Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you doing for Patrick's Day?

• 15-03-2004 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭

Being the new culchie in Dublin and not knowing anyone, I am probably doing the same thing as I do every other night. Stay in and watch a TV that doesn't even work properly.

Oh my new life in Dublin is so exciting!!!!

Sorry, rant over....it's just one of those days! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

eh paddys day is just for the kids/americans ......and at night a excuse to get hammered

ill be watching tv (which works nicely)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

getting stoned and wandering around the streets of galway in an easy rider at mardi gras state of mind

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I shall spend it watching dvd's and recovering from a rather large hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Im playing golf in portmarnock in the morning and then meeting my mates in the pub- whichever pub that happens to be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭dictatorcat

I'll be living on mushy peas and rice, crying into my cold black tea while i wait to be paid on Friday:( oh woe is me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Okay so you're all making me feel SLIGHTLY better about not having a life up here....really considering just going back home for the day so I can go out on the piss with my friends.

Dublin is one lonely place when you don't know anyone....where are the violins....:rolleyes:

come back to cork clare ! you know its a better place

Don't say the word Cork around me please....it's still all too painful....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Clare you're more than welcome to come out with my friends and I. We are a big group (nearly all female) which range from New Yorkers to Swedish to Finnish...

Originally posted by ClareBear
    Okay so you're all making me feel SLIGHTLY better about not having a life up here....really considering just going back home for the day so I can go out on the piss with my friends.

Dublin is one lonely place when you don't know anyone....where are the violins....:rolleyes:

:eek: what’s wrong with ya :) you will get used to being in Dublin in a few weeks new friends and the like's

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    Clare you're more than welcome to come out with my friends and I. We are a big group (nearly all female) which range from New Yorkers to Swedish to Finnish...

ANY offer I get I'll take. PM me the details? Thanks a million, that'd be great.

And Bizmark....making new friends isn't that easy....in my class it's all other transfer students who are mainly foreign and it costs a lot to go to college here for them so they work full time too and never go out. So any ideas I had of having a mad college social life are zero unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Anything beats working.

swedish and finnish? can i come too mr versace?

everybody come to galway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I shall be passing the day of St. Patrick in a bathtub full of "Shamrock Shake" which I shall source from my nearest McDonalds outlet shortly after I ramraid it using a Ford transit which I specifically modified for the task several months ago.

After I have had my fill of the ever gorgeous Shamrockesque mixture, I shall no doubt be imbibing on Murphys, Beamish or Smithwicks for the evening. Ahh, sounds like a plan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭MF2HD

will go watch the newbridge parade (I can only imagine the delights awaiting me), home for food and then drink till the wee small hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭WezzyB

I'll be going to Croke Park this St. Patrick's Day for the Club Finals.
    My local team, Newtownshandrum (Cork) are playing Dunloy (Antrim) in the Hurling decider, throw in 2pm

An Gaeltacht (Kerry) and Caltra (Galway) are in the Football decider.

Glory Newtown!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Pub Crawl for the 4th year running. Everyone should organise one. Bloody expensive but a great day out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

getting over the night before:D going out on paddys day is like going out on a sunday! you have to work the day after and theirs not that much happening anyway!
    Originally posted by Senor_Fudge
    getting stoned and wandering around the streets of galway in an easy rider at mardi gras state of mind
    Rofl:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭catsup

am inspired by rymus and the bath of shamrock shake idea.

room for 2 :D

whats with the shamrocks anyway?? give me realrocks instead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

I like johnny versaces plan. Can i come too??

yeah everyone follow me ill be the stoned pied piper of galway
    and lets all get arrested for parading without a permit

Originally posted by catsup
    room for 2 :D

that entirely depends on if youre a tasty female or not... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Working :mad:

tis a bitch man tis a bitch
    thats just anti irish
    who ya working for
    lets use our ancient weapon of boycott!

Irish unite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by Senor_Fudge
    tis a bitch man tis a bitch
    thats just anti irish
    who ya working for
    lets use our ancient weapon of boycott!

Irish unite

A canadian company!! cant name them might get bitch slapped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

I'll be working, A wage slave - Shag it, Rat's Piss,
    Jesus I've only ever had one Paddy's day off! Killkenny last year.
    Great Fun I recommend it.
    Though my trump card
    will Be the Cheltenham Gold Cup on Thursday this year.
    Wo Ho!
    So I'll celebrate then.........................:p

i knew they feckin weren't irish anyday

why not contract the so called Green flu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

i'm also working 10-7 which i think my job is punishing me for as i just rang in a couple of weeks ago and said i couldn't come in due to college.

then after i have the currently delightful plan of going to my local, where all the same people will be there, dancing to all the same songs they usually dance to. fantastic :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I have Leinster football final tomorrow so if we win I'm getting p***ed

Originally posted by rymus
    that entirely depends on if youre a tasty female or not... :p

im female alright, but my irish genes prevent me from saying whether im tasty :) or from taking a compliment (ever notice many irish women cant take a compliment)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

galway tomorrow for dj hype, followed by god knows what for paddys day:)

Originally posted by catsup
    (ever notice many irish women cant take a compliment)

Yes.. but I've noticed a larger number that take a perfectly innocent compliment the wrong way. Ironically enough, the same number seem to have extraordinarily sharp fingernails. Odd that.

Anyway, if you're having doubts about how tasty you are... post a pic and I'm sure the male population of the after hours board will come up with an answer fairly lively :D

Think of it as a brutally honest version of asking "does my bum look big in this?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i will be enjoying the fruits of the labour of a dutch horticulturalist ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭TheSonOfBattles

Get up about 4, play some quake 3 against the roomie, eat, clean up, go for pints, come back, maybe some smokes then, and more fps's. Watch some anime, feck about on IRC/the net and head to bed about 10 am. Same as me normal day tbh :D God I love my life, 'cept for the annoying lack of a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

I shall be working, but every cloud has a silver lining and I will be faciliting some group sessions at a seminar in Celtic Park Parkhead (ithink the irony of the choice of date and venue was lost on the organiser)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

nothing. monies are scarce for another week or so :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I'll be studying for an exam on Thursday. But I'll be making up for a boring Paddy's Day on Thursday night and Friday night!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I have friday off so i'll be out in style Kalina. =)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

ANY offer I get I'll take.

clare u cant be saying stuff like that to johnny:eek: :eek: :eek:

Originally posted by whosurpaddy
    clare u cant be saying stuff like that to johnny:eek: :eek: :eek:

Well Jonny never got back to me so I don't think I have anything to worry about.

Going to that match in Croke Park too. My Daddy is coming up from Cork. Can't wait to see him - yay!!

(Such a sad home bird!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Ill be studying for Security & Cryptography exam the day after paddys.

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY

c'mon catsup, wheres the pic??? I wasn't joking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 krom kruak

Begorrah, sure won't I drink 13 bottles of whiskey then strip naked and cover myself in the greenest cowshiiiit I can find then run through the streets after the last float in the parade and tear babies from their prams and bite the little fughers heads off.

What I do after that will depend on the Gardai and a Criminal Court Judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Well Jonny never got back to me so I don't think I have anything to worry about.

For the record, I did get back to ClareBear (she's just impatient :D), and she's coming out with my friends and I tonight.

am thinkin about it rymus...part of me doesnt trust the internet enough to put a pic of myself up there. :dunno: also quite self concious so dont think i want to submit myself to be judged by others. ive seen some of the photos and the comments can be less than nice. am new to boards, after i get settled ill post a pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

How did Clare get on with JV and his mates?

That was really sound!

yeah clarebear, let us know how you got on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

why don't you stick a photo up of yourself?

i'm not joking.