Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The smoking ban!

• 28-03-2004 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

So here it is, our last day of being able to smoke in a pub! How do you think its gonna hold out?

I bet the pubs will lose loads of costomers and the price of drink will rise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

*plays the world's smallest violin*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

YEP its a true pitty smokers cant kill the rest of us with their habbit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

ohh i cant wait to see this post blossom within the next week :)

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Maybe booze will get cheaper in an effort to get people back into pubs? :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Two chances - but just maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by red_ice
    So here it is, our last day of being able to smoke in a pub! How do you think its gonna hold out?

I bet the pubs will lose loads of costomers and the price of drink will rise!

you dick...the price IS going up around June. Guinness were stopped from increasing the price at the beginning of March and they put it back till around June.

Regardles of the smoking ban, beer IS going up.

Apparently there is a 2 week grace period where publicans wont be fined for people smoking.

personally...I cant wait but I'm also glad i dont have to work tomorrow. By the time I get back this friday, it should have calmed down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Front of Sunday Indo today

"Guinness offers free drink to lure smokers back to pubs"

apparantly they are offering 10,000 free pints if you sign up on their website. Big advertising campaign kicking off soon called "Here's to the pub"

Indeed, here's to the pub and the 30% of ye (including me) who are told to fcuk off outside for half the night to smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Sucks to be a smoker doesn't it :)
    Take it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

yup, ya hear non smokers complain about poluting their air.
    What about the polution caused by your constant whinging.

Let the smokers smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Just give up pubs - that's what I'm doing. Well I'm actually giving up drinking - but I'm not disposed to paying a small fortune for soft drinks in a bar.

But the irony of all this is that the wonders of the smoking ban will fall into insignificance over the next number of years - me/thinks of smart cards and monthly drinking quotas. The ground work has been laid.

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

glad the bans coming in about bloody time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think its funny that there will be another side to this ban. More people will be drinking at home and the poeple in the groups that have these parties will be the smokers. Where will the croud head to when the smokers refuse to go out?

house parties! yay, where everyone can smoke what they like, when they like.

next of all you will want a ban on private smoking too.

Maybe the reason that drink is going up around june is influenced by the smoking ban and this was planned with it in mind Kaimera... you fucking muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

smoke 'em if ya got 'em!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Me forcasts beer gardens will open early this year..
    Also now's the time to buy shares in patio heaters and unbrella companies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

so if a work place is outdoors the ban does not apply is it?

Only applies to enclosed workplaces - no I don't know the exact legal definition of enclosed, AFAIK fields are enclosed.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Depends on group circles i suppose, **** all people i know smoke, so if those who do decide to be huffy little bitches and not go to the pub, then they'll be having a lot of quiet evenings :)

hurrah for the ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Inconsiderate smoking scum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Bungalow Bill

I for one am glad of this ban. Non-smokers hate you blowing your cancer into our faces. How you think that this isn't ignorant i'll never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

One hour to go....

Just imagine, if the clocks hadn't gone forward last night, there's be two hours to go....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭strawberry

I'll never have to shampoo my hair three times to get rid of the smell of smoke ever again - *bliss* :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

I, for one, wellcome our smoke free overlords!

SMOKING BAN NOW IN EFFECT!
    he he he he, I cant wait to go to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭flywheel

it's great - looking forward to a nice evening out not having to deal with other people's smoke...

yippie i cant wait to go into the college students union and get told not to smoke :D

They will recieve a swift middle finger, a brisk comment somewhere along the lines of 'fuck off!' and alot of smoke blown in their face.

Then naturally the non smokers will whine - but then again, the smokers outnumber em, so they will go elsewhere and we will have the free pool tables, tables tennis, table football, jukebox and couches all to ourselves :D

Happens every year in my college :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

In the pub tonight, they were giving away for free all their cigars etc. from the Cigar box, I presume on the basis that they can't sell them in the bar now that smoking in the bar is prohibited.

I am loath, for any reason, to congratulate the current disgraceful excuse for a government for anything, but all credit to Minister Martin. Well done on bringing this ban in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

When I come home at easter, I can enjoy a night where no asshole in the dance floor will burn me, and when I wake up in the morning will smell solely of beer, and not of smoke as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Renton

****it, its grand, smokings a disgusting fúcking habit.

I'd hope the prices of beer will drop in an effort to bring people into pubs, and I'd also hope that hangovers will decrease since people wont be smoking as many smokes.

****it it also means if you have to go outside for a smoke, you can pre-roll a few spliffs, its far easier to get away with smoking a joint outdoors. :)

den

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Anyone got any stories of people refusing to put out their smoke or something along those lines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

"yippie i cant wait to go into the college students union and get told not to smoke

They will recieve a swift middle finger, a brisk comment somewhere along the lines of '**** off!' and alot of smoke blown in their face."

Fair play to you red_ice!! I like your style!

Originally posted by alleepally
    ["yippie i cant wait to go into the college students union and get told not to smoke

They will recieve a swift middle finger, a brisk comment somewhere along the lines of '**** off!' and alot of smoke blown in their face."

Fair play to you red_ice!! I like your style!

Yes indeed! and remember people, Fairs Fair! so when I spray you in the face with a can of fart gas in responce, we'll be even and oh, how we will laugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

next of all you will want a ban on private smoking too.

*sigh* If only... if only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by rymus
    *sigh* If only... if only

Why? What do you care what other people do when it doesnt affect you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

me heart bleeds for them,
    my lungs used to too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Don't get me wrong, I'm all for people killing themselves if it's what they want to do.
    I live with three smokers and it's not the nicest thing to come home in the evening to a house that smells like the inside of the worlds biggest ashtray, only to spend the entire evening wading around in clouds of smoke as I make my way around the house. It's rather like being in a pub... well, a pre-ban pub without the booze anyway.

I may buy myself an expensive gasmask in the coming months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    The unfortunate side effect of this smoking ban is that given the fact that most of the populace of Dublin don’t seem to wash themselves or their clothes...their acrid smell will be come more apparent.

Food for thought really.

Ah crap Merc, never thought of that!! :( Still, looking forward to a smoke-free drinking environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

On a similar note to what Mercury_tilt said:
    Just imagine what the PUBS are going to smell like?

I mean most pubs used to be covered in a thick layer of smoke, and that was a pretty bad smell, but imagine what the smokey smell was hiding!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Jafar

Me forcasts beer gardens will open early this year.

Ever tried to find a beer garden in Dublin? This is a good side effect....more beer gardens....yay!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I'm tending to agree with Des Ekin in yesterdays Sunday World... They'll all be back in the pub again come Friday. sure they're smokers... No willpower... :D

Originally posted by Jafar
    Ever tried to find a beer garden in Dublin? This is a good side effect....more beer gardens....yay!!!

The auld dubliner has one. At least i think its the auld dubliner... its the one down from the music center on the corner - they have a back area which is usually packed in the summer. Nice place that, good fun and you always meet a good cround in there. Its been about 3 years since ive been in there. Nice place beacsue there is a bouncer at every entrance :)

Id say thats gonna get some business during the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

You can smoke herbal cigarettes - see today's Irish Times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Inconsiderate smoking scum!

Well if thats what you think. keep it to yourself.

Supposedly Guinness arte offering free pints but ould michael martin might be stopping them doing that to. we just cant think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

red_ice yippie i cant wait to go into the college students union and get told not to smoke

They will recieve a swift middle finger, a brisk comment somewhere along the lines of '**** off!' and alot of smoke blown in their face.

I'm beginning to like you a lot. go on the smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

I dont get how people can see a banning of beer etc is gonna come from this. The majority ruled in favour of this and as you can see from alot of posters there is alot of support how the hell do you think martin gonna get a beer restriction when he wont get the support he is getting now. There is a much larger gap between the smoking population and drinking population...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

They will recieve a swift middle finger, a brisk comment somewhere along the lines of '**** off!' and alot of smoke blown in their face.

and ill laugh when they chuck you out. I have no time for law breakers :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    and ill laugh when they chuck you out. I have no time for law breakers :p

Yeah, it would be quite hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Originally posted by BlitzKrieg
    There is a much larger gap between the smoking population and drinking population...

more importantly is that drinking doesnt harm people in their workplace. some doctor was on rte news last night saying he doesnt mind people smoking at home but they should be informed of the risks and have the right to smoke as long as it doesnt harm others. pity he didnt speak up about all other drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

more importantly is that drinking doesnt harm people in their workplace.

They just do harm in other places. On the roads, in their homes, in hospitals where drunken gobsh*ites abuse the staff every day of the week..the list goes on.

I guess this would be a bad time to state that all the bad things that alcohol causes are baned in there own right...

Drink Driving, drunk and disorderly, lude(sp?) behavior, vomiting on people at ATMs, assalt and so on.
    now we've baned the things that smoking does, harms the health of the people who work in areas which ware till now smoke filled.

that is the only comparison with I can see right now with a ban on alcohol.

whats the wiccan thing?
    do as you will, but do no harm?

drink as much as you like but if you punch some ones lights out you're going to get charged with assalt. (or rather should be)
    smoke but not where you're going to harm others.

sounds totaly reasonable to me (as a non smoker who wont get the jitters after not smoking for a few hours...) but to a smoker (who is anti the ban) this seems like a crazy statment... why?