Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Headline in the sunday tribune

• 16-03-2004 11:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

George W Bush is coming to Ireland. HIs security staff want immunity if they happen to kill everyone ....................................................argh I hate that man argh I hate that man argh I hate that man argh I hate that man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Don't worry, they tried that and a lot more over in England too, and the home secetary refused to give them any of their demands. For that reason the trib seems fairly sure that we won't be allowing it either. It's fairly sick though, a quote from the paper "the agents wanted to be assured immunity in case they fired and accidently killed a protestor" I mean wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Originally posted by carl carlson
    HIs security staff want immunity if they happen to kill everyone

Everyone?? Sounds like they plan to invade us, take over Texaco or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

blondie83,

I think you shoud know that very close to the American embassy in Londons Grosvenor Square. There exists an ordinary looking building which in reality houses a large number of fully armed American troops.

The British government obviously know they are there. Years ago a British national newspaper printed pictures of these fully armed and kitted troops actually patrolling the streets and roofs of buildings in the area.

Apparently these photos should never have been printed as there is a British censorship notice called a 'D' notice on this type of operation.

So I think that you can take it for granted that the American President will be allowed whatever type of protection he and the American secret service agencies and the military decide.

I just happen to live in the real world, and do not have any 'rose' tinted glasses.

P. :ninja:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Bertie will do whatever he is told by George Dubya!
    But he will give us what he thinks is a good reason to kiss bush's ass, so that will make it alright.
    Remember he was on the side of the 100,000 protesters in Dublin last year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by kbannon
    Bertie will do whatever he is told by George Dubya!
    Sad but true. The immunity in case of killing someone issue is too surreal to even comment on. So much for neutrality eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Dunno what the suprise is about - its standard policy for ALL visits to require/request immunity for those who are tasked with protecting the US prez. So yes even cuddly Bill Clintons sharp shooters when he was here too.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

yeah but it just seems more seedy or suspicious when it's got anything to do with George Dubya :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 TheElder

"whoops, i accidently threw my grenade into that group of prostesters, i could have sworn i saw Bin Laden, though..."

Nah I guess immunity is pretty normal, but if the quote that blondie put up actually is from a security source, then I'd be very very worried....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

So does this mean if Al-Qaeda have managed to get one of their guys into the secret service, and they then shoot Bush when they're in Ireland...they won't go to prison??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Burago

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    So does this mean if Al-Qaeda have managed to get one of their guys into the secret service, and they then shoot Bush when they're in Ireland...they won't go to prison??

Yeah, they'll get the freedom of the city.:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I get a horrible feeling that were gonna have hundreds of Gardaí joining up with the CIA for a day.... then again, its alot of hastle, they seem to have immunity anyways..

Flogen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Originally posted by flogen
    I get a horrible feeling that were gonna have hundreds of Gardaí joining up with the CIA for a day.... then again, its alot of hastle, they seem to have immunity anyways..

Flogen

Not against the common cold they don't!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Why should we fret about Bush and what his SS might or might no do.

Maybe the Trib could report on the weapons the army use when on Bank duty. I'm not a weapons expert but machine guns? Now if there was some attempt at a robbery in a small Irish town and the lads opened up with their machine guns methinks there would be more casualties with stray bullets. At least sharp shooters would take aim at the attacker and not spray bullets all round.

just a thought

Good point, aleepally,

Did you ever notice that the security company being protected by our Irish army is British! i.e. Securicor.

Stinks imo anyway.

P. :ninja: N.B. Sorry if that post is a mite off topic, I also find the name 'aleepally' interesting. Thats a British nickname for the London based Alexandra Palace where BBC Television was first broadcast from.;) God more useless info.

• Site Banned Posts: 197 ✭✭Wolfie

It would be great if they started executing anti-war protestors here.. Really would stamp the US' brand of authority on puny Ireland, and the world! :D MWAHAHA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

That's gas , I never knew about that Alexandra palace thing. I use alleepally as a lot of my family call me that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

That's not all. Here's an even better one for you. Apparantly, there's going to be a flight of F-16 fighters patrolling the skies over Ireland while Bush is here as well. And, get this, they will also have the authority to shoot down any aircraft which may be used in an attempt on the life of the President, e.g. being flown into Dublin Castle or the Dail or wherever when George is in there, ala September 11th.

Now that really takes the biscuit, doesn't it? Imagine it, a hijacked airliner changes it's course and heads towards Dublin to crash into Dublin Castle where George and Bertie and the lads are having a meeting or a dinner or something. So, what do the lads in the F-16's do? Shoot a Sidewinder right up it's engine, causing it to crash to the ground and possibly end up killing hundreds of people, Irish citizens let me remind you, on the ground. Ah, but sure that's alright though, isn't it, as long as Georgie isn't killed!

I say let them crash into Dublin Castle and take George and Bertie and all those f**kers with them! And good bloody riddence, too. :D

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    I say let them crash into Dublin Castle and take George and Bertie and all those f**kers with them! And good bloody riddence, too. :D
    Personally thinking, thats a terrible thing to say, & I think a mod should say something about it.
    Dublin Castle is a fine building and any damage to it would be a huge loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Personally thinking, thats a terrible thing to say, & I think a mod should say something about it.
    Dublin Castle is a fine building and any damage to it would be a huge loss
    lmao

Actually kbannon, you're right, and I apologise. Let me make it clear that I have no problem with Dublin Castle whatsoever. It's a fine, upstanding building of excellent quality and taste! :D It's the people inside that offend me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

It's the people inside that offend me! :D
    Bloody g-men:)

Oops, sorry I meant, damn scumbags being called into the tribunals.

I seem to remember an American warship "accidently" blew up a large Russian Airlines 'civilian' plane in - mid air - some years ago !...or am I having a nightmare ?... :eek:

P. :ninja: :dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

So, what do the lads in the F-16's do? Shoot a Sidewinder right up it's engine, causing it to crash to the ground and possibly end up killing hundreds of people, Irish citizens let me remind you, on the ground.
    Are you sure about that? They couldn't shoot down Jack Bauer in the helicopter once he got over downtown LA....

but that could have killed/injured americans. Irish or anyone else for that matter don't count!

Foiled again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

does this mean that the protesters should wear bullet proof jackets

Originally posted by TIPPTOP
    does this mean that the protesters should wear bullet proof jackets
    What good are bullet proof jackets to armor piercing bullets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Originally posted by DMT
    Are you sure about that? They couldn't shoot down Jack Bauer in the helicopter once he got over downtown LA....

GODDAMNIT! i had taped that episode you bastard! RUINED! RUINED I SAY!

Originally posted by DMT

I'm not too sure what the story is regarding shooting down an aircraft over a city like Dublin, but I do know they have been given the authority to shoot down "hostile" aircraft. This was also the case when Georgie Boy visited the UK a while ago. I think it's probably going to be a similar thing to what they currently have in the US and the UK, where there is a boundary line around a city where they are cleared to fire before the aircraft crosses it and enters the airspace over the city. Though, as I said, I'm not 100% sure if that's going to be the case or if they'll have permission to fire no matter where the aircraft is, over a city or not.

Though, it doesn't really matter, does it? City or not, there's a strong possiblity of someone on the ground getting killed anyway if the worst does come to the worst. My point is that Georgie Boy and the US Air Force won't give a sh!t if Irish people are killed, as long as he's okay. As far as they're concerned, that's all that matters!

Originally posted by crash_000
    GODDAMNIT! i had taped that episode you bastard! RUINED! RUINED I SAY!
    C'mon, it at the beginning of the episode and what did ye think was going to happen - they'd shoot him down and he'd somehow survive the mid-air explosion...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Well as far as im concerned Bush is NOT welcome in our country and that stupid taoseach of ours is to blame...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Why is he even coming? Is this part of winning the 'Irish vote' in November's election or does he just want to come over to thank us for backing his war, to pat us collectively on the head and hand back the jar with our balls in it before he's put out to pasture?