Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Price on this pc

• 18-05-2004 9:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭

Im looking to sell a pc in the next month or so , as ill be upgrading.
    This is a DELL pc btw

19" Flat Panel CRT
    Intel 2.4C Processor
    512 DDR PC3200 RAM
    120gb Hard disk
    ATI 9800 PRO
    Audigy 2 sound card
    4 point Altec Lansing Speakers with Sub-Woofer
    WinXP Home
    10/100 NIC

Any ideas lads? Would i get a grand for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

7 here maybe 8 or 9 outside.

No TFT means joe soap buy a 700 Dell .

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

damnit Id sooner hold on to it than lose that amount of cash on it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

Yea id agree with KdjaC, your talkin roughly €700 on the boards....... more in the likes of the B&S.

[edit] Dvd writer add €60 depending on model........

Originally posted by L5
    damnit Id sooner hold on to it than lose that amount of cash on it. :rolleyes:

Seriously sucks you build them then when you need the cash you write off over half price on them. I sold 2 here out of need for cash and prices i got made me and that jebus lad cry.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

I'd say you would get a grand for it. Good graphics card but joesoap would probably only look at the processor speed and monitor.

I'd advertise it for a grand. Those 2.4c's are great overclockers. You can get 3.0-3.4ghz with them but not on a Dell unfortunately. The 9800pro can be flashed to an xt as well. Are you sure you need to upgrade?

BloodBath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

I dont really _need_ to upgrade, its just that id like to. When i bought the pc i knew feck all about building a pc and thought itd be best to just go for Dell. Now i reckon id be able to put one together myself and make a really good one for 1500 euro. I might hold off until the end of the summer though.

Save your money and just buy a new motherboard and a good heatsink like an sp-94 and overclock your processor to 3.0 or above.

Also flash the BIOS on your graphics cart to the xt BIOS and your looking at a big performance increase for only 150 euro.

BloodBath

PC World and Dell have a PC with TFT and P4 3.06 for 799 atm with all the bells and whistles on printer etc.

My pc would actually make me money if i sold it , KV7 2400XP@2266 512 2700RAm ,80Gb HD , CDRW ,9200SE 17" monitor CRT cost me about €220 so far.
    Would get 450 for it if i was lucky.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Originally posted by BloodBath

Also flash the BIOS on your graphics cart to the xt BIOS

so you know his card has a r360 core and not a r350
    amazing how can you tell?

Don't be such a smart fu*ker tuxx, it doesn't suit you.

Most 9800pro's will. Even if it doesn't he could still get a good overclock out of it raising the core and memory manually.

BloodBath

Originally posted by BloodBath
    Don't be such a smart fu*ker tuxx, it doesn't suit you.

Most 9800pro's will. Even if it doesn't he could still get a good overclock out of it raising the core and memory manually.

BloodBath

most that are in production now yes
    who knows when the ones dells use were made
    you shouldnt give people advice with out giving them full details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Why not just buy and new case and motherboard and transfer the components over?

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Why not just buy and new case and motherboard and transfer the components over?

yup thats probably the best option alot of the parts u have are good and could be salvaged and it should work out cheaper that way than selling that system and starting from scratch