Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Malaysian GP

• 20-03-2004 11:41am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The final qualifiers have been completed & Schumi & ferrari seem to still be on fire since Melbourne. Mark Webber also put in a great lap to split the Ferrari's & finish 2nd which'll do no harm to my Fantasy F1 team. :D

Final Qualification Results:

1 Michael Schumacher -- Ferrari :: 01:33.074

2 Mark Webber -- Jaguar :: 01:33.715

3 Rubens Barrichello -- Ferrari :: 01:33.756

4 Juan Pablo Montoya -- Williams :: 01:34.054

5 Kimi Räikkönen -- McLaren :: 01:34.164

6 Jenson Button -- BAR :: 01:34.221

7 Ralf Schumacher -- Williams :: 01:34.235

8 Jarno Trulli -- Renault :: 01:34.413

9 David Coulthard -- McLaren :: 01:34.602

10 Cristiano da Matta -- Toyota :: 01:34.917

11 Felipe Massa -- Sauber :: 01:35.039

12 Giancarlo Fisichella -- Sauber :: 01:35.061

13 Christian Klien -- Jaguar :: 01:35.158

14 Olivier Panis -- Toyota :: 01:35.617

15 Nick Heidfeld -- Jordan :: 01:36.569

16 Gianmaria Bruni -- Minardi :: 01:38.577

17 Zsolt Baumgartner -- Minardi :: 01:39.272

18 Giorgio Pantano -- Jordan :: 01:39.902

19 Fernando Alonso -- Renault

20 Takuma Sato -- BAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Dammit, I changed Webber for Fisi the day before the Aussie GP started...! ACK! :( Hehe, fair fúcks to him tho! Nothing unusual with the Jordans then.... :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Fair fúcks to Webber in 'iz Jigyuwaah
    Sato you still suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Sato you still suck.

Oh he really does, why doesn't he just take up rallying, he spends enough time in the scenery anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Good job for Webber and Button. I'm off to watch it now, see how bad Sato really does suck!! :p:p

Oh he really does, why doesn't he just take up rallying, he spends enough time in the scenery anyway.

I think demolition derby would be more his cup of tea.
    Or maybe even bob-sledding.

I hear Button might be back with Williams again.
    That'd be interesting. He's come a long way hasn't he.
    Also makes me wonder what'd have happened if Jordan had that Honda engine...sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

If Jordan had the honda engine they couldn't put the package around the car to make it perform :/

Sato most have some long standing debt to jordan making them look not as crap as they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭MeatProduct

I think the problem with Sato is that he is out of phase with this dimension. That can be a real problem when driving at 300km/h.

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Whats time it kicking off tomorrow?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Originally posted by irishgeo
    Whats time it kicking off tomorrow?

Kick off @ 7am

coverage starts at 6:30 on RTÉ & at 6:45 on ITV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

dont think ill try staying up then :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Good race that, there was a good scrap between JPM & Schumi, he didn't have it all his own way like in Aus. It's a pity about Mark Webber though, how unlucky do ye wanna get. Well done to Jenson Button though with his 1st Podium finish.

Race Results:

1 Michael Schumacher
    2 Juan Pablo Montoya
    3 Jenson Button
    4 Rubens Barrichello
    5 Jarno Trulli
    6 David Coulthard
    7 Fernando Alonso
    8 Felipe Massa
    9 Cristiano da Matta
    10 Christian Klien
    11 Giancarlo Fisichella
    12 Olivier Panis
    13 Giorgio Pantano
    14 Gianmaria Bruni
    15 Takuma Sato
    16 Zsolt Baumgartner
    Kimi Räikkönen
    Nick Heidfeld
    Ralf Schumacher
    Mark Webber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Jeanie

Yeah it was a great race by Jenson, he deserved the podium. I feel very sorry for Webber, after such a great qualifying yesterday. The mix up between Panis and his pit crew was quite remarkable though. At the end of the race he was trying to make up for his drive thru penalty and was all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

aye much better race then austrailia. good action at the start and there the whole will he won't he catch up that kept me interested. fair play to button on the podium finish, pity i didn't see any interviews with panis at the end.

good coverage though from utv heading off to the BAR paddock all impromtu and stuff.

data

Was in two minds about either staying up through the night, or gettin up at 6:30, in the end I went to bed at 4 and got up again at 6:45.

Very pleased that Schumi won, and very happy for Jenson Button - seems like a good bloke, and he's a decent driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Fecking toyota :dunno:

i swear someone will have to kill shummy and his cars design team before raceing gets interesting again..........ill go out on a limb and say shummy will win again next race.......might be wrong though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

bahrain will be interesting new track and all that don't know what will happen, also schuey didn't have the advantage he had in melbourne, the next race is on at a half decent time also whoo hoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Originally posted by Dr. Dre
    Was in two minds about either staying up through the night, or gettin up at 6:30, in the end I went to bed at 4 and got up again at 6:45.

Similar here, in bed at 4:45, up at 6:45, madness! :) Worth it tho! Pity bout Heidfeld tho, he was doing well (for someone driving a pregnant cow!).

Hate the way Montoya seems to lose interest tho....! :(:)

No way on earth was I gettin' up at that ungodly hour, Melbourne is fine, although I really must try and watch it sober some year...

So I get up 11, just to see when the replay is on- SHOCK HORROR! No reception- obviously either the hurricane or the lightning last night screwed with it, I couldn't even get the slightest hint of reception- I tried a fork, I tried a clothes-hanger- EVERYTHING! But to no avail

Faced with the prospect of not seeing it I wasted no time in speeding towards my mother's house, greeting her at the door with, "happy mothers day...get out de way the race is startin..."

Crystal clear reception.
    \o/

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Lucy Lu

I am the west coast of the US at the moment and got to watch the race at 11pm Saturday night. It was a good race but a pity Michael won again. As a McLaren fan I was disappointed! Good result for Jenson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

it's great to see that jordan have finished two races out of two races this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I suppose it's something they will take some consiliation from. Peter Collins was saying in his commentary last night something about jordan not using these new wider tyres with affect aerodyanmics slightly but it's negligable compared to the increased performance they give. If it is true I doubt it will make a huge difference, but jordan could use all the help they can get at this stage.

Also, 87 points for me this race, woo!

I thought it was a very good race, loved the overtaking between Trulli and Button! While I was a little disappointed that Michael won the race when it could've been Montoya's, Michael deserved the win. It was good to see that he didn't win it as easily as Melbourne. If Kimi can just get the McLaren to last the Bahrain race distance then he can give Michael a run for his money. Hoepfully Montoya will aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭BANZAI_RUNNER

The gap may be closer to ferrari now , but the important thing to realise is that there is still a gap..... It is good to see that bridgestone have came up with a competitive tyre for the warmer conditions , and that was clear on saturday during qualifying , both ferrari and williams qualified with the same fuel levels , but ferrari had over a second advantage on williams, and this was when the track temp was around 52 degrees, but then on sunday when the track temp was only 42 degrees , the gap between both teams was reduced. This is interesting , because it appears that the particular tyre bridgestone developed for malaysia is very similar to the michelin in so far as its performance is at its best when the temps were in the 50's but performance fell off when the temp dropped. So it looks like bridgestone have really done their homework over the winter , and now have a tyre which is competitive if not better in warm conditions. :ninja:

Originally posted by BANZAI_RUNNER
    The gap may be closer to ferrari now , but the important thing to realise is that there is still a gap.....
    Absolutely, and even though Ferrari have won the championship for the last number of seasons they won't rest on the laurels and will be as hungry as ever to win this years title. Which is good because they'll be an excellent benchmark, as previous years, for Williams, McLaren and Renault.

Originally posted by Kalina
    Absolutely, and even though Ferrari have won the championship for the last number of seasons they won't rest on the laurels and will be as hungry as ever to win this years title. Which is good because they'll be an excellent benchmark, as previous years, for Williams, McLaren and Renault.

Indeed, but to be fair, they have a huge task to get even on a par with the Maranello crowd.
    All 3 still need the basic ingredients of a successful outfit; good team, good car & good driver.
    Probably Kimi & Fernando are the drivers with any real potential to scale the dizzy heights of success.

PS: Oh, and maybe Button also ;)

Indeed, but to be fair, they have a huge task to get even on a par with the Maranello crowd.
    All 3 still need the basic ingredients of a successful outfit; good team, good car & good driver.
    Probably Kimi & Fernando are the drivers with any real potential to scale the dizzy heights of success.

PS: Oh, and maybe Button also ;)

I'd love to argue with you and say that Montoya has the stuff to potentially be as brilliant as Michael is or as Kimi will be (cos I'm a huge fan of his and still think he will win a championship), but there's no point cos he'll never be as outstanding as the others.

As long as Ferrari don't get too far ahead this year and monopolise the season as they have done on previous occasions then the other top teams, Williams particularily, have a good chance of beating them on a regular basis.

Originally posted by Kalina
    I'd love to argue with you and say that Montoya has the stuff to potentially be as brilliant as Michael is or as Kimi will be (cos I'm a huge fan of his and still think he will win a championship), but there's no point cos he'll never be as outstanding as the others.

As long as Ferrari don't get too far ahead this year and monopolise the season as they have done on previous occasions then the other top teams, Williams particularily, have a good chance of beating them on a regular basis.

Yup, agree 100%.
    To be honest, I have a massive problem with JPM, I don't think he has the temperament to be a formula 1 star, well not yet at least. I cringe when his name is mentioned in the same context as Schumachers. The TV channels seem to reckon he is the sports saviour, I think he's won 3(?) GP's out of about 60/70(?), now in fairness that may have something to do with Ferraris dominataion in recent years, but I mean, come on, enough of the premature plaudits TV people !!
    For instance last week that twit (won't even mention his name ;) )on ITV who "commentates" with Martin Brundle, said something along the lines of the following when talking about the new drivers for this season;
    "I wonder if any of these guys thought last year that they would racing alongside the greats of formula 1 like JPM and Michael Schumacher"
    Jeez man, I just wanted to boot the telly :rolleyes:

Sorry for the rant, but I feel a bit better now :)

"I wonder if any of these guys thought last year that they would racing alongside the greats of formula 1 like JPM and Michael Schumacher"
    Jeez man, I just wanted to boot the telly :rolleyes:

I'd put Rubens Barrichello ahead of JPM for sheer improvement over the past couple of seasons. He's grown up a bit and stopped complaining so much whereas JPM is blowing their friendship by complaining about Rubens dirty driving tactics. You'd think he'd just put it down to racing.