Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unknown Bands??

• 07-04-2004 4:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭

anybody have links to good but unknown bands? I think made in taiwan are pretty cool, http://www.student.dcu.ie/~ryanr29
    Good site, info, pics, mp3 downloads... what does anybody think? tell all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

jalopy are a band ive been pretty impressed with

www.jalopy.tv

they gig regularly in temple bar music centre. Nice sound, very developed, nice arrangements and some rock n roll.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Thoria from England are a band I've been listening to for a couple of years now. Dunno what genre they'd be, probably Grunge....not really though. Some weird jazz stuff.

http://www.thoria.co.uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭tonyDeBrasco

jalopy are pretty nifty.... nice website.. you check out made in taiwan? any views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Brian Houlihan

Against The Grain:
    Irish unsigned band, more info and an mp3 available at site below
    ATG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Made In Taiwan suck donkey balls. Official.

you think, well then i challenge you to go to paraguay where i can challenge you to a dual...

Seriously.

Challenge me here, I'm very lazy.

Musicians trying too hard to show off and play above their level + Irish singer putting on Amerikkkan accent = donkey ball sucking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Yeah as tonyDEBRASCO is probably just pimping his "mates" band, he shouldn't be offended when I say.

LEARN HOW TO ****ING PLAY BEFORE JOINING A BAND

do de doo

This toime the bullah cold rocked ye
    A yellow ribbuhn instea' of a swas te keh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭WetDaddy

Hate to jump on the bandwagon here tonyDeBrasco, but Made In Taiwan really aren't my cup of tea either.

Not gonna slate you too much, cos I'm kinda guessing from your profile and the website that you're the rhythm guitar/"singer", but the stuff is really all over the place and quite atonal.

This is just constructive criticism, by the way...

Maybe take a step back and listen to it objectively? Compare it to other bands you listen to and like, and look carefully at the differences. I'm not saying you've to sound like anyone (that's usually a bad thing), but if you get lost in your own music you'll never be able to tell what's good and what's bad about it.

And, of course, as Dr. J said there is NOTHING worse on this planet than a singer putting on an "American" accent. In fact, putting on any accent get's right up my back...

applauds deathfunk, realises that he listens to music, and has a clue what he is talkin about... rest of ye... well, **** it...

Because he took the time to "nicely" say your crap, doesn't mean he knows more about music. He doesn't want to hurt your feelings.

Noone would care, just that you are pimping your band everywhere, and you're hardly special.

I'm letting you get away with about three threads about your band, which I could of deleted, but I'm not a bastard, every band deserves to get their name out somehow.

Hey, I listen to music, I also listened to four of your tunes. I stand by my comments. They're brief, but they say everything I want to say about your music. you asked for honest comments, now you've got 'em, why are you grumbling and getting all hostile?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭daram

Hate to say it, but pretending your not in your own band to pretend that you have fans is one of the saddest things you can do. At least be honest. Also, altough I've heard worse, it's still crap. Even allowing that the music is live, it lacks anything original or inventive. I reckon the best you'll ever do is getting a few mates to come see you playing at a showcase of equally crap bands playing downstairs in Eamonn Dorans. But, best of luck to you anyway. See you in DCU, I'll be playing there in a few weeks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

www.theflaws.com seem pretty good, oh and http://www.sleevesmahoney.com/ are ok as well :)

Your website also sucks, seriously sucks.
    True about the flaws and sleevesmahoney, i've heard both are pretty good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by daram
    I reckon the best you'll ever do is getting a few mates to come see you playing at a showcase of equally crap bands playing downstairs in Eamonn Dorans. But, best of luck to you anyway. See you in DCU, I'll be playing there in a few weeks....

whoa DCU? my god how did you land such a prestigious venue?

While I appreciate the... ummm... "applause" tonyDeBrasco, I have to stick up for the rest of the fellas and say that my critical methods don't reflect in any way my knowledge of music.

In fact, from reading other posts I can say that Dr. J definitely knows a fair bit about music in general.

In any event fellas, negative criticism doesn't really get anyone anywhere, so that's my logic for saying what I said.

Well, good luck so... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

I think tonyDeBrasco got offended over the singer comments. If you view his profile, the website he supplied is listed as his homepage. His name is listed as, well, the same as the guitarist/vocalist on the site.

And yes, the site is very poor indeed.

As for honest opinions on the music, it is bland and unoriginal, in my opinion. It's not in the slightest bit interesting I don't find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 danemac

i am in a band called the flaws, were not anything special but have a look

www.theflaws.com

i agree about made in Tiawan though, i dont like them one bit. i hear all the ****e stuff is made there anyway.

jalopy on the other hand i like, good site. well inpressed

:cool: :eek: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

That cover of bullet in the head is highly amusing. I'm sorry you're getting a lashing here Tony... but it's well deserved. The original stuff is sloppy and boring.

Don't give up hope though. Fúck the begrudgers. Including me.

When did I say DCU was a prestigious venue? If you look at his address of his website you'll note that he is in DCU. That was the only reason I said that.

hehe... man on man, what a freakin lashin... well i dunno, keep it coming, but with regards to places we've played and places we will be playing, we've played (headlined) whelans twice, tbmc (again headlined) 3 times... and of course we've done the ****ty places... somebody must like us, tolerate us or stomach us... i dunno, screw it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Googe

The singer is a complete twat. But the rest of the band seem all right even if the music isnt to my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Ok, this could be suicide considering the replies so far, but because we are releasing a single on May 14th, we need to start getting our name out there. So, I put forward to you our unknown band, New Colour Soul. There are a few MP3s on the site, and I welcome anybody's comments - good, bad or Dr J's... :D

We are a 5 piece funk/soul band, the lineup is vocals/guitar, bass, drums, keyboards and sax. Influences are Prince, Jamiroquaoi, Lenny Kravitz, Stevie Wonder.

www.newcoloursoul.com

Thank you please,

Robbie

Originally posted by robbie1876
    Ok, this could be suicide considering the replies so far,

I don't think so. I've checked out your stuff before and it's great. Good luck with the single.
    Also if you have any support slots coming up... :)

Jesus Christ you're crap too, like who plays a sax...honestly.

Nah you rock :D

Good luck with the single. Also if you have any support slots coming up...
    Thanks, Dr Loon. We will indeed have a truckload of support slots in May cos we're doing a bit of a nationwide tour in conjunction with Gigsmart. There'll be about 18 gigs in 6 or 7 days, really gruelling, but every gig there should be 3 to 4 bands playing at. What's your band? Do you have a link we can check out?
    like who plays a sax...honestly.
    That's true, we're probably going to replace him with somone who can play a metal dustbin with a crowbar.

Thanks, Dr Loon. We will indeed have a truckload of support slots in May cos we're doing a bit of a nationwide tour in conjunction with Gigsmart. There'll be about 18 gigs in 6 or 7 days, really gruelling, but every gig there should be 3 to 4 bands playing at. What's your band? Do you have a link we can check out?

No link yet.... I'm in the process of setting up the new site. I actually think I might have mailed you guys already. I think we've to send you a demo...

Ah cool, Jenko looks after the web and the email, so I'll ask him did he get anything from you. Whats the name of the band, so we can look out for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 danemac

just downloaded a song from new colour soul, "new Funk Order" (live)

the Music intro is good but it fails abit when the lead singer starts, he can sing but less of the acent would be nice.("anyone got a moblie phone" what the feck is that about)

well inpressed with the site, its got style. i see yous played the sugarClub,

PS whats the best song to download

:mad: :):):):) ww)

Ah cool, Jenko looks after the web and the email, so I'll ask him did he get anything from you. Whats the name of the band, so we can look out for it?

We're currently going by the name Apollo Creed. We're just starting out again... still to record a demo, and get the site up and running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Thomas from Presence

I hearthily endorse New Colour Soul who groove lik the proverbial bastards.

Coming from a Gigsmart perspective you should check out www.gigsmartireland.com and check out our bands section for a selection of top music. I'd also recommendMike Got Spiked as being the best band in the country at the moment and alsoPinion who's debut single is launched today on the back of a 17 dates (in 10 days!) Gigsmart tour.

The New Colour Soul launch will also be as intense!

ye.. everybodys nice all of a sudden...

Thanks for the comments, and I second everything Thomas from Prescence has said. There are some unbelievably good bands that are still relatively unknown. A good few of them (including us luckily) are playing in Eamonn Dorans on the 16th of April if you guys are interested. More details here
    ("anyone got a moblie phone" what the feck is that about)
    Hehe, we will never let him live down that comment! He thinks he's James Brown sometimes, which is no bad thing! The best song to download in my opinion is one of the 2 live ones. The 2 studio ones were done last summer and are not really representive of our current sound. The single Life's a Party is totally what we are about, and is by far and away the best song we have done to date.

hahah, sorry but tonyDeBrasco, kick the **** ouf of the lead singer in your band please. Musical ****..............awful....just ****in awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by bazH
    hahah, sorry but tonyDeBrasco, kick the **** ouf of the lead singer in your band please. Musical ****..............awful....just ****in awful
    i'm afraid to say he is right here, the vocals are complete cack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

Travis Morrisson

The Octopus Project

The Tea Party (unknown in Ireland, anyway)

and the abuse keeps comin... yummy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

look the music is grand, the singing is bad - some people just shouldnt be singers simple as that, why the rest of the band havnt told the singer he is bad is beyond me.

tonydebrasco, if your the singer, i'm not trying to abuse you or hurt your feelings - i'm just giving my honest opinion - if 'made in tiawan' are serious about being musicians then they will have to be able to accept criticism better than you are at the moment.

telling it like it is

as always

your faithfully

ferdi.

eheh... oh ive been told... certain attributes make it ok tho... there is a trade off, costly but deemed, by them, to be acceptable... not a singer, but a front man... entertainer if you will, and no feelings are hurt...

We're currently going by the name Apollo Creed. We're just starting out again... still to record a demo, and get the site up and running.

Dude, you guys rule. I stumbled upon yis by accident when my mates band Contagious were supporting you in that barin Portabello. They were crap as usual but you blew me away. I'd love to play with yis some timeas opener or whatever. New Colour Soul are excellent too. Only got to listen to one song. But it was great. I'll definitly buy your single. Will it be in every store or where?

Thanks daram. It'll be in in every HMV store nationwide, which is thanks to Gigsmart, those guys rule. It'll also be in Tower and Road in Dublin, plus a ton of independant shops nationwide. If you're not in Dublin, let me know and I'll tell you your nearest stockist.

Thanks for the support, its great to see unsigned bands looking out for each other too. Talking of which, Pinion's single has just been released, so make sure you support unsigned music by picking up their single, which is great.

Robbie

Score. Im in Dublin so its all good. Gonna head over to pinions website and see what I can download. Also gonna sign up on gig smart. Seems to be a good idea. Once my exams are over, me and the band are hopefully gonna be doing a string of gigs around Dublin (maybe Limerick, Galway and Cork too), so if you wanna play or you've got a support slot available anytime let me know. My website address is www.humplifunker.com but I took down all the mp3 recently because its very old and we've got better since we recorded a lot of it. I have it in a password protected directory but I'll create you a password and PM it to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

Apollo Creed is a class name for a band :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

It makes me smile cuz it makes me think of Creed being flown into the sun!

it makes me think of Carl Weathers

Originally posted by daram
    Dude, you guys rule. I stumbled upon yis by accident when my mates band Contagious were supporting you in that barin Portabello. They were crap as usual but you blew me away. I'd love to play with yis some timeas opener or whatever. New Colour Soul are excellent too. Only got to listen to one song. But it was great. I'll definitly buy your single. Will it be in every store or where?

Hmmmm..... I'm thinking there must be two bands going by the name of Apollo Creed cos I don't remember playing in Portobello. What did this band look like Daram?

Dr. Loon,

Judging by the other replies to daram's post, I'm guessing he was actually talking about New Colour Soul.

By the way, since the "worst bands" post is closed, I just have to say that I went to the Contagious website, downloaded their tunes, read their lyrics and...

And...

And "Oh my", is all I can say... :)

-S

Turns out there may be two apollo creeds.

And all I can say to your comment on Contagious is "true true"

Hmmm...

daram, I think there's just the one, namely Dr. Loon's band.

I'm pretty sure that the band you went to see were New Colour Soul, although they are very good and I can't quite picture Contagious supporting them. Maybe.

Awww hell, what do I know... I'm tired and I need coffee.

I also want to post a link to one of my band's tunes, but the server that has all the MP3s on it is down. Hooray!

Coffee.