Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to text a girl I like?

• 09-03-2004 8:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭

I really like this girl. I have met her out a few times in the pub or whatever and she seems to like me too. I have her phone number and want to text her, but I dont know what to say. Can anyone help me please ASAP. Any help much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Was it her who gave you her number?
    If so, just a simple 'hi how's it going' will do.. And take it from there.
    If someone else gave you her number then it might come as a bit of a shock, but you can say the same thing followed by (hope you don't mind, blah gave me your number)
    Best way to start a conversation, be it face to face, or on the phone, or via text.. A simple 'Hello', or variation thereof..

Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Texting is a really lame way to text a girl you like.
    It reeks of low self-confidence.
    Not to mention it lacks emotion, signals etc.,
    Keep the texting casual/friendly. Anything else do in person or on the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Adrian

It wasn't actually my idea to text her. My friends have being hassling me to text her. I would rather talk to her more in person but I don't know when I will see her again. and I definitly wouldnt be able to ring her, whatever about texting her. I got her number from one of my friends. He probably got the number off of one of his friends. Like this is a very popular girl indeed. So I cant tell her who I got the number off of. Please help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

stalk her, let her know you care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Well. Tbh, what you should do is get a mate to text for you.
    I.E he texts saying that you were asking for her. Otherwise you may aswelll get yourself a little pocket notebook,some nightvision goggles,and start practising your fence jumping cause you will just seem like a weirdo stalker.
    But atleast she will know you care.

Thats exactly what I am afraid of, looking like a stalker! I don't want her to think that of me at all. And getting one of my friends to text for me is a bad idea as most likely my friend will try to get her. As I said, she is a very popular girl, as in, she is very attractive and has a great personality, most lads like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭wild_eyed

dont let your fear show, also stalking is a very healthy obsession.

Ur freaky. So u stalk?

of course i dont ....................:ninja:

*feels found out*

Dont text her until she gives you her number or you get it off her.

i once texted a girl i met only once, my friend gave me the number, and i said hey its me , the guy with the blond face and the white hair........ wanna slap skin sometime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Hmm-sounds like you like the most unatainable girl in school-happened to me-so heres what you do.Talk to her and youll probably realise shes not all shes cracked up to be and that its just your rose tinted view of her.Or she'll turn out to be your dream girl if scenario one arises theres no problem,if two arises just ask her out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Delboy_69

Originally posted by Sangre
    Texting is a really lame way to text a girl you like.

I'm sorry for bringing this up... but how do you do it? :P

ergo facto, any man or boy that uses boards.ie, is without a doubt a nerd.
    as life and hilarious movies have shown us , nerds are afraid of women.
    therfore most nerds will have to use the methods of texting to get there foot in the door )so to speak) of the mate that the nerd has (most likely at random, or a variable that is equal to a random number) choosen.

we are nerds, dont forget that, if you thought u were a hot jock, face up yo life and reality, ur using boards.

p.s. im not a nerd everyone else is.......:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Delboy_69

Not what I was getting at, but funny none the less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

heh, im in a weird situation similar to this too...

I was talking to someone for a good while over the weekend but never got their number. Someone i know told me that they have their number and could get it for me. I was also told that she likes me :)

Do i get her number and go text her. I do think its kind of weird though, but ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

I know this sounds obvious but what's the big deal? Look at your options

1) You text her

If she doesn't respond well then you know that she wasn't going to go for you anyway, so you've lost nothing and at least have learned this. If she doesn't respond then it's probably for the same reason, again, you haven't lost anything. If she responds positively then you're in there, sunshine.

2) You don't text her

You mope on boards wondering what you'll do about this chick, about how you really like her and how she seems really unobtainable. She might be unobtainable if you don't actually make some kind of effort to obtain her.

As for what to say - what do you usually say when you're texting (say a mate) for the first time? I'm with irlirishkev on this one. How about "hello, how's it going? <your name> here." and take it from there. If you're feeling a little more adventurous try "hi, are you heading out tonight? I'm going to <bar> if you want to meet up." Nonchalant, noncommital, and a damn sight better than thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

i'd personally go with the straightforward approach. if you're not going to see her you've got nothing to lose.
    "hey there (insert name here). its (insert name here) from (insert place here). i hope this doesn't seem stalkerish but my friend (insert name here) gave me your number so i thought i'd say hey. how've you been since (insert day here?)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Matfinn

why not say to her in a text a casual "hi its me <name>, me and a couple of mates will be heading out to <place> on friday night. you up for it ?"

its nice and simple and casual, but it would only work best if you hand around with roughly the same people she hangs around with. keep us posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Ring her (People seem to forget that phones can do that too!). Ask her out.
    Then you know where you stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

Originally posted by wild_eyed
    ergo facto

Fair enough, my Latin might not be in quite the daily use that it once may have been, but "ergo facto"? Did you intend "ipso facto"? or, as your comment related to the nerds, perhaps "dipso facto"?

Originally posted by dod
    Fair enough, my Latin might not be in quite the daily use that it once may have been, but "ergo facto"? Did you intend "ipso facto"? or, as your comment related to the nerds, perhaps "dipso facto"?

I hate vis-a-vis when people incorrectly caveat emporor use latin et cetera, et cetera!

It really gets my goose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Depends on how well you know her

If you know her to talk to then ask her to bowling with a few friends etc etc

If you dont know her to talk to then dont. She'll think your a weirdo. her first question will be who the f**k is this!!!!!

If the second scenario stand next to her in the pub. Ask her if she wants a pint? Strike up a conversation etc etc .............. then if you cant pull her there tell her that a load of ye are heading somewhere sometime if she'd like to come. and ask for her number to let her no.

At least his way its her that gave it to you!!!

Dunno,,, texting strangerss to tell them you like them is a bit ..................:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭dictatorcat

my flatmates and i were discussing the rules of text the other evening. The common conclusion was to wait a couple of days so as not to seem too desperate, then send a casual "hi! how you a doin'?" text, and if he/she replies (remember if they're following the same rules it may take a day or two!) then you may rest assured that there is some interest and you may begin to text flirt. Makes you think, the baboon goes on who has the biggest red ass.......alot easier:)

i think we're talking about latin here. so wtf
    Originally posted by Mighty_Mouse
    Depends on how well you know her

If you know her to talk to then ask her to bowling with a few friends etc etc

If you dont know her to talk to then dont. She'll think your a weirdo. her first question will be who the f**k is this!!!!!

If the second scenario stand next to her in the pub. Ask her if she wants a pint? Strike up a conversation etc etc .............. then if you cant pull her there tell her that a load of ye are heading somewhere sometime if she'd like to come. and ask for her number to let her no.

At least his way its her that gave it to you!!!

Dunno,,, texting strangerss to tell them you like them is a bit ..................:eek:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Gotta go with mighty mouse. Strike up a conversation, chat away a bit. See how you get on. If you get the cold shoulder back off, if she seems receptive see if you can make some arrangements. Failing that, rappell of her ceiling at night, making sure not to sweat too much.. :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

the weather is usually a good topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

Originally posted by T.G Catter

He likes her...the last thing he wants to do is bore her to death with the weather

he's in ireland it's the same miserable ****e everyday who wants to be reminded it's pissing rain out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I would have to say the phone call approach is always the best option... leave it a day or two and then call...

then you can talk about whatever it is you want to say... take the plunge... make that call...

Usually girls like that bit of confidence.. if you are lacking knock back a stiff whiskey and then call... and then you'll find out its no big deal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Originally posted by T.G Catter
    I was at a 21st a few weeks ago, and one of my friends actually started to talk about it with this girl he was trying to get off with. He followed it up with a discussion on the leaving cert, the national ploughing championships, and electronic circuits! (he's not even a culchie!) Strangly though she was with him in the end, so maybe there's something in it. If a guy I didn't know too well started talking to me about the weather I'd prob not be too impressed though.

About the girl, don't text her unless she gives you her number herself, cos otherwise she might think it's a bit wierd. When you do manage to get the number off her, send one of the casual "we're all going out on fri if you're up for it" texts that were mentioned earlier on.

Thanx for all the replies. I do know this girl for anybody that asked that. I texted her last night but she hasn't replied. I don't know what this means. Maybe she doesn't have credit (Am I being to naive?). I know she likes me in some way or another, whether it be friend or whatever but I want to know if she fancies me. I hope she texts me today. I have another problem. There is this other girl that likes me in school. I like her too. This happened me before, and before I knew it I ended up with no girl for another few years. Anybody got any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

Originally posted by blondie83
    I was at a 21st a few weeks ago, and one of my friends actually started to talk about it with this girl he was trying to get off with. He followed it up with a discussion on the leaving cert, thenational ploughing championships, and electronic circuits! (he's not even a culchie!) Strangly though she was with him in the end, so maybe there's something in it. If a guy I didn't know too well started talking to me about the weather I'd prob not be too impressed though.

About the girl, don't text her unless she gives you her number herself, cos otherwise she might think it's a bit wierd. When you do manage to get the number off her, send one of the casual "we're all going out on fri if you're up for it" texts that were mentioned earlier on.

"thenational ploughing championships"

You don't happen to have his number handy do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

"You might of won a night out on the town with the guy of your dreams! TXT reply 'IM YOURS' to see if you have won!".

"omg u r so incrdibul mst dte u now!! >_<!!! pls say ys ok?! l <3 u ^.^ "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

I have seen "I Heart Y0RE N00BLES!" work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Originally posted by Asok
    I have seen "I Heart Y0RE N00BLES!" work.

It's true I have also seen it's awsome power!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

"I'm watching you from the bushes across the street :ninja: "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

"Evr been in da back seat of a ford fiesta?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

I was at a 21st a few weeks ago, and one of my friends actually started to talk about it with this girl he was trying to get off with. He followed it up with a discussion on the leaving cert, thenational ploughing championships, and electronic circuits! (he's not even a culchie!)

haha I remember having a 40 minute conversation about wellies in a club one night with a girl and ended up with her... was absolutely loads of fun not having a serious conversation and just talking complete bollox. so if that worked anything can ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭lacuna

Originally posted by Winters
    heh, im in a weird situation similar to this too...

I was talking to someone for a good while over the weekend but never got their number. Someone i know told me that they have their number and could get it for me. I was also told that she likes me :)

Do i get her number and go text her. I do think its kind of weird though, but ...

afaik she's got a bf...

Originally posted by dictatorcat
    The common conclusion was to wait a couple of days so as not to seem too desperate, then send a casual "hi! how you a doin'?" text, and if he/she replies (remember if they're following the same rules it may take a day or two!) then you may rest assured that there is some interest and you may begin to text flirt.

That is so lame.
    'Text rules', omg would you ever grow up and get a backbone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Sangre (and I direct this at other posters in this thread):

It is a sure sign of getting old when certain methods of communication are said to be lame. I suggest that some people can only speak via text messages. I suggest that it is a preferred method. Hence it is not our right to judge if a person uses one medium over another. The question was in fact - what to text - not if they should text as opposed to speaking. I don't mind people saying "why don't you just phone ffs" but calling someone lame because of this isn't on.

Sangre, I suggest that you have now become an 'old dog' and have shifted to the next generation.

As for the original poster, sorry I have no input. I would prefer to phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭wiped

I was at a 21st a few weeks ago, and one of my friends actually started to talk about it with this girl he was trying to get off with. He followed it up with a discussion on the leaving cert, thenational ploughing championships, and electronic circuits! (he's not even a culchie!) Strangly though she was with him in the end, so maybe there's something in it. If a guy I didn't know too well started talking to me about the weather I'd prob not be too impressed though.

Ah .. the aul' "Feast or Famine" syndrome ..... has stumped many a great man ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭wiped

Sorry , wrong quote up above ... meant the one where the guy says there's another girl that fancies him .... ah you know what i'm talking about ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

It's not stalking, it's selective walking.

I get the impression that a lot of lads would rather phone a girl rather then txt her. Like would u not be shy, embarrased, awkward, etc. I have to admit i do find texts a lot easier. Oh yeah and still no reply to that text. My friend better have given me the right no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Originally posted by Emboss
    "thenational ploughing championships"

You don't happen to have his number handy do you?

I always thought you were a guy, sorry about that! Incidently the national ploughing championships isn't normally the best of topics to take up with a Dublin girl!:D

Originally posted by Gordon
    Sangre (and I direct this at other posters in this thread):

It is a sure sign of getting old when certain methods of communication are said to be lame. I suggest that some people can only speak via text messages. I suggest that it is a preferred method. Hence it is not our right to judge if a person uses one medium over another. The question was in fact - what to text - not if they should text as opposed to speaking. I don't mind people saying "why don't you just phone ffs" but calling someone lame because of this isn't on.

Sangre, I suggest that you have now become an 'old dog' and have shifted to the next generation.

As for the original poster, sorry I have no input. I would prefer to phone.

Gordon, I didnt calling texting lame, I called the 'text rules' lame, as in, waiting a few days to reply. I think this type of behaviour is lame regardless of the medium. It reminds me of the old 'my friend likes you' adolescent phase.
    Basically the point I was trying to make is that texting is great for chatting/flirting if you know the person and they know you and you both have knowledge that you each possess the others number. However, a text out of the blue has a 'stalkerish' quality to it, especially if she wont remember him straight away.
    Also, saying to a girl you like them for the first time over text or inviting them on a date is because of low self-esteem imo. It also means it is much easier for the other party to avoid the text/question or whatever.
    Also Gordon, I think you should note, Im 18 and one year older then the original poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Point taken, but I still consider you now as an old fogey.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭fitz

Forget texting...

Next time you're out in a group with her in it, flirt with everyone but her.
    Be supremely confident, smile a lot be sensitive, but all with the other girls in the group.

Make occasional eye contact with the target while you're engaging the rest of the enemy squadron.

She'll soon start to wonder what's wrong with her that you're not fawning all over her.

Then, wait for a quiet moment when she's nearby, step over beside her and ask her can you get her a drink.

At this stage she'll be so self-concious herself she'll be the nervous one.

Confidence is the key to this technique.

For more detailed instruction, PM me and we can arrange private tutalage, for a modest, but result-yielding fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Will you do your own thing and not be bully into looking like a spanner in front of your mates!

She probably thinks your a little weird now!! Dont send anymore texts to her. Meet her in person first and get her number!

Just strike up a conversation with her. If she isnt interested then so be it.

Remember also. Takin advice from people in here is dodgy cause half of em are ..................................... :D

Lets just say there are as many "unique" people online as off it!