Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World's most annoying phrase - it's official

• 24-03-2004 11:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

The plain English campaign released it yesterday.

Poor old Roy Keane eh.

My most hated phrase which isn't listed is anything that begins with "I'm in the .... I'm on the.... " as it applies to someone on a mobile phone.

Full article from their website below...

Some good ones there.
    At the end of the day... we're fed up with clichés.

Plain English supporters around the world have voted "At the end of the day" as the most irritating phrase in the language.

Second place in the vote was shared by "At this moment in time" and the constant use of "like" as if it were a form of punctuation. "With all due respect" came fourth.

The Campaign surveyed its 5000 supporters in more than 70 countries as part of the build-up to its 25th anniversary. The independent pressure group was launched on 26 July 1979.

Spokesman John Lister said over-used phrases were a barrier to communication. "When readers or listeners come across these tired expressions, they start tuning out and completely miss the message - assuming there is one! Using these terms in daily business is about professional as wearing a novelty tie or having a wacky ringtone on your phone.

"George Orwell's advice from 1946 is still worth following: 'Never use a metaphor, simile, or other figure of speech which you are used to seeing in print.'"

The following terms also received multiple nominations:

* 24/7
    * absolutely
    * address the issue
    * around (in place of "about")
    * awesome
    * ballpark figure
    * basically
    * basis ("on a weekly basis" in place of "weekly" and so on)
    * bear with me
    * between a rock and a hard place
    * blue sky (thinking)
    * boggles the mind
    * bottom line
    * crack troops
    * diamond geezer
    * epicentre (used incorrectly)
    * glass half full (or half empty)
    * going forward
    * I hear what you're saying..
    * in terms of...
    * it's not rocket science
    * literally
    * move the goal-posts
    * ongoing
    * prioritise
    * pushing the envelope
    * singing from the same hymn sheet
    * the fact of the matter is
    * thinking outside the box
    * to be honest/to be honest with you/to be perfectly honest
    * touch base
    * up to (in place of "about")
    * value-added (in general use)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

To be honest, at the end of the day, we all basically love clichés.
    Ya know, that's the bottom line... literally.

saw it on BBC1 news today :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

note to mod. maybe I should've put this in After hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Yea probably, funny read tho :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Reads like a bullsh1t bingo card to me, like:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

* going forward

Or "Looking forward" - I hate that phrase!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

the way forward is the phrase to use

i'm not a fan of people saying i'll buy that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Zoton

Any use of the phrase "go out and give 110%" warrants the death penalty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Ones I hate:

"A grey area"
    "Seemingly"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

i personally fcuking hate "happy days!"

its realy bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

In global news the word "terror" (as I've commented elsewhere)
    In Irish news, the word "tribunal".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

"ya know that way" eg a friend of mine told me about a conversation she heard on the bus:

"im goin out with this new fella, hes not very good lookin but.. hes got a personality, ya know that way?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

like that's like very interesting like y'know

*grrrrr *:mad:

"war on terror" and "terror" in general... it'd be amusing if they didn't mean it..
    too many people: "collage student"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by alienhead
    i personally fcuking hate "happy days!"

its realy bad.
    fonz.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

tbh

you know what I mean?

usually abbreviated by skumbags nationwide into some manner of
    "yah-know-d'I-meen" type of phrase. But I've found more and more wanna be's using it now as though using a stupid phrase is going to instantly bestow toughness upon them.

Although I do miss the old Limerick lilt, not living there no more, such classics as, "whaada-yuu-sayn?! and "k'meer'n-seay-dah-timmy-feace!"

Sorry....let's start again....
    Most.annoying.phrase.ever:

RIGHT NOW LADS PL-EEEEEEZE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

"then ***** turns around and says" in place of "***** says"
    so goddamn annoying when the person in mind was retelling a conversation..everyones just turning, turning, turning...

and "you know that kinda way like"
    *twitches*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Doctor Funfrock

hmm i dont agree

Libre Sangre's gettin' a bit tired in fairness.

/me awaits the backlash....

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

heads up/proactive/red-flag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

"your mom"

funny

Originally posted by sceptre
    fonz.jpg

another one i realy hate

"as ye do"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

The culchie favorite one "Like i was driving like a mad yoke"":p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

"as it were...."

ah.. we used to have a lecturer who always was churning out this phrase... so annoying... good lecturer though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭JippoKelly

On a local level this has to be my personal least favourite phrase:

"Stall it to da shops bud..." etc. and other alteations of it.

How can you 'stall it' anywhere?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

"Ya know what I mean?"
    "Ya know what I'm sayin?g"
    Any sentence that start's with "Will ya"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

da wan wit da

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

On a local level this has to be my personal least favourite phrase:

"Stall it to da shops bud..." etc. and other alteations of it.

How can you 'stall it' anywhere?!!

its ridiculous literally but that saying does make onamatopoeic sense, i think so anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

anything in txt spk can be annoying.

"Wel boy, u goin wit ne1? tel us, I ned sum scandal! tb"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

"are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet" "are we there yet"

dont you just hate it!

I hate this phrase ->full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

the one that really annoys me is the n ew one since this whole thing bout the smoking ban came in " so i guess you wont be smoking anymore"

Shut up and leave me alone. bloody saints. lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Silent Grape

it gets worse. some american idiot said to me in town the other day, as i was lighting up, 'so what are u going to do when the smoking ban comes in?'

what the **** do u THINK im going to ****ING do??? the fact its a BAN might give u a clue.

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

"you shouldn't do that"

or "oh my god! that's sick! that's animal abuse!"

cuntflaps.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Americans chicks who say 'Ohhmygaaawd!!' and 'period' to emphasis their arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

"Coola Boola" is gay.