Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have I been scammed?

• 14-04-2004 4:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭

Word up.

I ordered some stuff online the other day. My credit card was charged EUR 51.40.

A few days later a received this e-mail...

> Dear customer,
    > We have refunded your credit card for your purchase due to the fact
    > that the items are out of stock. You should see your account credited
    > from H
    > & H Enterprises in 3 to 4 business days. We are sorry for any
    > inconvenience this may have caused you .
    > Kind regards, Sheila customer service

I just checked my CC statement and they only refunded EUR 48.77.

Could this simply be the exchange rate between Dollars and Euros changing (I placed the order about 2 weeks ago) or is it a scam? Obviously I am not going to bother doing a chargeback for a few Euros...

Any ideas?

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

its most likely just currency changes over the 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

true.
    But you gave them 51.40 so they owe you 51.40.

If the exchange rate changes, that's not your problem.

it is your problem a seller has no control over the exchange so they would put back on say $40 but is the exchange rate change they dont have to put on say $42 to make up the difference. Welcome to the real world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

ah, I could correct you but I'd rather go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

You purchased goods worth $x say, So that's what they refund. They cannt be held liable for the currency market fluctuations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

TCP/IP is right, I queried it with BOI Credit Card Services before. Your transaction took place under their law, therefore their currency is the one that holds precedent for refunds.

Thank you that is better put than I said but true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Well that sorts that out!

Another satisfied customer!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Originally posted by Sleipnir
    true.
    But you gave them 51.40 so they owe you 51.40.

If the exchange rate changes, that's not your problem.

Wrong. He paid them in US$, and they gave him the same amount back in US$.

The exchange rate is his problem.

But, I would say it is a bank charge on an international transaction, rather than the actual exchange rate changing that much.

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    Word up.

I ordered some stuff online the other day.
    Am I the only one who read this as "I ordered some porn online the other day."?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Am I the only one who read this as "I ordered some porn online the other day."?

HAH! No...

It was pepper spray actually...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Why are you spending €50 on pepper spray? Spend some more and get a tazer :D

Originally posted by RobertFoster
    Why are you spending €50 on pepper spray? Spend some more and get a tazer :D

It wasn't for me. It has to be purse/female friendly.

I don't think girls like tazers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

:dunno: I thought pepper spray was illegal here?

Originally posted by fozzle
    :dunno: I thought pepper spray was illegal here?

It is indeed, but I can't imagine going to prison for carrying it...

Also, it's for someone who really needs it. It's a long story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Perhaps, but as far as I know you can be charged with assault even if you use it in self defense, it's considered "pre-meditated" or something along those lines. I used to always carry a knife but if I'm gonna get in sh1t for it I'd rather just learn some form of martial art.

Originally posted by fozzle
    Perhaps, but as far as I know you can be charged with assault even if you use it in self defense, it's considered "pre-meditated" or something along those lines. I used to always carry a knife but if I'm gonna get in sh1t for it I'd rather just learn some form of martial art.

Yeah...

I'm pretty certain in this case the police would be very sympathetic. As I said, long story!

Anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

It wasn't for me. It has to be purse/female friendly.

I don't think girls like tazers

I like tazers. But I'm not like most people. Out of interest, did you find pepper spray in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

It's odd here when you think about it. In America you can shoot someone who enters your home. But here, if a tresspasser injures themself on your property (you don't even have to be involved), you're liable :dunno:

The house was broken into a few years back. The Garda told my dad, that if he had attacked the person who broke in, he would have been better off to drag him off the property then to leave him. I don't think the self defense rule can work here...

Originally posted by jill_valentine
    I like tazers. But I'm not like most people. Out of interest, did you find pepper spray in the end?

I did find some, however I managed to pretty much resolve the original matter (the reason for needing the pepper spray in the first place.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Okay,

If you haven't got the credit card situation sorted it was due to two things.

1. Exchange rate fluctuations, and

2. The charge for a non-euro transaction (factored into the exchange rate you'll see on your statement).

To get the difference back onto your card you need to call them up ( your credit card company ), tell them what happened and they can and should credit the difference back on to your account but this could take a day or two.

'tis all coming back to me now.

I still like tazers.

*twitch*

And in fairness RobertFoster, we trade the right to shoot burglars for the right not to be shot by them, by and large. If a burglar expects to be shot at, he'll come armed. However the stupid I-slipped-in-the-blood-I-beat-out-of-you-give-me-4-grand liability system is dumb, that I'll agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

It seems kinda dumb you can't carry pepper spray. What if you carried hair spray? Would that be illegal if you used it on an attacker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

don't forget the credit cards slap on about 2.5% for foreign currency transactions on the card as well. so add on that 2.5% to the exchange rate you get on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Johnny tell us how you resolved it, ive been following your story on some other threads recently, its an interesting story, even if dangerous!

I think the pepper spray was a damn good idea from what I read in PI. Would also be interested to hear how you resolved that if you feel like giving those of us that were following the story the end of it.

Sorry if I'm dragging this off topic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Self defence is not an accepted defense for anything under Irish law.

But on another note. What website are you getting this from? Would love to have a look at their stuff.

Pepper spray is just as much an offensive weapon as defensive. If I was a mugger I'd love to have the stuff. Spray. Take. Run. Easy. -no knives or syringes or asking for money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Originally posted by fluffer
    Self defence is not an accepted defense for anything under Irish law.

But on another note. What website are you getting this from? Would love to have a look at their stuff.

Pepper spray is just as much an offensive weapon as defensive. If I was a mugger I'd love to have the stuff. Spray. Take. Run. Easy. -no knives or syringes or asking for money...

http://www.h-and-h-enterprises.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Lads,
    See the posts on pepper spray etc. under Sports-Martial Arts here on boards.
    You can't have pepper spray or anything else to hurt someone with, and even if you had no intention of hurting anyone,the fact you have something on you is taken as proof of intent.
    Also, I'm on a few US forums where they are into Self Defense etc. and they have no mass on Tazers,Myotrons etc. and would prefer a solid flashlight or walking stick over shocky things.

Also, I'm on a few US forums where they are into Self Defense etc. and they have no mass on Tazers,Myotrons etc. and would prefer a solid flashlight or walking stick over shocky things

Yeah but you have to know how to use blunt instruments. Like a gun, a taser is for people who cant fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Don't you think this thread has gone off topic enough? Clossssssseeeee iiiiiittttt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

lads DONT click on the h and h enterprises link. When i do i get a virus warning bloodhound high risk!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Yep, same here. Dodgey ****, well anywhere is that sells that crap.

Originally posted by L5
    Johnny tell us how you resolved it, ive been following your story on some other threads recently, its an interesting story, even if dangerous!

Basically I made him think about how easily I could get him deported.

He's still being a c*nt (he's simply changed from violence to mind games/that kind of thing), but at least the physical threats have been stopped.

I do not like him though, and would get him kicked out of Ireland if my girlfriend wasn't so against the idea (again, long story...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Originally posted by Musashi
    Lads,

You can't have pepper spray or anything else to hurt someone with, and even if you had no intention of hurting anyone,

Also, I'm on a few US forums where they are into Self Defense etc. and they have no mass on Tazers,Myotrons etc. and would prefer a solid flashlight or walking stick over shocky things.

There is a new thing out called X mark spray it dosent hurt it just sprays a liquid that expands and turns blue and sticky.You are allowed to have it in the Uk and Ireland aswell.Its not classified as pepper spray would be as a weapon because it dosent actually hurt you.

Im also on forums in the Us but they are more towards the idea of homemade weaponry and homemade pepper spray etc probably because they can understand the power and the only time to use it is in a life/death situation.

I'm fascinated by this X Mark Spray stuff...so its just sort of a distraction rather than a weapon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

50 euro for pepper spray? Seems fairly expensive to me. When I was over in LA last summer I picked up a deadly little pepper spray thing for 5 dollars. It looks just like a pen, put when you take the cap of the pen off, there is a spray thing instead of a nib. It's small enough to fit in any of my bags, but I hardly ever take it out cos I'm too scared of being caught with it by the Guards. The same place I got it in was selling tazers for 20 dollars

Originally posted by blondie83
    50 euro for pepper spray?

There was a lot of it being imported :D

quote:

"Yeah but you have to know how to use blunt instruments. Like a gun, a taser is for people who cant fight."

Most people find blunt instruments fairly instinctive to use,give a hurler or golfer an Escrima stick and he'll do ok.Old grannies whup young pups all the time :)

Unlike a Taser a gun kills, and anyone who can't fight will probably be killed with there own gun.Even trained police in the states have emptied there service weapons and hit nothing they were aimed at.Pistols are hard to aim due to the short barrel and sight radius.
    Anecdotal evidence suggests Tasers etc. are more an annoyance than anything,A friend of mine had one so I'll see if I can test/prove this.Also, the higher rated tasers do not shock "harder", they just recharge for another go more quickly.
    Legging it is for people who can't fight :)

Found this for ya.
    Philadelphia Inquirer on Friday 2/22/04.

Police kill Center City man

Called to commit him to a psychiatric hospital, they shot him after he sliced one officer in the hand.

By Ira Porter

Inquirer Staff Writer

Police shot and killed a man who they said sliced an officer in the hand with a knife in his Center City apartment yesterday.

The sequence of events leading to the deadly confrontation began Wednesday, when Julio Morais, 57, went to a social-work agency in the city and threatened the workers, according to police Chief Inspector Robert Davis.

The social workers got an order to have Morais involuntarily committed to a psychiatric hospital.

The social workers went to Morais' home, in the 1100 block of Locust Street, yesterday to carry out the order but called police about 11:30 a.m. when Morais refused to go to the hospital. Morais threw items out his window at officers, Davis said, and a SWAT team was called.

Morais continued to resist, and the officers tried to subdue him with a Taser (stun) device, Davis said.

But Morais went after them with a knife, cutting Officer Patrick McFadden, a 15-year-veteran, in the left hand during a scuffle.

At that point, a SWAT officer fired a single shot at Morais, hitting him in the head.

Morais was declared dead at the scene.

McFadden was taken to Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, where he was reported to be in good condition.

Neighbors said Morais had a history of psychiatric problems and had turned increasingly hostile in recent years.

and this:

http://www.dailyherald.com/news_sto...?intid=37869100

Stun-gun victim knew to fight back
    By Dave Orrick Daily Herald Legal Affairs Writer
    Posted September 05, 2003

When she first felt the searing sting in her back, the 22-year-old suburban woman was terrified.

A 6-foot-6, 220-pound man she had never met had his arm around her slight 5-foot-3 frame and was throwing her to the ground in a parking lot at Woodfield mall.

Her dinner out had turned into a nightmare. She thought she was being stabbed. Her attacker smiled.

But when she glimpsed at the weapon he was wielding, she relaxed just a bit. She'd seen it before. In fact, she had used it on herself only a few weeks earlier.

"I knew what it was, so I wasn't as scared," she recalled Thursday shortly after a judge found Joseph Patrick Frawley, 41, of Woodstock guilty in the attack. "A stun gun hurts, but it's not going to kill you."

The woman, who spoke on condition that she not be named, knew exactly what an electrified stun gun feels like. Weeks before the November 2002 incident, she had zapped herself with one at a citizens police academy in Buffalo Grove.

In an interview outside the courtroom where Frawley was convicted, she said she had attended the seminar "for fun" and noticed a stun gun was on display.

"The batteries were still charged, and I wanted to see what it felt like," recalled the woman. "I shocked myself in the leg."

It was a coincidence that gave her courage her to fight back that evening in the Woodfield parking lot.

With Frawley on top of her and trying to cover her mouth as he repeatedly shocked her with the stun gun, the woman, now cool-headed in the belief her life wasn't in immediate danger, kicked and screamed. Fransisca Romero, a 26-year-old Chicago woman finishing up a day of shopping, heard.

"Seeing her helpless on the ground - I don't know, maybe I thought of my sisters being like that - I freaked out," recalled the 5-foot-4 Romero, who charged at Frawley, screaming obscenities.

Frawley took off, and Romero, arms laden with shopping bags, pursued.

"Why he ran from me, I don't know," she said Thursday in the county courthouse in Rolling Meadows. "I don't have any idea what I would have done if I caught him."

She didn't. But 10 minutes later, Frawley returned to the scene, apparently to retrieve his pickup a few cars away.

By then, police were there, and the 22-year-old victim yelled to him, "Smile like you did when you were attacking me, you (expletive)!"

Frawley obliged, and that's when she identified him.

On Thursday, Cook County Judge John Scotillo found Frawley guilty of armed violence, attempted kidnapping, unlawful restraint and aggravated unlawful use of a weapon. A Sept. 26 sentencing hearing is scheduled, and Frawley faces up to 30 years in prison.

Defense attorney Thomas Brandstrader acknowledged Frawley committed the attack. However, he disputed that Frawley had planned, as prosecutors say he told police, to complete a "fantasy" to dominate a woman.

Police later learned Frawley was carrying a pocket knife, a roll of duct tape and a condom, all of which were admitted as evidence in the trial.

Schaumburg police said he told them he wanted to get the 22-year-old into her minivan and perform a sex act in front of her. Brandstrader disputes that Frawley made such a statement, and Frawley was not charged with a sex crime.

Legging it is for people who can't fight

Nah. I think legging it is the smart mans answer. Problem is that none of us are smart enough to do that.
    Even trained police in the states have emptied there service weapons and hit nothing they were aimed at.Pistols are hard to aim due to the short barrel and sight radius.

If you've ever fired one you'd know this to be untrue. It isnt the pistols fault the bullets dont hit. Its a policeman nervous, pumped, and scared, pulling the trigger, and not aiming like he would at the range. And then some people just have no aim.

I,ve fired pistols and I'd always prefer a rifle or shotgun.
    Pistol might be ok at contact range, but since they are illegal here it's a moot point.
    I can hit with a hand gun but not as handily as with a "long"
    Cheers