He may have contributed to the damage sustained by the other passengers but to blame him solely is just ...wrong. "..they say it was the guy without the seatbelt.." - i don't hear him mentioning the car on the wrong side of the road.

edit: conspiracy theory: the other car going over the speed limit, on the wrong side of the road = State car... huh? huh? would explain the cover up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Originally posted by Karoma
    "speed kills! slow down lads." (Blatant sexism) :rolleyes:

it may seem sexist to you but unfortunately its based on fact. but thats a whole different argument.

the new ad with the four blokes in the car after picking up a pizza is done quite well.
    this effectively shows the difference the seatbelt in the back can make.
    same with that one where the mothers driving and her son is in the back. when they crash he loafs her and she dies from it.....all becuase he has no seatbelt on.

yea the BMW may have caused the accident but the people in the other car could have survived if the guy with no seatbelt hadnt been flying around the car smashing their heads in. the seatbelts are there for a reason, even if you do think they're for "pussies"

sorry beer baron but i think you're very wrong on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

all those ads miss the point completly. like the one where yer man scores in the soccer game and then goes for a few drinks and kills the little boy. moral of the story... BUILD A BETTER BACK WALL. hes got this flimsy fence on the other side of which is a main road. ffs, what does he expect, the fence to repel any vehicle that comes into contact with it. he should have a big brick wall. then the young lad wouildnt be dead and yer man wouldnt be going to prison, just to the cleaners with the insurance company.

if a sign states "lads" and lads only then it implies only lads speed*. No women speed? It might be based on a statistic-this doesn't mean it's fact.... enough. won't go into it (off topic and frustrating).

Methinks you're missing the point - it's not that the seatbeltless guy did damage-he did... it's that he gets the sole blame for it..htf!? Otherwise, the meaning is very much like smoke-me-a-kipper's interp. of the other ad. (...external cause... but ****it! it's your fault...)

*if all zims are zams, then are all zams zims?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Me reckons straight motorways are the safest of all. Almost all of the road deaths are happening on winding country roads, out side dublin. I say get rid of the crap twisty roads and put a dead straight motorway from Cork-Dublin-Belfast-Galway. Funny how insurance in Dublin is dearer, when most fatal accidents are outside. Probably the thieving scum element.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

The thing that gets me about all these ads is that it's always the bloke to blame.

Ad 1: Bloke driving car is having a good ogle of a bit of skirt passing on the footbath

Ad 2: Young lad texting his g/f, walks in front of van...

Ad 3: Drink driver mows down the child in the front garden - bloke of course

Ad 4: "The one without the seatbelt did the damage" - bloke driving, probably bloke driving the BM, bloke didn't wear seatbelt.

Ad 5: Bloke in a wheelchair with basketball - "slow down boys"

I don't care about statistics but we aren't to blame for every accident on the road.

I'd love to see an ad with the roles reversed and see the outcry.

Originally posted by Karoma

Methinks you're missing the point - it's not that the seatbeltless guy did damage-he did... it's that he gets the sole blame for it..htf!? [/SIZE]

well each person to their own interpretation and all. i understood that the point of that ad was awareness of what could happen without seatbelts being worn in the back, because unfortunately many people are of the same opinion as Beer Baron and see seatbelts in backseats being only for "pussies".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭qwertyphobia

fear doesn't motivate long term behaviour change and can in some circumstances inhibit it.

The people who make the adds know they will have little influence on roads deaths or behaviour. But the general public want them because they belive they work "sure if it scares me when I am watching TV it must stop the young peopel when they are in their cars" It doesn't have that effect.

It's about being seen to do something rather then actually doing something that will promote change in behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

ffs. Spot the belligerant little f***** who doesn't like Daddy making him wear his seatbelt. Sure the ads are crap but they have actually been proven to work. It's why we started to use them, about 10 years after the Australians invented. They may not prevent all avoidable accidents but they certainly help save some lives which can't be a bad thing.

peachypants will you lay of the pussies thing?
    It was A, an attempt @ humour, B an observation that amoung Irish ppl not wearing seatbelts is still seen as pointless let alone in the back seat.

The issue is this- dumbass without a seatbelt, that's not really the issue is it?
    He should be wearing his seatbelt- fair enough. We get the point, but it's a pretty stupidly made point. A rather simple, crash, fly thrpugh window, shoulder knocks head of frontside passanger, guy goes flying through windscreen- bam fronside passanger dead, bam, guy goes sailing thru windshield- and hey, let's not have the "hip" music please!

Sleepy, my dad's lived outside the country since I was three so no that's not the point @ all. I always wear my seatbelt, go back to sleep will ye?

qwertyphobia's completly right of course.
    Ireland's getting like a mucksavage-microcosm of the Fox news fearmachine.
    I put on the news, this will kill you, so will that, so will these and of course those.
    A European study says we're this this and this, we do too much of this, not enough of that and even if we aren't all alcoholic sex deviants who smoke ciggarettes who sleep on the job, eat too much fatty food, don't exercise enough and every food additive doesn't poison us, or a tsunami of twenty tons of rubbish suddenly becomes sentient and decides to smother us in our own filth we still got Radon gas to contend with. That's RTE news every night of the ****ing week. Not to mention the public safety ads telling us to wash our hands, wipe our arse, slow down, speed up, not look at a bitta skirt, not send text messages, etc, etc...

Pumping us full of fear, giving us ever more gruesome images of road-carnage during prime time hours isn't going to make ppl go, "oh! I better put on my seatbelt. Even having the cops harrass us and remove "points" ain't gonna do it. Make the damn driving test harder! I mean hey, it's easy for me to pick up my rules of the road handbook and learn the **** and then forget it because I don't have to worry about it because I already have my licence. In the same way as I forgot 99% of the crap I leanred in school because I passed my leaving and later dropped out of college.

You ask most people what the remember from that ad it's the crunch and the even more sickening "body to body" track. INFORMING people is a lot better than scaring the bejayzuz out of em. It's preferable to try and explain the dangers in a sensible manner. It's also nice to think that somewhere @ governmental level, there's somebody who thinks, "Hey! maybe everyone in this country isn't a moron after all!" (just a large majority)
    You know, they might as well say to us, "WEAR YOUR SEATBELT OR THE BOOGIEMAN WILL GET YOU!"

Besides, whatever happened to common sense?
    I never get into a car without wearing a seatbelt. I'm not the problem.
    The problem is the people who can't drive.

We shouldn't be lectured about these things, we should KNOW them.

Here's my new slogan, "OI! MORONS! COP THE **** ON LIKE!"- from the National Safety Council supported by the Beer Baron.

(Oh and jongore, I am right so nyeeaah!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

I do agree with the topic, these ads are no more than the government trying to put right the in-justice they did by not introducing my idea of a manditory operation at birth to replace everyone's skelaton with a rubber "pretend" one, so when we do crash our silly little car's, we bounce like drunken monkeys and all go for a drink and laugh and drive home drunk, what does it matter rubber-bones!!!

Smart; I think so

at the end of the day its better to raise awareness than have nothing at all. should we not address the problem just because u think their adverts are ineffective? as sleepy already said, these ads do work.
    each of the ads are focusing on different aspects of road accidents.
    the one with "the guy without the seatbelt" is clearly focusing on wearing seatbelts
    the one with the kid in the back garden is focusing on alcohol affecting response times
    the one with the kid texting while crossing the road is focusing on speeding andthe need for pedestrians to pay attention.

you might find them useless but they do raise awareness which can only be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Sleepy, my dad's lived outside the country since I was three so no that's not the point @ all. I always wear my seatbelt, go back to sleep will ye?
    That doesn't counter the argument that these ads have been proven to work to a certain extent. Personally, I find the basketball ad extremely effective. They get the message across. I will agree with you on one thing though, I'd love to see one with some little knacker in a souped up Corsa wrapped around a tree with the tag line "you're dead, and you deserve to be" :D .

In the same way footage of enervated African babies being eaten alive by flies raises awareness about famine in Africa- it kinda looses its effectiveness after the first 11,000 times you see it.

There's better ways to go about it.

Like for speeding, not actually having speed traps on main motorways so we slow down when we see a cop but actually having them arrest people who speed on small country roads or, like right outside the place where I work where I was almost knocked down 3 separate times- it's a small alley, with busy streets @ either side- cars just rocket down there full speed, whilst they crawl on motorways.

What's goin' on like?

tbh these ppl should be arrested but won't.
    Enlightened road safety campaigns, rather than scaremongering, and a tougher clampdown on offenders not just on busy motorways where the cops are easily avoided.

That doesn't counter the argument that these ads have been proven to work to a certain extent.

To a certain extent.
    Far from solving the problem.
    It'll take more than silly ads.
    It'll take a lot, lot more.

(once again I don't drive- hoping to get my licence this year, but I'd welcome a much harder testing programe designed not weed out reckless drivers and just get them off the roads- otherwise I might as well give up and never ever ever be able to afford insurance)

Originally posted by peachypants
    well each person to their own interpretation and all. i understood that the point of that ad was awareness of what could happen without seatbelts being worn in the back, because unfortunately many people are of the same opinion as Beer Baron and see seatbelts in backseats being only for "pussies".

There is only one interpertation - the cop blames the guy not wearing the seatbelt...
    Why not just have a plain ol' crash where some clown isn't wearing a seatbelt and smashes up his mates? Not enough shock factor.
    Shock tactics used by the nanny state we find ourselves immersed in will do nothing in the long run. Save the money and use it for something useful - like paying to re-examine drivers every n years or something (it'd cull the over 50's on the road,incapable of seeing.... *grumble* )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, I think the point of the ad was missed, but they could have done it much better. That was one thing I always asked about that ad, why the hell the other car was blatantly driving down the wrong side of the road, despite there being plenty of road behind him, i.e. plenty of time to see the other car.

Anywho, the UK did a far superior ad, creeped me out every time. Young man gets into the car with his Mother and sister, Mother driving, sister in passenger seat, boy sitting behind Mother in back seat (yeah why is it always the men at fault?). They're driving along, mother is watching a suspicious van in her rear view mirror, a bit too much - she sees the van turning away, but fails to notice the traffic stopped in front of her, looks up, slams on brakes, ploughs into car in front of her anyway. At which point her son gets thrown forward, his head and body smashng his mother's face into the steering wheel, killing her, no less. Boy comes to with bloody nose and shrieking sister, and dead mother.

Creeped me out every time. And then the UK channels pulled it because too many biddies complained that it was 'disturbing'. THAT WAS THE FUCKING POINT YOU MORONS!

I always wear a seatbelt in the back. Trust me, smashing your face off the back of a headrest at 40mph is not a pleasant experience, which I've had first hand. Lucky, it was a headrest with the centre bit taken out, and I was on target, so I just got a bruise on my head, cracked two teeth, and the bit of bone under my jaw where the teeth slot into.

Actually on the point of always men at fault - the ad where the mother and young kid get mown down - that silly cow should also have been looking where she was going. You don't just cross the road without looking and seeing the car approaching. What kind of lesson is that to your son, whos brains are all over the tarmac?

What kind of lesson is that to your son, whos brains are all over the tarmac?
    er, i think little Timmy has a learning disability now.

Some of them are just funny. the one where someone is hit..sent flying... just funny... can't explain why.

Why is it that a film or news clip with graphic seens must forewarn people about forthcoming scene-but they can just slap this sorta crap in front of you without warning? (Perhaps not quite as graphic,but psychologically disturbing) Double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

NOBODY wears the seatbelt in the back- seatbelts in the back are for pussies.

I wear a seatbelt if I am in the back.
    People use em for securing down babies seats....

Are they "pussies"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

It's like saying, "look wear yer seatbelt because ye never know when some moron who shouldn't be on the road is gonna come rocketing down the middle of a small, windey country lane and end you life."
    I think that was the whole point of the ad, to scare you into wearing seat belts to reduce risk of dieing. You should wear one whereever the hell you're sitting anyways, I wouldn't calling wearing seat belts in the back being a pussy, you really have a weird way of looking at things. :confused:

continue to read. it was obviously taking the piss :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

The point of the ad is good. The ad itself - terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭monkeymagic

Does anyone else wish they put Pinball Wizard on the soundtrack for when he's bumping around the car? Maybe I'm just getting cynical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

NOBODY wears the seatbelt in the back-

They do in the back of my car. For my self preservation, and because it's the law.

But those ads - they're just a bit crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

and in the ad with the fleetwood mac song where the guy goes through the fence i refuse to believe that by hitting a kerb like that a car will go flipping though the air, the word bollox comes to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

There wouldn't be a problem if this
    silver BMW prick hadn't ploughed into him.

Not making sweeping generalisations or anything, but all BMW drivers are pricks. I wonder why BMW bother fitting indicators or mirrors in the factory. :rolleyes: Anyway, as for not wearing a seatbelt in the back? Why would someone be stupid enough not to wear one? That ad where the son in the back kills the mother when he comes flying through the back of the seat illustrates why belting up in the back is a good idea. Or maybe people who don't wear seatbelts are all just well-deserving Darwin Award winners...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭woolymammoth

weird.. almost a year. almost.

here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Johnny Versace

Simply for the fact that they don't work (road deaths are not on the decrease)

They do work. The Drink Driving ones had a massive affect on the road deaths related to drink driving in N.I. and the Republic. The speed ones have had a minor effect and the seatbelt ones have only started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

I think the best add was from a few years ago, where they tell you how in an average collision your weight is multiplied to that of a baby elephant, so smashing in the seat infront of you and mashing the passenger is a very real possibility.
    I feel naked in a car without wearing a seatbelt. (rarr)
    Think the whole point was that - sure, you mightn't care if you go flying through the windshield, but it's not just your own life you're putting at risk.

And that add where the woman is checking out the suspicious van behind her - I totaly agree, it gets me every time... it's very well done, they distract your attention away from what's going to happen, unlike the rest of these poxy adds that build up to the crash with this ominous music and close-ups on people laughing.
    Seems more real that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

To a certain extent.
    Far from solving the problem.
    It'll take more than silly ads.
    It'll take a lot, lot more.

(once again I don't drive- hoping to get my licence this year, but I'd welcome a much harder testing programe designed not weed out reckless drivers and just get them off the roads- otherwise I might as well give up and never ever ever be able to afford insurance)

So will a harder testing programme 'solve the problem' where the ads failed?

There is no one solution because there is no one problem. you have to educate drivers on as many aspects of road safety as possible.
    That would also include teaching people that not wearing seatbelts in the back can cause serious injuries.

Personally, if I am involved in a crash I don't want a +90kg weight travelling at 40-60 m.p.h hitting the back of my head if I can avoid it.
    So anyone in the back is wearing seatbelt or they're not going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Manchegan

You know, they might as well say to us, "WEAR YOUR SEATBELT OR THE BOOGIEMAN WILL GET YOU!"

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    ...the ad with the fleetwood mac song...

An equally minor and irrelevant gripe I have is with that ad. "Man of the World", a beautiful song, will now forever be associated in my mind with a jock killing a child.

Unlike TBB, though, I'll acquiesce and buckle up. Just call me Mr. Bigglesworth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Manchegan
    An equally minor and irrelevant gripe I have is with that ad. "Man of the World", a beautiful song, will now forever be associated in my mind with a jock killing a child.
    Indeed. Though I like to play it in the car coming back from soccer practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    Not too sure about that, but I also hate those adverts.

Simply for the fact that they don't work (road deaths are not on the decrease) and they are unsuitable for children.

They also miss the fact that most humans are completely selfish. The adverts would be much more effective if it was about killing or severely injuring yourself, not someone else.

The guy without the seatbelt died( which is some sort of injury ) Remember , if his gf ended up with permanent brain damage i prosume she lived , and there was 3 dead in the vehicle . ( 4 inside it altogether )

I'd say the ones with the woman holding the child feeding the guy (that crashed his bike) or the wheelchair/basketball (to a lesser extent) ones are more lasting in peoples memories. People are (as stated) selfish.

going out with "did the damage" guy she was a bit braindamaged in the first place.

And will all yee seatbelt-pussies actually READ what I sed and stop jumping on the bitch-@-me-to-look-mature bandwagon. I mentioned at least twice that:

I WEAR MY ****ING SEATBELT! ALL THE ****ING TIME!

I swear some ppl use this site to look at the pictures or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

I WEAR MY ****ING SEATBELT! ALL THE ****ING TIME!

Aye with the way yer GF drives I would too. :D

I was made get 10 driving lessons before i was insured on the car at home, back when i turned 17. Since then I feel physically uncomfortable when not wearing a seatbelt, front or back in a car.

Mandatory Driver training like most countries in europe have, would ingrain these habits in people before they are let out in the wild, and would stop these fucking honda-civic with an ironingboard glued on twats from pushing my premiums through the roof.

These ads have no effect on their target audience, we grew up watching the A-team and Knight Rider, CAR CRASHES FUCKING RULE MAAAN (this is sarcasm of a sort, before the PC brigade come in wagging their fingers and making clucking noises), latterly explicit gore is commonplace in mainstream media. All these ads do is desensitise me a litle more every time i see them.