Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

booze please!

• 08-04-2004 10:55pm
    Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭

anyone know anywhere that you can drink on good friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭TheWolf

At home? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

a house party........ unless your very friendly with someone who owns a pub..
    it's the one day you'd be dying for a pint ha ha:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

oh ffs, this age old question. Why didn't you buy your booze this evening? somehing about the trains being able to serve drink if your that desperate? watch TV3 tomorrow, they'll have some pathetic report on the Good Friday Booze ban and the search for places where booze can be served. - every year they do it.

Originally posted by agent smith

Ahh i know where your coming from.. i always forget to get it in and end up scabbing off people tomorrow.. and wouldn't bother any other night.... it's the drought.ha ha

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

ITS JUST ONE DAY FFS!!!!

this country :rolleyes: :D

Flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mickeyboymel

Take a day trip to Hollyhead on the Ferry and drink and smoke all the way over and back!!!!

Originally posted by flogen
    ITS JUST ONE DAY FFS!!!!

Flogen

now you've shamed me flogen (hangs head)...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

yes,yes, i forgot to go.

and it's not even as if i drink a lot....

the holyhead idea is not a bad one!

yes,yes, i forgot to go.

and it's not even as if i drink a lot....

the holyhead idea is not a bad one!

if yr going, can i come???????
    promise to only have one pint.. just one, really just one..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Try Norn Iron else it will be wails..

It's a long shot and would require bladder control - but you may be able to get root beer or other low alcohol drinks (~1%) in a supermarket ...

Liquers - but chocolates in large amounts are laxitives.

Put up an add on the Wanted forum - tinnies, cash , will collect etc.

Originally posted by Lainey
    if yr going, can i come???????
    promise to only have one pint.. just one, really just one..
    ]

depends, what you look like?

and when women are out with me, i always pay :):);)

]

depends, what you look like?

and when women are out with me, i always pay :):);)

eh, i look just fine, but i wasn't asking for anything but a drinking partner and last time i checked that didn't requre special features ha ha

and i always pay my share.. ;)

the world need's more woman like you....

just bought a bottle of vodka off a mate, tis all good!

the world need's more woman like you....

just bought a bottle of vodka off a mate, tis all good!

not many like me ha ha.. joking..:D

good for you, vodka..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

You can drink on trains, once it is in motion. You can drink in the departures lounge in an airport..... assuming they will actually open the bars at these locations. But it is in fact legal to drink in the afformentioned places.

John...

P.S., we sold so much wine in work tonight. Tomorrow, there will be people begging me to sell them some wine.

As said before, it's only one Day FFS

John

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I have a bottle of vodka and a bottle of Smirnoff Ice and some cans. I don't intend to drink any just because we have one day without drinking :rolleyes:

Anyone else notice that town was VERY busy on Wednesday night because all the little Irish knackers couldn't go out and get pissed, in the same way, this Thursday or Friday?

Originally posted by ixoy
    I have a bottle of vodka and a bottle of Smirnoff Ice and some cans. I don't intend to drink any just because we have one day without drinking :rolleyes:

can i have them then :D (only jokin)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Bottle of Jagermeister, Malibu and Pineapple, mmmmm :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

In my home town, everyone gets pie eyed on Good Friday.

I went out to the off licence last night and bought booze.

After 12 midnight, I started to drink..... got drunk...... had an eight hour snooze.

Going to eat a bit, do stuff, then get drunk again.

Getting drunk at home - only way to fly.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

oh how wonderful it is to have your own gaf with bottles of wine just waiting for you to come home to them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Sweet jesus, it's only 1 day. If you're that much of an alchoholic you should be keeping a stash of whiskey for drinking when the family's not looking anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Somehow the raging alcoholism thats being displayed here makes my own seem less... raging.

If you cant survive for 1 day without a drink then you have a problem. Go get yourself a few bottles of coke and a tube of pringles and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Ugh, drink, not even over last nights hangover yet...

Am getting the train home tonight though so I might partake of one or two hair of the dog...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Last year I got booze from a supermarket, you could try getting wine from a garage too.

If you cant survive for 1 day without a drink then you have a problem. Go get yourself a few bottles of coke and a tube of pringles and you'll be grand.

Ah the sugar molecule, almost identical to the alchohol molecule but suitable for kids :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭fragile

Maybe this is just another urban myth that I have fallen for, but I thought that there was a small number of pubs (<10) in Ireland that could open all year round, something to do with archaic licensing laws about being beside a port and needing to stay open for sailors and such like. I think there's one on the Connemara road near Spiddal, or then again I'm probably just talking nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Stuff

ITS JUST ONE DAY FFS!!!!

Flogen

its not the fact that people cant go without drink fo a day , but the fact that we are being told we cant because of the crappy church deciding it anti god r sumting, its ridiculous that they should have any say in the law. most people either dont care bout religion or dont go to mass, not to mention all the non catholics that are now in Ireland, surely if your not a (practising) catholic you should have the choice to buy alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

"its not the fact that people cant go without drink fo a day , but the fact that we are being told we cant because of the crappy church deciding it anti god r sumting"

What are you on about? The Church doesn't decide the law!! The law could be changed in the morning if the Government wished. Despite what you might think or the media might have you believe, there are a lot of people out there who think Good Friday is a special day and perhaps it's not such a bad idea that we have one day of sacrifice and freedom from the mayhem the pubs cause on the streets.

It's your choice not to be a believer but don't go around spouting statements like "crappy church" and belittle those who wish to proclaim their spirituality as a Christian and be a member of the Church.

Nothing stopping you or anyone else drinking if you wish. This one day is just a day that the democratically elected government determines you can't buy alcohol. LIVE WITH IT or LOBBY YOUR TD TO GET IT CHANGED if you feel so strongly about your right to buy drink 365 days a year....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Wine, now there's a idea. Might try the aul', wine-Guinness combo :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭DUX

Impossible for you guys to stay 1 day per year with no drinks???
    And no, I am not religious, before somebody ask me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

I don't mind not drinking today, although we are being told that we cannot drink. It is related to the church as when it was drawn up the church had a far stronger influence on the country.

Any other countries forbid places to sell alcohol on good Friday? I don't know of any... but I havnet really looked.

I'm guessing Ireland is one of hte few (If not the only!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Urban Weigl

The pubs will be open tomorrow (Saturday) though, right?

Are the pubs still open for selling soft drinks and stuff though? (they offer such great value for money on soft drinks :p).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

ROFL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Three words: Drugs, hookers and lots and lots of lubricant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

omg "Out for Justice" looks like a great fecking movie, yes i googled it Johnny :D

Originally posted by l3rian
    omg "Out for Justice" looks like a great fecking movie, yes i googled it Johnny :D

HAHA! I swear to holy ****, I have never seen that movie!

Holy moly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

The Church sucks cock.

Originally posted by Tusky
    The Church sucks cock.

Literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭capistrano

You can drink in the bars in train stations if you have a valid ticket. The bar in Galway train station is always full on Good Friday, with everyone buying tickets to Athenry (first stop!).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Originally posted by damnyanks
    I don't mind not drinking today, although we are being told that we cannot drink. It is related to the church as when it was drawn up the church had a far stronger influence on the country.

Any other countries forbid places to sell alcohol on good Friday? I don't know of any... but I havnet really looked.

I'm guessing Ireland is one of hte few (If not the only!)
    Apart from the whole muslim world...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭cranoo

You will get a drink in Garda golf clubs, GAA clubs They make up some excuse for an exemption in the courts, now if you were a member of lets say a fishing club which looks for an exemption in the courts because of a competition the club is running, like me! the local super will threaten you with harassment for the rest of the year if the club goes ahead with it. True story :( BTW I Live in bray, if you know the super :D

Cranoo

Priests :( I wonder did the stop humping the kids on good fridays :rolleyes:

Originally posted by cranoo

Priests :( I wonder did they stop humping the kids on good fridays :rolleyes:

Well, to celebrate Jesus's birthday they probably did some extra bukkaking. As well as extra holy hole holing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

ITS JUST ONE DAY FFS!!!!

Flogen

I used think that when I was a young teenager

then I realised that

it's the Friday of a Bank Holiday weekend
    lots of people have the day off work

imagine if the pubs closed on the Friday of the June Bank Holiday or August Bank Holiday.

if they want to close fair enough - but a more appropriate day would be say a Monday in late January when no one has money after Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I would dearly love to see what would happen to Ireland if the country was deprived of alcohol for just two weeks.

I love that "Ireland before alchohol" sketch in Family Guy with the utopian society. "The intellectual leaders come together to toast a new scientific discovery, the conversion of barley into whiskey" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Originally posted by Tazzle
    Bottle of Jagermeister, Malibu and Pineapple, mmmmm :)

What a fantastic drink, I see you have class, and taste.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Originally posted by Sarky
    I would dearly love to see what would happen to Ireland if the country was deprived of alcohol for just two weeks.
    The divorce courts would be swamped, crime would drop 90% and the government would experience a strange phemonenon known as "governing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭capistrano

The government would also experience a strange phenomenon known as "budget defecit" after all the tax they levy on alcohol is gone!

well i think it's crap.. open the pubs
    btw.. i have a pint of bulmers in front of me wit loads of ice in it. .yummy:D