Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meeting new people...

• 03-04-2004 3:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭

Been in Dublin a month now for college. And still not really settling in....I've met some great people (some from this board who have really been great to me)...but I just wondered if anyone had any ideas on how to meet people in the city. Thought I'd have a mad social life in college but I'm in a transfer class with mainly foreign people who are paying a lot of money to attend college here and hence are working 7 days a week to stay alive and never go out.

Anyone know of any clubs or societies or anything like that I could join? Really just want to get out there and meet people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

Try a night at the opera.
    Yes I am serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Silent Grape

get a part time job. i have 3, yes, thats 3 jobs, and everyone ive met so far has been really cool. also lots of work nights out. or u cud take up a hobby or a sport or something. i know how u feel pet, ive been in ur shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

Originally posted by Silent Grape
    get a part time job. i have 3, yes, thats 3 jobs, and everyone ive met so far has been really cool. also lots of work nights out. or u cud take up a hobby or a sport or something. i know how u feel pet, ive been in ur shoes.

This is very true. You will make a lot of lasting friendships and the opportunity to meet an extended social circle through people you work with at a part time job and the social opportunities that this presents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭lukeUCD

clubs and socs in your college are a good idea that and getting involved in events and such!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Thanks everyone....yeah a part time job is needed anyway so that will hopefully help me to meet more people....where to look is another thing.

Have had enough of staying in everynight now....need to get out there and have some fun!

Thanks for your help.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

As lukeUCD said, join one of the clubs or socs in your college - it's a good way to meet ppl who have similar interests to you, and most clubs have a great social life (My club ended up having 5 Christmas parties for some reason!):D

Originally posted by blondie83
    As lukeUCD said, join one of the clubs or socs in your college - it's a good way to meet ppl who have similar interests to you, and most clubs have a great social life (My club ended up having 5 Christmas parties for some reason!):D

Ha ha cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I knwo exactly what you mean ClareBear, I'm in Dublin now for nearly a year and I can't honestly say that I've made a single real friend up here. Still, there's a boards beer coming up so maybe that'll change then!:)

Originally posted by Sleepy
    I knwo exactly what you mean ClareBear, I'm in Dublin now for nearly a year and I can't honestly say that I've made a single real friend up here. Still, there's a boards beer coming up so maybe that'll change then!:)

Yeah exactly...I've lived in Spain, Majorca, Edinburgh and a few other places before for up to a year and had no bother whatsoever in making great friends straight away but here it's different. I'm not saying Dublin is an unfriendly place or anything like that....but when you're alone you really are alone. Like I said though, some people on here have been more than great to me and I really appreciate that. Should be getting a part time job after next week anyway so hopefully will make some friends that way. Not looking for life long friends or anything like that...while that would be a bonus, just looking for people I can go out and have a laugh with and some company that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

If your really bad off...

Get drunk, go out. Wake up, check your phone.

I always wake up with peoples numbers when I wake up the morning after... its not that I forget what I did and so on. I'm just terrible with names. And no I'm not some busty blonde that is getting chatted up.

I'm a dirty ass feller

ass isn't actually dirty... just needed to make people feel better about themselves

Cheers, I'll keep that in mind lol;)

Originally posted by ClareBear
    Yeah exactly...I've lived in Spain, Majorca, Edinburgh and a few other places before for up to a year and had no bother whatsoever in making great friends straight away but here it's different. I'm not saying Dublin is an unfriendly place or anything like that....but when you're alone you really are alone. Like I said though, some people on here have been more than great to me and I really appreciate that. Should be getting a part time job after next week anyway so hopefully will make some friends that way. Not looking for life long friends or anything like that...while that would be a bonus, just looking for people I can go out and have a laugh with and some company that's all.
    Well, if ya fancy a pint some night, send me a PM... We can bitch about how lonely Dublin can be together! :P

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Well, if ya fancy a pint some night, send me a PM... We can bitch about how lonely Dublin can be together! :P

I'm always up for bitching about Dublin, will do! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

DANGER WILL ROBINSON!:p

Looking forward to it ClareBear...

Whatcha on about Sarky? Lost in space?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭nads

Originally posted by Sarky
    DANGER WILL ROBINSON!:p

if that's a simpsons/lost in space quote you're a sap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

hey i've lived in dublin all my life, and seem to be lacking friends recently. most of us parted ways going to different colleges and i just haven't made any new friends in ucd, despite what everyone says about it being great craic and a very sociable place and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Yah noticed that. I'm second year in college, lost real contact with friends from school (As in we go out maybe once every 3 months) Friends from first year in college that didn't make it through (Once every few months). Now I've the friends from this year but I'm moving away so time to make new ones.

I guess its sorta handy, this way people dont see how irritating I am and miss me :D

Of course I dont miss the **** at all I'm better off without em!!! Draggine me down, I'll show them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

The way I see it is that dublin is pretty much a **** hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

I find making friends depends on who your friends are in the first place.

It also depends on whether you are single or not.

I'm hanging out (a lot these days) with a group of Asian people because my girlfriend is Asian. Also, my flatmates are my friends, so I hang out with them a lot.

My old flatmate was a Swedish girl who I have come very close to and close to her friends also.

So I've kind of made a lot of friends from just one or two people.

Also, I try hard to keep old friendships alive...

I still have most of my old friendships, they just all live in different (and rapidly diverging) places. My flatmates, whilst decent people for the most part, are about as interesting as your average episode of Coronation Street. My workmates are all grand but I've nothing in common with them (they're all a few years older than me, getting married, having kids etc.) So, that left me kinda on my own up here. Not having a car restricts the amount of things I can do in the evenings in terms of evening courses/martial arts lessons etc. so I end up in a pretty solitary life in Dublin. No wonder I hate the place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Thats why they used to have Nurses' dances, am I the only one here who remembers them :) .

Get a new flat sleepy in the city centre.

Perhaps you could organise a boards.ie "new(ish) to dublin" beers and ask some natives to come along too, I'd be happy to show y'all round :D

Originally posted by Nuttzz
    Thats why they used to have Nurses' dances, am I the only one here who remembers them :) .

Get a new flat sleepy in the city centre.

Perhaps you could organise a boards.ie "new(ish) to dublin" beers and ask some natives to come along too, I'd be happy to show y'all round :D

Sounds like a plan!

Not putting Dublin down....it's just crap when you don't know many people....wonder if I pay my mates in Cork to come and live with me would they.....:dunno:

ClareBear - the offer of drinks with my mates and me is still open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Nuttzz
    Perhaps you could organise a boards.ie "new(ish) to dublin" beers and ask some natives to come along too, I'd be happy to show y'all round
    And then they'll smash your head in at the end of the night ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

ClareBear - the offer of drinks with my mates and me is still open?

DANGER WILL ROBINSON is right!
    originally quoted by JohnnyVersace

I have a lot of female friends and think highly of me, they tell their other female friends this who then get interested romantically/sexually in me.

The last few girls I've slept with (sorry, don't know how else to say it) have been friends of some of my female friends.

The key is, how do you make female friends? It's really not that difficult. There was a girl on boards recently stating how she is lonely in Dublin and doesn't have many friends here. I invited her out with my friends and myself. Due to circumstances we ended up not meeting, but I know she would have "joined our group".

Be non-sexual with a girl who you do not fancy, become her friend, and women will follow. At this moment in time

I hang out with a very large group of girls, and I find it very easy to meet women.

hmmm. good luck with that clarebear.

you too Johnny :ninja:

Originally posted by quarryman
    DANGER WILL ROBINSON is right!

hmmm. good luck with that clarebear.

you too Johnny :ninja:

The glass isn't always half empty... don't be so cynical...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭nads

you're a goddamn pig Johnny Versace, and that's low coming from me. :D
    go chat up some asian chicks who hate themselves

Originally posted by nads
    you're a goddamn pig Johnny Versace, and that's low coming from me. :D
    go chat up some asian chicks who hate themselves

Hey, in the Personal Issues forum we already cleared up that what I wrote can be seen as sleazy if you choose to, or as nice if you choose to as well...

My intentions were not for it to sound sleazy. I have no sexual interest in ClareBear...

People are waaay too cynical sometimes... :cool:

Cheers Johnny :)

Well, how many of ye would be on for beer tonight? Say O' Reilly's underneath Tara Street Station around 8ish?

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    The glass isn't always half empty... don't be so cynical...

you're right. leave some room for the rohypnol.* :)

*edit: that's probably a little bit unfair as i don't know JV's intentions (which are more than likely ok). just funny though :) bestaluck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Badgers

Meeting people is easy, it's getting away from people that's hard. Take last weekend for example. I climbed Bray head to get the hell away from people who kept talking while I was around. So I climb all the way up there in the stinging cold wintery winds and finally I reach the cross at the top.

So I'm feeling slightly religious cause it's a cross and the clouds suddenly break and a ray of sunlight lances the sky, right onto my outstretched hand. So I say a little prayer and hope for the best of things.

Next thing I know an old granny is hobbling over to maybe hug me or somehow get in my face. So I curse the sunlight for revealing my position and tackle the oldster to the ground. With a fresh mouthful of grass and dirt she wasn't going to try to convert anyone that day, least of all me. I feel I let her off lightly and should perhaps have thrown her down at one of the fishing boats who dared blare their fog horn as I was praying. I didn't and she lives to see another day.

This is perhaps a simplification but I think it underlines just how serious I am about being alone. It takes me five or six well thrown pints to be given space in a pub, any day of the week, any week of the year.

You can whine or you can pitch a tent. It you pitch a tent make sure it's not in a valley and you're ready for anything, namely bears. I'd tell you the story of my run-in with a bunch of black bears but you're a little too young and a little too scared right now.

Perhaps another day.

Thanks for that Badgers....:ninja:

OK, so badgers has enough drugs taken to not need a drink tonight. What happened the rest of ye? Cat got your typing fingers? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Iron Petes

Grappling grannies at the top of Bray head is probably not the best way to avoid people. If anything this will make you a wanted man. Have you tried bad breath or B.O. it's quite an effective conversation deterant (some I'm told).

best post i've read in long time badger. welcome to boards.

:ninja: :);):)

Originally posted by Iron Petes
    Grappling grannies at the top of Bray head is probably not the best way to avoid people. If anything this will make you a wanted man. Have you tried bad breath or B.O. it's quite an effective conversation deterant (some I'm told).

Wanted ? Let me tell you about being wanted.

Once, when I was a crows-nester (dunno what a crows-nester is? It's a guy who makes crows nests for those old ships that they don't make any more. Yeah well they used to make them and I was the best crows-nester this side of the straits of Magellan). So I'm making these crows nests and my boss wanders over to me. Now my boss was a really hot chick, all legs and no teeth, the best of boths worlds with a return ticket. So she wanders over and she making eyes at me, all lah-di-dah and where's my pencil. So I try to look occupied cause I'm dying to be alone, all day with the people and no solo time cracks me up.

So she asks me, all suggestive like, if I can make her a crows nest. So I'm thinking about this for a little while, just enough time to gauge when she's on the boil. I sieze my moment and ram my god-damn chisel through my fist, first time, only time.

Needless to say, she took the hint and backed right off. Next time I saw her she was dealing crack to babies young enough to be slappin' flies from their momma's thighs.

I'm not going into what happened next.....don't even ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Originally posted by Badgers

I'm not going into what happened next.....don't even ask.

Ah go on !! We're curious now. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Iron Petes

This sounds to me like a common-garden industrial accident and not the behaviour of a misanthropic reprobate. Did this mishap affect your crow-nesting abilities?

Originally posted by Iron Petes
    This sounds to me like a common-garden industrial accident and not the behaviour of a misanthropic reprobate. Did this mishap affect your crow-nesting abilities?

A man can't make crows nests with an injury like that, it's just not possible.
    I warned you all about asking what happened next and you're just askin' for trouble when you tempt a tiger. But, and this but comes with a slice of cake, I'll do the tellin' if you do the listenin'.

I left my job as a crows-nester within the week cause I was sick of all the glances and the careless words. A man like me is never easy in a crowd, I need my space and I want my circle of friends to be a semi-circle at best. So it was by fluke that I started my career as a photo carrier. I would take photos from polaroid instamatics and carry them from the camera to where ever the owner was. I was the first form of remote control and god damn it I was proud. Proud to be alone again and proud of my fast-healing fist.

I got the job by application. It was the only way back then, never easy and always a worry. As you all know photo-carriers can't work after midnight cause of the god damn labour laws so I was pretty surpised to find myself employed at 1:30am on the first Monday of a new week.

'Damn these employers to hell' I thought and ditched the gig cause there's no way I break a law, not for Jesus, not even for Einstein.

Then TV came along and I'm pushing buttons all over the place and pretty soon I find that people are jumpin' when I'm talkin'. So I start thinkin' that maybe there's something in this TV lark and maybe I should get on stage and perhaps act my god damn heart out. I'm thinkin' on TV people will leave me alone....I was wrong.

You can't row a boat with two legs overboard. My mother told me and my father scolded me, both were right about two things. Never bait a priest with some bible stories and never melt another man's igloo.

I'm sick of your questions now. Can't ya leave a man alone?